Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker

Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker

Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker features 244 sq.in total cooking surfaceDual air damper system controls heat and smokeUnique offset firebox design for barbecuing and smokingLarge cooking chamber for grillingConvenient wooden front shelf for tools and accessoriesBBQ assembly may be available at an add
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Review 1 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Gret Smoker / BBQ 15 years and still going strong

Date:April 29, 2014
"I got this smoker and have used it a lot. Yes the paint is not the best but if you repaint it with engine paint it will last a long time. I have smoked everything from fish to wild boar and Venison.
It's great for steaks. I use wood charcoal and Maple logs for long smoking times up to 6 hours on 2 loads of charcoal and 1 log in the smoke box.
How ever the stand was the first thing to rust out then it was the coal pan. But I made a brick stand and it's still going strong great BBQ/Smoker
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada

A little effort required

Date:April 24, 2013
"this is a budget smoker and one should expect that when buying a smoker of this size and cost. But with a little effort you can make this into a great smoker.
When you first get the smoker it does not seal well at all making it hard to control the heat and smoke. But if you take the fire box apart and put either high temp gaskets, or roll up tin foil and put it back together with the tinfoil in all the seams, it is now sealed tight. A simple fix and now can hold at 175 for 4 hours on one load of charcoal.
If you are looking for an easy smoker that you do not have to do anything with, unfortunately you will need to spend a lot more and buy a bradley, plug it in, set it and leave it. But that takes the fun out of smoking if you ask me."
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not recommended

Date:April 18, 2013
"Bought this on special at 130$, it smoked a ham alright but with way too much effort for the result, it drips from everywhere, while smoking and looses a lot of heat. I could not get it past 200 F for more than 10-15 minutes adding charcoal every hour. Maybe I did not use this correctly but I've smoked a lot of meat on a regular charcoal grill and never had such a hard time. I brought it back and would definitely not recommend."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada

Don't waste your time and money

Date:April 6, 2013
"You will waste your time installing it then taking back .. From the first time the black paint burned and faded.. bad burning smell from the paint .. I took it back right away to store ."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Good Smoker

Date:May 11, 2011
"I've had mine for about 3 years now. It works quite well. I've modified it a bit to have a tighter seal around the fire box and cooking chamber (basically took it apart and put it back together using high temp gasket sealant). Has held up well over the years too."
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK

Does the Job... well!

Date:April 5, 2011
"That last review I didn't understand. This is a "smoker". You put your charcoal and smoked wood chips on one side, and food on the other and let the smoke do the work, not the heat! I've had this for years and never had any problems. You can control the inlet vent, and discharge getting maximum smoke, or even getting more heat through to cook it faster. But you want to cook all day just like a slow cooker. The longer it takes, the more smoke flavour you get. This won't replace your BBQ, it's just a treat to smoke on there.
Best thing I've ever smoked on there was Salmon with a hickory smoke, you'll never get taste like that from a BBQ! I never smoked chicken on there, just roasts and fish."
+47points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Tough to review

Date:October 16, 2010
"This is a tough product to review. On the one hand, considering what you'll pay for it, it's tremendous value. By all means, by this product - BUT be prepared to put some work into it.
These products are made of flimsy metal (you get what you pay for!) which means big-time heat loss in the cooking compartment. You need to be prepared to make modifications to get the temperature moving from the firebox area across to the far side, you need to be prepared to seal up the door (mine belched out smoke and heat like it was going out of style) and perhaps even to insulate the cooking compartment (which I did, with an insulating foil wrap). It's still great value, but if you're not prepared to put the effort in to modifying this unit then go to a better model elsewhere. If you don't put that work in, what you get is a smoker that doesn't really keep things all that warm; if you do, you get an almost professional-level piece of equipment for a pittance."
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Osgoode, ON

Excellent beginner's smoker

Date:December 29, 2009
"This was my first foray into the world of smoking. It was easy to set up and use. My first time cooking ribs on a smoker and they were awesome!!!! This is a great little smoker to experiment with and get your technique down with. Since the ribs, I have smoked all sorts of meats and have yet to be let down by the results.
Great gift for the BBQ king in your family."
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Good Deal

Date:September 17, 2008
"It's really a good deal for charcoal BBQ fans. One con to mention is that cleaning the grill after cooking is not easy."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice product

Date:September 10, 2008
"I've had my smoker grill for just over a year. It's been very reliable (with the exception of the thermometer which is a little off after a full season). That aside, there's nothing like the taste of real smoked Ribs, vegetables, chops, steak, even burgers. An extreme bargain when on sale! A little more work than the electric or propane ones but more fun to use."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yellowknife, NT

Great for real BBQ

Date:August 29, 2008
"This is the perfect off-set smoker for the beginning BBQ master. Inexpensive but is of good quality. One thing to improve it would be to add an ash disposal pan but other than that great deal."
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg

true grilling!

Date:June 3, 2008
"This little pit is great for indirect slow cooking and direct heat grilling. We even smoked a small turkey to perfection. I recommend to any grilling purist who has the time to do it right."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Right tool for the job

Date:May 27, 2008
"My wife bought me one of these three birthdays ago, and mine is on season 3 now.
Season 1 was a bit hit-and-miss, because the built-in thermometer was off by about 25F. Once I substituted a cheap digital probe, my ribs and chicken have been falling off the bone! I find I can do a full rack of baby backs, plus two whole chickens, in about 4-5 hours. It's not "fast food" but it beats anything you can do over gas, hands down. Grills are for hotdogs. This is for everything else!
"
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:QC, QC

Great Item

Date:April 21, 2008
"A few things to keep in mind; you should season the metal of this item just like a cast iron frying pan, and don't expect the flue to seal right up against the barbecue. So now the bad stuff is out of the way.....
This barbecue is fairly solid considering. It seems a little small but it is perfect for apartment balconies or just for the family and is just a good size unless you have 12 inch fdiameter steaks one inch thick. It will do a small to medium chicken depending where your from, lol. It is very versatile in the grilling and smoking area. The literature that comes with it makes you feel that these people are really interested in teaching and helping you to enjoy grilling and smoking.
This item is great, especially on sale :).
Have fun.
"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:new hamburg, ont

great natural smoker

Date:April 20, 2008
"I have owned this product for about a year and found it to be a very handy tool. I am currently using it as the smoker for my restaurant smoking pork, fish and corn with great results. The damper in the smoker chamber needs a tool to keep it open and the wheels are very cheap but nothing beats a natural smoke."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:carleton place,on

cooks the best steak!

Date:March 22, 2008
"I have enjoyed this grill-smoker much more than I expected. Any food you cook on this gets a much fuller flavor than cooking with a propane bbq or my electric grill.
Another great thing about this bbq is you don't have to worry about running out of propane part way through cooking.
A great product.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Deluxe Charcoal Grill / Smoker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of fun.

Date:October 3, 2007
"This is a really neat little smoker.
It can be used as a charcoal grill as well, but really works well using the offset firebox for the smoker function. Ribs, Ribs, Ribs.
Perfect.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?