Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Smart Screen

Smart Screen

Keeps leaves, tree limbs, dirt, debris and small animals from entering the gutter which could lead to blockages and inefficient drainageStrengthens the eaves through system and prevents saggingEasily installed onto eaves by any do-it-yourselferEach box covers 20 linear feet (6.1 m) of eaves through
Average Customer Rating:
2.92 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
12
13 of 25(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smart Screen
Review 1 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Great product

Date:May 20, 2009
" This really works well and makes the eaves much stronger too. I've tried them all before, the plastic ones, the steel mesh and from other hardware stores. Hard to find product, glad CTC started selling them. Wait and get them on sale, $3 per foot can add up pretty quickly. Easy to install and maintenance free. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:mb canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

save your money !!!!

Date:August 23, 2015
" As I was putting them on I was wondering if the holes were to small. Needless to say, just as I was about finished installing on my house, it started to rain and not very hard. Water ran around and not in eave. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. I will be taking off and tossing them in the garbage. Have to replace my flashing as I have holes from installation. Thanks MIKE!!! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't bother

Date:July 23, 2015
" I have had the same results as some others. Keeps leaves , debris and WATER out of eaves. Water just pours over the sides. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:London, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

VALUE FOR THE MONEY

Date:July 21, 2015
" Have been purchasing a couple boxes each year when they go on sale at about 30% off and have covered the areas where the most trees are. They are sturdy, easy snap in and out and stop not just the leaves but also the keys from getting in the eves and growing trees. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint-John, NB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Junk!!

Date:July 14, 2015
" Junk, absolute garbage. Don't waste your money. Go get the clip in ones as these are no good. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterloo
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Smartscreen

Date:January 23, 2015
" My husband and I have annually cleaned our trough due to the heavily treed area we live in. After considerable research we installed the SmartScreen product and I have to say we are delighted with the results. Easy to install and now we have time to just rake our leaves. Thankyou. Also I do not have to worry about my husband up on the roof anymore. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Coquitlam, BC
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

An useless Product

Date:December 21, 2014
" I live in a area with a lot of fir trees. I thought that Smart Screen might help reducing the need for frequent trough and down spout cleaning effort. I bought and installed 160 feet of this product on two sides of my house for testing. When it rained first time after installation I noticed water drops along the outside of the gutter and a small water fall trickling down the facial board behind the gutter at the inside corner of the roof line. I thought it might be due to excessive amount of fir needles accumulated on the Smart Screen. I cleaned the screen before next rain fall.Unfortunately, after the cleaning, same thing happened under a moderate rainfall. Water just can not go through the holes fast enough, resulting in overflow to the gutter front and back. I had to remove a bunch of the Screen quickly and wondered what is this product for? It didn't work with tree needles on the screen and strangely, it didn't work when the screens were cleaned. Anyone contemplating on using this product, please read the above again! "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Paris, Brant, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

No more ladder climbing.

Date:June 23, 2014
" I installed on my garage two years ago as there is a huge maple tree with leaves and keys and waited to see if it was effective as I had hoped for and it was. Now I have done my house as well which is the cottage style roof all four sides have troughs.
I recommend this product as being a effective way to combat the problem for clean troughs and downspouts. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

wowww

Date:June 17, 2014
" I have tried other products and was skeptical. Smart Screen really works!!! Easily installed and the templates on the box were a big help for the corners. Iwould recommend this product to anyone looking for a solution to keeping your eaves clean. And made in Canada..... don't get that often anymore. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome product!

Date:June 17, 2014
" I purchased Smart Screen because I live on a farm surrounded by various trees. The gutters were always clogging up. Since I had the smart screens installed I don't have any problems. When we had the big ice storm this year my eaves troughs didn't weigh down with ice and fall off like previous years. Thank you Smart Screen! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

SAVE YOUR MONEY

Date:April 25, 2014
" I purchased for my home. Put them up and got a beautiful waterfall over my eaves and down along my home. I took them down and tossed in the garbage. Waste of my money. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product great price

Date:March 14, 2014
" I installed this product on my house, I used to clean my gutters 5 times a year. I would recommend this product. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT, Canada

Go with the other product that CTC sells

Date:March 29, 2013
" I have tried both ( this product shown and the expanded metal type that CTC sells).Although this product has the better appearance as opposed to the expanded metal type (EMT), the EMT is much easier to install and to use for maintaining the troughs when needed every few years. When using standoff brackets on your ladder and place the brackets on the roof, you can easily flip the screens open to clean inside the trough. Cutting the EMT is easy with tin snips for any type of modifications to them. Clip them on to the edge of your trough and you are done. The EMT screens are also better priced. I now install the EMT screens on my client's homes that I used to clean eavestroughs for. "
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Regina

