Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Hockey Accessories or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for EZ Rink Kit

EZ Rink Kit

15 x 23'Easy to assemble, no tools requiredRe-usable; provides several seasons of enjoymentLonger skating seasonProtects your lawnHolds water inside, in case of thaw or rain
Average Customer Rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
5 of 11(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Rink Kit
Review 1 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Worst product I have ever purchased

Date:February 3, 2014
" This is by far the worst product I have ever purchased from Canadian Tire. If one was to assemble it in August with +30 temperatures it MIGHT be a frustration free exercise but at -10 it was near impossible. The product will be returned to store ASAP, do not waste your time, money or sanity! "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

fantstic

Date:December 5, 2013
" this product is great. I don't know what all of the other people were talking about. if you simply followed the instructions step by step you will find it easy. this system is a perfect way to get the family outside and enjoying themselves. plus if u have "indoor" teens who live on their phones his will get the into the out doors this winter. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Waste of money... Not easy at all!

Date:November 28, 2013
" I was fooled by the EZ part of this kit's description. The liner is very thin and easy to get dammaged. and the blue plastic wrapper is very difficult to install. In general the quality of this product is very poor. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Garbage

Date:November 26, 2013
" Don't waste your time and money. Put this thing together in a minus 12 Celsius temp. The plastic becomes too ridgid and unflexible. So you end up ripping the plastic sheet, that no thicker than a kitchen garbage bag. There are little foam blocks for levelling. I guess the product is OK if you have all the right conditions, level ground, hot temperature. There is no margin for error with this cheap kit. I am very surprised that Canadian tire would sell such a poor product. I will be returning this hopefully they will take it back, and remove the rst from the shelves. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

worst purchase ever

Date:December 13, 2010
" This is not e-z (easy). The blue tubes that are supposed to snap into place do not. It is too cold -- they are plastic and it simply does not work. I would return this product but part of it is under snow. The rest is my shed. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK

Great starter rink

Date:October 14, 2010
" I have assembled this rink each season for the past three years and have always ended up with a great rink that the kids use and enjoy.
Yes it takes me a couple hours to set up but that is on par with the homemade rinks I used to set up. Once you figure out how to use the blue tubes they are slick!
I used rigid styrofoam insulation to make my supports to level out my uneven yard and they worked flawlessly. No tears or rips in the liner if you follow the provided template. My yard is on enough of a slope that I end up with over 8 inches of ice at one end and that does not tear the liner.
I love that the rink can withstand a few warm spells and the next time it gets cold, its a rink again.
My biggest tip is either build the rink while it is still nice out, or keep the liner and blue pieces in a warm spot (house or garage) until you need to use them. They are much easier to work with when not frozen stiff. "
+58points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worse Purchase ever

Date:January 15, 2010
" As a mom I put a alot of thing together this was one of the worse thing to put together once we figured it out and had it set up it did hold the water my figures were all cut from the platic tubes. I spent 3 hours I was so tried and cold.
It's in my backyard waiting for me to put in the garabage what a waste of money
"
-22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ont

Worst attempt to make a rink ever

Date:January 31, 2009
" Try to set this thing up is the worst torture you could put yourself thought in the freezing cold. Last weekend for about 2 hours I spent my time twiddling with these blue tubes that come with this thing and trying to get the plastic sheet in the right place to clamp down the blue tubes to these other white tubes that come with the package. Clever idea you might say I though so myself but when I was finally done with all of these different colored tubes the rink was not nearly as big as the dimensions that were indicated on the box. The box also suggest that it has a system to level out the water level on the rink with these styrofoam pads but honestly it really doesn’t work I tried several time and what would happened is that I would add some water let it freeze and then come back add some more just to find the plastic ripped at all the spots were I had used these styrofoam pads because it didn’t hold the weight like the box would suggest. Anyway that’s not what got me going about this thing; it was the fact that the plastic tubes are barely 3/4 of an inch high, so that means it can only hold 3/4 of an inch of ice. If you know how much ice is needed to maintain a fairly nice smooth ice surface you need at least an inch and a half. Presently the "EZ" rink is in my backyard sitting underneath the rink I build up with just some long strips of wood about 5 inches high and some water, and slush. Currently I have about 3 inches of ice and even at 3 inches of ice there are still some pretty cracks, so I can tell you that 3/4 of an inch of ice is not nearly sufficient. There is no way to build a quick and “EZ” rink like the box would suggest. The best way to build up a rink is to wait till the ground is frozen put some small steaks in the ground and put up some 5 inch or so boards add some snow onto the rink area and add water till it become slush let it freeze and do this till there is about an inch of ice and then start adding water to it till it becomes even THEN you have yourself a rink. Rinks are never an "EZ" thing they require time and patience. Anyway I loved this product sooooo much that it buried under my new rink made with no plastic sheet at all; some people make a big deal about the fact that you NEED a plastic sheet that was the main reason I bought this because I couldn’t find a big enough plastic sheet but all that ended up happening is that it ripped, but really you don't need a plastic sheet, as long as the ground is frozen (ex. its been in the minuses the past three days) then you don't need any plastic sheet at all. BUT if you don't us the plastic sheet you need to build it up using slush otherwise the water that you add will flow away. This product is the biggest rip off. For 25$ I was able to buy strips of wood I needed and build a bigger and much better rink without the plastic sheet altogether or this “EZ” rink thing. Please don’t make the same mistake I did; with was buy this product thinking it was a great was to make a rink and trying to make it work for hours on end in the cold while it drives you crazy and at the end it doesn’t work. Spend the extra 75$ you saved and buy yourself a couple extra pucks, but always get a couple more than you need because they get lost very quickly. I personally started off with about 30 and now I’m down to 2, only about 14 days after completing my rink. Look I only put one star because it is the minimum you can place, but if zero stars were available that is what I would have done because this product is whole bunch of garbage! "
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for EZ Rink Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the kids

Date:October 4, 2007
" kids loved it easy to use,,, make sure the ground is level "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for EZ Rink Kit
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2