Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Tents & Accessories or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person

Family Dome Tent features 600 mm polyurethane-coated water-resistant fabric with taped fly seamsWelded floor seams add protection in stormy weatherColour-coded poles simplify set upShock-corded fibreglass poles ensure easy assembly5 mesh windows offer excellent ventilation2 rooms with 2 separate entry doors provide easy accessDome Tent: easier to set up with a lower profile, making it sturdy and stronger in high windsCapacity: sleeps 6 peopleDimensions: 15' L x 9' w x 5' 10" H (457 x 274 x 183 cm)
Average Customer Rating:
4.061 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 star
5
103 of 115(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Review 1 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:GTA, ON
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Condo Size Tent

Date:January 20, 2014
"Purchased this tent Summer 2013, set it up on 3 separate occasions. Easy set up and considering the size of this tent. It is massive!
During a rain storm, and with tarps all around the tent to prevent any leaks, the tent did still manage to allow water in - the back corners, as well as around the back window. It could have definitely been worse, but I would have rather not had any water inside the tent
This year I will be sealing the edges with waterproof spray to avoid any issues.
Packing the tent up seems to pose the greatest challenge, as I can not fit the tent in the bag!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta Rockies

Amazing Tent

Date:July 5, 2013
"We bought this tent in 2006 and have had many great camping experiences with it in the past 7 years, we camp in the alberta mountains several times a summer. We easily fit in 1 queen and 2 twin air mattresses, and also our big buddy heater to keep us warm, and there is still a footpath up the middle. We don't use the divider sheet because of the heater, instead just take turns changing. We didn't originally seamseal it until last year, instead we followed the instructions on soaking it with a garden hose and letting it dry in the sun to swell the seams and never had any big issues. When we did seam seal it, we noticed the seams became transparent, we could easily see outside. We just went out for the first time this year and while pounding pegs, I tore the canvas that the peg holds in, and it down poured on us and leaked for the first time ever! We will definitely be purchasing another one of these tents! You can't beat 7 years for $90 (regular price in 2013)"
 
My Product Recommendations
Mr Heater 18000 BTU Big Buddy Heater
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Coleman Quad Lantern
4.8 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great quality for the price!

Date:June 9, 2013
"I bought this tent two years ago, I did do the seams as they suggest and I have not had any difficulty with leaks or water. It fits two queen airmattresses without any difficulty and plenty of space for the essentials. Normally we are only two that use it and I find there is room to have all our stuff on one side of the tent"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Charlottetown, PE, Canada

Great family tent

Date:May 11, 2013
"We have 3 little ones and this is more than enough room for us to camp with them and our gear. No issues with the quality for us though we only use it occasionally."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for the $, lasts and lasts

Date:August 15, 2012
"I have owned my tent for 7 years.
I have been reading reviews because I am in the market for a new tent (mainly ours is beginning to show wear and tear and we now have 2 dogs and 2 kids so we would like more room).
This tent has held up so well. We have camped regularly with it...last year we noticed a small hole in one of the corners near the floor. (most likely we could repair it and get a few more years out of the tent). Otherwise, no rips, tears etc.
As for leaks: we have camped in snow, hail, downpours etc. I have NEVER had a leak. We did NOT waterproof the seams like we were advised to (although I will be smart and waterproof our new one). We don't typically set up tarps over the tent either. (we are lazy campers) If you leave stuff against the walls during a rainstorm, your stuff will get wet (as with any tent).
The zippers around the doors and windows to snag...but no biggie. That is my only complaint. Also, the division between the rooms is just a thin sheet that hangs from clips.
It is easy to set up. It is very roomy. We usually have a queen air mattress, 2 dog beds, a twin bed and all of our clothing etc. (it would be tight with a second twin - hence looking for a larger tent).
I felt like I needed to add my 2 cents...we got 7 years out of this tent. No leaks. It has held up so well! Please do not have any reservations about buying this tent. Well worth it!"
+47points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CALGARY AB

leaky tent

Date:August 10, 2012
"We like this tent, it is easy to set up, and has lots of space, we can stand up easily.
However, the zipper around the door catches on the fabric, every time. And we got rained on the 2nd time we used it, rain came in easily around the window seams, we were wet inside,we did waterproof before like it says you should. The rest of the tent was waterproof.
Think it could be better with a fly sheet that is bigger and covers the window areas, to allow rain to fall away from the tent. And the zipper needs to be modified so it does not catch the fabric.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy set-up, awesome tent!!!

