Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Air Cleaners & Purifiers or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System

Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System

Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System is a whole home air purification system to provide you with clean, healthy indoor airSafely kills viruses, moulds, bacteria, dust mites and fungi with UVC light to alleviate allergies, asthma, cold and flu symptomsMounts on the duct work of forced ai
Average Customer Rating:
3.64 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
17 of 25(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Review 1 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

improved?

Date:October 20, 2013
" I bought this item over, and it worked for about 10 months, then I had to replace the bulb and the same as other people the replacement bulb burnt out within minutes, and I made sure I didn't touch the bulb with my bare hands, I wore gloves, which is what you have to do with these bulbs. I was still within my Canadian tire replacement time, I took back the unit and replacement bulb and had them replaced. the new unit worked for about a year I replaced the bulb a few months ago and it is still working. not sure if I just lucked out or if they improved the receptacle. either way it is still working. As for the product effectiveness, I have had sinus issues always, but since I have been using this, there is a definite improvement in my sinuses, I don't have to walk around with a Kleenex in my pocket anymore! and I haven't had a cold of flu since it had been installed the first time. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boucherville, QC, Canada

Poor quality

Date:April 6, 2013
" The bulb burnt out after 4 months use. I called the company and they said the bulb should have lasted at least 10 months to a year. Their solution was to buy another bulb and if it burnt out again then give them a call. Unfortunately Swordfish is not a company that stands behind their product. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Great until it dies

Date:March 8, 2013
" This worked well for a few months and then stopped. I changed the but but that didn't fix it. I called and received a replacement for the main (electronic) component and that worked for a couple of years until it too died. I think I'll get another brand now. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Best Purchase to Date

Date:February 11, 2013
" I bought this product for my family as we suffer from allergies, colds and flu every year. I purchased it in 2010 on recommendation from our furnace guy. Well needless to say I am impressed with it!!!! We have not had to suffer from allergies, colds or flus in the last 3 years. Kudos to the Swordfish!!!!! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

GREAT PRODUCT - Highly Recommend

Date:January 9, 2013
" I am very satisfied with my Swordfish Unit! I purchased and installed the system in February 2012 and since then have not been sick once!!! This is a major breakthrough for me, as I could not go through the year without being sick at least 3 -4 times. Not only can I now breathe easier, I have minimized my spending on medication - bonus! I have also found relief of my allergy symptoms - less sneezing and stuffy nose.
I just checked to see if my bulb was in need of replacement, as the packaging recommends to change after one year. So far my red light has not come on and the product is still working!
I did have a question about the unit when I first purchased it and experienced GREAT customer service when I called. They were so nice and answered all my questions. Makes me feel good to know that support is only a call away!!!
My experience has been AMAZING and I would highly recommend the Swordfish Unit! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON, Canada

Unreliable and poor customer service

Date:December 13, 2012
" Over the past year I have purchased and installed two of these units. First the positive - it seems to do the job when it is actually working and it is easy to install. The problem is the unit head is poorly made and malfunctions. The first unit head only lasted a couple of months so I was able to return it to CT and get a replacement. The second one lasted 9 months so I had to go to the manufacturer. They told me to mail the unit head to them at my own expense and they would fix it. What kind of warranty service is that? Other companies I have dealt with for warranty work send me boxes with UPS labels. After finally getting it fixed and returned, it malfuntioned again within a few months. Complete waste of time and money. There are similar UV light purifiers on the market that cost upwards of $400 so I thought I was getting a deal but let's face it - you get what you pay for. Spend your money on a higher quality unit. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Good if it worked :(

Date:December 9, 2012
" This product seems to work good but not for a long time. Mine second unit has just failed and I have to send it to the manufacturer again (now I wonder if I just should give up = waste of money). That's just in 3 years! Terrible. The symptom looks the same as with others : does not accept new lamp, even I exchanged them twice. Why company could not fix this problem for a long time? "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, Ontario

Terrible product and support

Date:November 5, 2012
" It's a shame I'm writing this. I bought the unit on April 27th, 2012. It's been just over 6 months. The red light is supposed to flash to warn you the bulb is near the end of its life, which is supposed to be over 1 year. Mine quit in 6 months, no warning.
E-mailed swordfish, and they want me to send them the unit for testing, like others have said. So now I'm expected to spend more money on an alerady expensive unit.
It's too bad, because it seemed like the unit really did help while it worked. Too bad the product failed WAY prematurely, and the after purchase support is a joke. "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tecumseh Ont

Best Purchase Ever

Date:September 27, 2011
" Purchased the Swordfish UV light more than 3 years ago..Amazing product since I installed it the Family had no colds or flu..
Variable speed Furnace fan is set to "on"at all times also I keep the UV swordlight always on which I think prolongs the life of the bulb. I just replaced once in over 3 years.When changing the bulb really important not to touch the bulb with bare hands use a cloth or gloves.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bowmanville, On.

Problems.

