Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Flowclear Chlorinator

Flowclear Chlorinator

Designed for above-ground poolsFlowclear Chlorinator eliminates the difficulties of adding costly chemicals to your above-ground pool; it's also much gentler on skin and eyesSimply connect the Flowclear Chlorinator generator to the pool's filter pump system, then add salt (which won't dissipate like
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
30 of 36(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Flowclear Chlorinator
Review 21 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like a bath salt bath

Date:May 16, 2009
"We bought this unit last year and installed it in June on our above ground 27 foot 52' deep. We calculated 11 bags of salt and it started producing chlorine right away ! The rest of the summer was effortless and costless. We circulated 2 hours a day and added algaecide according to the weather. We weren't sure the unit could handle that capacity of water but it did.It has started again this year and the water appears perfect. Commercial pool sellers won't recommend it but they want you to buy their $700.oo unit. Too bad this one is a keeper!!!"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 22 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hammonds Plains, NS

Wonderful Product

Date:April 30, 2009
"After having an Intex above ground pool for years and going through the endless care with chemicals, I decided to give this unit a try though I admit I was skeptical at first. It took a little while to figure out the correct salt to water ratio but once we did, it worked like a dream. FYI, if you have the 12'x'20'x48" oval Intex pool that CT sells like ours in the attached photo, you'll need 3 bags of Pool Salt. The water was clear all summer and we never once had to add any additional chemicals. No burning eyes and no strong odor, it's wonderful!!"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 23 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product

Date:August 14, 2007
"this is a great product and very cheap compared to pool supply stores. my pool is 15 feet round and 4 feet deep and the water has been clear from day 1. in the middle of the season the code told me the salt level was low i added salt and it worked again.the water has a salty taste but its better than a harsh chlorine taste.this is the same type of salt used in water softeners,and i understand the process of turning the salt into chlorine but i feel better doing this than dumping in a bottle of bleach even though the results are basically the same in the end."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 24 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Port Elgin, Saugeen Shores, ON, Canada

Make Chlorine, but...

Date:June 3, 2013
"Had the Intex chlorinator previously - died after 5 years (not bad!). This unit make lots of chlorine - not the issue. Manual is poor and does not agree with operation. if you loose flow for 30 seconds you must unplug the unit, restart it, and have your timing messed up. Time indication & remembered setting for operation time is good. As with the Intex - please setup the unit to run for X hours after power on so it can be on a timer. Every bump means you must handle the asset to restart it. As compared to the $800 units - I will tolerate the little issues and modify it after warrantee is done."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 25 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON

Good Investment

Date:September 9, 2008
"We purchased this unit in May. We initially had problems with it. It was not turning the salt water into chlorine. But we called Intex and they immediately sent out a replacement unit. The customer service was great. Since then we had a little trouble getting the right balance of salt vs water but after a few weeks and leaving the Krystal Clean unit on for a few extra hours each day, it seemed to do the trick. I really loved the fact that we were not adding chemicals, since we have a young child and it didn't dry out my skin. We have packed it up for the season and will definately be using it again next year."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 26 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Store in New Minas, NS

Beware Non-INTEX pool owners

Date:July 24, 2009
"We purchased a Hydro Force pool from CT last year and this year the chlorinator. While we don't doubt its usefulness the connectors on our pool didnt' match the Intex ones and the connectors sent with the pool to accomodate this didn't fit the Hydro Force pump. So I decided to cut the hose provided in two and the pool's water return hose and splice them together to make it all work. Wrong idea! The corregated hoses do not take to hose clamps very well. They leak like a river. Found some "rubber tape" with the ponds at a local hardware store and so far this contracting tape has keep most of the water in. Not a fun time."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 27 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern Ontario

Almost great...

Date:May 26, 2008
"Purchased last year, installed in a bit of a rush...Unit worked great! I did not add a single thing to the water after I got this running...The only thing was that I had a pretty good leak at the outlet of the unit, besides that everything seemed great.
This year I wanted to install it a little better so that it wouldn't leak. I've tried & tried to find a fitting to attach my standard 1.5" "tigerflex" hose to the outlet of the unit to no avail. The threaded connections are some bastardized size & don't match any other standard fitting size, they're just a tad too small...
Guess I'll have to settle for the leaking option...It's too bad because the unit itself works great, I just wish the fittings were standard size...
"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 28 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Hamburg, ON

Perfect!

Date:July 4, 2012
"Fantastic product! Did not want to handle chlorine so I just add pool salt and the chlorinator does the rest. Heed the instructions about how much salt to add based on volume as this will not run if salt level is too high or low in the water.
Also learned the hard way that calcium builds up quickly (1 month for me) on the plates inside if you are using hard water. As the instructions detail, a vinegar soak will take care of this problem. Calcium build-up will result in the unit telling you the salt level is off, but I would check the plates first before altering the salt level in water.
You can sense the chlorine in the water but you also get the subtle taste of the salt, which I much prefer to the added chemical chlorine."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 29 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

while it worked it seemed to work adequately.

