Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Propane BBQs or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ

Stationary propane BBQ features a 680 sq.in. total cooking surface with a 28 burger capacity Four Even Heat™ stainless steel burners ensure even heat and fewer flare-ups for an unbeatable cooking performance every time 63,000 total BTUs: main 50,000 & side 13,000 Dual surface cast iron grates InstaStart™ electronic ignition guarantees fast, dependable and safe ignition every time Convenient Quick Check™ fuel gauge measures the fuel level from full to empty Features a side burner, temperature gauge and below grill storage with tool hooks and storage baskets Available accessories (not included): BBQ cover (85-3245) & rotisserie (85-1846) Natural gas model available (85-3029) 61 L x 22 W x 49" H (1.5 x 0.6 x 1.2 m) Quantities are limited. Sorry, no rainchecks.
Average Customer Rating:
3.481 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
4
15 of 27(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Review 1 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON

Love this BBQ

Date:May 28, 2013
"Bought this BBQ after comparing many BBQs. After putting it together we were excited to give it a try and have not been disappointed since! Cooks evenly and quickly - no burning (like our old one). Looking forward to this summer as we plan on using it all the time! Lots of cooking space and has a built in fuel gauge to let you know when you need to refill the tank. Love it!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Love this BBQ

Date:May 23, 2013
"Bought this bbq last summer and since then it has been my baby. Works well. Takes a bit to put together but totally worth it. Not 1 speck of rust like I've read about on other eviews. Got it on sale 499.99$"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not happy - poor grates

Date:September 19, 2012
"I purchased the Coleman 4 Burner BBQ in April of this year. I also have the Coleman RoadTrip Grill for our Camper (Paul Jr Design Model). When shopping for a replacement BBQ, I decided on on the Coleman because of the name and quality of the product. It was more expensive than other brands but I believe in "you get what you pay for" or so I thought.
The last month or so, I've noticed our grates starting to pit and rust so I called Warranty to determine how we can go about getting this resolved. I was told rust is not a warranty issue but a maintenance issue? I followed the instructions on seasoning the grates and keep them maintained/cleaned after each cooking. It has a quality cover we put on it when not in use.
The warranty person spoke to me as if this was my first BBQ - that didn't go over so well with me...
Given that we BBQ year round, I expect them to show signs of rust a bit sooner than expected but not a couple months in (and its summer). I expect to get a couple seasons in first! I've purchased other BBQ's and the grates have never rusted this quickly on me. I've also had them replaced within the warranty period with no questions asked!
I find the "maintenance issue" a poor excuse not to help given that the unit is still relatively "new".
Although it has a lot of nice features, I would recommend getting something else. I now have to go spend $100 on new grates and I'm not sure what else in the near future.
Should've stuck with the BROIL KING. I always purchased this brand of BBQ..."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton,Alberta

Disappointing

Date:September 2, 2012
"I spent a year waiting for my old BBQ to finally die so that I could purchase this BBQ.At that time I had no hesitations purchasing a Coleman BBQ product seeing as how 90% of my camping gear was already Coleman products.Unfortunately Coleman really dropped the ball on this BBQ...it cooks great but after only 6 months of ownership all of the black lettering on the 4-dial panel has peeled off.The 2 lower front doors have rust spots on them which has caused me to file a warranty claim.After only 6 months I expected more from a Coleman product.I hate to leave negative reviews but in this case I had no choice."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Has Issues with Rust

