Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Shelters & Canopies/Screenhouses or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter

Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter

Pop-Up Sun Shelter sets up in seconds making it easy to set up and move800 mm coated water-resistant fabricProvides shade from the sun and harmful UV raysSide vents allow for flow-through ventilationReflective flags on guy wires help prevent tripping over them in the darkNo assembly required and fol
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
18 of 26(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Review 1 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good Shade But POOR design

Date:July 18, 2014
"We have gone through 2 of these tents in a relatively short time frame. they do work excellent for shade and are easy as pie to set up. not as easy as they make it look in the videos to put away tho.
One major flaw in the design are the plastic connectors for the poles that are inside the canvas, we have had 2 tents break in the exact same place while trying to fold up and put way. there was no extra pressure and we were following the video exactly (even had the laptop playing it while we were doing second tent) all in all if they were aluminum then this would be the best portable sin shelter ever BUT due to this flaw I would recommend buying another tent or another brand.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Great product....not so easy to take down

Date:June 6, 2014
"I was surprised at how large this shelter was once it poped up. A great alternative to a umbrella. Taking down, not so easy. I like to consider myself an intuitive person, but I had to watch the video several times and still struggled for 15 minutes to get it down to it's near original size to fit back in the case. I suggest practicing several times before taking it out."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Clements, ON N0B, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter

Date:May 31, 2014
"So light and easy to carry to the beach. Even easier to set up. Shade during the hottest time of the day is important."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:British Columbia
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

amazing product, just watch video on how to fold

Date:May 23, 2014
"Love this product for my baby! I actually purchased after a friend got one for her son. For the people who claim its hard to fold, you arent watching the video with enough attention.
It's super easy to fold once you know how to hold it and when to flip it into itself.
Definitely prefer this over my old beach half tent that uses those folding poles."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto

great little shelter

Date:July 25, 2013
"This is our third summer with the pop-up shelter... it's holding up great. The mesh on one of the windows is starting to fray a bit, but it's hardly noticeable. My daughter loves to play in it in the yard, and it's wonderful to use as a little house at the beach. Much better than an umbrella, and easy to carry.
There's enough room for an adult or two kids, but more than that would be a squeeze. I can't think of one bad thing to say about this shelter-- it was a good purchase."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible product

Date:July 25, 2013
"The pole snapped on our first attempt to get this tent correctly folded and back into its case. This process is not intuitive (don't be fooled by the video). Please don't waste your money and energy with this product."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:London, on

Perfect for Kids.

Date:July 22, 2013
"I love this product. I only gave it an "Good" in Ease of Use because I had to try putting away at home several times before I got it. Mostly because I didn't want to look like an idiot at the beach. Now I unpack and pack it with ease! Don't expect to be able to do it without watching the video.
Perfect for my 5 month old, whom I want to keep out of the sun. If you are trying to use this as an adult you are fooling yourself. If you read the dimensions you'd know it won't work for you. Its for keeping little ones out of the sun...which it does perfectly!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Amazing shade

Date:July 16, 2013
"This guy is AWESOME! It pops up super easy and once you figure out how to tame it back into the carrying case, it's a cinch to store for the next time. It's lightweight and the carrying case straps make it easy to sling this guy over your shoulder.
The tent is massive! Much bigger than I thought it would be which is a welcome surprise. You can easily fit a young family of 4 plus all their gear into this tent.
I used it on the hottest day so far this year and the mesh sides allowed tons of airflow. The tent is not UV-rated so I did make sure my daughter was wearing sunblock even while under its shade. It would be nice to know what kind of UV protection the tent provides. Also, mine came with a small tear in the floor of the tent. It was the last one at the store so I'll patch it up myself but that was a bit of a disappointment.
All in all though, I highly recommend this product. It makes for stress-free days by the beach or anywhere shade is limited."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON, Canada

What's the UV Rating!?

Date:June 30, 2013
"I'm very annoyed that this product is called a sun shade when it's doesn't even have a UV rating! The description states that it "provides shade from the sun and harmful UV rays," but to what extent??? CT sells a kiddie version that's rated to SPF 40. Why can't this be the same?
I bought this to use in the park and at the beach with my new baby, but since he's too young for sunblock this summer, I'm still concerned he's being too exposed to UV rays. I'll be purchasing some lightweight, UV protective fabric to go over this product, but I wish I didn't have to. I wish I could be confident in the knowledge that my family is truly protected from the sun!"
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Easy and Convenient

