Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ

Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ

Master Chef® E500 Propane Barbeque features 650 sq.in total cooking surface4 stainless steel tube burnersProduces up to 66 500 BTUs: 10 000 BTU infrared side burner and 8 500 BTU rotisserie burnerDouble-walled stainless steel hoodPorcelain cast iron cooking gratesElectronic ignition170 sq.in chrome-
Average Customer Rating:
4.157 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
45 of 51(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Review 1 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Excellent BBQ for the price

Date:May 16, 2012
"As a former chef, when I was searching for a new bbq, I shopped around and compared features with price using common sense.
I really enjoy this particular bbq. Easy enough to
assemble with just 2 people. Chose the natural gas model for worry free cooking. I've had this model since early spring, and have truly LOVED using it. From complete breakfasts using a steel griddle to late night char-broiled steak supper with all the trimmings, I give this bbq two thumbs up! Very good choice for the money. As a Canadian Tire brand more value is put into the construction and not into the "Name". The only con is the open back which makes for a dust trap, as my city is extremely windy and dusty. I definately keep cooking utensils in my kitchen and not underneath.
"
+74points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female

good choice

Date:June 5, 2014
"Great quality vs price value, used it a few times already and it satisfies our neeeds and we bbq at least 3 times a week"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great barbeque with masterful instructions for DIY

Date:May 28, 2014
"The person who wrote and designed the instructions for assembly should set up his/her own business and write for all products with SAR (some assembly required); the person is a SAR (species at risk) because I know of no-one who does it better. The parts, including nuts, bolts, and washers, are all admirably sorted and labelled, even for idiot DIYers. As for the barbeque, great igniter, burners appropriately spaced to BBQ meats evenly. Comes with infrared burner on one side and a rotisserie burner in back; haven't tried the rotisserie but infrared good for keeping foods warm. A fabulous buy at 25% off.
Kudos to the instruction manual obviously written by an experienced DIY person.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great bbq

Date:May 25, 2014
"This master chef bbq has everything you will need in a propane bbq. Large grill surface with plenty of heat and a nice stainless steel exterior"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

very happy

Date:May 24, 2014
"we needed a new bbq for the new house and that one wasn't too expensive and of good quality"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, Ontario
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great BBQ

Date:May 20, 2014
"I've had the BBQ for over a year now and it's been great. The searing burner is perfect for tuna or shrimp skewers."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Uxbridge
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Features for the money.

Date:May 9, 2014
"Sometimes you get what you pay for, sometimes you pay for the brand.
When my 7 year old Brinkmann rotted out I went out searching for a new BBQ. My criteria was simple:
1) Cooking space to accommodate a 2 racks of ribs.
2) Cast-iron grates.
3) Rotisserie burner.
4) Four stainless steel tube burners.
5) Affordable- $300 to $400 range.
I landed on this beauty of a BBQ because it met all criteria more or less:
1) 2 feet wide and 19 in deep for cooking space.
2) Cast-iron grates not porcelain as described (but that is a good thing because porcelain chips and cracks).
3) Rotisserie burner is a tube and not infrared. ( I haven't tried it yet but I agree with other reviewers that it may not be hot enough).
4) Yep, 4 stainless steel burners ( but not 304 stainless).
5) Got it on sale it is a great bargain when you consider what you get versus other brand names.
I was quite surprised by the infra-red side burner, I never used the side burner on my Brinkmann but I can tell you this searing burner on the E500 rocks! I can cook restaurant-style steaks in half the time (and less gas).
Assembly took me approximately 3.5 hours by my self. The instructions recommend two people for good reason; it is freakin' heavy! Don't lose any hardware (ie. screws,nuts and washers) because if you have some left over, you missed something.
All in all, pleased with my purchase but wished this came with a infra-red rear burner and not an in-efficient tube burner. And it wouldn't hurt to include some extra hardware for us clumsy folks!
Rated 4 out of 5"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

LOVE IT!

Date:May 7, 2014
"Bought this BBQ a few months ago and are very happy with it! Cooks great and evenly! Would recommend it to anyone!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good bbq

Date:May 3, 2014
"Good BBQ. Doesn't cook completely even but its pretty good. A pain to put together but expected for a BBQ."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap but usable

Date:May 3, 2014
"The BBQ is a good deal for what you get. My last natural gas BBQ was a master chef, which is still doing well after 4 years. Now moving to a place without a natural gas line so went with propane. I considered buying something higher quality, but ended up going for the bargain again.
On my old one heating was a little uneven, but manageable."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

excellent purchase

Date:May 3, 2014
"Bought this unit a few years ago for hubby's bd gift. Still working great! No rust. Only complaint is that the heat shields seem to rust quickly."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best BBQ Ever Bought

Date:May 2, 2014
"Got this a while ago, its the best BBQ we ever invested in. Look forward to the Summer grilling. This is just one piece you definitely want in your backyard!!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Outstanding value

Date:September 15, 2013
"This unit not only looks great but has proven to be an excellent purchase. I have had several different BBQ's in the past ranging from entry level to high end. This unit has a cast iron grill which holds the heat and makes prefect grill marks on steaks and chicken. With extra features like the infrared side and rear rotisserie burner really set this BBQ above anything in its price range."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Courtenay, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very satisfied customer!