Date:July 6, 2012
"We purchased this BBQ on sale around 2 years ago at Canadian Tire. While it BBQs well enough and has some nice features, in the end I wouldn't recommend it.
Pros:
Large cooking surface
Nice side burner
INSTASTART has worked flawlessly so far!
Easy to put together and rolls around nicely Cooks fairly evenly - so far
Cons:
Handle gets unreasonably hot compared to other BBQs I've used.
Rust within the first year! (front doors, bit on the frame and inside the fuel gauge) - even though we keep it covered right to the deck when not in use.
Cooking grill, which looked like stainless steel but were coated something or other, cracked by the beginning of the second summer then peeled and rusted by the beginning of the third summer. We e-mailed Coleman's support and told them what happened. They asked for pictures and once we sent them they sent us 3 new replacement grills as "goodwill". They aren't the same stainless steel coated grill, rather porcelain coated cast iron grills. I've read positives about both stainless steel and porcelain coated so I guess only time will tell if these new ones will last longer. One thing is for sure - they can't be any worse! Given that we're a full year beyond the warranty and the grills were not explicitly mentioned in the warranty - I'll take the new grates.
Surface scuffs easy! Tried to get the rust off with a little rust remover but ended up scuffing and tarnishing the finish. No one's fault but my own - but think I'd go with tougher stuff next time.
In the end it's a better BBQ than the one we had before, but not worth the price - even on sale. Next time, if we're going to spend that much money on a BBQ ($499) - we'll take it up a notch and go for a Broil King. My folks had one for years and never had any problems with them."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cole Harbour...Nova Scotia

Buyers Beware...Not good Quality

Date:June 20, 2012
"This BBQ has been a problem since new, replacement of warranteed parts, in some cases X 2 & 3 (same part). Damaged from start. Used only 5 months of the year, covered to the ground. Major issues with lower bottom rusted badly, Colman (as noted in other reviews) state its because failure to look after properly (Coleman customer care manager-Nantel) refuses to do anything. MOST of us know how to look after our investments...I have had cheaper BBQs that lasted/will last longer....DO NOT BUY!!! SAVE YOURSELF MUCH GRIEF!!!...Poor Quality"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Stainless steel grates

Date:May 12, 2012
"it says cast grates but mine had stainless in it the cast ones were the only reason we bought it"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Timmins

Good, but not a great BBQ.

Date:March 13, 2012
"BBQ works well, heat is still greater by the rear of the grill. The stainless steel grates are not solid stainless steel. After less than 2 years, the stainless steel is cracking and peeling off the grates. What a disappointment. I thought I was buying a better quality, longer lasting bbq as apposed to the $200 model that I usually buy. I guess I was wrong. The warranty on the grates is only 1 year, so I have to spend an extra $100 to replace them. I'll try the cast iron grates. Also, the burners are close to the grates, so watch out for flare ups! I would not recommend this BBQ!"
+48points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:hawkesbury

rust dripping

Date:January 23, 2012
"We've had this bbq for about 4 months. The metal around the counter is all rusted. I called Coleman. They told me i didn't care for it properly. They said a bbq has to always be covered. We've had bbqs for about 25 years. I've never had to cover them. the quality is extremely poor. Would not recommend to anyone. Now the rust is dripping on the cement patio & leaving stains
the starter never worked either. Very low quality materials.
"
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Quebec

Do not buy Coleman

Date:September 28, 2011
"I have a 5 month old Stainless-steel BBQ from Coleman. Sounds great? Its stainless-steel cover is rusting why? One control knob melted and now free wheeling. I called customer service, and they told me it is not covered (please read the fine prints on warranty statements). LOL
I bought it for the name of Coleman.. Geez, did I make a mistake. If I am writing this review wasting my time, you know how unhappy I am on Coleman product. Do you want to take your chance?
"
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, Ontario

Do not buy this BBQ

Date:August 26, 2011
"Like some of the other reviews, we have had this BBQ for 14 months and the stainless steel grills are peeling and the welds are letting go. As well, the tube which carries the propane to the grills has completely rusted out which has caused flair ups so that everything on the grill was instantly turned black. Coleman's response is that it is our fault and that "Stainless steel will rust". I elevated my complaint two weeks ago and they have chosen to ignore me. The BBQ has great features, but overall it is a dud!"
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Terrace B.C.

Great BBQ

Date:July 9, 2011
"Excellent BBQ! Heats up fast and hot!
Stanless steel grill is a must and very well done on this unit.
One major complaint is that the control knobs are poorly marked. Have left the BBQ on by mistake as there is no clear on or off markings on this unit.
Have reported this to Coleman. Gas gauge also does not seem to work properly as it operates by the weight of the tank and not how much propane is left in the tank. But all in all great BBQ."
-13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint John, NB

Stay clear

Date:July 7, 2011
"After one year this BBQ is falling appart!
You can find a similar product for half what this one costs. Don't let the Coleman name fool you, I have owned Coleman products in the past and this BBQ does not have the same quality.
"
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Stainless steel cooking grates is pealing!

