Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ

Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ

Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane Barbeque features 1140 sq.in total cooking surface: 680 sq.in gas grilling surface and 460 sq.in charcoal grilling surfaceProduces up to 45 000 BTUsDual surface cast iron cooking grates (gas side) and classic porcelain cast iron cooking grates (charcoal side)Ins
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
39 of 41(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Review 1 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:barrie area
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

top grill

Date:June 24, 2016
" I love my BBQ the only complaint I have is the top grill on the charcoal side! It wont stay in place! When I cook using the upper grill it falls out leaving meet all over lower grill. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kelowna
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Does Not Hold Up

Date:April 3, 2016
" Bought this grill two and a half years ago and while we love the duel cooking feature the grill itself was a huge disappointment. We bought the very expensive coleman grill cover to go with the grill to make sure it was protected although we don't get a lot of rain or snow where we live But the grill still started to rust after the first year and has gotten worse to the point we need to replace it. The ignition button was the first knob to break and even though you can still use it I don't think after a years use this should happen. I have bought cheaper grills that held up better with a cheap cover than this one did. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Great for company

Date:April 1, 2016
" Bought this unit for dual fuel function, price point, and Coleman reputation. Good assembly instructions but would suggest accessing starter wires BEFORE installing door support rail (step 12). Pay attention at step 17 that ash funnel hangs down with lipped sides crosswise to receive ash tray.
This is a very heavy item that requires two or MORE strong people to unload AND to lift top in place.
Disappointing reviews for Coleman cover- quality NOT up to their reputation. Expect to spend big for good cover. At this price, gas gauge should be standard.
Will it last the 16 years that my Thermos (also from Canadian Tire) has? We'll see.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Quality product

Date:March 28, 2016
" I bought this BBQ a few nights ago and stayed up till 1 am assembling it as I was excited to get grilling. Like any BBQ it is a bit time consuming to put together but the instructions were decent to good. The parts all went together nicely and you can tell it is a quality appliance. The Grill side worked very good the first time I tried it and the actual grills are good quality. I'm very happy with this purchase especially when it is on sale. Only issue is that it doesn't come with a rotisserie, a side burner, or a cover. All can be rectified but at an additional cost.
I think for the price point it is as good of a unit as there is. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best of both worlds

Date:October 15, 2015
" We have owned this grill for 8 months now. I honestly have nothing bad to say about this grill. Propane side heats up nice & recovers well. Charcoal side is as awesome!!! Even heat dual side grates are awesome!!! They are interchangeable, so depending what I am cooking, they can go on either side. Too bad there are only 5 stars available, because this grill is worth way more. Happy cooking!!! "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Beautiful bbq

Date:October 4, 2015
" Bought this bbq fir the dual heat system. It is being compared to my 15+ year old weber silver bbq. Temperature control is phenomenal on both grills. Heat is more even than the weber. The ultimate test will be to see if it has the viability of the weber grill. First impression is buy, buy buy. Wait until it goes on sale. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Fantastic Barbecue!

Date:July 28, 2015
" We bought this on sale after doing some research and are we ever glad we did! It's a heavy duty barbecue (love the cast iron grills!) and it's fantastic to have both propane & charcoal all in one. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best BBQ ever in my books

Date:July 28, 2015
" This is my first review, so here goes!
I have owned many BBQ's over the past 25+ years, many of which were "top" name brand products with great reviews. However, none of those BBQ's come close to this beast!
I purchased this at my local CT while it was on sale and had to wait until summer arrived before I could put it together. After reading some of the other reviews, I was not looking forward to this task, however, I was pleasantly surprised at how well it was packaged and the ease it went together. I think it took me as long to unpack everything as it did to put together ;-) !
Most of my previous grills we constructed with slighter metals and after moving them a few times would always require re-tightening of fasteners. The Coleman, on the other hand is constructed of heavier metals and once fastened, have yet to come loose. The sturdiness of this grill is second to none...with strong joins and welds everywhere.
Cooking on the Propane side is a joy! At first I was thinking that with just 3 burners, it would take more gas/heat to cook, but I was wrong. Once the cast iron grills get hot, they keep the heat even and constant and turn out perfectly grilled food everytime...from veggies and fish on the flat side to meats and chicken on the raised side. I would recommend any Coleman grill with this feature to anyone....BUT....
Then I tried the charcoal side...OMG!! As suggested by a friend, we bought a chimney and lump coals instead of briquettes.....well the first month we had this we used a full large bag of coal and 2 small bags!! It is that good! Easy to light...easy to control the heat with the raising/lowering of the coals! We now only use the propane side for quick things like burgers and sausages..!
If you are looking for, what I consider, the BEST BBQ on the market....look no further!! I am even looking forward to using the coals this winter when the temps so low the propane doesn't work!!! ;-) "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Airdrie, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great BBQ!

