Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike

Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike

Schwinn Conversion Men's Mountain Bike features a 19" aluminum frame26" tires24 speedShimano EZ-Fire shiftersShimano Tourney front derailleurShimano Altus rear derailleurPromax alloy dual linear pull brakesSuntour suspension forkSuntour alloy crank36 spoke wheelsFree in-store assemblyBike assembly m
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good brand and bike

Date:August 22, 2014
" I picked this bike up on sale (50% off) and for that price, it was a great deal. In fact, the moment I dropped by to pick it up, another customer was right behind me asking for the same bike. We both agreed, it was a good deal for a great bike.
I rode it home from the store, and immediately I found the crank's first and second gears produced a scratchy unpleasant sound. I later tried to fix it on my own (lubricating the chain, etc) but it seemed to be something attached to the quality of the bike's assembly.
I then brought it into a pro bike shop for a tune up...this fixed it for good, but of course revealed the cause of the scratchy sounds: poor bike assembly.
I'm enjoying the bike more after this tune up...it should have been this way when I bought it.
It's a good, speedy intermediate bike with a light aluminum frame and good, reliable brakes.
It's not a bad deal at full price but it's a much happier purchase at discount. I recommend it but try to check all of its gears before purchase. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:25 to 34

Excellent quality except for two things.

Date:August 19, 2014
" I love everything about this bike except for two things:
1. The freewheel that came with the bike is defective. The more I ride it, the noisier it becomes.
2. The a knocking sound comes from the bottoms bracket when pedalling, and the spindle keeps coming loose, although it might be fin now that I adjusted it but I highly doubt it. As well, when I disabled the bottom bracket I found minute metal shavings on the parts of it.
In conclusion you should NOT buy this bike, because you're better off buying another bike that won't cause you grief.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Entry Bike

Date:July 15, 2014
" Bought this bike for an entry level
Have ridden it daily since purchase, both on and off road.
Well out together at the store, clerk even demonstrated the different shifter types between this one and another model. Good knowledgeable service
Extremely good price for quality product.
Only complaint: Seat had to be replaced, rather hard to sit on for long rides
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It need some better parts

Date:June 16, 2013
" When I bought this bike I was expecting something better. Within the first three days the brakes all needed work a week after that it wasn't shifting properly next month a whole lot of noise was coming from the bottom bracket and the pedals would frequently freeze up so that I couldn't pedal!!! I am just quite disappointing with the quality of this bike because Schwinn used to be such a good reliable brand. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple, good at what it does, great qualaty

Date:April 25, 2013
" I do not have this exact bike i bought the generation before it 4 years ago and so far it has been really good i ride it really hard and i have replaced most of the things on it both brakes, chain, rear derailer, cables, shifters, ect. this bike is disk brake ready on the front and i have put disk brakes on it. The bike is light and the frame is solid. The rims are really strong and light and are really unique. The bike shifts pretty nicely and the component are good quality. The shock has good travel and has a nice feel but i broke mine last year so maybe not the best quality but i abuse my bike so it probable wont happen to you. All around great bike for price. Best quality bike in Canadian tire, light, smooth, 24 gears, good shock, really sticky brakes, cool looking, good drivetrain components. (if purchased repair old tube if poped the rim is suppose to have a long stem for filling the tires up, the gripes, tires, and brake pads wear out fast) "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Simcoe County, ON, Canada

New bike Schwinn Conversion 2013

Date:March 17, 2013
" Very well engineered, parts are descent , it was even assembled well. Comment made re welding, I am a welder and found all the welds to be acceptable with over welds at key points at the back axes area. so all in all very well done and will have to report once ridding season is here or the snow is off the roads. Looks real fine also with great paint job. RIDE ON "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON

wonderful bike

Date:March 25, 2012
" I really enjoy riding this bike. It is good for my health as well. I has a very good speed. The brake system is very powerful. "
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick, SS

Good for the price.