Date:August 3, 2011
"For starters, the image is NOT the Krystal Clean chlorinator! This is actually the Hyrdo-Force Flowclear chlorinator.
Don't do your research based on the Intex Krystal Clean product.
With the first few months, half the panel stopped lighting up but you could still tell how many hours (goes in 2hr intervals) it was set to stay on by the beeps.
The Flowclear unit generated chlorine just fine; that is, until it stopped working just a few days ago.
Total of 2 months usage last year and 2 months this year before it died.
We kept this unit outside for the swimming seasons and stored it in our basement for the winter.
Picked it up on sale at CT for $150, I believe, so it was a fairly good deal imo --- not so much if it needs to be replaced every year however.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 30 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Excellent Product

Date:August 14, 2009
"Purchased this to use with a steel-framed pool hoping to avoid all the hassles of constantly adding chemicals. What an excellent product! The water is crystal clear with next to no effort on my part. I've had pools set up in other years and by mid-summer had cursed ever putting them up. This year I am loving it!
I had done some research before purchasing this and was a bit skeptical about claims of lower chlorine ratios and less cleaning required of the pool itself, but it's all true. My daughter always gets red eyes at the local public pool from the chlorine but never in our home pool - much gentler using the saltwater. And bugs don't like the saltwater (not sure why) and generally stay away - there has been next to no skimming required or even cleaning the pool in general."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 31 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works alright

Date:May 29, 2012
"This thing does produce chlorine and a fair amount. However, despite what the instructions say, I have never seen the On/Off LED turn yellow to indicate the end of a cycle. It turns red and at some point it starts flashing. It has never turned itself on automatically after 24 hours as it is supposed to. If I just push the on/off button, I get the high salt LED and a beep. If I unplug the device, plug it back in and press the ON/OFF button, I get all GREEN LEDs for the entire length of the cycle.
I'm sure the salt in the pool is high. However, I'm not about to drain 20% of my pool to fix it if the device seems to work for the most part.
I e-mailed the manufacturer about this and have received no response.
Finally, DO NOT USE THE INCLUDED TEST STRIPS. They are most likely expired, as the ones I had were by well over a year. This is purely due to these devices sitting on the store shelves or in the stock room for years."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 32 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Great investment

Date:June 24, 2010
"I've been pondering this product for the last couple years. My pool is 15' x 24'. Which is the largest size shown on the chart so I wasn't sure this thing could handle it. Finally went for it.
Installing it took longer than expected because it's designed to fit with Intek products but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to adapt it to regular fittings. After 8 bags of salt (55,0000l pool) and a day to let the chlorinator do it's work, my pool became very cloudy but This is normal for me at the beginning of the year. Put a "Klear-sok" in the filter, backwashed a couple times over a 2-day period and BAM!!!. CLEAREST WATER EVER!!!
Once I found the appropriate timer setting, I only have to maintain the pool once a week instead of every day! Suddenly, I feel free.
My only regret is not getting this a couple years ago.
P.S. I only gave durability a 4 because I've only had it a month. A friend has been using it for 3 years and never had a problem.
"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 33 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3rd Year - Still pumping out the chlorine

Date:May 28, 2009
"I just fired up my Intex chlorinator for its 3rd season. My comments are the same as all others that are very happy with this device. Simple, inexpensive, chemical free and best of all, effective.
The well water used to fill the pool is calcium rich so I need to remove the electrolytic cell every few weeks and soak it in vinegar, as per the instructions, to remove the calcium build-up. That is an order of magnitude easier than balancing chemicals everyday.
My only complaint, and it's not a big one, is the timer/interface to set the units run time could have used a clock. You just have to ensure the pool pump timer is set and once the pump is running for a bit, set the timer on the chlorinator for your desired run interval.
Lastly, the salt water is murder on a steel set pool. A lot of the joints had rusted together. I'm sure this would have happened without the salt water, but I don't think it helped. My next pool will be the, apparently 80% stronger than steel, plastic framed pool. Which should be salt resistant...I hope!"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 34 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta

best pool accessory ever

Date:July 31, 2007
"I looked all over the internet before making this purchase. When I found this exact model and got all the information I purchased it and the performance of this item has been above all expectactions. This pool water was a little cloudy and I was due for chemicals, the cloudiness disappeared as soon as I added the salt, and this machine has kept the pool water very clear, the alkylinity at the perfect level, and the only adjustments I make are to the PH level, and the runtime of the machine itself. The water is silky smooth, with ideal consistancy being the same as a tear drop. The hydrochlorine that these machines make does not irritate the eyes, nor does it fade colors from clothing or pool toys. At startup, most of the usual insects that collect in pool water stopped because they don't like salt, even at this low concentration. For a period of time however different insects such as bees and dragon flies showed up, and then as I got the Ph level closer to 7.2, even these insects were no longer found in the pool water. This item has made the Swimming Pool a much better experience, and the water is very easy to keep in pristene clarity."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 35 for Flowclear Chlorinator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary

No more chemicals

Date:October 26, 2010
"I purchased this product 2 years ago to replace the usual direct chemical treatments. The saltwater system works by using electrolysis to convert the salt water into chlorine (gas) which is absorbed by the water and used to sanitize the pool.
Although the system still generates chlorine it is important to note that it doesn't produce the 'chloramines' which are the elements of normal pool chlorine that cause the caustic smell and eye irritation.
The salt content of the water is very low compared to the ocean. The water may smell and taste slightly salty but I find that quite pleasant.
The unit goes in-line between the pump and the pool water return inlet and has a timer that allows you to set it and leave it to apply the correct amount of cleaning based on the volume of water in your pool. The unit will sound an alarm when the salt content of the water falls below the threshold for the chlorination process to work effectively.
The product works well and keeps the pool clean as would be expected. I have found that the pool is still susceptible to contamination by such things as sunscreen which can require the use of a 'scumbug' type device or a chemical clarifier.
One word of caution though: Saltwater is corrosive and may adversely affect things it comes into contact with. My pool has a metal frame which is simply powder-coated steel tubing and I have found that where the water has penetrated inside the tubing it has started to rust quite badly. And if you are using saltwater in an above-ground pool that you empty at the end of each season, you might want think twice before draining the pool onto your flower beds.
This product does exactly what it says and does it well. My kids enjoy the pool much more now that there are no 'bad' smells and sore eyes and that alone makes it worth the investment."
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Flowclear Chlorinator
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
   1 2