Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Portable Heaters or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater

Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater

"Sure Seat Burner System" to reduce potential accidental misuseAutomatic Accidental tip over shut-off and automatic "overheat" shut-off systemCarrying handles firmly attached to heater bodySelf contained fuel source (no electricity required)99.9% fuel efficient (23,000 BTU/hr.)Approximately 19-1/2"
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Review 1 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great emergency house heater

Date:December 24, 2013
"With the 2013 Ontario ice storm, we pulled out the heater (after not using for 10 years) and loaded up on Kerosene.
After making sure everything was clean and going through the procedures for first use , which essentially allows the wick to be "primed" with fuel, it started up and worked like a charm!
We kept it going off and on for a few hours at a time (to preserve fuel) and it kept the house nice and warm.
Highly recommend it to anyone."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:regina sk

23 000 btu kero world

Date:November 24, 2012
"Great heater. if you haven't used kerosene before - read the manual thoroughly! At $26 for 9.46L of 1-K kerosene at CT, i would not use this everyday to heat my garage or house, but it works great and would be great in power outage as well. Remember to light and extinguish outdoors!"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Awesome Heater!!!

Date:November 13, 2011
"I bought this heater today (2nd Hand) for a great price. I have to admit, I was skeptical as to how it would heat my single car garage (24 FT X 12 FT). When I fired this heater up and dialed it back to the low setting, it heated up my garage from 2 degrees celcius to 20 in just under and hour. At low setting it heated up 300 square feet of garage in under 40 minutes. Needless to say, I'm impressed!
So, with my garage success, I decided to try it out in my rec-room, same deal, heated my rec-room (150 Square Feet) up in about 30 minutes (On low).
Would recommend this heater to anyone. Only have one question, where can I buy 1-K Kerosene (In Bulk/From a pump) in the Ottawa area? Kerosene under $2.00 per liter would be great.
Stinson sells Kerosene at the pump ($1.71 Per Litre as of Nov. 12/2011) in Ottawa, Kemptville, Arnprior, and Renfrew, but no one can tell me what grade they sell. Hopefully it's 1-K, cuz I have a 20 Liter Blue container I'd just love to fill up at $1.71 per liter. Canadian Tire sells 9.45 liters for $20.45 plus HST. Love to be able to buy cheaper Kerosene! Wouldn't we all! LOL!
Again, I recommend this heater! I'm very impressed with it!
Cheers!"
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton

excellent emergency heater

Date:March 19, 2011
"The unit works great and very easy to start.
The only downside is the price of kerosene.
slight kerosene smell on start up, somewhat more on shutdown. When the unit is operating at normal
temp I do not notice any kerosene smell.
"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Welland, ON

t-shirt in the garage in -19' weather :o)

Date:January 25, 2011
"I have had this heater for few days now. This is heater #5 that I have tried to heat up my fully insulated single car garage. The others were all electric (110v) ones and most were quite dissappointing.
This kerosene heater was very easy to setup and is extremely easy to start.
Only got a bit of smell when starting it up, then after a bit the smell is pretty much gone.
My parents were worried about CO emissions, so they got me a digital CO meter also from Canadian Tire. Had the heater on for about 4 hours and the digital readout was ZERO.
I bought this heater at the Welland Ontario Store. I got it at 179.99
On a -19'C day I was able to work in the garage in only a T-Shirt !! This would have been 100% impossible with the other 110v electric heaters I tried.
Today we bought a ceiling fan for the garage to push the hot air down.. I'll see if that makes a difference tomorrow.
Either way.. great heater. If you need some heat, go pick one up.
As for fuel efficiency, we shall see. Kerosene goes on sale every so often at CT so I will pick a few cans up."
+48points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Start Up and Shut Down

Date:December 18, 2010
"Most of the odours I understand you get from Karosene heaters is on star up and on shutting down the units. It was recommended to me that starting (for 10 minutes) and shutting down the units outdoors is a good idea. I hope the handle on this unit is sturdy for moving the unit around. I intend to purchase one in the coming week for an emergency heat source should the electrical power fail."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington. ON

Indoor kerosene heater is safe, clean and hot.