Date:April 21, 2011
" I purchased two units, and have a similiar problem that I see mentioned by another reviewer. Bulbs lasted about 6 mths. And, now that I try replacements bulbs, they don't work. So, now I think it must be that the units themselves perhaps blew, taking out the bulbs with them in the process. I'm currently in the process of contacting the compant to see if they will assist.
This is too bad, as I believe the units are effective when they work. I was healthier this last winter as compared to the previous two winters where I was battling nasty bouts of bronchitis. I was willing to try this out to be healthier, but not sure what to do with the swordfish now. These bulbs aren't cheap !
"
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Unit failed within two months.

Date:February 21, 2011
" I bought this system within the last two months, it burned out the light within two months, where the UV light should last a year.
After buying replacement bulbs the unit burned out these lights within 5 minutes of being turned on.
Canadian tire did not refund or offer a replacement for either the faulty unit or the replacement lamps.
Allanson, the company producing it has not provided any response for support.
While it worked, it was great, however it does not last long. "
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lasts less than a year

Date:November 30, 2010
" I purchased this unit less than a year ago. For the first 9 months or so, the unit worked well in our home (I have had this unit in 2 other homes with the SAME outcome) until it was time to change the bulb for the first time. Once this was done, each bulb within the first 5 minutes makes the unit flash to "replace bulb" again. According to the manufacturer, it is the unit now that is the problem and want me to send it back for testing... leaving the hole in my furnace that I am responsible for closing up until they "get around" to testing my unit and sending something back in its place. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, ON

Works and I'm glad I got it

Date:October 15, 2010
" I have allergies and asthma, as does my son. Every fall, just as school starts, he'll get sick because of the air at school and mix of germs he picks up at school.
This is one of the best investments in my family's home air quality. I had a room Swordfish unit, when we lived in a condo. Having moved to a house with a furnace, it was on my list of things to do as a first measure of importance. The unit installed easily even for a non-technical person like myself. Instructions would be great if they had more pictogram style of instructions since I am much more of a visual learner, but I got the hang of it and installed it with minimal fuss. Just a reminder though, that as you drill into the metal, that the friction heats up the metal on the furnace...I burned my finger due to my own cluelessness.
My son slept with no more noticeable congestion than he has in a long time. I know that this works. His need to use the puffers have decreased. That's a measurable difference. I hope more people realize how this can make a difference combined with a good filter! "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklin, Ont

Very easy to install

Date:January 24, 2010
" Found it very easy to install the unit itself. The most involved part was adding another electrical outlet near the furnace. Our existing outlet at the furnace already had the humidifier and water heater vent motor plugged in.
The unit itself seems to work, had it installed for a month now - January cold season - and my kids are not coming down with anything. Not sure if its the placebo effect that some of the other reviewers mentioned. I guess after a year we'll have a better idea of how it is working "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON

Very easy to install, works well

Date:December 30, 2009
" I have very bad allergies so installed this with high grade air filter to assist. This is only part of air cleaning regime, by itself it cannot work miracles. Very easy to install for DIY. Installed in late 2006 and replaced bulb in early 2009, Not bad. light on device comes on when bulb needs to be replaced. I check twice a year when the furnace airfilter is replaced. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome product

Date:December 29, 2009
" bought and installed,easy job. so far none of my family catch a cold (usually my little one will catch a cold at this time of year) . "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Easy Install, Silent & Effective

Date:November 1, 2009
" I just installed the Swordfish about a month ago and it was so easy. It took me longer to gather the tools together I needed than to install the product (and it comes with a 2" hole saw bit to drill into the ductwork!).
I have terrible allergies/reactions to dust & particulates in the air, & I can tell you that since I've installed this unit I simply don't sneeze inside anymore. I'd recommend that you also have a good quality portable or inline humidifier, as well as a good quality electrostatic furnace filter (I have the WEB washable electrostatic).
I'd also recommend you plug it into a surge protector as you would with any of your home electronics/computer equipment.
It's nice to know that with all the recent serious concerns with such things as airborne mould spores, and especially H1N1, that there is something working for me in the house to improve the quality of air I'm breathing.
Very Happy! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calgary

Swordfish UV unit

Date:October 13, 2009
" I purchased and installed two of these units about 9 months ago.
The power head on the first one packed up about a month ago and was replaced by Canadian Tire, and the power head on the second one packed up this week, so that'll be going back for replacement, too. Not a very good failure rate - 2:2.
Other than that, the units seem fine for their purpose and role. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC

Great product

Date:May 12, 2009
" I know that most people would skeptical at first about the swordfish, but like air purifier, you cannot see the result with your eyes instead, just experience it. It was true that no one in our house catch a cold during the winter. I have two kids and they usually catch one or two cold or flu during wither and this year we did not had any cold or flu. It was just incredible. I have added timer with swordfish because I am using programmable thermostat so that I can extend bulb life and save some energy. If this unit comes with timer, it will be even better. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Swordfish® UVC Whole Home Air Purification System
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have with humidifier.

Date:November 12, 2008
" I have noticed that this works wonders with my drum style humidfier. The water in the pan is eerily clean even after several months of disuse with only the odd hard water scale here and there. Aside from the "cool" smell posted by others, I've also noticed a lack of irritation with higher humidity levels. While this doesn't do much for cat dander and particulate matter (something a furnace filter is supposed to clean anyway) it does get rid of mold and creepy crawlies like there's no tommorrow. Most definitly recommended. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2