Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Tents & Accessories or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person

Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person

Instant Tent features heavy-duty 150D fabric, which is twice the thickness of a standard tent fabricSets up in one minute or lessNo rain fly required - all seams are taped for superior protectionCabin Tent: provides a stronger structure while providing more headroom, often enough to stand upCapacity: sleeps 8 peopleDimensions: 14' L x 8' W x 6' 4" H (427 x 244 x 195 cm)
Average Customer Rating:
3.389 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
11 of 18(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Review 1 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent Product

Date:October 29, 2013
"Went camping with the kids, very easy to set up, it took 5 minutes and very roomy. We loved it!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Think twice

Date:September 22, 2013
"Sweet tent to put up and take down but it leaks like a waterfall! Perfect if you are a fair-weather camper! It really needs a tent fly and Coleman need to rethink the door. Now I'm searching the web for a tent fly that will fit."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Design flaw

Date:August 2, 2013
"Bought this tent at the beginning if last season. Had it out 6 times. It rained three of those times, and the tent leaked all three times. Very disappointed with this Coleman product. It leaks around the bottom, seam in the front and at the base of the door where the zippers join. As I sit in it now in the rain I am having to sop up leaks. I bought this tent because it's a Coleman. I will not buy another."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works Great

Date:August 1, 2013
"Bought it 3 weeks ago, used once so far. No leaks, easy setup and great ventilation. Roomy enough for 3 adults and gear. The back room divider is a nice touch.
Used a can of sealer on the seams prior to use. Have no idea whether that did anything or was a waste of twenty bucks.
Looking at the seams prior to spraying it, I don't know how they could leak at all. Mine were very nicely done.
I suppose if you stretch out the tent insanely taught you could pull apart a seam, but that's a user error.
I may give this one to one of my kids and purchase the 10 man as I really like the quality and ease of setup.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does the one thing you don't want in a tent. Leak!

Date:July 28, 2013
"The tent leaks, as did the second one, as will the third. The weak spot is the entire seam around the edge of the floor. It leaks everywhere. JUNK!!!!! Great design, with one tragic flaw. One star because it's easy to put up. I'd rather wrestle with something difficult to put up that keeps me dry."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON

Wet Night/Morning

Date:July 17, 2013
"I purchased the Coleman eight man instant tent for a size upgrade to fit two camping cots (my other tent is the broadstone five man easy up tent), I regret this decision.
After two uses, the taped seams started to peel and the tent leaked during the rain. I decided to give it one last chance during the past weekend which was clear skies and a high of 30 degree Celcius, I sprayed the tent with waterproofing spray since the tent was up, not expecting to need it, little did i know I did, and it didn't work, the tent didn't even keep the morning dew from dripping into the tent.
I would recommend purchasing the seven man broadstone easy-up tent instead as I have no problems with the five-man easy up tent in thunder storms or with the morning dew."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good quality

Date:May 15, 2013
"We had to purchase a new tent as our previous one was leaking... We decided to go with Coleman (rather than a cheaper one) and we have now survived quite a few rainstorms, and cold weather."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vernon, B.C.

Great Tent!

Date:September 3, 2012
"This is an awesome tent. Very easy to assemble and lots of room. We go camping with our grandchildren and there's room for us, them and more. Would highly recommend this."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Stephen, NB, Canada

Coleman 8-Person Instant Tent

Date:August 26, 2012
"We are not tent people, but I won this tent at a local event, we went tenting for a couple of nights, and I can honestly say that it was very easy up and down. It kept us very dry, and went back in its case nicely. There is lots of room and like others have said there is only one door, which could pose a problem for some. Overall this is a great tent and would highly recomend it. A good purchased for the money."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Love this tent!

Date:July 29, 2012
"This tent is great for us occasional campers. It really is as easy and fast to put up and take down as they say it is! Plus it actually does fit back in it's carry bag! Despite some night time rain and temps dropping to about 12c there was no condensation on the walls in the morning and everything was still dry inside. Even with the ceiling vents left open! It would hold 2 double air mattresses comfortably with the room divider up. The single door does make it tricky for the people at the back of the tent to get up without disturbing others though. It has great ceiling height throughout. Would recommend this tent to anyone looking for something that's truly easy to set up!"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good purchase

Date:July 4, 2012
"Bough this tent on special took my husband and son 2 minutes to put up and took about 5 minutes to put down because there was a pole that was stuck. Very ease to use. The only problem with this tent is the door zipper... every time you want to get in or out the front flap gets stuck in the zipper it is very anoying it is to bad for the price of the tent to have such a problem. Overall we are happy with our purchase."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Great Tent - Not for Summiting Everest

Date:June 26, 2012
"This is an awesome tent for what it is and does. We bought it last year when we had our 7 month old daughter camping with us and we needed everything to be quick and easy. I put up the tent for the first time (after watching the video) it took maybe a minute more than the pros took, after that it was great. Sturdy in wind and rain, lots of space for a portacrib and room to walk over to it, our bags and a double thick king air mattress! It's not an ideal tent for portage or climbing Everest but if you're planning those trips you've probably guessed that by now!"
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ridden with holes

Date:June 20, 2012
"When I opened the tent for the first time it had 5 holes, so pretty much worthless."
-42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice looking tent but overall not so good....

