Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Bikes or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike

Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike

Schwinn Tango Folding Hybrid Bike features a 16" aluminum folding frame20" tires6 speedsShimano Revo grip shiftersShimano Tourney rear derailleurCaliper brakesFolds so it's easy store and carryAlloy rimsIncludes fenders and rear rackFree in-store assembly
Average Customer Rating:
3.56 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
16 of 25(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:morrisburg

good quality bike except!

Date:March 18, 2014
"this Schwinn folding bike is very good quality and well made except 2 weak areas where it needs to be improved. The braking system is very poor and needs to upgrade with V Pull brake instead of cheap clamp on caliper system. The other weak point is the pedal crank. It is very small and need at least 10 more teeth to make the bike run at a decent speed. As it is with this small crank ( 38 teeth ) your speed is very low and using the low gears is almost useless because of the turtle speed they gives you. Even if the bike has an aluminum frame it is very heavy ( close to 40 pounds ) and cannot be carried very far because of the weight. The other alternative to this Schwinn would be the Schwinn loop 7 with a better braking system and faster speed but it is not sold at C.T.C."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Portability.

Date:March 17, 2014
"This bike is a great buy.
Bought a pair of those to bring along in my light aircraft to give us some range off small airports. It is extremely potable, roughly 30Lx20Wx30H when folded properly and weighting in at 32lb each. Being able to fit a pair in the back of my plane says a lot about how portable they are. It will fit into any standard car trunk, RV, boat, name it.
It comes preassembled, but it seems like it's not professionnal work. Some adjustments may be needed before you can call it a functionnal bike, but it is done easily tightening screws here and there, properly inflating tires, etc. It should be done on any new bike initial setup anyway. Once adjusted properly it feels as solid as any bike in its price range, that's a 260lb man talking here.
Performance wise, this bike must be seen as a light commuter. Short gear and the 6 gear Shimano shifter will make any long or hilly trips somewhat exhausting, but small trips into town, unrushed, make for very enjoyable rides.
This bike seems to be a newer version from the ones some others have commented about. Handling bar is now adjustable and the color is now blue. A few other changes here and there that I am sure makes for a better bike.
Hope this helps!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great little bike

Date:March 8, 2014
"bike works fine ,took it in on the plane with me to Mazatlan, as checked baggage, no extra fees for a bike ,ride the bike every other day for 20 km. it isn't a speed machine but is great for leisurely biking ,, all my friends that visits love it, planning on taking two more back to Mazatlan next winter."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Glencoe, ON, Canada

perfect bike for the RV

Date:June 28, 2013
"This bike is very good for taking to the campsite, short trips around town and binging with you. It is not a mountain bike or a daily commuter , This is why I bought it. I am a millwright, who builds robotic equipment for the automotive industry ,so I know the mechanical side of the bike and its design .
Stevetoronto hit the nail on the head in his review. The bike needs to be setup by a qualified technician before you can give this bike a honest review! I am going to buy another one so both my wife and I can ride together while Rving.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto

lousy bike

Date:June 20, 2013
"Cannot fold - slow - very heavy for an aluminium frame
Even the sales person was critical"
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, Toronto, ON, Canada

Really disappointed

Date:June 2, 2013
"I think Schwinn is a good band name bicycle, however, this product fail me. The overall body of the bike is not bad, even though the paint come off easily, however, as a folding bike, it cannot perform the main function well i.e. folding. The fastener that lock and release the two half of the bicycle is not design well. When it is new, it required lots of strength to lock it, a general female may not able to do it, however, when you check the old demo stock in the store, you will find the the fastener is loose and beak easily."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto

No brakes - no speed either

Date:May 25, 2013
"Cute bike. Fit in my trunk. Rode it twice, and unless you are on flat ground or going downhill, this bike is terrible - I exchanged it for something easier to ride and sacrificed portability.. Even small hills are a challenge on this bike. The lower gears don't seem to help much. Small tires = twice the work. The brakes were weak (at best) and the bike refused to shift smoothly into 6th gear. Great for short rides - 10 minutes or so - but fatigue sets in quickly."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Nice folding bike

Date:April 27, 2013
"Nicely built, light and very functional folding bike. It fits easily into the back of my Toyota Yaris. The ride is easy with 6 speeds but I hope they could double it to 12. Folding is fine but it could be better by having a hook to keep it folds."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada

Excellent Value, Mediocre Quality

Date:August 21, 2012
"I've purchased the new Version 2.0 model of this bike with the standard rear brakes. Quality is OK but less than that of a standard bike at the same price bracket.
Pros:
- Light
- Portable and easy to maintain
Cons:
- Consistent squeaks, creaks and other noises when peddling
- Poor paint quality, chips easily
"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Canada

