Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Bikes or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike

Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike

Supercycle Tempo Road Bike features an 18" aluminum frame700C tires21 speedMicroshift thump tap shiftersShimano derailleursAlloy V-brakesAlloy rims, hubs and seat postComfort gripsFree in-store assemblyModels may vary by storeBike assembly may affect pickup times for online orders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.068 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
53 of 59(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Review 1 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Just ok.

Date:May 4, 2014
" This bike serves it's purpose for myself, as I just ride it to work and back. It does well at getting me from point A to point B. However, the gears are difficult to shift and sometime clunk while i'm riding. So for people who are more serious riders, this bike may not be for you. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:17 or Under
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great purchase, but you need to know

Date:September 18, 2013
" This bike is great, it's fast and very light. However you have to remember that it is a ROAD bike. If you start smashing into sidewalks and bumps on the road it will mess this bike up. It's meant for travel on a flat surface. I bought this and had to swerve onto the sidewalk, and I hit a bump and it screwed up the bolt on the handlebar ( It just needed to be tightened again)
Buy this bike if you will be traveling on roads and asphalt bikepaths. It's superb at what it's made for.Speedy,light and sturdy.
Biking on gravel/dirt roads or sidewalks will not work for this bike. You will slip on gravel/dirt and the bike simply can't tolerate hitting bumps at high speed. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Bad bike ever

Date:August 15, 2013
" I bought this bike 4 months ago, a bit of what happened with since I have it:
- The week I bought the bike, my speeds was not completely aligned (changed themselves alone). I brought it for a tune up, and 1 month later same issue...
- After 2 months of daily use, the handle-bar unmounted by itself during a ride, the screw was unscrewed so the handle-bar and the front wheel wasn't synchronize, which is pretty dangerous.
- After 3 months of daily use, my pedals now moved from left to right and the chain touch the derailleur of the crankset.
Buying a bike for several hundred dollars and having a bike with such bad assemble, I will never buy this brand anymore.
"
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best day of my life

Date:July 24, 2013
" This bike is crazy man!!! Best day of my life. I bike 40km a day to and from work. It's fast. The ladies will luv ya! "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort MuMurray. AB. Canada

Tempo Supercycle 700c

Date:May 16, 2013
" Great bike and at a great price. It is nice and light and performs great. Use it to get to and from work. Buy one and you will not be sorry!! "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Road bike

Date:May 13, 2013
" Great purchase....moves well and good balance. Nice sleek look as well. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON, Canada

Great Looks, Great Ride

Date:March 4, 2013
" This bike was an awesome ride! It was fast and light. It was also gorgeous- one of the best looking bikes I have seen around. Unfortunately, I only had it for about 6 months before it was stolen. The only thing that would improve this is a larger frame. An 18 inch frame was small and I'm only 5'10. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

Best road bike for my wife !

Date:August 24, 2012
" Purchased supercycle temp road bike about 4 months ago for about $159+taxes in sale. it was a great,best and cheap investment ever made by me for long life.......
This cycle picks up very good speed, very easy to handle, very comfortable in riding and last but not the least very easy to carry anywhere u want..
My wife is loving this cycle and I am thinking to buy another one for myself too.
"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great bike, poor assembly.

Date:May 3, 2012
" I bought this bike 3 weeks ago but was only able to ride it this week due to some issues with gear assembly; hence my rating on quality and durability.
However, now that I am able to ride the bike, I find that it is a great bike to use and loving it so far.
I anyone is having some gear problems; for example, the front derailleur wont shift to the 3rd gear (highest gear) it can be quickly remedied by this video i will attach. "
Video
Click to view
+47points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB

Good Value For An Excellent Bike

Date:April 27, 2012
" This is an excellent bike for recreation and commuting. It is very light because the main frame is made of 6061 aluminum alloy; only the handle bar and the forks are steel. If these two components are replaced by aluminum, its weight can be further reduced. I plan to do so in the future. I owned a similar bike made by Giant. The quality of construction of this Supercycle Tempo is just as good or better. For $160, you have a high quality bike. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Thorold