Turns your eve troughs into Niagra Falls

Date:February 20, 2013
" Not a simple install and after one rain i had to remove most of them because the water ran off them like a water fall. Keeps the leaves and the water out. Install is not as simple as the instructions suggest. A flap on the fascia side of the screen needs to be bent up to fit the trough, this is great if your trough is more than an inch below your shingles, if they're not i have no idea where that flap is supposed to go. If you buy these ----good luck. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Not very Smart

Date:August 12, 2012
" I installed these around my house last Spring - 100 feet worth.
I'm sorry I did. In moderate heavy rain the water just shoots across the the top and runs off the outside edge rather than going in the gutters. The holes are way too small. I had to put in a second sump pump to handle the runoff near the foundation. I decided to remove them and go back to the plastic mesh that I had before. It works much better and is a tenth of the cost.. Then I'll try to return them for refund.
"
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kamsack, SK

Looks OK so far!

Date:December 31, 2011
" I bought these when they were on sale earlier in the fall, and decided to install them on my garage eaves. I needed about 5 boxes to finish this and decided to use it as a test run before I finished the remainder of the house. So far, everything looks good - debris does stay on top of the screens, but in my experience it dries up and blows off the screens. As long as it keeps the debris out of my eavestrough, I'll be happy. In the spring I will probably put them on the remainder of the eaves. Downside: they are super expensive, I will wait for a sale before I buy them again. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as claimed by the person endorsing it

Date:October 17, 2011
" While these are the best of this family of products, B E W A R E that even with the Smart Screen, you still have to regularly clean your gutters!! And you actually have to do the cleaning more often. However, your total cleaning time is a bit less.
If you do not clean the Smart Screen at least 2 or 3 times a year, then leaves will decompose on the Smart Screen, cake to it, and clog the holes, rendering the Smart Screen useless. The Maple Seeds (Maple Helicopters) are very troublesome as they get partially stuck in the holes and decompose. You also have to remove the screens once every 3 years or so you can clean inside the gutters.
Before I installed these, all I had to do to clean my gutters was to attach my electric leaf blower to the pole of my roof rake and blow the leaves out of the gutters once a year. Since installing the Smart Screen, I have to repeat the routine at least twice, and then pay someone to remove the Smart Screens to clean inside the gutters. And since ice now builds up on top of the Smart Screen rather than inside the gutters, it pushes more under the shingles and lifts them.
CONCLUSION: I wish I had not installed these. So, next time I see a famous person endorsing a product, I will take the endorsement with a grain of salt and do further research. Material plus installation cost was $600, and another $200 to remove the Screens *just near the down spouts) and clean the gutters. $800 wasted in 3 years. "
+52points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Smiths Falls Ontario

Does not work

Date:October 16, 2011
" bought the smart screens on sale at Canadian tire. Even on sale I needed to spend over $600 to finish my whole roof. I installed them in the summer and by the end of October my gutters have plugged three times. The screens keep the leaves out but not the pine needles. The pine needles seem to find their way through the screens. So now spending over $600 I still need to climb my latter and take the screws out of the guard above of my downspouts and remove all the pine needles. I think I should get my money back "
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very satisfied

Date:March 11, 2011
" I purchased this product last year on sale. I first saw it promoted on TV. My Home is surrounded by huge maple trees that dump leaves seedlings etc. The screens did an amazing job battling against all the different debris. I'm not the handiest person out there but the installation was a breeze. I purchased ladder stand offs on a recommendation which made the installation very easy. Had no issue with the ice and snow this winter either. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Smart Screen
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Think Again Before Purchase

Date:January 27, 2011
" After installing this 8 months ago I found two big negatives with this product
1) Inside corners - It is not designed very well to handle the water coming down a roof valley of any size. You will get a lot of dripping over top of the screen in the corner even in a moderate rain.
2) Icicles - prepare for many of these if you get a lot of freeze/thaw cycles. The snow will build up on top of the screen. With the freeze/thaw it will block the holes, water can't get thru thus forming the icicle or giving a constant drip from the gutter. Not good if your door entrances and/or deck is below.
Before I just got a bit of a snow overhang when the gutter filled up with snow
If I didn't spend so much buying them. I would just take them off & clean the gutters every fall. I had 200 ft of gutter to cover "
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2