Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Shelters & Canopies/Screenhouses or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter

Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter

Pop-Up Sun Shelter sets up in seconds making it easy to set up and move800 mm coated water-resistant fabricProvides shade from the sun and harmful UV raysSide vents allow for flow-through ventilationReflective flags on guy wires help prevent tripping over them in the darkNo assembly required and fol
Average Customer Rating:
3.097 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
18 of 31(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Review 1 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Should have listened to the bad reviews

Date:September 4, 2014
"I really wanted to have this product work for our family unfortunately I should have paid attention to the poor reviews.
Before using it, I dutifully watched the video multiple times until I had the concept down pat. I have a smaller pop-up baby shelter from a different company and the fold-down is similar so I felt confident I could do it.
First time I folded it, it was a perfect text-book execution. It collapsed beautifully, just like in the product video. Pffft, easy.
However, when I put it back into the case, the zipper wouldn't close all the way. I was in a rush so didn't bother looking closely and left it half closed rather than trying to force it.
The next time I went to use it, I realized why it wouldn't close - the plastic joint assembly had broken on one side and a pole end was sticking out. Upon opening it up to see if it still worked, the OTHER side went patoing.
With both sides broken, it was dead, Jim.
Note the return policy on this tent! As of this review, it's 7 day EXCHANGE and then after that 1 year repair warranty. Fortunately, a manager at my local store was very kind and agreed to refund the full price of the tent as it was pretty poor it failed so spectacularly after only two uses.
Five stars for customer service, 1 star for the poor design. Such a shame because it's the most convenient and large sun shade I've found. I hope Canadian Tire goes back to the drawing board and makes one that doesn't consistently break on its users. For now, stay away!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Terrible Design Flaw

Date:August 9, 2014
"This is a great idea, but the design is terrible! The connecting poles in the centre part of each of the structure's broad sides snap as easy as a dry spaghetti strand! On the first day, my wife and I set it up in the back yard to test it, it looked great. We then watched the video 3-4 times on the ipad and then tried to fold it up to put it away. SNAP! Broken. So we took it back for an exchange. Canadian Tire was very helpful, no questions asked. We got a new one the same day. Went home, tried again, and once again, SNAP! Feeling rather stupid, we drove 15 mins to a different Canadian Tire. Exchanged it for a new one again, no questions asked. We brought it home, set it up....but this time, before we folded it up, we undid the velcro flaps on each of the tent's broadsides to expose the plastice joints that kept snapping on us. We found that each of the joints were already cracked at the time of purchase! (but not completely snapped off). So, we tightly wrapped each plastic joint in electrical tape and then duct tape, then fastened the velcro flaps and started folding it to put it away and once again, SNAP! Ridiculous, I know. Anyway, we didn't exchange it, we kept it. My wife likes the concept of this product, and when set up at the beach you can't really tell the connector joints are snapped. But they are. Horribly thought out design. ***NOTE*** We bought a red and orange coloured one, the blue and yellow one as shown in the picture on this website seems to have different looking connecting joints. Perhaps Broadstone changed the design, not properly testing the new joints. Because believe me, they are inadequate."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Do not purchase

Date:July 31, 2014
"I bought this product even after reading many unfavourable reviews, because I liked the fact that there was no assembly required. I don't want to be messing with tent poles every day when I go to the beach.
The product is obviously easy to put up, and it takes a couple minutes to figure out how to put it away, but once you get it, it is super simple.
However, like many other people said in the reviews the plastic piece connecting the poles was broken the first time I set it up. Thankfully I was just giving it a trial run in my backyard the day I bought it!
I'll be returning this shoddy product and buying a different one!
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Don't buy

Date:July 27, 2014
"Broke on first use and I didn't use it right away so now I can't exchange it."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Langley, BC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

NOT RECOMMENDED - have fun taking this down

Date:July 22, 2014
"I made two trial runs with this shelter. I was excited at how easy it sets up as with kids you want fast and easy and easy to store. It was grat having it up, kids loved it and it was very roomy. Definitly fits more then 2 kids easily with an adult or two. Getting it up was no problem, but the issue is taking it down. I followed both the 'horrible' directions on the packaging as well as the video from Canadian Tire's website and both times the connectors snapped with little to no pressure. I would not recommend this to anyone, was very frustrating. It is too good to be true."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good Shade But POOR design

Date:July 18, 2014
"We have gone through 2 of these tents in a relatively short time frame. they do work excellent for shade and are easy as pie to set up. not as easy as they make it look in the videos to put away tho.
One major flaw in the design are the plastic connectors for the poles that are inside the canvas, we have had 2 tents break in the exact same place while trying to fold up and put way. there was no extra pressure and we were following the video exactly (even had the laptop playing it while we were doing second tent) all in all if they were aluminum then this would be the best portable sin shelter ever BUT due to this flaw I would recommend buying another tent or another brand.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Great product....not so easy to take down

Date:June 6, 2014
"I was surprised at how large this shelter was once it poped up. A great alternative to a umbrella. Taking down, not so easy. I like to consider myself an intuitive person, but I had to watch the video several times and still struggled for 15 minutes to get it down to it's near original size to fit back in the case. I suggest practicing several times before taking it out."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Clements, ON N0B, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter

Date:May 31, 2014
"So light and easy to carry to the beach. Even easier to set up. Shade during the hottest time of the day is important."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:British Columbia
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

amazing product, just watch video on how to fold

Date:May 23, 2014
"Love this product for my baby! I actually purchased after a friend got one for her son. For the people who claim its hard to fold, you arent watching the video with enough attention.
It's super easy to fold once you know how to hold it and when to flip it into itself.
Definitely prefer this over my old beach half tent that uses those folding poles."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto

great little shelter

Date:July 25, 2013
"This is our third summer with the pop-up shelter... it's holding up great. The mesh on one of the windows is starting to fray a bit, but it's hardly noticeable. My daughter loves to play in it in the yard, and it's wonderful to use as a little house at the beach. Much better than an umbrella, and easy to carry.
There's enough room for an adult or two kids, but more than that would be a squeeze. I can't think of one bad thing to say about this shelter-- it was a good purchase."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible product

Date:July 25, 2013
"The pole snapped on our first attempt to get this tent correctly folded and back into its case. This process is not intuitive (don't be fooled by the video). Please don't waste your money and energy with this product."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:London, on

Perfect for Kids.

Date:July 22, 2013
"I love this product. I only gave it an "Good" in Ease of Use because I had to try putting away at home several times before I got it. Mostly because I didn't want to look like an idiot at the beach. Now I unpack and pack it with ease! Don't expect to be able to do it without watching the video.
Perfect for my 5 month old, whom I want to keep out of the sun. If you are trying to use this as an adult you are fooling yourself. If you read the dimensions you'd know it won't work for you. Its for keeping little ones out of the sun...which it does perfectly!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Amazing shade

Date:July 16, 2013
"This guy is AWESOME! It pops up super easy and once you figure out how to tame it back into the carrying case, it's a cinch to store for the next time. It's lightweight and the carrying case straps make it easy to sling this guy over your shoulder.
The tent is massive! Much bigger than I thought it would be which is a welcome surprise. You can easily fit a young family of 4 plus all their gear into this tent.
I used it on the hottest day so far this year and the mesh sides allowed tons of airflow. The tent is not UV-rated so I did make sure my daughter was wearing sunblock even while under its shade. It would be nice to know what kind of UV protection the tent provides. Also, mine came with a small tear in the floor of the tent. It was the last one at the store so I'll patch it up myself but that was a bit of a disappointment.
All in all though, I highly recommend this product. It makes for stress-free days by the beach or anywhere shade is limited."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON, Canada

What's the UV Rating!?

Date:June 30, 2013
"I'm very annoyed that this product is called a sun shade when it's doesn't even have a UV rating! The description states that it "provides shade from the sun and harmful UV rays," but to what extent??? CT sells a kiddie version that's rated to SPF 40. Why can't this be the same?
I bought this to use in the park and at the beach with my new baby, but since he's too young for sunblock this summer, I'm still concerned he's being too exposed to UV rays. I'll be purchasing some lightweight, UV protective fabric to go over this product, but I wish I didn't have to. I wish I could be confident in the knowledge that my family is truly protected from the sun!"
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Easy and Convenient

Date:June 28, 2013
"Bought this on sale after owning a Broadstone pop-up tent for the last three years. Their sun shelter did not disappoint. It appears to have been redesigned this year as there is an extension on the top front of the shelter that provides extra shade (check out my photo). The shelter is spacious, having a footprint about the size of a two-person tent. Two average sized adults and two young kids should all be able to sit upright comfortably inside. Folding up the shelter takes some finesse, but watching the instructional Youtube video really helps. The shelter fits into a round bag (approx. 2.5 feet in diameter) with handles. Once in the carry bag, it's a bit large, but quite thin. It should fit fine on top of everything in your trunk. Perfect for sandy beaches and picnics!"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dollard-des-Ormeaux, QC, Canada

Love this a lot

Date:May 16, 2013
"best purchase i had in the store, carry them all the time in the summer."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Convenient

Date:May 4, 2013
"you get what you pay for. Little weak on the build."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC

Great for the little ones

Date:August 28, 2012
"We bought this as a sun shade for our 5 month old on the beach. Super lightweight and easy to setup. Takes a bit of practice to put away, but once you get it, its easy."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brantford, ON, Canada

Not at all!!!!

Date:August 4, 2012
"Not sure who was doing the measuring that day, but this is a tiny shelter. Good for children, but be warned, there is POOR air circulation through out! I thought I would try our new shelter, I stand 6'2", I laid down in it. My head and face did not get any shade, neither did my legs from the thigh's down, but my torso was in the shade! You might be able to fit one of your kids in with you but no more! I will be returning it and upgrading to a coleman model. Oh yeah, good luck putting this thing away, not as easy as it looks, try it with a gentle breeze, make's a great kite!"
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Poor build quality and very limiting warranty

Date:July 14, 2012
"We purchased this shelter to protect our 6 month old from the sun. It was purchased in June in anticipation of the hot weather of July and August. It was used approximately 6 times last summer. It was stored all winter gently and without any weight on it. This summer we pull it out for the first use in July and the support pole is broken in three places. This happened in storage over the winter. We call CT and the warranty is for one year. It is now useless. I would NOT recommend this produce. I would recommend anyone who has one to check it's condition before the warranty is up."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2