Date:July 9, 2015
" We had the smaller propane version of this but had to leave it when we moved... So we knew this would be a great bbq from the start. Love the ease of gas and really love the charcoal! Very well put together and I think it will last a long time. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Nice Barbi

Date:May 26, 2015
" Purchased this in the summer of 2014. Perfect set up, Charcoal when we have time, and gas when were busy. Charcoal has good system for heat adjustment when cooking and cleaning out the ash is a breeze. The gas side gets hot fast and has a large cooking area. very happy. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple, Vaughan, ON L6A, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

FANTASTIC

Date:April 20, 2015
" I rarely take the time to write reviews but this time I had to. This BBQ does exactly what its supposed to do! Charcoal side is great and plenty of room! Food tasted great! Propane side even better! took about 3 hours to build but was very easy! I would recommend this bbq to anyone who is in the market for a new BBQ. You get the best of both worlds!! Material is sturdy and I know parts are always available either through Canadian Tire or Coleman! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Outstanding in all ways

Date:February 2, 2015
" I think its safe to say the 1 bad review is due to not following the assembly instructions. I bought my grill one year ago, Jan 2014. It took me several hours to assemble it with an assistant but the instructions were quite clear and the outcome was very satisfying. This grill is good looking, in your face large and the build quality is unparalleled. I use it on average 5 times per week, year round. As such, it's probably already cooked 250 meals. Although I bought it for the convenience of propane and the flavour of charcoal, it didnt take long to switch entirely over to charcoal. Don't get me wrong, although only 15 or 20 meals were cooked on propane, it was enough to confirm the name Evenheat was with merit...the temp control is like no other I've experienced in 35 years. The grills are robust, well designed with 2 different surfaces and very easy to keep clean. The charcoal side is where I now spend all of my time. The large pit allows either a full load or if you put a half load to one side, you can alternate between direct heat for searing or semi-indirect for sort of convection. My blackened chicken breasts have become legendary in my own mind...crispy black but soooo juicy Coal is usually up to temp in 10 minutes so its not much slower than gas. The dual split grills allow more coal to be added without removing the meat. Like any other "stick" grill, it takes a little bit of experimenting to fine tune the cooking temps including the ratio of briquettes to lump if desired. Control is achieved through adjustable openings in the fire box and the lid as well as a crank to adjust the elevation of the fire pit. Once mastered, the propane side became used only for emergencies or as a warming area. Based on the build quality, I expect to run this grill for at least 5 years with minimal or no issue. If you are contemplating charcoal but are afraid to let go of propane, this unit is virtually unbeatable on both stages. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Such a Great BBQ

Date:October 19, 2014
" We purchase this summer and are thrilled with how it keeps the Heat and Cooks evenly. A Great Price too "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:October 17, 2014
" so, I love the vision grill, but it takes more time to light up, so if im in a hurry, I got one of these and also love it! "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:new brunswick
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

best BBQ ever

Date:October 7, 2014
" I bought this for my boyfriend and we love it , its easy to use and has so many great features "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Renfrew, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Really Nice BBQ

Date:June 12, 2014
" Gas side works great, heats fast and is even cooking Charcoal side really nice but when you close all the vents it does not air tight enough to put out the coals takes for ever to cool off "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge,ON

BBQ

Date:May 26, 2014
" GET FOR LARGE FAMILIES OR PARTIES PLENTY OF ROOM FOR GRILLING.YOU HAVE CHARCOAL OR PROPANE. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

flawless bbq experience

Date:May 20, 2014
" Assembly was painless and quick with no surprises or problems. The bbq itself is sturdy and looks beautiful on our deck. We've been entertaining friends and family with excellent grilled meals on both the charcoal and propane sections.
Word to the wise, do invest in a charcoal chimney to make sure you start your charcoal the right way and without using any lighter fluid.
All in all, this has been an excellent purchase.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Deroche, BC V0M, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome BBQ

Date:May 19, 2014
" Me and my husband bog love this BBQ. Lots of space, nice, even heat and cooks great food!! Great purchase-so happy we chose it!! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Coleman® Even Heat™ Dual Fuel Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Our Best BBQ Ever

Date:May 19, 2014
" When our other BBQ got so old that briquets were falling through the rusted bottom, we bought the Coleman Even Heat Duel Fuel propane BBQ..mostly because it was on sale. However it was a great choice. You get side by side charcoal or gas burners..with instant start and very safe technology. It has an amazing 1100 sq in area for large cooking demands. The dual, flat surfaces can be adjusted for height. The charcoal side is porcelean coated so resists rust. The bottom collection plate is easily removed for cleaning and the BBQ can use either propane or gas. A great improvement and a great buy. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3