Date:September 22, 2011
" I've been running this bike for about 2-3 months now and not even a scratch. The tires have lots of tread the crank is nice and the bike rides smoothly. The only problem's I have is the cheap flimsy plastic on the crank. It's designed to protect the crank and gear shifter from taking damage. If yours does break there are screws on the back made for a Philip head screw driver. The second problem is the chain grinds up against the gear shifter a little making a scrapeing sound. Just adjust the screws and it'll be fine.
Thank you for reading this review and I love this bike. :) "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

this bike is one of the worst I have ever rode.

Date:July 24, 2010
" This bike may look pretty but it can't preform. the brakes barely do the job. the chain is always popping off and the only way to put it back on is to disassemble the chain or take of the cranks. I was very disappointed in this bike even the shocks barely work only 20mm in clearence you'd never know they were there. Unless you are only riding on the road or side walk do not but this bike. A much better option is to buy the crank metric bike for 399.99 from canadian tire. Please don't spend $600 on some scrap metal with wheels. "
-34points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Good Bike

Date:January 22, 2010
" I got this bike after reading many reviews. I like it and it has no problem for me after using it for a year. GOOOD Bike, you will enjoy riding it. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON

Great Bike

Date:December 30, 2009
" This bike is a real beauty. It has everything I need at a good price. Just need some better weather to get going. "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Awesome value for the money

Date:October 12, 2008
" This bike has great features for its price. It has all smart features that one would want in a mountain bike without paying an exhorbitant price. It is a very light bike because of its aluminum frame and dual walled rims. The front rim is disc brake ready. It runs very light and fast. It is a made in china product. There are few cons about this bike. The handle grips were very cheap quality so I replaced these with good quality Schwinn grips (check Schwinn Hydra Grips). The seat was also very uncomfortable so replaced with a better one. Weldings on the frame is done very badly. Over all it is a good bike for the price I paid for it. $219.99. "
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Niagara, Ontario

Solid purchase

Date:September 12, 2008
" I've owned several mountain bikes and this has been the best. The only difficulty was setting up the gears, took a little time to get them just right. Very comfortable, rides great on and off the road. Would recommend this bike to anyone looking to do some moderate offroad. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kanata, ON

Good value for the price

Date:September 9, 2008
" I was surprised at all the features that this bike included for this price point. It has all the bells and whistles that you would want in this sort of bike without having to pay an exhorbitant price for it.
I just use it to take the dogs out around the countryside, sometimes on roads, sometimes on rutted/flooded trails through woods and over the rocky terrain of the Canadian Shield around here. I don't do any of the extreme biking that youngsters might do so I don't really push the structural limits of the thing.
It's too soon to tell if it will stand the test of time but so far, so good. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:montreal qc

amazing

Date:August 17, 2008
" ok so i was looking into a bike i first bought a Supercycle Hooligan 21-speed MTB it was very heavy and no good. so then i got it extanged for the Kranked Mountain Bike, 26-in and tht one the frame was croked so then i decided to get this one it is so much better then both put together, it has groved rims better braking it has 24 speeds insted of the 21 so u can go a bit faster, the tires arent all giant and u dont bounce all over the road its great for trails. its just a perfect bike for the price. i find it works super great, it also is disk brake ready, and the worker their said u could get disk breaks for around 60$ so that would be a good buy in the future. all in all its a great bike for shure recomend it "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Great purchase!

Date:July 18, 2008
" I bought this bike about a month ago. It was on sale and you definitely get more than what you pay for. It has great parts and the frame is not that heavy. I probably invested an equal amount in locks and accessories, but it's been getting lots of compliments. I'm guessing this is due to assembly, but the chain makes a little noise as I pedal, because it is rubbing against something. I would definitely recommend this purchase. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay,On.

good bike

Date:April 27, 2008
" my dad got this bike and i use it too sometimes. it has poor welding but this it shifts good and has good rims. i would recommend this bike to all people loookiin for a fair mountain bike. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Schwinn Conversion Men's 26-in Mountain Bike
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2