Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Wardrobes and Dressers or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Storage Cabinet, Alder

Storage Cabinet, Alder

Ideal for your home or office storage needsFive shelves (three adjustable)Roof-top designMetal handlesEuropean hingesShelf depth 14 5/8" D (37 cm)Approximate dimensions: 72.25 H x 30 W x 16" D (183.5 x 76.2 x 40.6 cm)
Average Customer Rating:
4.044 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
36 of 45(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Review 1 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Loads of stuff

Date:October 30, 2014
" I like this cabinet better then just the shelf one, It holds a ton of stuff and you can hide it with the doors! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Nice sleek looking cabinet

Date:October 10, 2014
" If you're short on space like I am, this is a great cabinet that can be used for clothes, or as a kitchen pantry, or an extra linen cupboard. I use mine to store extra things for the bedroom/bathroom like blankets and shampoo. It looks nice, and went together really really easily. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Cheap and flimsy

Date:May 28, 2014
" This pantry is cheap and flimsy. It would be fine for the basement for light duty, but not really suitable for the kitchen, both because of its cheap looks and weak construction. Not worth the money even on sale. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:100 Mile House, BC V0K, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Lots of Storage

Date:May 8, 2014
" We bought this as a extra storage for my kitchen as it is small and very limited cabinet space. It holds food and pots and pans and anything else I cant find a spot for. Easy to put together. And it looks good in a log house also/ "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Brampton
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Cheap

Date:January 1, 2014
" Very cheap, looks and feels like it's made of cardboard. I'll be moving it to the basement and finding a better replacement. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap and not worth time or money

Date:September 13, 2013
" Screws strip so they cant tighten, many chips out of the boards, and the doors do not line up properly. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product.

Date:August 26, 2013
" I bought this to use as a linen closet. I had checked out other cabinets at other stores and decided this one was perfect for my needs, and it was on sale, which made the price even better. If you know how to use a screwdriver and hammer it is very easy to put together. I am extremely pleased with the finished look. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Muti Use and Affordable

Date:May 11, 2013
" I bought this to help store baking items since my home didn't have much cupboards. I found it great for that but then bought two more because the price was right and ended up using then for linen cupboards. It was also easy to assemble. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL, Canada

Cheap

Date:February 25, 2013
" I am glad I didn't pay full price for this item, very low quality. Lots of storage, but just wondering how much the shelves will be able to hold before sagging or the little plastic anchors break. The best part of the whole thing are the hinges and the door handle. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Quality Ever

Date:February 6, 2013
" This w-is a nice looking unit. I bought it on sale for $109. It still seemed like a lot of money, but I figured it was well made. It was not well made! The door panels are cardboard like the back, and the wood is a very low end press board. You can hardly tighten the screws or they strip. I would not recomend this product even if it were on sale for $50.00. The regular price is $150.00. "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort St. John, BC, Canada

I really like this!

Date:February 1, 2013
" This was a great buy! Two of us put it together in an evening! I use it as a pantry and it holds lots! Great buy for sure!! "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:thornhill, ontario

Perfect fit!

Date:August 18, 2012
" Moved into a very large basement apartment but kitchen cabinets were minimal. I bought two of these units which flank my stove. They serve as a dry pantry and appliance storage. AND they match the existing cabinetry. They are sturdy and practical and suit my needs perfectly! "
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Product

Date:July 3, 2012
" I bought two of these, one white for extra bowls, skillet, popcorn maker, etc. for the dining room and this one for the kid's movies, crafts, magazines, catalogues, etc. It's very nice to have the adjustable shelving for large or odd size kitchenware, crafts, books or what have you.
The quality is ok too. Over time the shelves started to sag slightly but for the weight that we put on them it's understandable. Also, from my experience the kind of material the shelving is made of (particle) is prone to sagging.
Save yourself a few bucks and wait for this to come up in CT's regular rotation of sales flyers.
I would recommend this to a friend. "
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

junk

Date:May 27, 2011
" This is the worse quality product I have ever seen with Black and Deckers name on it.Took an hour to assemble every nail split the sides.The corners on the shelves were chipped.DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. "
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Came Back For More

Date:May 4, 2011
" We bought this cabinet to use as a pantry in our kitchen about a month ago. We were so happy with it, and impressed by how much it could hold, we went back and bought another for our kids playroom and filled it with books and toys. Would recommended using metal brackets to fasten it to the wall. "
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Courtenay, BC

Questionable quality

Date:March 12, 2011
" Although the display model had solid particle wood doors, the one I bought had particle board frames and cardboard inserts. The back board is also cardboard so moving this unit will require some tact.
Also, the finish is easily scratched.
Assembly took about an hour and was relatively easy. Hinges are likely worth more than all the rest of the parts.
Looks good at a distance.
I would expect solid doors and a decent back board at this price. "
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Perkinsfield, Ontario

Bought Two Of Them

Date:January 9, 2011
" I did quite a bit of searching at 4 or 5 retailers before I bought my first unit last August at CTC. Overall, I found this cabinet/pantry to be the best value and had the most features for a basic inexpensive storage unit. It is quite attractive, easy to assemble and sturdy. I was very impressed by the storage room. It is made of particleboard with a very thin laminate. The thin laminate didn't surprise me since all comparable products seem to be made this way now. The shelves are 5/8" thick and seem to carry fairly heavy loads pretty well. The packaged unit itself is very heavy and tightly packed. Two people will probably be required to carry it from the store into your vehicle. There may be some difficulty actually fitting the package into a regular car; I used a minivan. Overall, I was very pleased with the unit. I recently bought a second one. I use one as a kitchen pantry and the second to store books, CD's, DVD's and PC accessories. "
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Was expecting better

Date:March 1, 2010
" As many have mentioned, at this price it's hard to go wrong. Unfortunately in this case there are too many problems too ignore.
1) The finish is literally pealing off many of the corners.
2)Many of the drilled holes are stuffed with saw dust (a pain to empty)
3)The door frames are fine, but the centre's are made of flimsy quasi cardboard.
4)The backboard is really a paper-like sheet. (definitely not what usual backboards are made of)
It's really hard to believe that B&D couldn't have improved the quality of the materials without breaking the bank. I generally put much faith in Canadian Tire products. But in this case I would definitely recommend spending a little more and buying a better product. "
+79points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Etobicoke, Ontario

Great Cupboard

Date:January 22, 2010
" This cupboard is great for so many things. It is spacious and sturdy and above all , it looks FANTASTIC. We bought 3 of them and will probably buy a couple more. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Storage Cabinet, Alder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Prince Albert, SK

Very Useful!

Date:January 11, 2010
" We liked this pantry so much we purchased 2 more...1 for food, 1 for dishes and cookware, and one for towels. We do not have a single closet in out house so these have proven to be the largest but also the sturdiest.
I did assemble the 1st one alone but it was much faster with another person.
Only 2 cons - I would have liked the pantry a couple inches deeper and the doors were really hard to get perfectly closed and level. "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3