Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Bikes - Full Suspension or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult

Supercycle Hooligan Full-Suspension Bike features an 18" lightweight aluminum frame and 26" tires. 21-speed Microshift grip shifters. . Shimano front and rear derailleurs
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
6
28 of 42(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Review 1 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pike Bay, Ontario

Not Recommended !

Date:March 10, 2012
" Only had this bike about 2 years. Once it was out of warrenty the gear mechanism started acting up. Would skip and not shift cleanly. eventually the entire inside of the hub did not work. Would not stay in gear and adjusting did not help. I ended up taking this bike to the dump. Complete waste of money and not a bike I would recommend. What happened to the bikes we had as kids that lasted 20 years? This bike looks good and looks sturdy - BUT it is not well built where it counts. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Tough Bike

Date:September 17, 2011
" I've had this bike for seven years now, but it's time to retire it. I have logged thousands of kilometers and they have been hard kilometers. I have two children, so most of those years has been pulling them around in trailers. The bike is very durable but heavy. When towing a kid around, it gives you a good workout. After seven years of this, the bearings near the pedals are going, the rim just bent on me and the rear shock is squeaking steadily. Keep in mind this has been very hard riding. The ride isn't too bad but you do feel the odd hard bump. The shifting could be better. Sometimes when you shift, it goes into the wrong gear and then you have the chain clicking as it tries to correct itself. The braking is good. When you have to hit the brakes hard, the wheels will lock up. The tires have good enough grip and are wide enough to handle the trails. I would recommend this bike when it comes on sale because it has been good to me and for the price, it is a decent bike. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

5yrs, still ridable with no major repairs.

Date:August 17, 2011
" I got this bike in 2005 during a 50% off sale for $150. I didn't know much about bikes back then and bought it because it looks good and had an aluminum frame instead of the steel frame like most bikes around $150. Needless to say, it have served me well as I've even rode it to work in the rain and snow many times. I have other bikes too but I tend to not use them due to fear of it being damage or stolen. Being inexpensive it turns out is this bike's best quality. I am not a professional cyclist or extreme riding expert so I've only used it for light trails and city riding, mostly riding to school and work every day, rain shine and even snow. The highest drop that this bike ever did was under 2 feet with me being 165lbs. Never have I needed to repair except for the occasional minor tuneup. There's a problem with the front gears however but I just leave it on 2nd all the time and only use the back gears anyways. After using it for over 6yrs, I have to honestly say it was well worth the money I paid for it even tho I dislike it for being too heavy. However, it's a downhill bike so it's suppose to be that way. The fact that it's still rideable today is a testament to it's durability because it's been through so much usage by me. If you are not bias to the brand and the cheap price, this is a pretty good bike. The fact that it's still selling today in the exact same configuration shows that I'm not the only one who thinks.so. It's a workhorse of a bicycle and it don't look too bad either. "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

The Clydesdale of Mountain Bikes

Date:June 6, 2011
" I've owned this bike for a year now and am quite satisfied with it. This said, don't buy this bike if you are planning on using it for competitive riding. Though it is very durable and has a tough (and yes, HEAVY) frame, you have to treat it like your dad's SUV and not a tank. Just because it may be designed for extreme use, the fact is this bike is built for the average, non-professional user.
For my part the only complaints I've had with it is the hard seat, which I replaced with a much more comfortable one within a week or two of buying it back in 2010. The gears did need a bit of tweaking to stay put, but that's minor. The only other problem I had was two flat tires. The tires are 26 x 2.30 and went flat during the winter. I replaced the inner tubes (which are hard to find) with a slightly smaller 26 x 2.175 size and they worked just fine.
Beyond that I cannot say that this bike is a disappointment at all. It's a good, reliable bike that gets the job done, the 'Clydesdale' of mountain bikes you might say; a work-horse that won't let you down if you respect it. With the new seat i put on, and with the adjustment to the suspension, it is comfortable on hard and rough pavement, and really handles well. But its most endearing quality to me is its fundemental reliability and value for the money.
If you want 'dash and flash,' and have the more than $500.00 bucks to spare, you can definitely find a better bike. If you want something that will rip up a track and give you air time, go spend a few hundred more. But if you want something that is tough, reliable, comfortable, and which can take a beating that the average mountain bike can't, and also looks supremely hot, the Hooligan is the one for you.
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill

Still going after 7 years!

Date:April 20, 2011
" I bought a hooligan 7 years ago, it has lasted but I have replaced numerous parts on it. Some parts include a new rear rear wheel, a new crank, front fork, seat, tires, tubes, rear derailleur, plus new brake cables, and derailleur cables. I ended up buying a KHS mountain bike 3 years ago , so i swapped some parts from it and put them on Supercycle. I ended up upgrading both bikes. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bike for the price

Date:August 10, 2010
" I really enjoy this bike. I am only 13 years old and I bought the bike because it is cheap and I must say, I am really glad I bought it. All I had to do was a little adjusting to the gears and the breaks, which took about 15 minutes, and the bike was beautiful. The shocks are great for small jumps, and the bike rides really smooth. If you're someone that doesn't want to spend a lot, and you are not a serious biker, I really recommend you buy this bike. You will be surprised on how good it is. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

scrap metal

Date:June 7, 2010
" after riding it for a year it is scrap metal.
The crank bearings went, the front fork seized, most the lines have been replaced, im on rear derailer # 3, the handelbars snapped, Rim # 3 or 4, sprokets broke, rear axle snapped, tires wore out, heavy, petals break easy.
never buying another supercycle "
-18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:laval

Downhill bike.

