Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ

Portable electric BBQ has 1600 W heating elementAluminum-coated steel heat-reflection plate203 sq.in cooking surfaceChrome cooking gratesRemoveable thermostat for convenient storageFor outdoor use only
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
10 of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Review 1 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great BBQ

Date:October 6, 2007
"Never thought an electric BBQ would preform this great. Heats up quickly. Gives that BBQ flavour. Yet is small & compact. Great for small balconies. We love it."
+71points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada

AN EASY BBQ FOR A QUICK MEAL

Date:May 12, 2013
"THIS IS GOOD FOR WHEN WE JUST WANT A QUICKI BBQ FOR A FEW, BUT WHEN YOU HAVE A BIGGER CROWD, IT IS TOO SMALL!"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Corner Brook, NL

Great little rig

Date:December 1, 2012
"I have had this BBQ for a long time. It is a bit of a nuisance to clean. I bought it for the motorhome to save fooling with propane tanks. It needs to be kept on high to do the job; but overall I am quite pleased with this. It well does the job I want done. It isn't a 52,000 BTU gas BBQ, but it isn't the price of one either!"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:edmonton

DO NOT waste your $$

Date:July 12, 2012
"temp not consistant
grease sits on reflector plate
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Etobicoke,Ontario

Breaks quickly

Date:June 1, 2012
"My kids bought this for me since I moved into an apt.After using it for 3 months, about 9 times, it quit.I am going to try to return it.This is the second bbq I have purchased at Canadian |Tire that quit on me.I purchased another one before I moved.Very disappointed....."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford

Very Disappointed

Date:May 12, 2011
"After reading the reviews for this product, most of them positive, I decided to buy this electric barbeque. I will say it does cook, but unlike the other reviews I didn't get that barbequed flavour and could have done just as well, no better, if I used the broiler in my oven. Now I'm stuck with it and cannot afford to go out and buy another barbeque. I feel like I just threw away $100.00."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

LOVE this BBQ!!

Date:September 25, 2010
"Bought this BBQ summer of 2010, I was hesitant, and was unsure of how it would work out. I'm happy to report that I absolutely love it!!!! I was worried about it not having that BBQ taste but it does! I just made blackened BBQ chicken 30 minutes ago. Crispy burnt black on the outside, and soft on the inside. Lots of flavor. Purrrfect!!!!!
I'm VERY happy with this purchase, wish I didn't wait so long to get it!
"
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent BBQ!

Date:July 6, 2009
"Really happy with this BBQ. I live in a high-rise condo and it is perfect. Easy to assemble and the food tastes great. just like a gas BBQ would."
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Must-have for apartments

Date:January 24, 2009
"We use this thing almost every day on the balcony, even when it's -20. Only difficult thing is cleaning, which you need to do fairly regularly, to avoid grease flames. Results are superior to propane bbq (and healthier)."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB.

Not Bad, But

Date:November 1, 2008
"Perfect for a condo balcony, but grease collects in the bottom and there is no drain hole. The grease starts to leak out of the holes where the legs attach. On the positive side it cooks well and food tastes great."
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Perfect!

Date:August 29, 2008
"I love my electric BBQ. Recommend it to everyone. Tastes like charbroiled, yet no costly propane tank to purchase or fill, it never runs out of propane in the middle of a party, and I'm not afraid of it. No propane, no brouquets, no lighter fuel, no fuss, no mess. It fits in a small space, but can cook for a crowd."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia

Not enough heat

Date:June 18, 2008
"I bought this on sale to use for camping since we often get electric hookup sites and to save on some propane.
It looks good and is compact enough for what I was looking for but the performance is very poor. It just doesn't get hot enough.
If you have a couple hours to cook a fast fry steak or 45 minutes to cook a few wieners it may be OK for you.
I have the 22 dollar propane BBQ listed above that I've been using for years and the electric one is no comparison with regards to cooking time.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, Ont

great little bbq

Date:May 23, 2008
"this is a great little bbq for an apartment dweller. It's just the right size for my needs. Since gas bbq's are not allowed in apartments, this is a great alternative."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Ideal for Apartment dwellers

Date:May 23, 2008
"I live in a small apartment and cannot have a gas BBQ on my balcony so this electric bbq is ideal.
It's not too heavy, you can BBQ enough food for 4 or more people and it doesn't take up much room.
The only down side is that the grease accumulates on the bottom and there isn't an easy way to drain it."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Master Chef® Portable Electric BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island

A BBQ that won't give you gas....

Date:March 24, 2008
"We bought ours last year to replace a CharBroil Patio caddie that we owned for about 10 years -- so we knew electric BBQs were the way to go, but even so were very impressed with this one~ Very portable - pack it up and take it to the cottage, or to a camp site that has electricity. Real BBQ taste -without the bother of propane tanks. Lots of capacity too - serves our family of 5 and guests. The only down side -- you don't have a back up cooking source if there is a prolonged power outage - people with gas BBQs can use theirs in a pinch --but really -- how often does that happen? A terrific buy!"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?