Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Shelters & Canopies/Screenhouses or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person

Tent with Screen Porch features 600 mm coated water-resistant fabric Colour-coded poles and sleeves for easy set-up Welded floor seams and taped rainfly seams provide added weather protection Removable curtains divide tent into 3 separate rooms Capacity: sleeps 8 people Dimensions: 18' L x 17' W x 6' 6" H (549 x 518 x 201 cm)
Average Customer Rating:
3.793 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
21 of 29(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Review 1 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON, Canada

Not a bad tent

Date:June 26, 2013
"We purchased this tent 3 years ago on sale. At first setting it up seemed a bit daunting, but we managed.
The first time we used it we noticed that the poles for the screen porch did not stay where they were supposed to. We solved this problem by taking two pieces of rebar with us and hammering them into the ground (on an angle) where we wanted the poles to be, we then slipped the poles onto the rebar this kept the poles for the porch in perfect position regardless of the weather.
We also noticed this kept the walls and the fly where it should be.
This tent does need to have the seams sprayed to stay waterproof at least once every year or two. We did use a tarp in really bad weather, we also put a tarp underneath the tent if you use a slightly larger one you can fold the corners in, still peg the tent down and have an area of tarp extend into the porch area for shoes.
Its a big tent and fits us and all our things really well without feeling tight. And after a few uses I learned to put the tent up by myself in about 15 minutes. Its only when I get to the rebar part that I call on my husband. Over all this tent has served us well up till now and after I clean it and spray it this year I expect that it will keep on for a few more years.
Hint: Buy a plastic tub to put it in to store, it never would fit back in the box for us.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good

Date:June 8, 2013
"We bought this tent for a school camping trip and it's really confusing to set up at first, but I'm a pro at it now. This tent is an ACTUAL 8 person tent. There were 5 of us and there were tons of room with our mattresses and luggage. I would strongly recommend this tent."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON, Canada

Great investment!

Date:April 22, 2013
"Love this tent. Loads of room for our 4 person family and more. Fits 2 large air mattresses no problem. Lots of room to stand. Screened in "porch" area is great for shoes and extra luggage. Camped in a huge rain storm and no leaks! Worth every penny!"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not great

Date:August 15, 2012
"the initial set up of the tent is easy but it was really hard to pull tight and make sure nothing sags. the problem is with the shape.
the instructions were useless when trying to attach the fly, it took us over an hour to figure it out."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Buy for $70

Date:August 15, 2011
"We bought this tent for our family of 3 and used it for the first time this weekend. I read ALL of the previous reviews before we used it and began to have my doubts.
Subsequently, I only glanced at the intructions, as they were scant if anything, and mostly looked at the picture on the box to get it up. It took under 15 minutes to pitch it and get in.
We used it for one night during a HEAVY thunderstorm. We took no chance with a tarp over the tent and came out dry as a bone in the morning.
Some of the concerns others have expressed seem warranted though. The rain fly narrowly covers the meshed roof, but does have velcro ties to keep it in place somewhat. Our tent did not leak, although a tarp covered us. The door doesn't have a rain cover at the zipper (thankfully the 2 windows do) which would be a major weak point in rain. The attached screen room provides a good space to snack and keep shoes out of the tent, but little protection if it rains on an angle. This could all be taken care of with a tarp overhead, which is my practice. We did not use the room dividers.
My major concern are the "keys" that the pole lock on to at the base. I feel that there is a high risk of puncturing the mesh or the tent if not carefully packed back up. My old tent did not have this feature, so I don't know if this is a new feature on all tents or just this one - helpful to put up, but a hazard when taking down - potentially leaving you with a surprise hole when you use it next. Speaking of, we intend to try it again in a couple of weeks. I will update with another review at such time.
In all, a GREAT tent for $70. Be sure to get sealer and/or a tarp too though. And lots of space in this one."
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't waste your money

Date:July 27, 2011
"When i bought this tent i thought it was great.... But then we were camping in the rain and wind. It leaked through all the seems, windows and walls. The fly kept moving off its proper place whenever the wind blew, exposing the screen roof. we couldn't keep the tent tight so it leaked everywhere. And the lovely screened in porch kept blowing down because there's no way to properly secure it ( just two poles you push into the ground).
I'm an experienced camper and everything was as tight as you could get it and all ropes tied down.
In the middle of the night we had to leave our tent and sleep elsewhere, we cut our camping trip short, because we threw out the tent !!!!!
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton, On

Best Tent Ever

Date:July 22, 2011
"Maybe I am just excited about this tent because I can actually stand up in it, or maybe because it took myself and my 4 year old son 15 minutes to put it up (without instructions, I might add) but I see alot of promise in this tent. It is a great value!
Looks like they have redesigned it from the picture. My screen house is orange and part of the tent, not the fly.
The fly is easy to put on and gently hugs the tent where it should. I grew up as a camper and know this is a quality tent.
I like the rooms because getting changed will be much easier.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ajax, Ontario

