Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Screen Houses or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft

Insta-Clip Screen House is quick to set-up and strong. External frame and clips make set-up a snap. Extremely stable design. Quick to set up and strong
Average Customer Rating:
2.531 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
13
11 of 32(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Review 1 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

An ok screen house

Date:August 30, 2012
" It was a nice screen house, put it out for over a month and it fell apart at the seams, they replaced it with another one but I am not putting it out until next year and if this one falls apart, I won't buy another one. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

Screen Tent

Date:August 10, 2012
" we bought this tent 2 weeks ago, used it to go camping...my husband & i put it up with out a fight! and took it down just as easy...we had a wind storm while camping...it held up great but you have to buy good quality steel stakes not the ones that come with it...we really like the wide openings on both ends.. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Torbay, NL

Poorly Designed: Water Pools on Roof, Leaks

Date:August 3, 2012
" Used once. Moderate rainfall resulted in water pooling on roof and dripping inside. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:B.C.

Not bad for the price (it was on sale)

Date:July 31, 2012
" Bought this shaded tent because I had the Coleman 6 sided shade tent, and it was an awesome tent. This one is a little harder to set up and must be pegged down as a small gust of wind will blow it away. What I dislike is the 2 huge doors at the end, as these are a pain to use. The zipper up the middle is much easier to access. When pegging down make sure the zippers are done up or else it is impossible to access!!!! Would never pay full $$ for this. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This tent is junk

Date:May 25, 2012
" Do not buy this tent at any price. The easy clip straps tear out of the tent and the poles fold at the lightest breeze. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, Ontario

Not bad, Not great either.

Date:May 11, 2012
" Had this for 3 years now, Really is handy for keeping the bugs away from your eating area and works surprisingly well in the rain. The other comments
have shown is weaknesses. It does require 2 people for setup. I would recommend a practice setup at home before taking it camping. The poles are flimsy by themselves but are not to bad when assembled.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan

Not Durable

Date:September 27, 2011
" This tent was easy to put up. My husband and 7 year old daughter did it together. It was a nice size. Would easily fit two picnic tables. My problem though it one evening a little gust of wind picked up and the center plastic hub that holds it all together broke. We only had it a week. Waste of money "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Milton, Ontario

Coleman - what are you doing?

Date:August 25, 2011
" Bought this in the spring for a great price and had to return it after one use. One of our seams wasn't sewn correctly and 2 of the clips came right out when we were putting it together. Because of the seam, our roof was never tight and when it rained, it pooled and leaked.
The poles were fine, but you needed to be careful to make sure you were using the correct ones in the right places.
I expected way more from Coleman, this was disappointing.
Canadian Tire, on the other hand took the return without question and issued me a store credit. I applied it to the Broadstone Screen House with awnings, which we are thrilled with! "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Worth the sale price

Date:August 22, 2011
" This is our first dining tent and frankly we bought it because we saved $100 this past spring on sale at CT. Some of the reviews of this product made it sound like a horror show, but after getting hands-on with it, proved that some of the people who bought it were either new to camping or were inept.
Took two people about 15 minutes to set up. Yes, the poles could be stronger but when properly staked to the ground the tent was stable. For those who bent the poles when fitting them into each other, all I can say is did you look carefully at the arc of the finished top frame? You can easily misjudge it and jam the poles together causing them to bend and/or snap. Otherwise, one of the top seams did leak slightly during a torrential downpour but no rain came in the top vent as some reported.
Granted, this is not the best quality dining tent on the market, and is not worth the $170 price tag. But for $70 it's a good bargain and I would recommend it as a starter tent. "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

Coleman Insta-Clip Screen House poles are weak!

Date:August 19, 2011
" The Poles are weak, so you must tie this product to the ground. The slightest amount of wind will bend the poles.
Also you can't get parts anymore for the product.
Only buy when on sale, and be careful with it, "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Item Ever Bought

Date:August 16, 2011
" I purchased the product because of the price and my experience with other Coleman products we use for camping. This was the worst purchase ever. We were never able to get the shelter up. The poles bent and the ties holding the poles together came apart as the poles kept twisting when we tried to clip the canopy on. We followed the instructions exactly and gave up after trying for more two hours over 2 days. We have put together many a different type of tents and shelters and this by far was the worst. Will be dropping the whole mess back to Canadian Tire and writing a letter to Coleman expressing our disappointment. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better Than Most

