Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Smart Screen

Smart Screen

Keeps leaves, tree limbs, dirt, debris and small animals from entering the gutter which could lead to blockages and inefficient drainageStrengthens the eaves through system and prevents saggingEasily installed onto eaves by any do-it-yourselferEach box covers 20 linear feet (6.1 m) of eaves through
Average Customer Rating:
3.158 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
11 of 19(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smart Screen
Review 1 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Great product

Date:May 20, 2009
"This really works well and makes the eaves much stronger too. I've tried them all before, the plastic ones, the steel mesh and from other hardware stores. Hard to find product, glad CTC started selling them. Wait and get them on sale, $3 per foot can add up pretty quickly. Easy to install and maintenance free."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Paris, Brant, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

No more ladder climbing.

Date:June 23, 2014
"I installed on my garage two years ago as there is a huge maple tree with leaves and keys and waited to see if it was effective as I had hoped for and it was. Now I have done my house as well which is the cottage style roof all four sides have troughs.
I recommend this product as being a effective way to combat the problem for clean troughs and downspouts."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

wowww

Date:June 17, 2014
"I have tried other products and was skeptical. Smart Screen really works!!! Easily installed and the templates on the box were a big help for the corners. Iwould recommend this product to anyone looking for a solution to keeping your eaves clean. And made in Canada..... don't get that often anymore."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome product!

Date:June 17, 2014
"I purchased Smart Screen because I live on a farm surrounded by various trees. The gutters were always clogging up. Since I had the smart screens installed I don't have any problems. When we had the big ice storm this year my eaves troughs didn't weigh down with ice and fall off like previous years. Thank you Smart Screen!"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

SAVE YOUR MONEY

Date:April 25, 2014
"I purchased for my home. Put them up and got a beautiful waterfall over my eaves and down along my home. I took them down and tossed in the garbage. Waste of my money."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product great price

Date:March 14, 2014
"I installed this product on my house, I used to clean my gutters 5 times a year. I would recommend this product."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT, Canada

Go with the other product that CTC sells

Date:March 29, 2013
"I have tried both ( this product shown and the expanded metal type that CTC sells).Although this product has the better appearance as opposed to the expanded metal type (EMT), the EMT is much easier to install and to use for maintaining the troughs when needed every few years. When using standoff brackets on your ladder and place the brackets on the roof, you can easily flip the screens open to clean inside the trough. Cutting the EMT is easy with tin snips for any type of modifications to them. Clip them on to the edge of your trough and you are done. The EMT screens are also better priced. I now install the EMT screens on my client's homes that I used to clean eavestroughs for."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Regina

Turns your eve troughs into Niagra Falls

Date:February 20, 2013
"Not a simple install and after one rain i had to remove most of them because the water ran off them like a water fall. Keeps the leaves and the water out. Install is not as simple as the instructions suggest. A flap on the fascia side of the screen needs to be bent up to fit the trough, this is great if your trough is more than an inch below your shingles, if they're not i have no idea where that flap is supposed to go. If you buy these ----good luck."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Not very Smart

Date:August 12, 2012
"I installed these around my house last Spring - 100 feet worth.
I'm sorry I did. In moderate heavy rain the water just shoots across the the top and runs off the outside edge rather than going in the gutters. The holes are way too small. I had to put in a second sump pump to handle the runoff near the foundation. I decided to remove them and go back to the plastic mesh that I had before. It works much better and is a tenth of the cost.. Then I'll try to return them for refund.
"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kamsack, SK

Looks OK so far!

Date:December 31, 2011
"I bought these when they were on sale earlier in the fall, and decided to install them on my garage eaves. I needed about 5 boxes to finish this and decided to use it as a test run before I finished the remainder of the house. So far, everything looks good - debris does stay on top of the screens, but in my experience it dries up and blows off the screens. As long as it keeps the debris out of my eavestrough, I'll be happy. In the spring I will probably put them on the remainder of the eaves. Downside: they are super expensive, I will wait for a sale before I buy them again."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as claimed by the person endorsing it

Date:October 17, 2011
"While these are the best of this family of products, B E W A R E that even with the Smart Screen, you still have to regularly clean your gutters!! And you actually have to do the cleaning more often. However, your total cleaning time is a bit less.
If you do not clean the Smart Screen at least 2 or 3 times a year, then leaves will decompose on the Smart Screen, cake to it, and clog the holes, rendering the Smart Screen useless. The Maple Seeds (Maple Helicopters) are very troublesome as they get partially stuck in the holes and decompose. You also have to remove the screens once every 3 years or so you can clean inside the gutters.
Before I installed these, all I had to do to clean my gutters was to attach my electric leaf blower to the pole of my roof rake and blow the leaves out of the gutters once a year. Since installing the Smart Screen, I have to repeat the routine at least twice, and then pay someone to remove the Smart Screens to clean inside the gutters. And since ice now builds up on top of the Smart Screen rather than inside the gutters, it pushes more under the shingles and lifts them.
CONCLUSION: I wish I had not installed these. So, next time I see a famous person endorsing a product, I will take the endorsement with a grain of salt and do further research. Material plus installation cost was $600, and another $200 to remove the Screens *just near the down spouts) and clean the gutters. $800 wasted in 3 years."
+51points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Smiths Falls Ontario