Love at first sight

Date:March 25, 2012
" I am a cyclist since my childhood. I am riding bikes since 1988 and now I am a 31 year old graduate student with limited budget. With my 2 decades of experience in having different bikes I can judge a bike within one ride.
I wanted a bike to go to college this summer. Before purchasing this bike I saw all reveiws and then decided to have it. I placed my order on phone to get it assembled.
I was expecting it to be in orange or gun metallic color but I found it in silver color.
She was looking beautiful and attractive in store with her slim tires and fat aluminium frame. I kept watching her for a while before holding, when I hold her she was lighter than breeze.
On my first ride i found that it is the lightest bike ever in my life. I was not pushing the pedals but she was moving.
Salient Features:
- Light and right for roads and long rides.
- Gear shifting works like a charm.
- Excellent breaking
- Beautiful frame and design
- Straight handle bar and ergonomic grips
- You'll feel the rest when you'll have it.
What I miss in my Supercycle TEMPO:
- A comfortable seat.
What extra I have attached to my TEMPO:
- Fenders
- Ringer
I wish my Tempo a long and happy journey with me.
I am uploading a picture of my tempo for you.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Bike At Canadian Tire

Date:July 30, 2011
" So I've had this bike for more than a year, and I ride it every day. I'm absolutely pleased with it. Here is why:
- Very light weight! I am not that strong, and I can lift this up with a single hand. Easy to take it up and down stairs etc.
- Metallic pedals. I can't tell you how many plastic pedals I have broken on other bikes. Most bikes at Canadian tire, even the more expensive ones, come with plastic ones. The plastic pedals just don't last hard pushing when going uphill.
- The shifters work like a charm. They are this brand called "Microshift", it's a cheap brand but don't worry, they shift very well. One click and the chain falls into next gear. Never failed me during the year and a half I've been shifting. And I shift a lot.
- I've examined every single bike at Canadian Tire in detail (and trust me I have some obsessive compulsiveness), and this one won outright
- The handles are super comfortable to hold. Some bikes have very rough handles that leave an impression behind on your hands; not this one. A very ergonomic and soft handles.
- This bikes rides very stably. I can go very very slow on it, and it will balance perfectly well. At the same time it can go very fast too.
- There are not suspensions on this bike, but no worries, you'll get used to it; and this is coming from a guy who came from a dual-suspension bike; at first you'll definitely feel the road much more compared to the dual-suspension, but after a while it's not noticeable. You could of course get a saddle cushion.
- The saddle clips out; very convenient. I always take it out whenever I lock my bike somewhere.
- The price toggles between $150 to $300. I'd say it's worth even at $300, but why pay that much; wait a bit, as they it on sale every now and then. $249, $229, $199, $179, even $149 (rare, but happens). I bought two of these so far, one at $199 and $179
- The old one had an orange/white color. It was ok, but not the most attractive. The new one has a silver color. Very sleek. I get lots of compliments on it... "Nice bike!" from total strangers.
If you want to buy a bike from Canadian tire, forget the rest (many are terrible), get this instead! "
+61points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

so-so, depends what you intend to do with it

Date:June 9, 2011
" I bought this bike nt knowing if I would use it to bike every day. turns out I've put around 2,000 km on it. It works well, looks good and I would absolutely recommend it for someone who doesn't plan on using it every day, it is a good buy at 40%. For those that are hoping to get a bike with alot of durability, this is not the one for you, mind you the price pretty much reflects that as well. Be aware that the mechanics of this bike are of the cheapest quality. Hopefully this hepls you make an informed decision. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Caused holes in my pants!

Date:July 26, 2010
" Not-so-great for my wallet since I had to replace nearly every pair of pants that I own and had to buy a new seat for the bike.
There was a silver plastic piece that stuck out the side of the seat just slightly... just enough that you couldn't see it just by looking at it but that it could still wear a hole right through any pair of pants/shorts (even jeans!). I originally thought my clothes were getting caught in the washing machine and getting ripped but once I realized all the holes were only in my pants/shorts and all in the same place I knew that wasn't the case. I put duct-tape over the plastic piece but it just wore through that pretty quickly so I bought a new seat... problem solved.
I like my bike now that I have a new seat and it doesn't destroy my clothing! I would suggest taking a look at the seat before buying the bike and making sure those plastic side pieces are sticking out even slightly because I learned the hard way that that can cause quite the amount of damage if you don't know to look for it. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice little bicycle

Date:May 31, 2010
" Nice bicycle. I had to adjust the brake pads front and back but they were easy to make perfect. There was minor fine tuning on the front and rear derailleurs but all took 15 minutes. Can't beat the price! And how about that orange colour!! :) "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

light but slow

Date:January 23, 2010
" aluminum frame make this bike lite but it feels slow and sluggish compared to it's competitors. better than a steel frame but could have better gearing. have not owned long enough to judge durability "
-33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:LaSalle Ontario

Very Happy, here's why...

