Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Knife Sharpener System

Knife Sharpener System

Blade holder and angle guide3 honing stones on colour-coded finger groove holder3 guide rodsHoning oil and extra screwsMoulded carrying case
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Knife Sharpener System
Review 1 for Knife Sharpener System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Date:April 26, 2014
"I was at the point where it was time to buy some new knives for the kitchen or do some sharpening. I watched some videos on YouTube and a lot of videos were featuring this product or variations of the same. I decided to bite the bullet and am I ever glad that I did! After using this system on all of the kitchen knives I couldn't believe how sharp they were. I honestly don't think they have ever been this sharp!
Anyway watch some of the videos out there and make your own decision but this worked great for my needs!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Knife Sharpener System
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Great Sharpening system

Date:September 1, 2012
"Overall I have sharpened 4 knives with this system from my cheapest knife my SOG Mini-clip AC-10 to my most expensive EDC blade my Spyderco Resilience. The resilience had a nice nick on the edge which was completely taken care of by using all three of the stones in the kit to make its edge much sharper then it was out of the box. I have only tried this out on my folding knives so far so I can't say how it will do on other knives but from what I have seen from it so far is that it will do a great job. The reason why I don't give it a 5 star rating is that the stone holders feel cheap but its a tool that works and works well.
Would I recommend this tool to friends and family as a alternative? yes as it is real easy to use and with a little practice you can get amazing results.
My Sharpening disasters have almost ruined some of my knives (SOG) that this system fixed that problem right up to what feels like an almost factory edge but better.
This is the basic kit and you can order a courser and a finer stone from Lansky and they do provide a order form in the kit and a small product guide ."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Knife Sharpener System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:toronto

Laser sharp

Date:August 18, 2012
"I have been using this knife sharpening system the past few weeks and have been very satisfied with the results. All the knives in my house are phenomenally sharp. Gives any knife an edge that can shave your arm hairs effortlessly. I would recommend checking out the Lansky website for a more complete "how to sharpen" guide than the one included with the product. Additionally, the website also has a store where one can purchase more honing oil and additional sharpening stones. I definitely recommend this product."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Knife Sharpener System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome system

Date:February 26, 2012
"great system, takes a bit of time an practice, but once u know how, all of your knives will be razor sharp. four different angles, 30, 25 20, 17. three hones, course, 120 grit, medium, 240 grit, and fine, 600 grit. you can also order from lansky the extra course 70 grit and super fine 1000 grit."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Knife Sharpener System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bradford, On

Outstanding Tool

Date:December 10, 2011
"I bought the Lansky System more than 25 years ago and still use it today. I sharpen arrow heads, folding knives and kitchen knives. With a blade longer than 6 inches you have to be careful as it is easy to cut yourself. But the same can be said of any sharpener. The instructions are easy to follow and other than the cutting oil I still use the original equipment. This would make a nice addition to any workshop or home."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Knife Sharpener System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:London ON

Great little kit

Date:June 3, 2008
"I have sharpened several knives with this kit and it does a great job. A stand would be nice for stability, but I just mount it in my bench vise in my garage and it works great. Product support for this brand name looks good. (Although I have never had to order new stones yet.)"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Knife Sharpener System
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:BC

Good Edge

Date:March 28, 2008
"Makes a pretty nice edge with some effort, but I would recommend buying the stand which is available for this unit for more consistency and a more stable platform"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Knife Sharpener System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Trenton

great system

Date:December 14, 2007
"This kit comes with the 3 basic stones that you'll ever need to put an edge even on the dullest of knives. It is as simple as just moving the stone and rod in a smooth motion the guide does the rest and gives you the perfect edge. Has 4 seperate angles for all sharpening needs."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?