A Great Tent

Date:July 8, 2011
"Bought this tent last year on sale, with every tent you're always skeptical, but then if you want all the ease and no complaining of how long it takes to put up a tent then its better to go cottaging instead of tenting.
We love this tent its quite huge, we manage to fit a queen, a double and a twin mattress in here and still have room for our bags and stuff. We do not use the screen inside the tent since we don't really require it. All in all we are very satisfied with this tent. We've used it 3 times already, and twice it has rained, we didn't tie down the top flap so hence had a little water come it but once we pinned it down we were fine. The kids went inside as soon as the rain started and fell asleep
no complains about rain seeping into the tent.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa Ontario

PLEASE DON'T BUY THIS TENT

Date:April 24, 2011
"This is a horrible tent. I am a leisure camper and have owned many tents over the years. I bought this tent last summer and used it twice before pitching it in the garbage. This tent is designed very poorly. The pegging of the tent is frustrating because of its awkward shape. The poles are flimsy and do not hold the tent walls tight, this causes water to pool and leak into the tent. The poles for the front vestibule will not tolerate any amount of wind. The fly hardly covers the mesh top so mix a little wind with a little rain and you are soaked. You will be spending so much extra money buying tarps so you can stay dry you mind as well of bought a better tent."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Windsor, On

Garbage

Date:March 2, 2011
"I bought this tent two years ago and have been extremely disappointed in its quality and performance. After setting up the tent for the first time I made sure to spray all seams, both inside and outside with seam sealer. I also sprayed both sides of the fly with seam sealer and let it dry for 48 hours according to the seam sealer instructions.
We are seasoned campers and have owned many tents, but none as poor in design in construction as this Escort. We went camping three times the first year we owned the tent and each trip was about a week long. The second year we went camping twice for over a week both times. Needless to say we have seen the tent's performance in a variety of weather conditions.
There are several design flaws with this product:
No1: The fly does not completely cover the meshed vents on the front of the tent. The triangular sections of the fly on the anterior portion of the tent to either side of the vestibule do not cover the mesh. It is possible to cover these areas by over stretching the elastic grapples and winding them around the base of the anterior tent poles. This is sufficient for keeping out light precipitation; however when it starts to rain the pressure and weight of the rain causes the fly to cave in slightly, thus exposing the meshing and allowing water into the tent. This effect can be devastating in storms or moderate to heavy rain as progressively larger sections of mesh become exposed with the increasing weight of the rain until the fly completely folds in on itself along the outer lateral tent poles. When this happens the fly become a funnel and water comes poring (not exaggerating) into both sides of the tent above you. Obviously this product was not rain or storm tested.
No 2: The front vestibule is actually part of the fly and is held in position by two aluminum tension rods located on either side of the vestibule. The tension rods cannot be fastened into position or pegged into the ground. When the wind picks up as a storm moves the wind comes up underneath the vestibule's roof and places undue pressure on the rest of the rainfly, leading to the already small fly to be pull in the direction of the wind and exposes the mesh areas to the elements even further. Because the tension rods cannot be staked down if the wind gets under the vestibule's roof it will lift it off the ground slightly enough to disturb the tension system. This can cause the vestibule to collapse completely or alternatively can increase the angle at which the tension rods are positioned causing extreme stress on the middle vestibule's fiberglass pole. If this happens that pole is likely to break. This happened to us during a storm and caused this rod to break. We were lucky the broken pole did not rip the tent nylon and that we were able to replace the fiberglass pole.
No 3: The zipper on the front door of the tent does not have a nylon zipper cover to protect it from the elements. Initially this seemed great because you didn't have to worry about the zipper teeth getting caught in the zipper cover, but proved to be yet another fatal flaw. The vestibule is made out of mesh screening and unless it rains perfectly strait down the rain will come through the sides of the vestibule and fall against the front of the tent. As the rain continues the zipper becomes saturated and begins to leak into the tent. But with all the other leaking areas this is the least of your worries by this point.
No 4: The stitching in this tent is terrible. Even during a light rain all of the bottom corners leak due to the large grade needle used to stitch the tent - even with coats and coats of seem sealer! We have used this tent for five camping trips and we seam seal every time we go out hoping it will improve the situation but it does nothing. The last time we were camping we had very nice weather and only one day of light rain for a couple of hours. I noticed the fly started to leak in the very center at the highest point of the tent. Just a slow drip, drip drip, but that is inexcusable. A rainfly should not leak with five coats of seam sealer and only a couple hours of gentle rain.
The reason I used the tent for as long as I did was because I wanted my money's worth. We set up the tent on the first sunny day loving it and foolishly burnt the box it came in. I wish we hadn't burn the box because I would have returned it after its first use! So instead I've been stuck with this ratty tent for two years and I've had it. We are currently looking for a replacement. You'd stay drier sleeping in a plastic sleeping bag under a tree!"
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Perfect Tent