Date:August 9, 2013
"Purchased this BBQ on sale over the phone for a anniversary present for parents, staff were amazing as to customer service. Assembly was actually fun as instructions were relatively easy & it was great to watch it come together. Took 3 hours to complete while dodging many people on the deck, hooked up the gas, pressed start & everything worked perfectly. Cooked 12lbs of ribs, plenty of even heat even on lowest setting, ribs were delicious! Would recommend this BBQ to all my friends, especially on sale, picked up the rotisserie on sale as well, works like a charm!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst BBQ I have ever had

Date:August 6, 2013
"Sold it after a year. Wher do I start.
Rear rotisserie burner will NOT cook anything without the aid of a couple main burners. Advertised in flyer as an infra red rear burner when in fact it is a tube burner.
The main burners had big yellow flames coming out of the left and right sides where the "cross overs" would be because of poor burner design having the larger cossover burner holes on the outside of the outside burners where there are no crossovers.
The cross over tubes themselves created their own big yellow flames. I had to remove the crossovers and pinch them closed lengh ways to reduce it ."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

only works for about a year...

Date:August 3, 2013
"i have had this bbq for 15 months now.. and it barely works now. It burns at really low heat if you try to turn more than one burner on and yes I have cleaned it and followed every direction about the flow regulator... bottom line its just low quality. its now rusted everywhere and yes I have it covered and treat it like a baby. my advice, spend the money on something decent as this is low quality junk."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Great purchase, but...

Date:July 20, 2013
"A great barbecue and set up was very easy - the instructions were very easy to understand. It took me 2½ hrs with my wife helping occasionally when necessary. The bbq works great and has lots of height clearance for a few beer-can chickens at once!
However, the thermometer is way off. It seemed to be reading low so I checked it with both an analog oven thermometer and then a digital bbq probe thermometer. With all burners on high the temperature reaches over 600°F but the Master Chef thermometer never gets higher than 325°. I now only use my digital probe to keep an eye on the temp.
Apart from that I can honestly say that this is a great buy and well worth getting.
I also bought the Master Chef rotisserie and you have to mount it with the motor on the right or else the lid for the side burner will not open!
I would highly recommend this barbecue to anyone, but do not trust the thermometer.
Happy barbecuing!
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada

What more could I ask for?

Date:June 23, 2013
"Assembly took me about 3.5 hours by myself. Here is a hint. Assemble the base as per directions but add the back stiffner panel as well. Lay the stand down on its side and attach the oven by sliding it on the uprights. I used the plastic straps from the shipping box but you can use the screws that come with the package to assemble the oven to the stand. My way was easy because it kept the lid closed and the hardware in place. Then tilt everything up. So easy a grandma could do it! Use your brain, not your brawn.
I used the BBQ 3 times now. On my first preheat, I turned all 4 burners on to full for 10 min and got up to 470* easily. I don't know why other reviewers can't get this temperature unless they assembled incorrectly. If I added the rotisserie, I could easily get over 500* but that would be a waste of propane! I love having the ability to cook by indirect heat with the outer burners only.
I purchased the optional rotisserie - I use the burner plus the 2 outer burners on low to keep the temperature at an even 320*. Beautiful. Just make sure the motor mount is lower than the spinning mount because otherwise the rotisserie will spin out of the motor.
I love the features - it had everything I wanted in a BBQ (large cooking surface, warming rack, side pot cooker, rotisserie burner and clean look AND bonus it fit my narrow deck being only 53" wide! The only improvement would be to make the lid out of heavier cast iron for the evenist heating.
My purchase of the BBQ and rotisserie were both on sale, subtract the CT money, throw in a bonus debit card and I paid effectively $210 for $440 retail cost."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC, Canada

Poor Customer Service

Date:June 2, 2013
"Bought the BBQ about a month ago. Assembly took about 3.5 hours and was fairly straightforward. Before I turned it on for the first time, I did a soapy water test on the valves and noticed a gas leak on the rotisserie burner valve. Called the number in the manual and explained the part to be replaced. Part wasn't shipped till a week later and arrived another five days later. Package arrives and they sent me the wrong part, the side burner valve for the other side of the bbq. Called back and they ship the right part but still regular ground UPS and have to wait another week. All in, it took over 3 weeks to get the problem resolved. The BBQ works great and I am still happy I bought it, but waiting weeks to get a replacement part on a brand new unit is ridiculous. Especially when you take 2 weeks to send the wrong part in the first place."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB, Canada

amazing bbq

Date:May 28, 2013
"This bbq is amazing it cooks evenly and amazingly. the side burner works amazing I love this bbq"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3