Date:January 20, 2010
"I bought a Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater in early January as an emergency space heater and to heat my living room on those REALLY cold winter days when most of us huddle under blankets.
It was easy to assemble, light and use and the heat output was very impressive. The regular blanket users in my household had no need of them while this heater was in operation. While in use, I turned off my regular gas fired furnace and the house temperature actually rose by one degree even after 'cracking' window now and again to allow fresh air to enter the space.
One heater tank of kerosene will last about 8 hours and the glow given off by the wick flame is charming and relaxing. My kids love it and we have not had any burning incidences.
Refueling the heater is easy but can be messy and smelly if you accidentally spill some of the kerosene in the process. The refueling pump that comes with the heater works like a charm.
I am planning on making kerosene my emergency fuel and would like to see Canadian tire offer other quality kerosene products such as stoves, ovens and pressurized kerosene lanterns to compliment this fine kerosene heater.
I would also like to see local Canadian Tire gas stations carry kerosene so that I can buy kerosene in bulk (e.g. 55 gal. drums) when required. Buying kerosene in bulk is much cheaper than buying individual containers but bulk kerosene suppliers are hard to find in my urban area.
The Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater is definetly a good buy and I recommend it whole-heartedly to any one looking to heat a living space safely and economically."
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Question about the Law?

Date:January 6, 2010
"We bought this heater for the Christmas time, because our building has a poor isolation. When we use it properly (can be a problem at the beginning), I think there is no problem, except some smoke when we shut off the heater. Unfortunately, after complaints from other tenants (bad smell), our superintendent said that we couldn’t use this kind of heater in Ottawa, according to Health Act and the Fire Act. In fact, there was a very bad smell once, because we let the heater burned the rest of Kerosene with the goal to clean the carbon. Did we do something wrong?"
-22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

awsome

Date:January 17, 2009
"I purchased this Item for emergencies. loss of power juring the winter. well a week after purchase we loose power in toronto for about 24 hours and it just happens to be the coldest night in winter. so I proceeded to power up my Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater and woked like a charm I rocomend this to everybody for an emergency kit. I live in a 2 story house I placed in the main floor kept the heat on the main floor a constant 15 inside wile it was -30 outside. just put up with a small scent of keroscene. one full tank at fulll burn should last you 6-9 hours awsome product"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Great heater!

Date:January 27, 2008
"I love this heater - I bought it against advice telling me that kerosene would stink up my cabin, but I did not find this to be the case at all. It heated up my 600 sq ft cabin in about 20 min, with virtually no odour. Fantastic!"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NewGlasgow, NS

Instant Heat!

Date:November 17, 2007
"This heater is great for instant heat. On a cold winters morning to bring the house up to temperature this is the perfect item to do the job. The body of the heater does get very hot so as always becarefull when using around children and pets. Kerosene is a bit expensive as with other fuels and gases and this heater can use quite a bit. So it may not be especially cost efficient to use as primary heat. I do notice that the handle to carry it with is kind of loose and can fall out easily. Despite the handle and the cost of kerosene, this heater is great. I highly reccommend it!"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:ON

Good For Power Outages

Date:November 16, 2007
"If you rely solely on electric heating, this is a must have item. It provides ample heat during a winter blackout and you can even use it to heat up water and food. However, I don't recommend it for everyday use. I tried using it for an entire winter once and it left a light brownish film on the walls. Since then, I've only used it for emergencies and to supplement electric heating on really cold days.
The handle that comes with the heater is poorly designed. It can easily come lose while carrying it. When shutting off this heater, it's accompanied by a strong odor that lasts 5 to 10 minutes.
So despite some minor dislikes, I still recommend this heater."
"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got to have!

Date:October 4, 2007
"For all those people that love camping but have a hard time waking up to that morning chill that stays in the bones all day.This heater is not only very safe but will keep you warm early mornin or evening."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Kero-World Convection Kerosene Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic Heater

Date:October 3, 2007
"I have been using this heater for about 3 years now and I'm thinking of getting a second one. I use it at our cottage where we have no hydro or woodstove and it heats our 20' x 24' room with large trade ceiling in a jiffy. I use a syphon tube to fill the fuel chamber and I find the guage very accurate.I haven't had to replace my battteries for the easy electric start yet. The small cover broke off the battery enclosure but works fine without it. There is a slight smoking when 1st lighting but only last 5 seconds. Very little kerosene smell once lit. Great item and highly recommended."
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?