Does not work

Date:October 16, 2011
"bought the smart screens on sale at Canadian tire. Even on sale I needed to spend over $600 to finish my whole roof. I installed them in the summer and by the end of October my gutters have plugged three times. The screens keep the leaves out but not the pine needles. The pine needles seem to find their way through the screens. So now spending over $600 I still need to climb my latter and take the screws out of the guard above of my downspouts and remove all the pine needles. I think I should get my money back"
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very satisfied

Date:March 11, 2011
"I purchased this product last year on sale. I first saw it promoted on TV. My Home is surrounded by huge maple trees that dump leaves seedlings etc. The screens did an amazing job battling against all the different debris. I'm not the handiest person out there but the installation was a breeze. I purchased ladder stand offs on a recommendation which made the installation very easy. Had no issue with the ice and snow this winter either."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Think Again Before Purchase

Date:January 27, 2011
"After installing this 8 months ago I found two big negatives with this product
1) Inside corners - It is not designed very well to handle the water coming down a roof valley of any size. You will get a lot of dripping over top of the screen in the corner even in a moderate rain.
2) Icicles - prepare for many of these if you get a lot of freeze/thaw cycles. The snow will build up on top of the screen. With the freeze/thaw it will block the holes, water can't get thru thus forming the icicle or giving a constant drip from the gutter. Not good if your door entrances and/or deck is below.
Before I just got a bit of a snow overhang when the gutter filled up with snow
If I didn't spend so much buying them. I would just take them off & clean the gutters every fall. I had 200 ft of gutter to cover"
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbell River, B.C.

Great Purchase

Date:January 11, 2011
"I bought the Smart Screen because it has Mike Holmes' name on it & I neglected my eaves for too long since I have a 2 story house & the thought of going up & down a ladder every 4 feet seemed very time consuming & a little bit dangerous. After renting scaffolding, I installed the Smart Screen,which was easy to do & now have no problem with leaves in my gutters.The only negative is the cost so buy on sale."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Work as advertised.

Date:July 8, 2010
"I have a huge maple tree that shed's maple keys in the summer, leaves in the fall. I've always had to clean my eaves and downspouts 2-3 times per year. I purchased these strictly to keep stuff out of the eaves, not to strengthen.
Wait for the sale price to purchase, otherwise I feel they are over priced. (Although in a few years I may reflect that they were worth every penny.)
Easy enough to install, took a few hours to do the entire house. Pre-drilling makes things much easier. In some spots tin snips were required to reduce the size of the material.
So far they're working as advertised, keeping all those maple keys out. In heavy rains to date the openings are enough to handle the roof runoff without overshoot. Looking forward to see how they perform in the fall. Neighbour has had the same product for > year and he's satisfied. No issues."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Manitoba

Not for me

Date:June 9, 2010
"I returned them. The product is overpriced for the problems I had with it, and while it keeps out debris, rain seems to go (in part )over them which defeats the purpose of troughs. I found them a major pain to install, esp when you are up 16 feet on a ladder. I will admit they are very solid,and probably do strengthen the eaves but the eaves have been up there 27 years w/o these. I would suggest if you buy them, buy one box when on sale and see the results yourself to make an informed decision for your circumstances."
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to work with

Date:October 13, 2009
"I bought this for my husband for his birthday but instead of wrapping it up I installed it while he was at work. My daughter helped me and we were able to get it done in about 3 hours. He was very surprised and is happy that he will never have to clean out the eaves again. So far the leaves are just starting to fall and it is working well!"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Greater Montreal Area

Worth a shot

Date:August 25, 2009
"I bought this product because it was endorsed by Mike Holmes, the renovating guru from Toronto who has a show on HGTV. I wanted to replace the plastic mesh that I had been using for the past 5-yrs and which I found to be deficient.
As claimed, The Smart Screen is easy to install. I drilled a small pilot hole before installing the screws which I found made things easier and faster. Once installed the appearance is good from above and it does seem to strenghten the eavestrough. So far so good, but time will tell if it lives up to its billing. I am especially anxious to see how it holds up to ice and snow this winter. I'm keeping my fingers crossed."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?