Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker

Cuisinart® Electric Smoker

Smoker features 810 sq.in. total cooking surfaceFive cooking racks to maximize smoking spaceThermostat for easy/convenient control and automatic shut off at desired timeGlass window for viewing food while it cooksDurable stainless steel construction
Average Customer Rating:
2.864 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
6
11 of 22(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Impressive Smoker

Date:March 23, 2014
"I was a little worried about the 50/50 reviews but after unpacking it and setting it up and using it for the first time I am thrilled. Made a pork tenderloin wow it worked great. Heat stayed even, wood chips went through shoot great, good seal everywhere. Product does not seem so cheaply made to me as other reviews seem to say. The glass door is great and the unit has a typical 1 year warranty. Sure this is not for a business or a daily smoker but for weekly use at home the price is right. Looking forward to smoking a salmon next."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hamilton
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Before you buy

Date:March 19, 2014
"Cuisinart tells me that tHe burner is not replaceable.."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

smoker/lottery game

Date:December 7, 2013
"I never win anything- but judging from the reviews I must have got lucky. I have smoked pork roast,ribs and bacon I cured myself with great results.I get a small whisp of smoke from the top corner of the door other than that -good seal.The stat keeps the unit +or- 8deg f with no chips pretty good for electric.Looks like with this you pay your money and take your chances."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Well, it finally died after 18 months!

Date:August 28, 2013
"I had left a previous review and update for this unit in 2012. Bought it on sale in March 2012 and unit just died yesterday. Electronics work, but I believe element is dead. Does not heat anymore. Called Cuisinart and they said it was best used now for a boat anchor or door stop. Unit is sealed and no way to replace parts.
Oh well, got 18 mths of good smokin for about $12/mth. Did work well when used but I think quality of build doomed it from day 1.
Anybody know of a good place to buy a Bradley electronic cheap??"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

could have been made better

Date:July 8, 2013
"The smoker works great. I would not pay the $299 price. I waited for it to go on sale for $199 and then used a little over $100 of canadian tire money to buy it. For $299 there are plenty of other options that are most likely worth the money. As I said the smoker works great, gets up to and stays at temperature selected quickly , if anything the thermostat cut out levels could be a little closer to the temperature you set it to. The shoot to add chips does not have enough slope to get the chips in to the pan. I find that most chips stay in the shoot or in the cup. My biggest beef with it is the quality of construction, it is poor at best. Door seal poor, door latch poor, vent poor, insulation sticking out of most of the seams. As for recommending it to a friend, I would but not at $299 it is a $150 unit and not worth a penny more. I don't expect it will last very long due to the poor construction but now i know what to look for in the next unit i buy. Lesson learned!"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Great Smoker!

Date:July 3, 2013
"This was a fantastic purchase on sale! Tried roast pork for the 1st time - Best smoke roast pork ever! It takes some time to cook though at roughly 200 degrees, but well worth it. Definitley a weekend idea, not after work thats for sure. Assembly was easy and quick. Budget for the 2hrs to cure the unit first before you start smoking. The temperature does fluctuate because A) you have the element, and B) you get the additional heat from the wood chips. I cant wait to try more stuff next weekend!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arnprior, ON, Canada

On the fence

Date:June 5, 2013
"Nice unit in concept
I bought one and the door cap fell off and the wheels were of level. Which I can deal with but the fact it took soooo long to get to "almost" the temp on the display I had to add long time to cooking time. Once it was cooked it was decent
I returned it and bought a charcoal smoker"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada

Do not waste your money

Date:June 5, 2013
"It looks nice from outside,..but a lot of issues!!!!
It is hard to controll the temperature because the thermostat flactuates a lot. Door seal leaks and you got a big greassy mess below your doors. Cheap metal lining from inside corodes as soon as you touch it with marinated meat..(salt, paper etc.. will eat it away). I bought it on sale for 199$ and was pure waste of money since I have to trow it away
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sutton, ON L0E, Canada

Not Disappointed

Date:May 28, 2013
"I read all the reviews on this product. Some were good, some bad. I bought it anyway and was very happy with my purchase. I have used it several times and find that it works well and is very easy to operate."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bought one, broke first time I used it.

Date:May 27, 2013
"I bought one of these and it broke the first time I used it! The door was very loose and then the controls just stopped working entirely once the managed to finally build some heat.
I bought it in and exchanged it for another one which also broke after using it 3 times.
VERDICT: Buy a Bradley! It's a little more money but it is a far superior unit."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MOOSE JAW.SK

VERY GOOD BUY

Date:May 3, 2013
"THIS SMOKER IS SIMPLE AND EASY TO USE.WITH SLIDE OUT RACKS IT MAKES IT EASY TO CLEAN AND SET UP"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Better than a Bradley

Date:September 25, 2012
"I have 4 smokers. 2 Charcoal, 1 Bradley and I just bought the Cuisinart. The Bradley breaks down over time, plastic and heat do not mix well together. The plastic gets brittle and breaks. The Bradley pucks are expensive, as the cuisinart gives you the option of wood chips or pellets at a much lower cost to smoke. Also the Cuisinart racks are much easier to clean than the Bradley Racks. I am happy with my Cuisinart and am about to scrap my Bradley. Also the Cuisinart heats up faster and holds the heat, the Bradley took 2 hours more of cooking due to recovering the temperature."
+48points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fathers Day present

Date:July 5, 2012
"Got this from the kids for fathers day and have used it every weekend since. Works great for me and haven't had any problems like the others mentioned in reviews. Yes, it gets really dirty for sure with all the smoke, but that seems normal to me. Have made some great tasting food!"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY A BRADLEY