Date:August 9, 2012
"Bought this last year (2011) but did not get to use until this season. Had the tent up in 20 minutes with no reference to instructions, it rained without the fly being on and only minimal drips, then it rained all evening and night with no leaks, once the fly was on properly and windows closed.
Lots of room and good height for a cheap tent. Zippers a bit tricky, but that's because they are protected from rain, which I really appreciate after this trip!"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON

Unreal Tent

Date:July 1, 2012
"Just got back from camping with this tent for the first time, and after reading the reviews on here, i was a little sceptical as there was rain in the forecast. We ended up getting rained on for a whole night and did not get a single drop of water in the tent. Ignore all the reviews saying this tent is cheap or leaks or whatever, because it is an amazing tent, with TONS of space and an amazing price as well. Whoever says this tent leaks obviously did not put it up right in the first place. we will be camping again with this tent for many years."
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible tent experience

Date:August 4, 2011
"Purchased this tent for use later in the summer. It was easy and quick to set up, we were initially impressed.
What they don't tell you is the second there is any rain, this tent is going to leak. Rain came in from small holes all around the three windows, as well as patches near the base of the tent.
The zippers were awkward and difficult to use, and often got stuck.
The advertised 5'10" height (which was a selling point for us) is only at one place in the very middle of the tent. Don't expect to stand up anywhere else.
Insects that were able to get in under the fly got stuck in the mesh tent fabric under the fly (which is supposed to vent the tent, but did no such thing). As a result, after two days of camping and getting rained on inside our tent, we also had a lovely canopy of insects to fall asleep under every night.
Don't buy this tent; save your money and buy absolutely anything else. A tarp. A hotel room. A better tent that actually has a warranty, because we were unable to return ours or even have it replaced."
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:GTA, Ontario

First Impressions...

Date:July 16, 2011
"While I have yet to take this tent on any excursions, I felt it necessary to write a review based on my initial judgement after purchasing and setup.
I bought this tent on sale for $75.00 due to wanting a larger tent and the fact that my old one was, well, old and that the elastic between one set of the poles snapped.
First off, this tent is FAR larger than I originally thought. I set it up and was able to comfortably inflate my double-high, queen size air mattress on only one half of the tent. There was still enough room on that side for some luggage and shoes/sandals. It could easily accommodate 4 adults with gear. I like my space (one of the reasons for upgrading) and this tent sure has it.
The room divider is pretty much a sheet that hangs in the middle. It is opaque and does not provide complete privacy since a) you can sort of see through it, and b) it is not a zippered divider so it hangs from eyelets at only 6 points inside the tent.
Setting up the tent was also fairly easy. I read a few reviews claiming that you need two people and felt I should say quite certainly, that you do not. Anyone with any sort of tenting experience should be able to do this on their own. There is only 4 poles (two black and two orange) that are colour coded for ease. Black is the main structure while orange is the fly. Then there is one main "spine" pole that goes over the tent to support the middle of the fly. I took my time setting it up and managed to do it in about 10 minutes. I read the instructions ahead of time and it really is pretty straight forward.
I sprayed the outside twice and inside once (1.5 cans) with silicone waterproofing. I have used this on all my tents in the past and have never had one leak on me. I can only hope for the same with this one!
Packed up the tent in about the same time it took to set it up. Surprisingly, the tent fit back in the bag it came in on the first shot. I folded it up according to how I thought it should be, then rolled it lengthwise with the poles in the middle and it was the perfect size.
Very much looking forward to using this later on in the summer and for years to come. So far, I'm happy with the purchase and for those who are considering it, I would recommend it.
Hope this helps!
Good luck and happy camping!"
+54points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this is a leaking tent

Date:June 18, 2011
"I bought it from canadian tire.
If you use it in no rain, it's good.
But it's leaking when raining.
good luck."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Fantastic tent!

