Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's

Reebok BOA Skates, Men's

Boa lacing system for quick and simple lace up and superior fitSoft, comfortable boot with thick foam lining for great comfort and fitTricot boot lining for warmth and comfortReebok carbon steel "E" blade
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Review 1 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

I really wanted to like these skates

Date:January 30, 2013
" I've been shopping for recreational skates, and really wanted these to work out for me. I picked them up on sale, so the price was good.
I'm not crazy about the BOA system. First of all, it does not tighten uniformly. Because the string needs to fight a lot of friction before it starts tightening the lower part of the boot, I invariably ended up with over-tightening at the top, and too loose in the bottom. It's almost impossible to help spreading the tension by pulling on the cable by hand, because the cable is so thin and it hurts the fingers.
Secondly, the BOA wheel feels really flimsy. It does not speak longevity to me. It is just a speculation, but I'm pretty sure it will break. Plastic and cold temperatures don't mix very well, plastic becomes brittle, and the wheel is made of thin plastic.
I was comparing these with a pair of Bladerunner recreational skates from another vendor, which bear the same price tag (but, unfortunately, currently not on sale), and those are much better padded on the inside (so felt more comfortable) and project a feeling of better quality. Surely, they take a bit longer to lace up, but I decided to buy them. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beersville, NB

First time - more reviews to follow

Date:January 11, 2013
" Just wound these things up, and jumped on the ice [please get them sharpened first folks] and all in all they performed way above my expectations.
One of the few skates that fit wide for their size. These were great just slipping them on and I was ready to go chasing my two year old as he learned to skate, then equally fast unlacing when he was done.
One thing, they are well padded and for outdoor rinks that is SO important. A good pair of woolies and these and your are toasty for at least up to minus fifteen.
A good skate, and I will keep you all posted on how these hold up over time.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Useless. Do not buy.

Date:February 7, 2012
" Useless. Do not buy. Built poorly with low quality steel blades. Lose edges within 10 mins. Same skate, but obviously new style, look different to the picture. Must be economising by using poorer quality materials. AVOID AVOID AVOID "
-10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Red Deer, Ab

Great Skates

Date:January 7, 2012
" I just bought them. best fit I have ever had for comfort and control.
I hate lacing and this is definitely the answer.Though, I cant comment on lasting durability for now. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB.

Excellent Fit!

Date:December 21, 2010
" I have never been able to wear skates without a great deal of pain because of flat feet. After reading some of the other positive reviews from others claiming the same problem I decided to give these skates a try.
These truly are the most comfortable skates I've ever worn. No more arch pain!
Now, I still can't worth a darn, but at least now I want to learn.
Also, I didn't buy these skates because of the Boa lacing system but really like the concept. And so far, I trust the quality of the laces. I think they will last a long time. "
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beachburg, ON

Best Skates I've Ever Owned

Date:February 1, 2009
" I just purchased these skates today and tried them on this afternoon. For a 57 year old fellow, who has not skated for about 10 years, these are the greatest invention since sliced bread. They are so easy to put on and take off, and they are so comfortable. I would recommend these to anyone who likes to skate. "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dryden, ON

Worth every penny.

Date:December 21, 2008
" Yes, a 30+ year old Canadian who has never owned a pair of skates existed - until today.
My 5 year is into figure skating, and it's been terrible not being able to go on the ice with her during family skate nights, or even during public skating at the arena. So I decided it was time to bite the bullet and get on the ice.
I looked at pretty much every skate in my size at Canadian Tire, from the least expensive CCM's to some of the higher priced Eastons. I only found ONE style/brand that I found comfortable. These Reebok M9 Boas.
I'm a pretty big guy (6 foot/265lb) with wide, somewhat flat feet. (Not totally flat footed, but probably close to it) And the deep arches and narrow boots of just about every other skate was painful to even try on, let alone stand in. These skates were comfortable to try on, a bit wider than all the others (even though the tag says D width, I'd call 'em closer to an E.), and what can you say about the Boa lacing system? PHENOMENAL!
After having them sharpened, I went to the rink with my daughter and took my first steps on the ice. The FIT of these skates was awesome. I'm not talking the sizing, I'm talking about the feel of everything from the materials around your foot to the padding to the toe cup. I NEVER expected to have a brand new pair of skates be so comfortable!
The Boa system really makes them a joy to put on and use. Quick to tighten up putting them on, wickedly fast to take off. Just pop that button and pull the tongue and they're off. My favourite part was once I was on the ice, a couple of times I thought I hadn't tightened them quite enough. I just reached down and gave the knob a couple of turns, right through my jeans, and kept on going. Loose laces would have sent me back to the bench to re-tie. What a fabulous system!
Bottom line: nice looking skate, VERY comfortable if you have a wider/flatter foot, BOA lace system is too good for words, and worth every penny. At least from a complete rookie skater's perspective.
I'm really glad I spent a few dollars more than I planned on to get these over a cheaper pair of CCMs. "
+47points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kemptville, ON

Excellent Product

Date:April 8, 2008
" These skates were purchased for a first time skater. It provided an easy way for him to put on the skates and be on the ice quickly and efficiently. Very nice example of new technology used to assist everyday tasks "
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best for me

Date:October 3, 2007
" I have waited for this simple but very effective
type of skate for quite some time. I am now the happy pleasure skater everyone should be.
"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Reebok BOA Skates, Men's
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent lacing system!

Date:September 12, 2007
" I bought these because I hate lacing skates. The BOA system is excellent. They fit beautifully. I can't really comment on the durability yet, but they seem tough. I'm very pleased with them. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?