Date:August 10, 2011
"Nice looking tent, not so bad to put up but had a bit of trouble taking it down but managed to figure it out. Unfortunately, the tent had a hole in the front left wall and a hole in the floor when we got it. Appears to be from being pinched during factory packing as this tent had not been opened previously. Both holes are the same size and the same shape. Although I had to call Coleman myself for a return authorization, Canadian Tire very good about me bringing it back. I must say that I am not impressed with the zipper part of the entrance to tent. Joins like an upside down "T" and when all ends of the zipper meet it does NOT close up tightly. The seams at the top corner of the tent had daylight shining through the holes where it had been stitched as well. Maybe I am just being too fussy but how can a tent be guaranteed water proof if the holes from stitching are stretched so hard when the tent is set up that you can see daylight through them?"
+60points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK

Excellent tent

Date:July 15, 2011
"I bought this tent because as I single mom of two young kids I needed a tent that I would be able to set up on my own. This tent took me maybe 10 minutes to set up by myself, its awesome. We had minimal rain with no leaking. Its not huge, most definitely not an 8 person tent but they never are as they say. We slept 4 people with two double mattresses inside with some room for bags. I love that the windows in the front open up right down to the floor. Definitely would recommend this to someone that is looking for an easy set up tent. It also actually fits back into the bag after take down."
+52points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, Alberta

Looks Great but......

Date:June 11, 2011
"This is the 2nd time i bought the tent as the first one had a hole in it. We put up the 2nd tent in the the backyard and waterproofed it and left it out to dry the required number of hours, then a thunderstorm rolled and in a what a great chance to give it a leak test.....'FAIL'!!! Lots of water in front of the zipper, and both front corners......
The ease of put up is Excellent i will say that, up in less than a minutes is true BUT for a $300 tent, you should have the little things that other tents have, more gear pockets (only 2 and not in a handy spot) no ties to tie up the windows when they are down so they just flap in the breeze, no peg in loop where the zipper is so the zipper flaps all the time AND it does not come with pegs!!"
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, Ontario

Great Tent, Easy to Put Up

Date:May 24, 2011
"I purchased this tent to replace an aging dome tent I bought about 15 year ago. I needed something that was easy to put up and could accommodate a couple air mattresses.
I ended up purchasing the 14 x 8 foot version (without the room divider). When I went to Canadian Tire, I was actually looking for one of the the large Coleman multiroom tents, but ended up buying this one instead.
All the support bars are attached to the actual tent, so there's no assembling long poles and trying to feed them through hoops (we all know how much of a pain that can be when the pole connections keep separating).
One of the main things I like about this tent is how easy it is to put up. On the first try, two people had it up in about 10 minutes. When taking it down, just reverse the order and roll up. The bag is large enough to easily put the tent in and fit across the width of my car trunk.
The first weekend I used the tent it rained. The tent stayed dry inside aside from condensation created by the occupants body heat. There are two vents on the roof of the tent accessible from inside that helps to vent the condensation, but keep the tent from leaking water.
At 6'3", I was amazed that I could stand upright in the middle of the tent. It could also easily accomodate two queen sized mattresses. There is only one door though, so I could see how it would be bothersome if you're in the back end of the tent and needed to get out.
Overall I think this tent is a great value. I look forward to using this tent on future camping trips!"
+53points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Coleman Instant Tent, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, Alberta

Great for Beginners (Maybe for Avid Campers, too)

Date:May 3, 2011
"Pros: it can be set up in 5 mins or less by one person. (Make sure you watch the videos on Youtube, search for the product's name.) No loose parts. Windows all around. Metal stakes. 2 rooms (not mentioned in the specs).
Cons: Coleman doesn't tell you the specs. There're 2 versions of this tent: 14x10 and 14x8. They tell you this is 14x8, but don't tell you there's just one door (the other has two). With just one door, one will have to tip-toe over others at night. Given the smaller size of this version, there's little room to walk around. Fortunately, the other parts are better. The other version weighs 45 lb, this one is 35-40 lb. The other gives you plastic stakes, this one gives you metal stakes. Taking it down is easy but requires some muscles, as you need to roll the tent tightly to fit in the bag.
Like most 8-person tents, this one fits 6 at most.
Overall, we like this tent, and it's good value when it's on sale."
+82points
Was this review helpful to you?