Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Sleds, Toboggans & Tubes or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Arctic Slider Snow Racer

Arctic Slider Snow Racer

Sturdy foot-control to assist slowingHigh-impact plastic seat and skisRacing style steering wheelSturdy tubular steel frameConvenient tow rope included
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Review 1 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Quebec City, QC, Canada
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Exactly alike my Old good Noma GT Snow Racer

Date:January 12, 2014
"My parents bought me the Noma GT Snow Racer 28 years ago at Jonquière's Canadian Tire. It was the best at that time.
I gave it to my sons. The oldest is 4 and the other is 2 years old.
But I had to find another one since they both like to have their own things. Sharing is difficult and I understand them!
Looking at my Canadian Tire flyer yesterday, I found the Arctic Slider. It looked similar the old Noma GT. So I bought it this morning. When assembling it, I found out most of the parts where the same. The only difference was that the new metal frame is segmented (in parts). The reason is that it has to fit in a box, since the Arctic Slider is made in China. The Noma GT was made in Canada.
The metal look solid and I hope that the plastic will last as long as the Noma GT.
Since my 2 years old son likes the red color, I gave him the new Artic Racer.
But my oldest was unhappy, because the Noma GT was black, and he likes the green color.
So I used green masking tape to make green stripes, and now he is happy.
I wonder what will the future be for these to racers and how many generations will use them."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Better than the Original!

Date:January 8, 2014
"Ok, not better, but definitely just as good. I have to say that I was hesitant to purchase this after reading the reviews on the Canadian Tire website, but now I am glad I did, and wish I had purchased two. My sons friend, who happens to have an original Noma GT Snow Racer, insists on using the Arctic Slider because it goes faster. After using his GT Snow Racer I can attest that other than going faster, the Arctic Slider does feel a little sturdier. The steering wheel on the original GT feels flimsy compared to the Arctic Racer. The build is definitely as good, and the quality is pretty much the same. All the bolts and construction look to be the exact same and only the name has changed. Having a hill in our back yard, it has been used pretty much every day since Christmas and is holding up just fine. Now if only I could get a second one; life would be great! Unfortunately they are out of stock at my Canadian Tire. Booo!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Bay, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

hunk of junk!

Date:December 29, 2013
"save your money, this thing is a piece of junk! broke the first time down the hill! cheap plastic and poorly constructed."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:antigonish, N.S

bottom line, this is great.

Date:June 27, 2012
"I bought this product under one year ago (no more of that: the older ones were better ) I hit jumps over 3ft high and i used this daily. nothing broke, everything is still in pefect condition. it was a bit tricky getting it together, but it's still 5 star quality."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD

Date:November 24, 2010
"i bought this when i was 5 years old and i have 15 ans its never broke... also good for make tricks ;)"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

useless junk

Date:January 2, 2009
"Nothing like they used to be, not like image on web, not like image on box. Low qualtiy from start to finish. Need a hammer to make the parts fit, and a knife to trim off extra plastic. No chance it lasts one winter."
-11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pro

Date:November 1, 2008
"This GT is awsome, I had mine for 10 years and im not your average slide down a hill person I hit jumps, large drops ranging from 4 feet to 15 feet,80-85 degree slopes and nothing broke on it. I would recommend this to any extremist or just a slide down a simple hill person."
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not like they used to be

Date:September 30, 2008
"These seem to be cheaper made than the original ones. Ours lasted one slide down the hill and then had to be returned."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:BC

fun but flimsy

Date:January 20, 2008
"Our kids got 2 GT's for Christmas 06. They have been used 10-15 times, but one has a cracked front ski and they other adult sized one was completely destroyed on its third outing. We replaced the large one this year and after one use the plastic steering wheel is now broken. We are using them for downhill sledding/racing, but not jumping. Perhaps the older models were more well built than these. For the price, they should be lasting longer than they are being ridden under normal conditions. We will search some yard sales for some older, sturdier models before we buy brand new ones again."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Somewhat Disapointed

Date:December 28, 2007
"Me and my buddy go out and build a large jump to use for our gt's. We spend a few days making it and then we start up the old skidoo and pull the gt behind it. with this particular gt we found that the steering wheel mount became loose quite fast, and it eventually broke off. I know i cannot expect it not to break when i am hitting a jump but i would have liked to last just a bit longer. For kids sliding down hills, it is the oppertune sno racer, but for others using it for jumps, not so much."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Antigonish ,Nova Scotia

amazing quality

Date:December 4, 2007
"I don't know what your kids are doing no your GT sno racers, but i have had my model since I was a young lad. I am now on my 10th season on riding my GT sno racer on the slopes hitting monster gaps and multiple obstacles. In my mind they can withstand anything. Also, my GT sno racer has never broken down sitting the shed, and I don't have some special case for it.
Thank You,
GTracer
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Arctic Slider Snow Racer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON

Disappointed

Date:November 30, 2007
"We are on our third set of two Sno Racers, (we have two kids) each summer at least one ski on each cracks and breaks.
The kids have a blast on them, but no matter how we store them (inside garage or outside in shed) they don't survive the summer.
"
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?