Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Kayaks, Canoes & Paddle Boards or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft

Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft

Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak is great for running rivers or paddling on the lakeAdjustable backrestGrab handlesDrain plugBuilt-in Ram-XLength: 10' (3.04 m)Depth: 14" (35.5 cm)Beam: 28" (71 cm)Cockpit width: 24.5" (62 cm)Cockpit length: 41" (105 cm)Weight: 38 lbs (17 kg)Maximum weight capacity: 250 lbs (1
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Review 1 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Adamsville, Bromont, QC J0E, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome Buy

Date:May 22, 2014
"We purchased these kayaks, when they were on sale. Tried them for the first yesterday. Much more manoeuvrable, than sit up ons. Tracks very well. We are overall generally pleased with our purchase(s)."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Pelican Pulse 10ft

Date:June 13, 2013
"I purchased this model and after examinating it at home returned it to the store and bought the Pelican Freedom 100X. The Pulse is to light weight and flimsy build and has hardly any floating foam. . You only get what you pay for."
-30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NS

Love our Kayak!

Date:May 22, 2013
"This is a great kayak for anyone... beginner or advanced. We keep two at our cottage and anyone who comes out can give it a try and love it :) Smooth ride."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pembroke, ON, Canada

Great Purchase and value

Date:September 6, 2012
"Bought this about one month ago....first time kayaker. This has been absolutely perfect for me...stable...great tracking....comfortable. Invested in a skirt after first outing just to complete the package and stay drier. got my value out of the fun I have had with this already!"
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Terrace Bay,Ont

pelican pulse kayak

Date:August 8, 2012
"My wife and I got two of these a month or so ago for use along the northern coast of lake Superiour and we are very impressed with them.I would recomend getting spray skirts for them and dont expect to go out on rough water but for putzing along and doing the scenery watch thing they are great-absolutely love them."
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON

Solid Little Kayak

Date:July 22, 2012
"I picked this Pelican specifically because its weight and length meant I could be handle it by myself out of water; roof rack, storage, etc.
I've had it out on Lake St Clair and the Detroit River. It's quite stable sitting with the knees out position. You won't be able to keep up with 12 to 14 footers but this is to be expected with the Pulse 100X's shorter waterline length. And the directional stability isn't 100% either, but hey, it's a ten footer after all.
It seems to be able to take a bit of rough handling and can still float in little more than ankle deep water.
The rear hatch isn't meant to be completely watertight so I would recommend a dry bag for the goods that need it.
All in all I'm quite pleased with this little boat."
+45points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pelican Kayak Pursuit 100

Date:August 2, 2010
"My GF just bought me this one and I love it. Although its my first kayak, I find it very easy to paddle and maneuver. Also, its pretty stable. I've already had it out in some 3' high swells on Lk Erie and it performed great. It has hard foam added inside so it you do manage to swamp it, it wont sink... although you will need to drag it back to shore in order to dump the water out!!! Seems very rugged as well and the storage in the back and the drain plug are handy. Also, the front and back have bungy cords to handily secure your tow rope, etc. The seat itself is hard molded plastic which is fine but it also has a nice padded backrest which is pretty comfortable too. It is fairly lightweight also, I can throw it up on my racks without too much effort, but 2 people wouldnt have a problem at all. All in all I think its a great low cost kayak for anybody of any age. I would certainly buy another if I had a need to. If you bought this on sale with the $100 off , its a great deal too!!! Enjoy!"
+128points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterdown ON

Great fun

Date:July 31, 2009
"I purchased 2 of these with paddles when they were on sale and I would have to say it was the best $700.00 I ever spent. We keep them at the cottage and have had hours of fun. My granddaughter who is 10 handled it with no problem at all. I took one of my neighbours out and she loved it so much she just went out and bought 2 also. Great fun!!"
+90points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island

great product

Date:March 18, 2009
"My husband bought this kayak as a christmas gift in 2007. I've taken it on lakes and rivers. Last summer I even took it on some falls and rapids. A few close calls but no spills. It's light enough for me to take down from the car rack but I found it a bit akward to carry. Overall it's well made and quite comfortable although I wish it came with a skirt and that the hatch would hold out the water a bit better. My husband took it out for a spin this past fall and now wants to buy one for himself! Great value when you purshase it on sale."
+78points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo,bc

Great fun

Date:September 10, 2008
"This kayak is solid and doesn't tip easily. I've used it on the lake and ocean with no problems."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Niagara Peninsula

excellent product

Date:September 9, 2008
"Bought a Pelican Pursuit 100 for use on our local Great Lake. On the first day out on the water I realized what a fun kayak for use at the cottage. A few more trips convinced me that one kayak was not enough and two would be even more fun especially for the grand children. Checked with my Canadian Tire Store to see if I could buy a second Kayak at the same sale price and they agreed to order another for me.
Now we have two and the family including all age groups has had great fun over the past two months. The quality and durability is excellent and performance has been outstanding in all conditions on our lake.
"
+53points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good kayaks

Date:September 7, 2008
"I'm glad that I purchased two of these kayaks (on sale at CT) for my family in July 2008. We've really enjoyed them!
We've been on a small lake with them, and my teenage son and I kayaked several miles on the North Saskatchewan River (from Maymont to near Radisson) in early September 2008. Our only real challenges were the number of sandbars we had to navigate, but these kayaks only got hung up once. We were able to paddle through some pretty shallow waters.
I am about 5'3, and find this kayak quite comfortable for carrying and for paddling. My son is several inches taller than I am and he finds that he's a bit cramped in it, and he doesn't find the backrest very comfortable...though for me it is okay (he was fine for a couple of hours before he felt really uncomfortable and needed to get out and stretch).
Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase, but I did have a couple of initial concerns...
The very first time we used them we noticed that there was some sort of screw missing which stabilized one of the foot rest tracks...I still haven't replaced the screw, but have gone out on the water several times without any problems.
Also, the first time we used them I noticed that one of the kayaks was missing the drain plug...haven't replaced that yet either but it hasn't been a problem at all yet.
...and remember that when you go kayaking, wear a PFD and a whistle, at the very least."
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vernon

Great kayak

Date:June 3, 2008
"Very happy with this kayak. It's tough and durable, and extremely stable on the lake, even with small waves and wind."
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ont

Great purchase

Date:May 28, 2008
"Purchased this kayak for river and lake tripping, works great for both. Holds good amount of baggage and packs for backpacking and isn't very tippy."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dundas ON

Good for beginners

Date:May 23, 2008
"Good price for a beginner kayak that seems easy to paddle and maneuvre. Learning how to get in and out is the biggest challenge. Light weight, easy to carry, fits inside my minivan, easy to kep clean."
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Cheap, but Effective

Date:March 31, 2008
"Purchased on sale. It's a solid kayak, stable, excellent for the small waters I tend to fish. The Ram-X hull is solid as any cheap kayak I've ever used, which is the main reason I bought this one."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Keswick

Pursuit 100 Kayak

Date:March 20, 2008
"We bought these Kayaks for lake simcoe.
They handle Great in Wind and rough water.
Very happy with this brand and would suggest them to anyone.
"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Peterborough

Not worth the investment

Date:October 29, 2007
"This kayak is definitley not capable of handling rough waters. Had a terrible experience when i was on a day kayak trip and the winds picked up. I was hardly able to stear it in the direction i wanted to go and did not feel safe at all. This kayak is ok for just puttering around a small pond or inclosed areas where you would not get the wind."
-39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pelican Summit 100 Sit-In Kayak, 10-ft
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1