Date:September 1, 2010
"This is a great tent bought it last year it takes me by myself 20 min to put up, great size for week long camping. We did spray the seams and it has never leaked, even in down pours. Screen room is great size for a couple of chairs and a table."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

There are better tents out there

Date:August 30, 2010
"We bought this tent last year (2009) in July. Before using it, we sprayed it with the right waterproofing sealant, but it still leaked...a lot. Huge puddles in the ends of the tent. It leaked near the windows, near the center, and by the door. Everything inside was wet.
We only used the tent about 8 times, and when taking it down in June this year, one of the nylon peg loops ripped right out of the seam, leaving a 4 inch hole between the floor and the wall of the tent.
We found the tent easy to assemble as long as there were two or three of us. The room divider was silly, with it up you couldn't put a double air mattress on either side of it. The best part of this tent was the screen room, which just kept our "mess kit" stuff nearby and not out in the open to be easily swiped. Ironically, the roof of that part didn't leak!
Bottom line, this was not a great tent, with the ripping and the leaking. There are better tents out there, and I can just buy a cheap dining tent for our mess kit."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON

Good value, good quality

Date:July 21, 2010
"This is the 3rd year we've had this tent. We use it a couple times a year. Even though we've upgraded to a trailer, our friends that come with us still use this tent. It's easy to set up with one other person, although not impossible with just one. It easily fits 2 twin beds (which make a king size bed) plus 2-3 kid size air beds (that's pushing it with the 3rd). It didn't leak a bit, and every time we've used it it's rained. The screen house is a nice size - there's no floor, but a small tarp placed on the ground fixes that problem. We don't really use the optional room divider - it's just a yellow piece of fabric that hooks onto the ceiling. We bought it on sale for $100 off and it was totally worth it."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be sure to spray

Date:June 14, 2010
"I took my family camping for a week two years ago. I bought a tent, however this one went on sale for $100 off the day before we were to leave. I thought it was a good idea to have an extra $100 for food and more supplies. Bad idea! The size of the tent is great, however the screen area does not have a floor (track in dirt). Well, the second day was rainy (we were dry) but that night, more rain. And yes, it started to rain inside our tent. We all had our rain ponchos on for the entire night. The rest of the week was rainy, therefore we had a wet tent and bedding. Not good. The moral to the story is to BE SURE TO SPRAY YOUR TENT before you get to your camping site."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:claington

yee haw round up the family

Date:June 6, 2010
"bought this tent for daughter.
2 rooms a screenroom
screen room to store gear and tent for stuff you dont want to get wet and lots of room for inflatable beds and gear.
she loves it.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton

This Tent is Great

Date:May 25, 2010
"We bought this tent because we wanted a bigger one. And I love it. Its easy to set up and very roomy. I would tell my friends and family to buy it."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Big tent indeed, will take you an hour to put up

Date:May 24, 2010
"This tent is huge indeed. But it's far from easy to assemble, you need 2-3 people to put it up. All roof is mesh, and although it has the rain fly, you will need an extra tarp cause this one will leak for sure by the looks of it.
The seams are right on the floor, not above ground, so if it rains you will be leaking water.
The screen house is not detachable.
"
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Quebec, Quebec

great for my family

Date:January 17, 2010
"this is an amazing tent. Although tuff to install the first time. My whole family loves it for the camping trips.."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, Ontario

Great Tent

Date:July 20, 2009
"I purchased this tent on sale, although it is worth paying full price for. I first set it up in my backyard to ensure there was nothing wrong with it, then took it out for a weekend camping trip. This tent can be put up my one person without any trouble. The instructions are easy to follow and everythiing goes together as shown. It is very roomy, not that I would want to share it with seven other people, and more than adequate for a family of five. I sprayed all the seams with sealer and never had a drop of water inside. I would highly recommend this tent to anyone."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Escort Tent with Screen Porch, 8-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Excellent Buy

Date:July 1, 2009
"Bought this tent last year for less tham $100.
Being a 1st time camper just went with my gut feeling about this tent and I was not disappointed.
It set up in about 15 mins (with a little help from my experienced camping friends), provided ample room for family of 5 with all the baggage too. It rained a lot all the 3 days we had the tent up and except for a couple of drops at one corner (fixed with sealant) we were totally dry. Going camping again this week with rains predicted again...Escort to the rescue!!!
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2