Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for EZ Rink Kit

EZ Rink Kit

EZ Rink Kit
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
5 of 12(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Rink Kit
Review 1 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

I can't believe how bad this product is.

Date:January 14, 2016
" This "rink kit" is a disaster. Do not buy this product ever. The contents of the box are: two dollars worth of plastic tubing and a thin, brittle plastic sheet which will rip apart while you are assembling the rink. And here's the best part... If your plastic sheet rips (which it will) it essentially creates a drain hole for all of the water you put on the rink to escape under the plastic, exposing more and more of the plastic which of course gets ripped, creating more drain holes.
I've made backyard rinks without kits for years and this "product" has actually ruined my rink building this winter. Can't wait to return this. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kingston, NS, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor Quality Product

Date:February 25, 2015
" This rink was the worst product we have ever purchased. While the directions were okay the materials were of such a poor quality it made assembly difficult. We thought our lawn was good for this product because it is level. Having a space shaped more like a saucer would be beneficial. The plastic provided is extremely thin and too small for the size of the kit. The ice, at 2" deep, was too shallow and kept cracking. This then caused the plastic to tear. My husband and I threw out the product and bought plastic from a hard ware store along with some 2"x6"x10' boards. We made a far better rink at half the cost. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Worst product I have ever purchased

Date:February 3, 2014
" This is by far the worst product I have ever purchased from Canadian Tire. If one was to assemble it in August with +30 temperatures it MIGHT be a frustration free exercise but at -10 it was near impossible. The product will be returned to store ASAP, do not waste your time, money or sanity! "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

fantstic

Date:December 5, 2013
" this product is great. I don't know what all of the other people were talking about. if you simply followed the instructions step by step you will find it easy. this system is a perfect way to get the family outside and enjoying themselves. plus if u have "indoor" teens who live on their phones his will get the into the out doors this winter. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Waste of money... Not easy at all!

Date:November 28, 2013
" I was fooled by the EZ part of this kit's description. The liner is very thin and easy to get dammaged. and the blue plastic wrapper is very difficult to install. In general the quality of this product is very poor. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Garbage

Date:November 26, 2013
" Don't waste your time and money. Put this thing together in a minus 12 Celsius temp. The plastic becomes too ridgid and unflexible. So you end up ripping the plastic sheet, that no thicker than a kitchen garbage bag. There are little foam blocks for levelling. I guess the product is OK if you have all the right conditions, level ground, hot temperature. There is no margin for error with this cheap kit. I am very surprised that Canadian tire would sell such a poor product. I will be returning this hopefully they will take it back, and remove the rst from the shelves. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

worst purchase ever

Date:December 13, 2010
" This is not e-z (easy). The blue tubes that are supposed to snap into place do not. It is too cold -- they are plastic and it simply does not work. I would return this product but part of it is under snow. The rest is my shed. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK

Great starter rink

Date:October 14, 2010
" I have assembled this rink each season for the past three years and have always ended up with a great rink that the kids use and enjoy.
Yes it takes me a couple hours to set up but that is on par with the homemade rinks I used to set up. Once you figure out how to use the blue tubes they are slick!
I used rigid styrofoam insulation to make my supports to level out my uneven yard and they worked flawlessly. No tears or rips in the liner if you follow the provided template. My yard is on enough of a slope that I end up with over 8 inches of ice at one end and that does not tear the liner.
I love that the rink can withstand a few warm spells and the next time it gets cold, its a rink again.
My biggest tip is either build the rink while it is still nice out, or keep the liner and blue pieces in a warm spot (house or garage) until you need to use them. They are much easier to work with when not frozen stiff. "
+60points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worse Purchase ever

Date:January 15, 2010
" As a mom I put a alot of thing together this was one of the worse thing to put together once we figured it out and had it set up it did hold the water my figures were all cut from the platic tubes. I spent 3 hours I was so tried and cold.
It's in my backyard waiting for me to put in the garabage what a waste of money
"
-23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the kids

Date:October 4, 2007
" kids loved it easy to use,,, make sure the ground is level "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for EZ Rink Kit
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2