Date:June 28, 2013
"Bought this on sale after owning a Broadstone pop-up tent for the last three years. Their sun shelter did not disappoint. It appears to have been redesigned this year as there is an extension on the top front of the shelter that provides extra shade (check out my photo). The shelter is spacious, having a footprint about the size of a two-person tent. Two average sized adults and two young kids should all be able to sit upright comfortably inside. Folding up the shelter takes some finesse, but watching the instructional Youtube video really helps. The shelter fits into a round bag (approx. 2.5 feet in diameter) with handles. Once in the carry bag, it's a bit large, but quite thin. It should fit fine on top of everything in your trunk. Perfect for sandy beaches and picnics!"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dollard-des-Ormeaux, QC, Canada

Love this a lot

Date:May 16, 2013
"best purchase i had in the store, carry them all the time in the summer."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Convenient

Date:May 4, 2013
"you get what you pay for. Little weak on the build."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC

Great for the little ones

Date:August 28, 2012
"We bought this as a sun shade for our 5 month old on the beach. Super lightweight and easy to setup. Takes a bit of practice to put away, but once you get it, its easy."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brantford, ON, Canada

Not at all!!!!

Date:August 4, 2012
"Not sure who was doing the measuring that day, but this is a tiny shelter. Good for children, but be warned, there is POOR air circulation through out! I thought I would try our new shelter, I stand 6'2", I laid down in it. My head and face did not get any shade, neither did my legs from the thigh's down, but my torso was in the shade! You might be able to fit one of your kids in with you but no more! I will be returning it and upgrading to a coleman model. Oh yeah, good luck putting this thing away, not as easy as it looks, try it with a gentle breeze, make's a great kite!"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Poor build quality and very limiting warranty

Date:July 14, 2012
"We purchased this shelter to protect our 6 month old from the sun. It was purchased in June in anticipation of the hot weather of July and August. It was used approximately 6 times last summer. It was stored all winter gently and without any weight on it. This summer we pull it out for the first use in July and the support pole is broken in three places. This happened in storage over the winter. We call CT and the warranty is for one year. It is now useless. I would NOT recommend this produce. I would recommend anyone who has one to check it's condition before the warranty is up."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ON

pop up shelter. NOW THIS IS A COOL PRODUCT

Date:July 7, 2012
"Great product, fits 2 adults easily. we took this to the beach, stays cool with the screening but blocks the sun. easy to move around to ensure you're always shaded. doesn't blow away either. overall an excellent product. highly recommend. also, watch the video to learn how to fold up."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical and easy

Date:March 1, 2012
"I purchased this tent for beach use to protect the baby from the sun and wind. We could easily fit two babies with plenty of space left for our belongings. Of course, the screens allow for the wind to enter the tent but it prevents it to make it too warm. After watching the video two times, it was really easy to fold back into its bag.
The negative thing I could say is that the bag is a bit large; it does not fit in any regular luggage (if you have to take a plane) so we had to fit it in a hockey pouch."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON

Great for Kids

Date:September 2, 2011
"I purchased this for our first family trip to the beach...and luckily got it on sale. It's just my husband, my 2 year old daughter and myself. I knew we'd want somewhere to get out of the sun during our day down at the beach and figured this shade would be perfect.
I really enjoyed how easy it was to set up and put away. After you watch the video it's pretty easy to fold back down. I had no issues with the quality of the material but we've only used it once at the beach and opened it a couple times in the house.
It was actually roomier than I expected which was nice but the one issue I ran into was the lack of shade. Because it has vented areas on the side and back to allow for airflow I found that if the sun wasn't directly above us we didn't get a ton of shade inside. I think it will be great to use in the summer outside if my daughter wants to play and needs a shady spot but I think I'll be buying the Coleman sunshade for future beach trips since it offers way more shade and the neat ability to close a section up as a change area.
All in all I think this is a great product, just not the best as the only shelter for a family of 3."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Kids

Date:August 17, 2011
"I have a 2 1/2 year old that loves the beach and this is the best idea. first it replaces the beach blanked, material cleans off the sand and mud so easy.
I've used umbrella and such for shade only to spend most of the time chasing them down the beach in the wind.
this also provides some concealment for your phone and other stuff.
I'm 5'11" 225lbs and me and my daughter can both sit in it with plenty of room."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Broadstone Pop-Up Sun Shelter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ajax

Huge Unit for so little shade

Date:August 1, 2011
"Setting this thing up is a snap, toss and tie down. The amount of shade it actually gives you...very little, I wasn't impressed. It took me two days to fold this thing back up, I gave up the first day, drove home, watched a video on the internet and finally got it closed. I'm returning it asap. I originally bought it for camping and to give my dogs shade, it just wasn't everything I had hoped for. This is probably perfect for the beach though."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2