Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft

Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft

Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak features a moulded seat with adjustable padded backrestBow quick lock hatchStorage platform with bungees in stemTwo flush-mount rod holdersMaximum weight capacity: 275 lbs (124 kg)Dimensions: 10' L x 13" D x 28" (305 x 33 x 96.5 cm) beamWeight: 40 lbs (18 kg)
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Review 1 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Good for lakes

Date:June 12, 2016
" I bought this kayak last summer for fishing. It was very affordable on sale, is fairly easy to paddle, and is not too heavy to load onto a roof rack for transport. It can be a bit tippy when you're getting in and out of it. I'm 5'11" and find it comfortable, but if you're much taller than that you might find it cramped. I have stayed on lakes in relatively calm water and would recommend it for this type of scenario. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a paddle tie down. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome Kayak

Date:October 15, 2015
" Bought this for my 10 year old daughter, she loves it. Great Kayak! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love it

Date:October 12, 2015
" This is my first kayak and I love it! Very stable and very happy with it. Got it on sale , good price. Lots of room. very comfortable. fishing in it was great love the rod holder. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Summerland, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great buy

Date:October 7, 2015
" I bought this kayak in the spring and have used it almost every week for the past 5 months. It is a great small kayak for a great price. I've had higher end kayaks that were 3 times the price that didn't offer the rod holder features this one has. I recommend this to anyone that likes to explore and fish.. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Decent buy

Date:July 28, 2015
" Purchased this as my first kayak. It is reasonably stable and I am happy with it. You can fish out of it quite well. For the price I definitely recommend it.
The front storage compartment leaks a little bit when completely under water and is very small. The rear inside of the kayak is inaccessible due to the seat and large foam blocks in the back. Which I don't see as a problem since the rear of the kayak offers lots of room to store things on the outside.
It does NOT come with a paddle or a splash skirt.
The splash skirt I found at Canadian tire is a lavika medium size and apparently is a very tight fit, this kayak requires the lavika large skirt. I called pelican sports directly to verify this and had to order it from them. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmundston, NB, Canada

Good

Date:May 29, 2013
" Average balance but all around good for price, good for beginer "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sarnia, ON, Canada

Decent Kayak

Date:August 29, 2012
" purchased for my 13 year old Grandson to fish in. he likes, says a wee bit tippy just took a little to get use to. He loves to fish in our Lake not from the dock anymore. He is quite comfortable in it. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ottawa, on

awesome kayak.

Date:August 26, 2012
" very lightweight. good for 250+lbs. rod holders are very useful. wish it came in other colours though "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best purchase ever in 2007

Date:August 18, 2012
" I knew how to kayak before I bought this (age 50) & this is my rating of the old version of the same kayak. After 5 years use the body is still in good shape & I still love it. Seat fits good, paddle sits on deck or bungee to side, pull rope on each end, spray skirt fits (I use it when raining or high waves), front bungee for misc., waterproof storage with good lid, rod holder is fully adjustable, vertical holes for net & 2nd rod, just fits inside my van, light weight, anchor is great & has pouch (I added extra rope). I usually fish with 1/2 paddle & rod in other hand. (My paddle has a rubber ring at each blade to stop the water from running back, maybe use some tape if you have a solid paddle) The extra parts: rod holder, spray skirt & anchor are worth~$80 so the sale $ of 400 or so is well worth it. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spray Skirt and Kayak do not make a good fit.

Date:July 2, 2012
" The Pulse 100X Angler kayak replaces the older model Pursuit 100 Angler Kayak. The spray skirt that comes with the newer Pulse 100X is the same one that fits the older Pursuit and does not fit the Pulse very well (not at all at times). The skirt is difficult, if not impossible, to attach and it slips off at the slightest pressure. The newer Pulse does not have a recessed groove all around the cockpit of the kayak. The recessed groove is only along the front and rear curves of the cockpit and the groove is nonexistent on the sides of the kayak. The older Pursuit kayak had a deep recessed groove all around the cockpit.
I have been in touch with Pelican regarding this design flaw, and they sent me a new skirt. It is at least 9 inches too long (front to back) and does not fit at all. This does not matter, because it is the boat and not the skirt that is the problem. I have one more email regarding this issue pending, and then I guess I will have to solve the problem myself with a few "garage modifications."
The skirt is important to keep you drier even when you are just paddling. The water from the paddles runs along the shaft and drips from your hands into the cockpit. Also, any rain would accumulate in the boat. Take my advice, try to attach the skirt in the store before you buy. "
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lac Du Bonnet

