Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Stoves & Cooking Accessories or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter

Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter

Blue point flame butane lighterRefillable, windproof and features an adjustable flameTorch-style designChild resistant
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Review 1 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent

Date:October 8, 2014
"This Ronson lighter definitely came in handy while camping especially on the windy days and the torch style flame did what it had to do without going out. Best lighter I have used so far compared to other conventional lighters."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great but refill properly

Date:May 11, 2014
"This has been a great reliable lighter and always consistent. The only time I had problems with it was after refilling it. I found that if any air got into the lighter it would go out at random times. This was often fixed with a tap on a hard surface until the lighter was completely empty. Then once completely empty filling it until full made sure to prevent the flame from going out randomly. And I rarely have that issue any more."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Functional lighter with classic styling

Date:April 25, 2014
"I have carried this lighter daily for the last 4 years. Other than the hinge becoming slightly loose and the finish being worn off rubbing against my keys (which gives it an aged patina look); it is as good as new.
I found that the adjusting of the flame was important for a good flame. Without it the flame would typically blow itself out.
I also found that after filling I would have to wait for the temperature of the lighter to come up for the butane to be able to provide enough pressure to light.
I have bought several more of these to put into different places such as the cottage and truck. and as gifts for others."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best Lighter ever

Date:February 17, 2014
"Has not let me down since buying two years ago. Fill lasts a long time. SECRET on filling. Turn flame adjuster to low, fill until lighter feels cold. So happy with this lighter I bought another two of them when they were on sale."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Meh

Date:June 2, 2013
"Not great fuel capacity here. You have to constantly be refilling it.
So, ultimately, not great for a camping trip -- because it's SURE to die before your trip is done."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

RONSON IS NO LONGER A GOOD BRAND

Date:June 1, 2013
"This lighter worked good for a month, then it would not light. I returned it for another one thinking it was defective. The replacement only lasted 2 days before it would not light. I tried refilling it, adjusting the flame, nothing helped.
Avoid this lighter unless you want a shiny paperweight."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB

So Far, So Good

Date:September 2, 2012
"I have not used the lighter extensively, but thus far it appears to work perfectly. I will let you know when it comes time to refill the butane, as a previous lighter purchased at CT will not refill - but it was a different make. That one had a red E logo on it - green casing- avoid it. But the Ronson seems to work tickety-boo for now. I am taking it to Grand Manan on Wednesday for some outdoor exploits. We will see how it performs."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Doesn't Work

Date:April 23, 2012
"This lighter worked well for a couple uses but then suddenly stopped working. I tried refilling it, but that did not help. I'm having the same problems as another reviewer, the lighter simply lights for a split moment then dies. I would not recommend this product."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsomeness

Date:April 13, 2012
"The Jetlight has a great desiegn it comes in grey and without engravment in it if you choose, the flame is adjustable but i really dont see any adjustment to it. so far so good"
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Completely Defective Lighter

Date:March 16, 2012
"I got this lighter last night along with the some butane, and from the moment I took it out of the package, it never worked fully. I press the button and it lights for 1 second and blows out. I filled it and went through it lots of times with no success. It won't light. It works better with the higher flame adjustment, but it still fails to light for more than one second. Sometimes it won't light at all. I unscrewed it and removed the metal casing and noticed it still had butane, and nothing appeared broken or anything. I bought this, and wasted 2 refills of butane. Only buy it if you test its operating potential before leaving the store so you can return it if it were defective like mine. I know people who've had this lighter work flawlessly, I guess mine was just defective. I will try to get a refund/replacement. I rate it fairly well, only because I know these work well when yours isn't a lemon like mine."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick

Great for outdoors

Date:June 16, 2010
"This lighter is great for the outdoor enthusiast. I have two and am very happy with them. When you are out hiking or camping this lighter will be your best friend in making a fire due to its wind resistant flame. Looks nice and sleek too.
It does run out of fluid fairly quickly depending on how heavy you use it but refills are cheap. I do find the button a little harder to depress than others but it would not stop me from buying another one if mine were lost."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

perfect lighter

Date:November 21, 2009
"price is a little high, but the actual workmanship of the lighter is awesome. very comparable to that new zippo blue butane lihter. only issue i see is that the spring under the button should be easier to press when your fingers are cold, but someone with know how can easily open the lighter and change the spring. the lighter looks very sturdy, case is good too."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton AB

Hasn't let me down

Date:September 19, 2008
"Very hot lighter, won't go out in wind and rain. Has put up with hard use for over 2 years with only minor cosmetic discoloration of the case, so the price is definitely worth it. Refilling is both environmental and economical. Disposable lighters can't hold a flame to this ignitor!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON

great lighter

Date:August 17, 2008
"You can't beat this lighter for the price and it seems like it's always on sale! I have three now; one in my winter jacket, one in my rain jacket and one in my tackle box. Great for lighting smokes, pipes and fires. Dropped my mine in the bottom of the boat, completely submerging it. Picked it up, opened the lid and shook it then blew the remaining water out and it worked! Try that with your Zippo! Only drawback is it has to be refueled with butane, but they are very efficient and last a long time between fill ups."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Not bad

Date:August 16, 2008
"I bought a bunch of these when they were on sale, but i would never pay full price, they are good and nice looking, scratch easily and run out quite fast but refills arent that expensive"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:ON

Decent Lighter

Date:August 14, 2008
"Nice lighter, but I wouldn't buy it at full price. Quality and workmanship could be better. Force required to depress ignition button seems excessive."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NS

A class act

Date:August 12, 2008
"On more then one occasion, when I am on my back patio overlooking The St. Margretts bay and sun-set, it can get a little breezy so to speak. I find this time to be opportune to enjoy a fine cigar and as stated in othe reviews, this lighter is just the ticket. It will not blow out and has the looks go shot for shot with lighters hundreds of dollars more expensive."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON

Easy

Date:June 16, 2008
"This lighter is great for any outdoor use. It doesn't blow up in the wind and starts with just one click of the button. It feels very solid and looks sleek. Great lighter!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Ronson Jetlite Butane Lighter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington, On

Class Act

Date:March 28, 2008
"When lighting your cigar, do it in style with this lighter. Recently while on vacation several people wanted to know where to get this lighter. But must important, it works great in the wind and starts every time."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?