Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Portable Heaters or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater

For the true camping enthusiast. Designed for recreational use in enclosed areas, however proper ventilation is required. Platinum catalytic technology means flameless warmth and whisper quiet operation. Compact, lightweight and portable
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Review 1 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary

Still going

Date:June 22, 2011
"Have been using the same heater for several years and it's still going. At first we used it when camping and now it's in our boat all the time. Puts out good heat and will last 6 hours or so on a tank."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ontario

awesome! buy it!

Date:December 27, 2010
"I wanted a heater that would heat up my 2 man ice hut. It did the job perfectly! when I have my hands out in the cold putting a minnow on the line, they are freezing. I then put my hands close to the heater and warms them up immediatly!
make sure you have proper ventalation. When you light this you just turn the setting to high, then put a match over it for about 10 seconds and it makes a poooffff sound, then you have heat!
I am sure this will be good enough for sitting in the cold hunting stand early in the morning! It's quiet enough that it wont scare them away!
highly recomended! I got mine on sale for about 63$ and it's a steal!"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

BTU's ???? Most important info. missing

Date:November 11, 2009
"It would be a big help, if the BTU's each different unit puts out would be in the description.in the ads..
Its basically one of the most important things one has to know...for whatever application it will be used.....room size..camper size..tent size..etc.
But, I've used these on my different sailboats....with a roof vent cracked...and they are quiet, and toasty warm...and when hitched up to a big propane tank....are super economical..But...BTU's should be in the ad.....
"
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, Ont

great product

Date:November 26, 2008
"I used this heater for deer hunting late November in Northern Ontario. It was great for warming up the hands and kept the tree stand warm enough even with the windows open. I only used 1 of the small propane tanks during a six day hunt. It runs quietly but a few times I noticed a clicking sound but not loud enough to ruin your hunt."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ancaster, ON

best camping purchase ever

Date:September 9, 2008
"purchased this to use in a large 6 man tent up in Northern Ontario. It worked brilliantly. I kept it on low...took all of the dampness out of the air, did not overheat and had no worries about sitting it on floor of tent. Also it lasted about 9 hours on low setting...exceeding the specs. Camping has taken on a whole new comfort level."
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

useful for camping

Date:June 3, 2008
"I bought this for colder and wetter weather camping. You can use a 20 lb propane tank adapter to get more run time from this.
The system is nice in that there is no open flame but starting it may not be for the faint of heart since you have to keep a flame on the grill until the gas builds up to the ignition point. The sudden ignition may startle the faint of heart.
The heater is great for warming tents and smaller spaces and you can place it at your feet if you are sitting outside. The grill does get hot so do not sleep with this on in your tent and make sure you have enough ventilation when using it in a tent.
The newer versions is made of plastic (a nicer modern feel to the design) and the top model has it's own igniter built in.
Still this is worth buying."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB

Good for small spaces

Date:May 29, 2008
"We bought this heater 2 years ago after being sick of freezing during cold nights. When we first bought it, we had a tent that was 17 feet by 11 feet. We tried everything to get it to heat us up but it really didn't keep us warm at all. This year we decided it was time to get a smaller tent and see if that helped. We also got a tent with smaller areas of ventilation to reduce the flow of hot air out of the tent. After using this with the new (10 feet by 10 feet) tent, I have to say I am very pleased. It kept us very warm. This is a great heater if you are using it in a small tent. If you need to heat a bigger tent, I would suggest buying different heater."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, ON

Great for Smaller Spaces

Date:April 13, 2008
"I had a 14' bowler type trailer, and I would often use this little heater in the early spring and late fall (snow on the ground). It was just enough heat to take the dampness out of the air and warm up the trailer so it was nice and cozy before bed. If you're have a bigger unit, I can see how it wouldn't be very effective at heating a larger space - but for a small one, it works well!"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shilo, MB

Feelin Hot Hot Hot

Date:April 5, 2008
"I purchased this for tent camping, Great on taking out the chill when your in the rocky`s. I`ve tried it also out hunting, with not great results."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nipissing area, ON

Everything has limits.

Date:April 1, 2008
"If you’re looking to heat small areas, say no more than 12x12 in the spring, fall or summer then this heater should satisfy. If you’re in a small ice shanty it will take the chill out of the air. But if you’re looking to have complete warmth even in small areas then you should be looking for 9000 btu's and up. I've used this unit in my 8x19 tent and it just wasn't enough, especially when it's raining and you need that shot of warmth. I often use it in my fishing boat when it's cold. I place the unit under the console which seems to build up just enough heat and works great to warm up the fingers after fighting a fishy. This unit only has one setting at 3000 btu's so if you want to have options for "just in case" situations, don't purchase this unit. But if you’re looking for a "pack able" heater to take the chill out the air in small enclosures or warm up your fingers when fishing or hunting, then this unit would be a good choice."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great in our Tent ....

Date:October 4, 2007
"We went camping this fall, and we used this in our tent. What a difference it made. We were much warmer and the heat was not damp or overwhelming. It worked really well."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good purchase

Date:October 3, 2007
"We purchased this heater 3 years ago. We have a small trailer which we use this item to heat and take out the dampness before bed.
It works very well, and we have been completely satisfied with it.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Coleman Catalytic Camping Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2007
"This heater works well in small areas but remember to ventilate."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?