Date:September 1, 2010
"My boyfriend and I purchased this tent a month ago to camp 5 hours away in Northern Ontario.
During our camping vacation, it rained steadily for 5 hours straight. We had prayed the whole tent with rain guard, but had no tarps under or over top. Our tent had minor, tiny leaks but amazed us.
It was easy to assemble (it took literally 10 minutes the very first time). We are now planning to go camping again for a fall adventure and I am looking forward to it, mind you we'll use a tarp over top this time!
"
+44points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cape Breton, NS

Excellent Product

Date:August 16, 2010
"I had purchased this tent 2 years ago and have used it about a dozen times so far from severe heat to pouring down rain and cold and this tent handles it all great.There are lots of big windows for ventilation in the heat and keeps it cool.When you zip the windows up they seal the body heat in and keeps even the air temperature comfortable(for a tent) when in cold temperatures.I wash it down after every trip out to prevent mildew and spray it down with the sealant stuff every 2-3 trips to help with moisture(not that it needs it)Tent is very easy and quick to set up.(Took me and friend about 10 minutes)inside is very roomy and surpassed my expectations the first time and still does every time i use it.This tent is a must for anybody that is tall and likes to go camping with a few friends as it is about 6'4 at the highest point.(im 6'3 and still had a little room).Says 6 person tent but could easily fit more very comfortably."
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Good tent

Date:August 10, 2010
"Bought this while it was on sale. Great purchase. Very easy to set up, although not everything fit back in its original bag, but that was expected. Have used during rain and had no problems. The tabs for the rain flap on the top were a little hard to find the first time but other than that took very little time to set up.
So far I have no complaints :)
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

Date:August 4, 2010
"We bought this tent in early July and have camped every weekend since we bought it. This tent is very spacious!...easy to assemble!...and is very solid in heavy rain, we did get a little leak at the bottom of the window but with some silicone spray we were able to fix this little issue. We also got this tent on sale for 89.00! and it is worth every cent, we would pay the reg price now that we know how good this product is. It is not easy to pack it in the bag it came with unless you take the time to properly fold and get all the air out before rolling it up. Buy this tent if you want size and comfort for a bargan price!."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Big

Date:July 5, 2010
"This is a big tent. Very wide and roomy, not very high. Easy to setup and seems good quality.
Cons: rain leaks around the lower seams. Room divider is a joke. Looks nice in the picture but its kind of see-through and does not provide privacy."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

huge tent

Date:June 7, 2010
"this tent is huge. we fit 2 adults on a queen size air mattress, a large dog, 2 large totes and a large cooler, with room to spare. it also down poured all weekend and all three of us were dry. there were some small leaks but nothing to worry about as we can just weather proof the seams. very happy with this tent. held up well to the dogs abuse."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Well priced and spacious

Date:June 3, 2010
"The tent is well priced and we were able to fit a lot of people inside during our annual camping trip in Gatineau park. I would recommend it to you."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TORONTO, ON

GOOD PRICE

Date:June 1, 2010
"I PURCHASED THIS TENT ON SATURNDAY, WE FIGURED WE SHOULD BUILD IT AND TRY BEFORE CAMPING. SO WE WENT TO THE PARK, THE TENT IS NICE AND IT HAS HUGE SPACE FOR AT LEAST 2ADULTS AND 2KIDS. EASY TO SET UP, IT TOOK AT LEAST 10-15MINS FOR MY HUSBAND TO SET UP AND IT WAS DONE BY HIMSELF ONLY. THE ONLY PROBLEM WE HAD WAS 1 OF THE ROB BROKE. THE CORD THAT IS HOLDIN THE ROD TOGERTHER BROKE OFF."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Escort Family Dome Tent, 6-Person
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:montreal, qc

best purchase

Date:May 31, 2010
"i purchased this tent last summer. it is the best tent i have purchsed. we are now a family of 4 and the room in this tent is great. it is very easy to put up and very room. for the big size of it opened, i am amazed how small it is folded up for storage. i would definatelly recommend this tent"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5