Date:July 26, 2009
" I love this bike!
I'm a 30 yr old male, 6' 0" tall...
I haven't riden in a while and when I saw this bike at the price it was (half off the reg $300), I got it on the spot.
I've owned 3 new bikes in my life. One was the CCM Excell (from Canadian Tire)...Loved it!
My next was a bike from a cycle shop in Toronto (prob my fav bike at $350, but was eventually stolen).
Anyway this bike is so refreshing! All my other bikes were mountain bikes, but this new one made me realize: How often am I riding off of pavement and on dirt? Rarely! It's perfect for the road. In fact it is basically a poor-man's road bike (I say that only because those road bikes, with their curved ram's horn-type handle bars usually fetch $500-$1000). I did look up another guy's review of this bike and yes..for some reason my brakes were very loud the first few times out! But they've quited down since.
PROS:
1) I LOVE the shifting on this bike. 21 speeds, and each gear shifts with the click of a button...so smooth!
2) The seat has a quick release adjustment...no need for a wrench. I'm 6'-0" and I like my seat high..higher than the handle bars for sure.
3) It's LIGHTWEIGHT! Aluminum and nimble
4) It's a road bike...it feels like a sports car..it's firm...if you ever had a bike with shocks on the front or back, you won't miss them here!
CONS:
1) Doesn't come with one, but I attached a water bottle cage to the bottom frame for $3. If you want both a water bottle and a "U" bike lock, you won't have enough room for both.
OVER ALL:
Very ergonomic..especially the simplified handle bars. Very light weight and easy to ride. I love the color scheme, and with the seat raised, its a flashy looking bike. It seems pretty durable. I'm no expert but it feels well made. It has really motivated me to ride daily out on county roads. Not sure I'd pay $300 for it...if you did, it's worth it, but at $150 it's a steal!
Happy riding! -James, LaSalle
"
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:surrey, BC

Tempo Bike

Date:May 18, 2009
" With this bike i am not satisfy even a single %, when i bought it, It has a braking problem, brake shoe was touchs its rims, i got fix after a day from there in house mechanic, then after some time, it start again then i got fixed from bike store paid $45 to align but still its not even 50% fixed, they said its a very basic bike and its manufacture fault, design of the bike is wrong. So now i have no option left. i have spend $200+ Tax last year and bike standing in my back yard shed. So potential buyers please be aware of canadian tire brand product. "
-17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Good for commuting and fitness

Date:July 20, 2008
" I decide to buy a bike for daily commuting, weekend fitness and enjoy outdoor activity. After reading all reviews and comparing it with other bikes, I select this hybrid bike. I kept patient to wait for 2 weeks until it was on sale in May and bought one with half price.
I am very satisfied with it so far. Frame is 18” and suits both medium height and short riders. It is light, only about 20 pounds, I guess. Chain rings are 46/38/28 teeth. Cassette freewheel are 7 speed, 13-28 teeth. Because the large chain ring has less number of teeth than high end road bikes that cost thousands dollar, it will be slower than standard road bikes in down hill. But it is good enough for average users. Nobody rides hybrid bike for racing. Tire is 700c x 28c, wider than road bike, therefore will gain more traction and last longer.
During last two months, I have logged 1000 km, including a one day round trip from Scarborough to Hamilton of 200 km. I have not found any problem. What I have done is to lubricate chain and other parts regularly, as well as to adjust front derailleur and brake cable every a few hundred kilometers
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Supercycle Tempo 700C Road Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:hamilton, ontario

excellent value

Date:April 16, 2008
" for the less serious cycler, this is a good bike at an excellent price. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2