Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop BBQs or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ

Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ

Master Chef® E500 Propane Barbeque features 650 sq.in total cooking surface4 stainless steel tube burnersProduces up to 66 500 BTUs: 10 000 BTU infrared side burner and 8 500 BTU rotisserie burnerDouble-walled stainless steel hoodPorcelain cast iron cooking gratesElectronic ignition170 sq.in chrome-
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
50 of 57(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Review 1 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Excellent BBQ for the price

Date:May 16, 2012
"As a former chef, when I was searching for a new bbq, I shopped around and compared features with price using common sense.
I really enjoy this particular bbq. Easy enough to
assemble with just 2 people. Chose the natural gas model for worry free cooking. I've had this model since early spring, and have truly LOVED using it. From complete breakfasts using a steel griddle to late night char-broiled steak supper with all the trimmings, I give this bbq two thumbs up! Very good choice for the money. As a Canadian Tire brand more value is put into the construction and not into the "Name". The only con is the open back which makes for a dust trap, as my city is extremely windy and dusty. I definately keep cooking utensils in my kitchen and not underneath.
"
+73points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Terrebonne, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not bad for the price

Date:October 22, 2014
"I bought this bbq at the end of this summer and overall it performs ok. The casing is a bit thin but you cant really expect more for the price. I find it takes a bit long to heat up but other than that it performs well. Compared to my last purchase the assembly instructions were easy to understand which isnt always the case. Overall im satisfied for now."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best BBQ ever!!

Date:October 19, 2014
"My husband and I got this BBQ this past Christmas from our kids...what a great bbq!! It's even heat,/cooking surface..and the infrared side burner is the best!! It works fantastic!! Love the rotisserie burner as well..cooks a mean roast!!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good BBQ for the price

Date:October 17, 2014
"It is a really great bbq, the rotisserie works great, and I love the grill marks on steaks. The downsizes are that I wish that it had a back to stop so much from dirtying up underneath. Cleaning this BBQ is easy."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yale, BC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great BBQ

Date:October 12, 2014
"We received this BBQ as a gift after looking at purchasing it ourselves. I still purchase it again. It is a really great bbq, the rotisserie works great, and I love the grill marks on steaks. The downsizes are that I wish that it had a back to stop so much from dirtying up underneath and the lip around the lid is already starting to rust after a few months."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great BBQ

Date:September 16, 2014
"This is one of the best bbqs I have ever owned. Great heat from the 4 burners and infrared side burner provides plenty of heat. This is a great buy."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Worst Barbecue EVER!

Date:August 11, 2014
"After reading the positive reviews I purchased thhis barbecue in the Spring. I read all sorts of info. regarding how to prevent food from sticking. This barbecue has 2 problems: 1. With all I've tried, I continually manage to have ALL foods stick. 2. I have barbecued for 50 years and have never had so many flareups. If I'm not sitting right beside the barbecue ALL THE TIME with a water bottle, I know my food is going to be burnt."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female

good choice

Date:June 5, 2014
"Great quality vs price value, used it a few times already and it satisfies our neeeds and we bbq at least 3 times a week"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great barbeque with masterful instructions for DIY

Date:May 28, 2014
"The person who wrote and designed the instructions for assembly should set up his/her own business and write for all products with SAR (some assembly required); the person is a SAR (species at risk) because I know of no-one who does it better. The parts, including nuts, bolts, and washers, are all admirably sorted and labelled, even for idiot DIYers. As for the barbeque, great igniter, burners appropriately spaced to BBQ meats evenly. Comes with infrared burner on one side and a rotisserie burner in back; haven't tried the rotisserie but infrared good for keeping foods warm. A fabulous buy at 25% off.
Kudos to the instruction manual obviously written by an experienced DIY person.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great bbq

Date:May 25, 2014
"This master chef bbq has everything you will need in a propane bbq. Large grill surface with plenty of heat and a nice stainless steel exterior"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

very happy

Date:May 24, 2014
"we needed a new bbq for the new house and that one wasn't too expensive and of good quality"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, Ontario
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great BBQ

Date:May 20, 2014
"I've had the BBQ for over a year now and it's been great. The searing burner is perfect for tuna or shrimp skewers."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Uxbridge
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Features for the money.

Date:May 9, 2014
"Sometimes you get what you pay for, sometimes you pay for the brand.
When my 7 year old Brinkmann rotted out I went out searching for a new BBQ. My criteria was simple:
1) Cooking space to accommodate a 2 racks of ribs.
2) Cast-iron grates.
3) Rotisserie burner.
4) Four stainless steel tube burners.
5) Affordable- $300 to $400 range.
I landed on this beauty of a BBQ because it met all criteria more or less:
1) 2 feet wide and 19 in deep for cooking space.
2) Cast-iron grates not porcelain as described (but that is a good thing because porcelain chips and cracks).
3) Rotisserie burner is a tube and not infrared. ( I haven't tried it yet but I agree with other reviewers that it may not be hot enough).
4) Yep, 4 stainless steel burners ( but not 304 stainless).
5) Got it on sale it is a great bargain when you consider what you get versus other brand names.
I was quite surprised by the infra-red side burner, I never used the side burner on my Brinkmann but I can tell you this searing burner on the E500 rocks! I can cook restaurant-style steaks in half the time (and less gas).
Assembly took me approximately 3.5 hours by my self. The instructions recommend two people for good reason; it is freakin' heavy! Don't lose any hardware (ie. screws,nuts and washers) because if you have some left over, you missed something.
All in all, pleased with my purchase but wished this came with a infra-red rear burner and not an in-efficient tube burner. And it wouldn't hurt to include some extra hardware for us clumsy folks!
Rated 4 out of 5"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

LOVE IT!

Date:May 7, 2014
"Bought this BBQ a few months ago and are very happy with it! Cooks great and evenly! Would recommend it to anyone!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good bbq

Date:May 3, 2014
"Good BBQ. Doesn't cook completely even but its pretty good. A pain to put together but expected for a BBQ."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap but usable

Date:May 3, 2014
"The BBQ is a good deal for what you get. My last natural gas BBQ was a master chef, which is still doing well after 4 years. Now moving to a place without a natural gas line so went with propane. I considered buying something higher quality, but ended up going for the bargain again.
On my old one heating was a little uneven, but manageable."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

excellent purchase

Date:May 3, 2014
"Bought this unit a few years ago for hubby's bd gift. Still working great! No rust. Only complaint is that the heat shields seem to rust quickly."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best BBQ Ever Bought

Date:May 2, 2014
"Got this a while ago, its the best BBQ we ever invested in. Look forward to the Summer grilling. This is just one piece you definitely want in your backyard!!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Outstanding value

Date:September 15, 2013
"This unit not only looks great but has proven to be an excellent purchase. I have had several different BBQ's in the past ranging from entry level to high end. This unit has a cast iron grill which holds the heat and makes prefect grill marks on steaks and chicken. With extra features like the infrared side and rear rotisserie burner really set this BBQ above anything in its price range."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Master Chef® E500 Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Courtenay, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very satisfied customer!

Date:August 9, 2013
"Purchased this BBQ on sale over the phone for a anniversary present for parents, staff were amazing as to customer service. Assembly was actually fun as instructions were relatively easy & it was great to watch it come together. Took 3 hours to complete while dodging many people on the deck, hooked up the gas, pressed start & everything worked perfectly. Cooked 12lbs of ribs, plenty of even heat even on lowest setting, ribs were delicious! Would recommend this BBQ to all my friends, especially on sale, picked up the rotisserie on sale as well, works like a charm!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3