Date:June 24, 2012
"When I first purchased this smoker I was thinking I should be buying the Bradley, but since I was not planning on smoking alot I figured that the Cuisinart was a better fit. Boy was I wrong. After the third use of the smoker the front door popped right off and fell on the ground. I could not believe it!!!! The smoker was about a week old I had just marinated some turkey and just fired it up. The temperature was just getting up (approx 120F) when the door blew the top hinge off and fell on the ground. Still not sure how that exactly what happened but I am thinking because of the poor construction and the poor quality, the metal around the hinges let go and off come the door. Also the pop-up digital display is already warping from the heat and has to be manually opened. Not impressed at all by this product and am off to the store to exchange it for a Bradley."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Thompson, MB

Good Value for the Price

Date:May 9, 2012
"After buying the unit a couple weeks ago I read some of the reviews and got a little worried. However, I can say that the unit performed better than I expected. As an owner of another smoker that utilized wood pucks I wanted to find a second smoker for my bigger smoker projects. I was impressed by the ease of use of this smoker and the quality of the cabinet and power of the heating element to keep and reach temperature. I put this smoker through a workout of cold smoked salmon and then at a different time smoked pork ribs. Being a hardcore smoker for over 20 years I am pretty regimented to my smoker temps and found that this unit kept to the desired temp range very well. I did not experience the problems others have reported with the door seal or condensation. As a note for others I recommend on this, or any other insulated cabinet to keep the top vent wide open. I was impressed by how much smoke and how clean the wood pellets and chips I used burnt. The only drawback I see in this unit is that the rack guides are a little flimsy and the unit does not come equipped with a built in meat thermometer or rack options for sausage making and smaller smoked items. These are things that can be remedied after market for quite cheaply though. I love my other smoker but I think this may become my new go to smoker for cold smoking fish and sausage projects. I like the unit and like that I can use the cheaper and more extensive kinds and blends of woodchips and pellets. I would recommend this unit as a good buy at this price point."
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Get what you pay for - if on sale!

Date:May 1, 2012
"When this baby went down to $199, figured I would pull the pin and buy one. Knew it was not in the same leauge as Bradley, but at $300 cheaper than Bradley digital and without big ongoing cost of bisquettes it seemed to be a good option.
The quality is poor considering it is a Cuisinart. The VERY GOOD news is that it has a carry-in return for one year to CT so minimal risk if it does not perform. As others noted, seal is not airtight and I got a small condensation leak from bottom side of door. Nothing major though. No visible smoke loss except through chip feeder door. Smoked a 1.5lb pork tenderloin in 2.5 hours at 220 degrees. Meat was perfectly smoked and oh so juicy!
I have owned two Green Eggs for may years and wanted to move to electric for more consistency and less babysitting for long smokes. My electronic BBQ temperature guage was pretty consistent with the actual smoker temp but I found that the smoker varied about +/- 10 degrees as the element cooled and heated. Moral of that story is check your food on long smokes at least every few hours and do not go by standard cooking times/temps on some sites.
I found that dry chips worked better than pellets and produced more smoke. For a 2.5hr smoke I added only 3 small hoppers of chips. For most smokes you probably would not want to generate more than an hour or two of smoke or you will overpower the food. Worked well there.
Overall for $199 it is all that I expected, but certainly not more. If you do heavy usage of electric smoking this is not the machine. For the occassional hot or cold smoke, it will probably do the trick, assuming that when it comes out of the box it is one piece!
Will update review when I give it a better workout."
+45points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is junk.

Date:April 29, 2012
"I bought one of these a few weeks back. When I opened the box it was a little scratched up but not really concerning. During the first use, it started leaking through the seal in the bottom corner of the door. The seal on top let smoke through but I assumed this was normal.
I tightened the door clasp, only to discover that the rivets on both the door and smoker are very loose.
After 3 uses the seal around the door leaks excessively, the rivets look like they'll give way soon, and now smoke and condensation liquid leak through the seal around the glass in the window. In addition, the bottom of the smoker is dented (on the inside) which causes liquid to pool at the seal (which leaks) and has caused the paint to peel away.
In short, I'm very disappointed in this product."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fenelon Falls, ON

Just doesn't perform

Date:April 28, 2012
"I have been smoking meats for 16 years, I have the Chargriller offset smoker, the Bradley Original lazy Q, and a Master Forge propane smoker, so I know my smokers. This unit is not worth buying and will be returned to CTC as soon as I can get it back in the box. Biggest complaint, the digital thermometer, not even close to being the right temperature. It does not take 5 hours to cook 2 lbs of meat and then we had to finish it off in the oven !!!! The plus side is it does look pretty. If you decide to buy this smoker, take your chances, maybe yours will work better than mine. Totally Dissapointed. The disign of this smoker copys the Masterbuilt Electric Smoker and the Cayjun Injector by Bruce Foods but certainly lacks the performance. Enough said."
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So-So

Date:April 26, 2012
"After unpacking the unit, it appeared rather banged up from the factory. Lots of little scratches, etc. The door hing at the top has 2 screws holding it on and allowing it to seal. One screw was stripped out, and the door did not seal at all (not even close)
The door gasket was total garbage, and was not installed correctly. No matter how you adjusted the door latch, the seal would not seal, and the hinge was so loose there was way to prevent the smoke from billowing out of the door. Even if the hinge was correct I dont see how the seal could last more than 3-4 uses.. its really cheap, and installed with little care.
This left smoke stains all over the outside of the unit, and really messed it up.
This unit will be returned for replacement tomorrow. We shall see how good the replacement policy is."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Not to bad

Date:April 25, 2012
"What I like:
Style, size window, easy of use and sale price
What I don't like:
Quality (condensation leaks through window, insulation shows through seams, etc) and feeder door prevents wood from sliding down easily.
I wouldn't purchase this at full price, the sale price ($199) is more suited for its quality. Overall I like it though."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2