Detailed Review, from a skilled biking enthusiast

Date:July 3, 2012
"Great folding bike!
This Schwinn Tango 20" folding bike is safe, and the parts quality are all good or very good.
I bought this bike last week at the Yonge-Bloor store, and they had about 10 of them on the floor to choose from @ $199.
So far, my spouse and I have rode over 50 km around downtown Toronto, and we both love this bike.
Schwinn seems to have updated the bike, versus previous years:
1) The bike does not use a rear drum brake anymore. Both front and rear are both caliper brakes. This simplifies maintenance.
2) The seat now uses an adjustable release lever like other bikes. Older bikes used something else.
I read all the reviews, and I confirmed most of the complaints by finding the same problems in the store's other Schwinn Tango bikes.
However, these problems can be avoided by asking a skilled bike enthusiast to (1) pick one that is properly assembled, and (2) ask to help tune the bike.
(eg: speeds not changing; chain falling off; seat being loose; tires popping; frame not rigid.)
The problems are rooted by the fact that Canadian Tire staff do not tune the bikes, because they arrive at the store 95% assembled from the distributor.
You need to tune specific areas of the Schwinn Tango before riding:
1) Deflate the tires and re-inflate properly: the factory over-inflates the tires, causing popping. This is due to factory workers using a machine to inflate the tires, and not checking the pressures.
2) Perform a full tune-up of the brakes. The brakes are not tuned at all. These are 'caliper-brakes' and not as easy to tune as other brakes, but only take a few minutes.
3) Properly tension ALL of the quick-release levers. They are not tensioned at all from the factory. This causes the frame to feel loose.
4) Tune the rear derailleur. This is some-what tuned from the factory, so maybe you can find a bike with a good derailleur from the start.
Overall, this Schwinn is a great bike for $199.
All of the parts are good quality and I trust that it is a safe bike to ride for long distances on rough Downtown Toronto streets.
Recommended upgrades would be:
1) Larger front sprocket to give the bike higher gears. (easy to do)
2) Metal brake levers. The stock plastic brake levers flex a bit too much.
3) Improve the brakes. The brakes are a little weak.
Great bike, Schwinn!"
+96points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North York

Speeds are not working

Date:May 8, 2012
"From first day first ride speeds 1-3 are failing and chain falls off. I don't know if the bike was not tuned at all prior to going on to the shelf or its just the quality. In either case, this should not be happening to brand new Schwinn bike."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Not for average size guys

Date:May 1, 2012
"Returned on the next day, so can not evaluate the performance or durability.
The seat is basically hold by pressure and does not have a pin or a lock, so it went all the way down when i sit.
Maybe I'm too big for it - 5ft11", regular weight.
Otherwise it seems to be a fair bike for what it is intended."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:V.K.H, On

Great Over All Bike

Date:April 10, 2012
"I really got nothing negative to say about this bike. I really can't beleive how well it drive's and over all option it comes with. I bought this bike for camping and ridding in town which is what this bike was design for. It has everything you possibly could need on a bike, It has a bell, rear & front fenders and a rear rack. I have a full size 21 speed mountain bike that I simply dont use any more because this little guy gets it done. Just make sure you don't buy this bike as a street bike as you will not like it as it doesn't have the gears to go fast. I would recommend this bike to anyone."
+34points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg

Easily Remedied Quality / Performance Issues

Date:February 12, 2012
"Concerned with paint chipping ?
Apply spray on furniture polish to prevent frame chips .
Gearing issues ?
Replace the front crank with one that has more teeth.
You can purchase a crank that has up to 63 teeth giving you much higher speeds OR replace the rear cogs with a 12 - 28 tooth cogset versus the stock cogs on the bike .
Either modifications will get more speed out of any bike .
Go to your local bike shop for their expert advice on these changes .
Bottom line is you can make changes to a bike if you're not happy with it the way it is folks.
"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Good value

Date:July 13, 2011
"This little bike offers features of more expensive bikes, such as 36-spoke wheels and an all-aluminum frame. For a sub-$200 folding bike it's quite good. The seat and handlebars height can be adjusted with quick-release levers, but there are no markers on the tubes to remember where you like them set to. The seat can accommodate riders from about 5-ft to over 6-ft tall. The ride is pleasant even for tall riders, and the bike is stable and easy to steer. To my surprise this bike has a band brake at the rear wheel, probably to simplify the frame design. I am not sure how long this will last, or where we can find replacement parts. Also the brake unit is made of cheap metal that does not look rust resistant. The gears are a bit short, as other reviewers have mentioned, but this is not a performance bike, and you cannot expect to ride it at high speed anyways. The paint on the frame scratches easily, so beware. Once folded it can easily fit in a small car's trunk. All and all, a good bike considering the low price."
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Ok, overall build could be better