Date:July 6, 2011
"After one year and 2 months, the Stainless steel cooking grates are pealing! Yes, Stainless steel pealing! Coleman can do nothing for me."
+36points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, On

I made the right choice

Date:June 28, 2011
"After much research I bought this on sale the past weekend. Went together in under 2 hours.
Pros
- Solid construction. Nothing cheap about this unit.
- Heats up fast and easy.
- Well designed. Everything feels right.
Cons
- Instructions pictures a bit confusing
- Doesn't come with AA battery (but understandable)
When assembling you should have some help lifting upper portion on to the base but the rest can be done alone without much problem.
Great value and I highly recommend this BBQ."
-12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bay, ON

I bought 2

Date:June 24, 2011
"I replaced a somewhat new BBQ with this one because the other one wouldn't get up past 300. Anyways I love this BBQ, for the money (buy it on sale) you get a good quality BBQ for a reasonable dollar. I liked my BBQ so much my family went together and bought my dad one too, and he also enjoys cooking on his. Some things aren't worth cheaping out on and this is a good bang for buck BBQ. It does take a bit of time to assemble so don't buy it thinking your cooking on it 1hr after you get home. Also I believe the tank level indicator is adjustable and it is designed for a 20lb tank (you wouldn't be able to fit a 30lb or larger tank as suggested by another reviewer - the tank would be too tall). The stainless steel grill is perfect, no chipping or rusting. What else can I say, you won't find a equal or better BBQ for less money or at least not in my opinion."
-10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love to BBQ

Date:May 10, 2011
"We use our BBQ a lot and entertain fairly often during the summer. We purchased the BBQ on sale last Fall and have just started using it. So far really like it but the test will be a BBQ brunch in a couple of weeks.
If I can cook breakfast on it I am happy!
It took a little longer than expected to assemble but I am not sure how much instruction reading was going on.
Overall I am happy and like the even heat and ease of cleaning.
"
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whitby

Get it assembled for you if you can

Date:April 26, 2011
"I just put this together on Sat and it was a big pain. Just too many parts and steps as far as I'm concerned, not sure why it couldn't have come a bit more 'put together'. It took me on my own about 4 hrs. (seeing everyone else was 2 hrs makes me feel very un-handy :( So by the end I was cursing and would have gladly paid to have someone put this together for me.
Also, after it was all done, there was a very slight gap on the right hand side of the lid vs the other side. So it didn't shut as perfectly as I would have liked, and not sure why. I took my time and put everything together carefully.
Also, as per the question I just posted, the fuel indicator doesn't seem to be for a standard 20lb tank... as when I put in a full tank the gauge only read just over half. But I noticed if I pushed down on the tank to simulate more weight, the gauge went to full. So not sure if its meant for a 30 or 40lb tank.
So some disappointments with this unit, but overall it seems well built."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

Very Good BBQ

Date:April 15, 2011
"I had my eye on the cuisanart bbq at Cdn Tire, but after visiting the store, i saw how cheap it was made, and searched around to find the coleman bbq. I liked the solid feel of the bbq, purchased it and read the glowing review's after. The bbq took a good 2 hours to assemble, but was rather easy, to follow the instructions. i have been using for two weeks, and i find the bbq heats up extremely quickly with all 4 burners going. I've heard it uses a lot of propane, but i haven't noticed that yet."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Coleman Even Heat™ 4-Burner Stationary Propane BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Coleman gets a A on this BBQ

Date:August 11, 2010
"We had looked for a new BBQ for a long time this model caught our eye.It was well worth every cent as this model was on sale for 480.00. It took me about 2 .30 hours to put togather. The instructions where well written as you follow the step by step on each page.What I like the most about this model is that you know how much propane is in the canister by the gauge on top. We put 10 burgers on, not even covering half of the BBQ grill.They cooked in minutes at a even heat.The best part was the cleaning of the grill which is SS and cleans with a little bit of water.I would highly recommend this to anyone ."
+34points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2