Date:May 24, 2010
" i mod the bike a lil bit and now its a downhill bike. and i paid only 100$ more for this. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everybody has a story; get the bike in the box

Date:March 22, 2010
" I think for the price, the frame has been made very strong and sure, with a beautiful front suspension, And the rear one that we have to adjust to get it perfect. Just look over your bike make sure screws are tightened nuts , you know what i mean ..."It's how you take care of it!!!!
THIS IS ONE HOT RIDE FOR THE CASH!!!!
"
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Absolutely brutal bike don't buy it

Date:September 6, 2009
" I have had to take this bike back 3-4 times for service and they still havent got the gears working properly. Also I have a dent in the rear tire frame that is rubbing against the rear brake pads that must have been a result of riding up a curb or something, which really should not have happened since there is rear shocks on this bike. (this is after owning the bike not even a month)
AND the rear shock spring does not stay in place properly and makes a really annoying creaking sound all the time now because its rubbing up against the bike frame.
"
-12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

super cycle is my god

Date:April 12, 2009
" ever wanted the ultimate ride.... look no further the super cycle hooligan 26" adult sized mountain bike, is the perfect bike for every ocassion (except roads, trails, jumps and anything else). you can rock out and never have any problems except: fork seizing, chain skiping, frame craking, and over all catastrophic failure. i recommended this a strongly as i recommend Sham WOW. "
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good bike

Date:March 6, 2009
" I got this bike last summer to go biking with my friend. The bike worked well at first but then problems started to happen. The back brakes stopped working even if I adjusted them, the shocks would not loosen up, and the gears skipped. About a month later the fork started to loosen, I was quite happy. Overall I thought this bike looked very nice and it worked for me. Oh ya and also the tires turned blue and it weighs a ton. If you are thinking of going to the mountains and hitting big jumps I wouldn't recommend this bike for you. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, On.

A fun bike but

Date:September 13, 2008
" I bought this bike last summer when it was on sale it was reg 300.00 was on sale for 200.00 Just one look at it I had to have it! I am dissapointed that the gears already skip and one brake lever is not working right. It needs better cables. I find the suspension a bit stiff even with adjustments. The rear suspension adjustment does not make any big differance. Overall I like this bike but like others said it's way to heavy. This bike replaced my CCM Revenge and I would trade it back for the Revenge why? I prefered the suspension on the Revenge. Another draw back to this bike is you cannot put a back rack with saddles, It causes you to loose your suspension. However I am still happy with it :-) "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:oshawa

junk

Date:September 10, 2008
" this bike is ok for the average ride around the block rider, but if you ride it properly like in trails the bike is terrible. It weighs like 65 lbs and the front forks are over sized for no reason. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:st.john's, nl

nice bike

Date:September 9, 2008
" I like this bike a whole lot. the front suspension is great for jumps and rough riding and the back suspension adds great comfort! "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too Heavy Not Well Designed

Date:September 9, 2008
" The bike was way to heavy and the suspension with seat near buy is not well designed and became a problem. Sent lots of time repairing. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON

Great For Beginners

Date:September 9, 2008
" This bike can take a beating! It is great for people who are just starting to mountain bike. I've had this bike for about 5 1/2 years, and it still works great, just needed some minor maintenance to keep the shocks going. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, Ontario

One Tough Bike.

Date:June 11, 2008
" About to retire my 16,000 km and 4 years old Hooligan and get a new one. (Hooligan of course) This is the FIRST bike that has EVER lasted me more than one biking season. (And I'm 37) Yes, If you don't oil the front suspension they WILL sieze up. Not a manufacturing problem. Any moving part needs lube once and a while. A shot of WD40 every month and "No Worries". The rear suspension is adjustable for different rider weights and preferences. After sixteen thousand VERY hard kilometers the only parts to wear out were the crank bearings, (4 times) and the frame pivot bearing. (twice) Again, not a manufacturing problem, just 4000 kilometers, 4000 HARD kilometers per year. The ONLY downside to this bike, it's heavy. That said, I would, and have recommended this bike to others. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON

Heres the Deal

Date:June 7, 2008
" I purchased this bike a while ago, it was Okay, I had some problems with the wheels, they werent so good, gears were Okay, it was just an "Okay" bike. But I wouldnt recommend it.. why? Listen. This bike is just meant to look good, it has a nice frame, nice colour but thats about it, when you ride it, its not a nice ride. You shouldnt get this bike unless you're looking for bikes that look pretty. My front light also broke, not to good. Cheap quality material is used. I dont like it honestly. Dont go for this. $250? It should be more of $100. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Supercycle Hooligan 26-in Full-Suspension Bike, Adult
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton ON

Really great bike

Date:June 3, 2008
" Bought this bike in the spring of 2007. It needed some gear adjustment to get it going well, but after that, it has been a solid, well performing bike.
It has been ridden on city streets and trails and is tough and comfortable.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2