Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker

Cuisinart® Electric Smoker

Smoker features 810 sq.in. total cooking surfaceFive cooking racks to maximize smoking spaceThermostat for easy/convenient control and automatic shut off at desired timeGlass window for viewing food while it cooksDurable stainless steel door and steel body construction
Average Customer Rating:
3.071 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
16 of 28(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent

Date:July 3, 2014
" I don't know what's with all the 'door fell off' reviews. Perhaps overtightening the latch? Mine is solid as a rock. Creates and keeps a level temperature, I have smoked pork shoulders, turkey legs, fish and never had an issue. The seal around the door is perfect provided you put it on level ground. I threw away my Bradley for this smoker over two years ago, and it's still going strong. No regrets. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kenora, ON P0V, Canada
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love it!!!

Date:June 5, 2014
" I have used my smoker 4 times now. The temp stays fairly constent, even over long smokes. It has worked perfectly every time. I use wood chips for my fuel source. It's great that it takes very little wood to produce a fantastic tasting product. I have smoked several different species of fish, plus chicken, and turkey. All turned out perfect! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Smiths Falls, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

piece of garbage

Date:May 25, 2014
" thing broke after maybe 20 uses save your money buy something better "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

Not bad

Date:May 25, 2014
" It's a good smoker but it's a 50/50 chance of getting a piece of junk that will only last a year at best or you might be lucky and get one that lasts. I would much rather put a bit more money and get one that's a five star "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great gift

Date:May 7, 2014
" Husband loved it. Wonderful birthday gift. Loves smoked trouts!! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great gift

Date:May 7, 2014
" Works well. Was a great bday gift for my husband. He loves smoked trout!! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Impressive Smoker

Date:March 23, 2014
" I was a little worried about the 50/50 reviews but after unpacking it and setting it up and using it for the first time I am thrilled. Made a pork tenderloin wow it worked great. Heat stayed even, wood chips went through shoot great, good seal everywhere. Product does not seem so cheaply made to me as other reviews seem to say. The glass door is great and the unit has a typical 1 year warranty. Sure this is not for a business or a daily smoker but for weekly use at home the price is right. Looking forward to smoking a salmon next. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hamilton
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Before you buy

Date:March 19, 2014
" Cuisinart tells me that tHe burner is not replaceable.. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

smoker/lottery game

Date:December 7, 2013
" I never win anything- but judging from the reviews I must have got lucky. I have smoked pork roast,ribs and bacon I cured myself with great results.I get a small whisp of smoke from the top corner of the door other than that -good seal.The stat keeps the unit +or- 8deg f with no chips pretty good for electric.Looks like with this you pay your money and take your chances. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Well, it finally died after 18 months!

Date:August 28, 2013
" I had left a previous review and update for this unit in 2012. Bought it on sale in March 2012 and unit just died yesterday. Electronics work, but I believe element is dead. Does not heat anymore. Called Cuisinart and they said it was best used now for a boat anchor or door stop. Unit is sealed and no way to replace parts.
Oh well, got 18 mths of good smokin for about $12/mth. Did work well when used but I think quality of build doomed it from day 1.
Anybody know of a good place to buy a Bradley electronic cheap?? "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

could have been made better

Date:July 8, 2013
" The smoker works great. I would not pay the $299 price. I waited for it to go on sale for $199 and then used a little over $100 of canadian tire money to buy it. For $299 there are plenty of other options that are most likely worth the money. As I said the smoker works great, gets up to and stays at temperature selected quickly , if anything the thermostat cut out levels could be a little closer to the temperature you set it to. The shoot to add chips does not have enough slope to get the chips in to the pan. I find that most chips stay in the shoot or in the cup. My biggest beef with it is the quality of construction, it is poor at best. Door seal poor, door latch poor, vent poor, insulation sticking out of most of the seams. As for recommending it to a friend, I would but not at $299 it is a $150 unit and not worth a penny more. I don't expect it will last very long due to the poor construction but now i know what to look for in the next unit i buy. Lesson learned! "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Great Smoker!

Date:July 3, 2013
" This was a fantastic purchase on sale! Tried roast pork for the 1st time - Best smoke roast pork ever! It takes some time to cook though at roughly 200 degrees, but well worth it. Definitley a weekend idea, not after work thats for sure. Assembly was easy and quick. Budget for the 2hrs to cure the unit first before you start smoking. The temperature does fluctuate because A) you have the element, and B) you get the additional heat from the wood chips. I cant wait to try more stuff next weekend! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arnprior, ON, Canada

On the fence

Date:June 5, 2013
" Nice unit in concept
I bought one and the door cap fell off and the wheels were of level. Which I can deal with but the fact it took soooo long to get to "almost" the temp on the display I had to add long time to cooking time. Once it was cooked it was decent
I returned it and bought a charcoal smoker "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada

Do not waste your money

Date:June 5, 2013
" It looks nice from outside,..but a lot of issues!!!!
It is hard to controll the temperature because the thermostat flactuates a lot. Door seal leaks and you got a big greassy mess below your doors. Cheap metal lining from inside corodes as soon as you touch it with marinated meat..(salt, paper etc.. will eat it away). I bought it on sale for 199$ and was pure waste of money since I have to trow it away
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sutton, ON L0E, Canada

Not Disappointed

Date:May 28, 2013
" I read all the reviews on this product. Some were good, some bad. I bought it anyway and was very happy with my purchase. I have used it several times and find that it works well and is very easy to operate. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bought one, broke first time I used it.

Date:May 27, 2013
" I bought one of these and it broke the first time I used it! The door was very loose and then the controls just stopped working entirely once the managed to finally build some heat.
I bought it in and exchanged it for another one which also broke after using it 3 times.
VERDICT: Buy a Bradley! It's a little more money but it is a far superior unit. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MOOSE JAW.SK

VERY GOOD BUY

Date:May 3, 2013
" THIS SMOKER IS SIMPLE AND EASY TO USE.WITH SLIDE OUT RACKS IT MAKES IT EASY TO CLEAN AND SET UP "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Better than a Bradley

Date:September 25, 2012
" I have 4 smokers. 2 Charcoal, 1 Bradley and I just bought the Cuisinart. The Bradley breaks down over time, plastic and heat do not mix well together. The plastic gets brittle and breaks. The Bradley pucks are expensive, as the cuisinart gives you the option of wood chips or pellets at a much lower cost to smoke. Also the Cuisinart racks are much easier to clean than the Bradley Racks. I am happy with my Cuisinart and am about to scrap my Bradley. Also the Cuisinart heats up faster and holds the heat, the Bradley took 2 hours more of cooking due to recovering the temperature. "
+50points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fathers Day present

Date:July 5, 2012
" Got this from the kids for fathers day and have used it every weekend since. Works great for me and haven't had any problems like the others mentioned in reviews. Yes, it gets really dirty for sure with all the smoke, but that seems normal to me. Have made some great tasting food! "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Electric Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY A BRADLEY

Date:June 24, 2012
" When I first purchased this smoker I was thinking I should be buying the Bradley, but since I was not planning on smoking alot I figured that the Cuisinart was a better fit. Boy was I wrong. After the third use of the smoker the front door popped right off and fell on the ground. I could not believe it!!!! The smoker was about a week old I had just marinated some turkey and just fired it up. The temperature was just getting up (approx 120F) when the door blew the top hinge off and fell on the ground. Still not sure how that exactly what happened but I am thinking because of the poor construction and the poor quality, the metal around the hinges let go and off come the door. Also the pop-up digital display is already warping from the heat and has to be manually opened. Not impressed at all by this product and am off to the store to exchange it for a Bradley. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2