Date:July 26, 2011
" I am surprised at some of the reviews. We bought this 4 years ago and it is still being used. It does require a few people to set it up( I think it would be risky to try and set it up by yourself.) and does need to be tied down, but it is by far the easiest and fastest set up I've seen. Takes us minutes! The poles are starting to rust and they will bend if not treated with care, but the zippers and clips are still fully functional. I haven't had a problem with water coming in the vent, but anything sitting too close to the sides when it is raining gets wet. It needs to be handled with care, but considering others on the market, I still think this one is better than most others. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau

Not worth the money, not even on special

Date:July 24, 2011
" Used the screen house 4 times in camping and the last time we had a little bit of wind, since the top had already dryed, it ripped like an old pair of boxer.
Very easy to assemble, roomy, but the quality is not there at all.
Don't waste your money. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Burk's Falls, Ontario

Nice design, poorly sewn

Date:April 5, 2011
" Very roomy. Insta-clips make setup easy. Instructions are clear. The shelter is very stable when set up. Fabric looks ok.
Seams are weak with no reinforcement at stress points. Stitching for one insta-clip failed & the webbing pulled out of a top corner. Another insta-clip is about to let go. This happened during the test set-up. I'm returning it & will look for another brand.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Waste of money

Date:August 8, 2010
" The poles for this screen house broke after the second use. I bought replacement poles from the authorised Coleman service center but they were the wrong size! We ended up throwing the whole thing away. It's also very difficult to set up. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

it is okay.. I'll keep it since I already have it

Date:July 20, 2010
" Took it for interior BC two weeks camp and it is okay... keeps you from bugs and rain; it is huge!
you have to peg it to get some stability (it will not stay without pegs for more then a day even in calm weather); do not over tight the lower perimeter when you peg it as it will overload the zippers; peg guy lines if you stay for more then a day or in wind or rain. The perimeter zipper of D shape door was inconvenient for me - I like a vertical zipper in the center of the mesh door.
I bought it for the insta-clip and I liked it - reminds you advanced MSR tents.
it is very overpriced: around 60$ would be fare.
Next time I'll buy one with 6 poles.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Coleman Insta-Clip Screen House with Lights, 15 x 12-ft
1.7 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, Ontario

terrible product

Date:July 17, 2010
" This was undoubtedly the worst camping product purchase we have made. We have been camping for many years and bought many products. This is by far the worst quality of all. We only used it 2 or 3 times and then had to throw it away due to the poles breaking. I highly recommend you DO NOT buy this product. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON

Excellent Screen Tent

Date:July 10, 2010
" I'm a first time camper and this took us about 5-10 minutes to set up. Extremely easy, and the poles are a piece of cake. I think why ppl had issues, may be because you need to leave the last one (joint) un-connected on all four sides until they are all clipped in the middle. Clicks simple enough in the middle, and you just need a little muscle (i'm a wimpy girl) in order to take it apart when you are finished.
Kept the bugs out, was very large over the picnic area and has two "doors" on either side. Need to have on a flat surface so mosquito's can't get in from underneath.
No issues with water, although the dog was able to get out from underneath....so keep an eye on your pet! lol
I highly recommend it. It folded back up and into the bag (although takes a lot of folding) and the poles didn't fit back in the bag, but then again once I take something out, I can pretty much never get them back in again. Not a huge deal as the poles come in a separate little bag with ties. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Good size with problems

Date:July 5, 2010
" We bought this primarily because of the large size and height.
Very difficult to set up - bent a pole trying.
However once we got the guywires attached it was pretty sturdy.
Bent another pole taking it down, and ended up giving the entire thing to another camper. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Coleman InstaClip Screen House, 11 x 13-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Big Regrets

Date:July 4, 2010
" This is one of the worst purchases I have made and a terrible product by a usually great company.
I set this shelter up 4 times...twice in the backyard and twice at the campsite. After the 4th time while out camping, in frustration I decided I did not want to pack it back up and threw it out.
Here are the reasons not to buy:
1) The roof pools up with water when it rains and leaks right smack in the center of the tent
2) A pole broke at the joint after the 3rd time being used
3) Another pole snapped in half after the 4th use
4) 2 of their "insta-clips" ripped off during the 4th use...another one was on its way to ripping and would have left me with a sagging corner
5) The poles have these metal clips that snap into the top center piece...they fall out of the poles and are impossible to put back in without tools and they are very hard to take out of the center piece
6) The tent is very awkward to setup with 2 people
7) The guide-lines are needed to make the tent stable but are poor quality and repeatedly need to be re-tightened
Do not waste your money on this! "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2