Fun with Kayak

Date:November 26, 2011
" I bought 2 of these Kayaks and had a great time.
Not really meant for 3 but works good once you get your balance. You can go almost anywhere.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+67points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON

Good product, excelent price

Date:October 31, 2011
" Got this item during a nice sale (150 CAD off ).
It is my first kayak.
First hour of fishing: the kayak felt unstable
Soon after: decent stability as long as you don't make sudden movements - I'm 235lbs, almost at weight limit. Because it's short, it's tricky to keep it in a straight line, but it was a good fishing day in the end.
Second day I added 2 stabilizers and now I've got a SUPER fishing platform. I retract stabilizers during travel and deploy them when I reached the fishing spot.
Because it's short, it fits nicely in my pick-up - this being the first reason why I choosed it.
Good quality materials, reliable, easy to drill for adding more options like fish rods supports, anchor support, etc.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

Not for big water!

Date:May 31, 2011
" Pros: The kayak is quite comfortable, large (I am 1.85 tall) and stable. My 10 yr old likes it too.
CON: Tested this kayak extensively in the pool. Once full of water it is impossible to empty while on open water.
Submerged provides almost no buyoancy so it might be of no help even as 's float' to help to get to shore. Make sure you are within your swimming distance to the shore!
The bulkhead is not sealed so the water fills full vesel. Its too heavy to use the technique of lifting one side at the time. "
+48points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Bay, ON

Pelican Pursuit 100 Fishing Kayak

Date:May 29, 2011
" This is my first kayak so I can't be too picky.
I am 6' 1" and find this kayak just fine. I am pushing 200 lbs, and had no issues. I added a pool noodle around the back rest, and under the seat for added comfort and floatation. The rod holder is nice (both flush mount and upright), It takes a bit to figure out how to steer it, and for me getting out was a bit of a challenge after being on the water for the day. It is really stable and not tippy at all, even in moderate waves (but it takes a bit to become good at it, so go practice a bit before you take on the big waves)
I only have a few beefs with it: there is no paddle clip (just a teather line), the seat fills up with water so I had to drill to holes to drain it, and there are no carrying handles on the side (again just a bungee line which is useless). All of these beefs can be easily fixed by the average handy man and a drill.
Overall, the best buy around for this type of kayak. The perfect boat for those small trout lakes up north or the larger lakes on a sunny day. "
+50points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally bought one!

Date:May 22, 2011
" I have been looking at one of these for a while and finally decided to take the plunge. Easy to move on your own and super stable in the water, very happy with this purchase. Some small issues with the rod holder in the front, but easily worked out when I really sat down and thought about it. Overall, if you like kayaks and you like angling, a very solid buy. "
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Excellent first kayak

Date:August 13, 2010
" My friend and I both just got into kayaking and found this fishing kayak on sale at our local Canadian Tire. We have been out a few times around Vancouver in moderately wavy conditions and I have to say that I have been impressed. The kayak felt kind of unstable at first to me since I had never been in one though I had canoed quite a bit. Once I got used to it though, I found it both stable and highly maneuverable. It does take a little while to get used to the tracking since it does not have a keel, but overall I am both impressed and very happy with this purchase. Since other kayaks this size and with these options are quite a bit more expensive, I have to thank Pelican for producing such a good product and affordably. If you have never kayaked before or even if you have, this is a good buy. "
+73points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Pelican Maxim 100X Fish Kayak, 10-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:clarington

very nice

Date:June 19, 2010
" at 5 10 and 235 lbs this is actually comfy.
it comes with paddle tie down and the leash is the string on the side. it also comes with an folding anchor and a sit in spray skirt.
the skirt wrap around the cockpit and theb wraps around you snug so no water enters cockpit when you roll under water and back up or splasing paddling.
comes with everything you need to start kayaking.
the only thing you need to buy is a paddle and a life jacket.
the swivel rod holder snaps in and out, the rod holder for swivel is a permanent mounted flush mount. just take rod holder and snap in when you want to use swivel holder. out when you dont.
the other 2 is a permanent flush mount.
truly the most versatile kayak to hit the market to date.
pelican scores high on this one.
kudos pelican.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?