Date:July 9, 2010
"Just to note: My overall rating is approximate based on quality, performance, and durability.
I purchased this bike roughly one year ago - though was only able to ride for a couple months (stolen). This is my experience:
Quality:
Build quality is good - mostly an all-metal bike. The paint quality, however - could have been better. I had a lock with rubber backing all-around and oddly enough that scratched the paint off (I don't know what kind of paint they're using on this frame, but it's a really cheap powder coat, easily scratches off just by rubbing it). The tires needed replaced once, I have a theory: either the spokes are protruding/loose, or the rubber itself could have been compromised by glass/bumps as it's a street tire, not mountain bike tire. Just a heads-up: These bikes are 95% built already (all you have to do is take it out of box, remove the zip ties holding it into the folding position, and attach the handlebars - all set - the tires are even inflated at the factory) -- so be sure to check the bike over for faults before you get it out the store (even if you have to deflate the tires in store to check for loose/broken spokes). It also uses some proprietary disc brake in the back.
Performance:
I could reach traffic speeds (60K) on flat road for short periods of time, nothing too special really; It has 6 speeds, so I wasn't disappointed having to crank the pedals more than usual (used to riding 21-speed bikes). Would be better with an electric hub motor. The chain slipped a couple times, for no reason whatsoever while straddled (it's hard to get to with that guard in place) - that's without changing gears or pedaling backwards - minus a point for that. Brakes are ok, the one in the back does the job (it's a proprietary hub brake, looked like it had cork or something to absorb shock in the hub), but don't let the fact that it has 'almost' all the brake covered - if you get a little water in there the brake will vibrate and create noise, and won't stop you right away. The good thing is it's maintainance free (pretty much anyway), The back brake is better, the front is just a standard pad (would have preferred a disc brake there too, but that's just me).
Durability:
I actually had to take the bike into Canadian Tire twice, waiting two weeks to get the deraillers fixed by some guy who only shows up once a week... Anyhow out of the box, it's not perfect, and you will have to fine tune it to get it working just right (better to DIY if you have the tools to do so). The paint job was poor, rust actually started to form after the paint was very lightly scratched. I don't see the frame lasting for more than a year if the paint's bad on other models. The other components you'd think would rust sooner (like chain, smaller exposed screws), didn't rust (and everything was pre-oiled). You might want to invest in a clear-coat protective coating if you don't want to be stuck with a rusty frame down the road.
I bought another one, and it's sitting in the (now torn-open) box still - I will write another review once I have it repainted (Schwinn - why is your paint job so poor?) and reassembled. Hope this helps!"
+72points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bike

Date:June 29, 2010
"This is a great bike for a comfortable ride, not for long trips...
verry compact and I really recommend if you are looking for a bike to take a ride in parks, city, etc…
"
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Not in Love With It

Date:September 12, 2009
"The bike is slow, after 10 mins. of riding to school I find myself tired and I do exercise regularly! Also I am not a very heavy person. I am about 135 lbs and both my front and back wheels have popped in a total of 3 times! Each time I would have to go and get them patched up!
I love that the bike fold and is light weight but I do regret buying it. I much prefer a cruiser with 3 speed and larger wheels."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Returned it the next day

Date:July 23, 2009
"Seemed like a decent bike, and I really liked the fold-up aspect of it (needed something that I could easily take up the elevator to my appartment, up the stairs to work, or throw into the back of my car).
The overall quality of the parts were alright, but I noticed one major flaw in the design after riding it for about a block. For a 6-speed bike with this small of a tire size, the front sprocket needs to be much bigger. Even in 6th gear I was peddling like crazy and getting nowhere fast, but still getting very tired very quickly (I'm not a big guy, and in decent shape). I continued to ride it to work and back, and the more I rode it, the more I disliked it.
The ride ended up being very awkward and uncomfortable to say the least, and the the bike didn't end up being nearly as rigid as I had thought at first. I wasn't expecting the speed of a road bike, nor the off-road suspension and capabilities of a mountain bike, but I at least was hoping for a similar ride as a cruising bike. This was not the case.
I noticed that there is also an electric-assisted version of this bike. If I was in the market for an electric-assisted bike, this would probably be perfect as this bike seems to be designed for just that. The problem is that they didn't change the design at all for the non-electric model, and they really should have.
I would not recommend this bike to anyone, unless you opt for the electric-assisted model which is also more than double the price. I'm not really sure why other people gave this such a high rating."
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Schwinn Tango 20-in Folding Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So cool and compact

Date:April 11, 2009
"I was looking for a bike for a long time. I'm 5 feet tall, and most ladies' bikes are too tall for me. This bike looks like a grownup bike, but it's the right size for me. I'm not too tall, and my friends are not too short, but if we want to share this bike, we can adjust it in seconds.
We can throw it in any vehicle, no bike rack needed. I live in a small condo, so I don't have a lot of storage room. In addition, we had two bikes stolen from our yard. It's easy to keep it safe inside the house because it won't take much space.
I was scared that I would catch my fingers when folding it or opening it, but it's really easy and friendly.
Now I'll be able to ride to the mall, my club, and for fun. Two green thumbs up!
"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2