Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HydroRight Dual-Flush System

HydroRight Dual-Flush System

Converts toilet to a dual-flush systemSaves water and is easy to install with no tools requiredFits most toilets, without the need to remove the tank to installOne button for small flushes and one for large flushesEliminates flapper problemsModel number HYR270C
Average Customer Rating:
3.017 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
20
32 of 57(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Review 1 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Blue gasket at bottom would not seal

Date:September 13, 2010
" I initially had high hopes for this dual flush system kit.
However, after installing it, the water would just slowly drain out of the tank and into the bowl. The blue cone shaped gasket at the bottom would not form a good seal. As a result, water would slowly leak out and toilet would be constantly filling itself. After going on website for more tips/troubleshooting, and also tinkering/experimenting, I still could not get a good seal.
True, it is an easy tool-less installation, but it didn't work for me. You might have better luck than I did. "
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works OK with a Leaking Problem

Date:August 8, 2010
" This device worked great for about 4 months. It then developed a minor klitch. Every 24 minutes it made filling noises. On inspection water was slowly leaking into the bowl. On further inspection the ZipTie had broken and fallen to the bottom, which then allowed the water leak. It was easy to fix with another ZipTie. The problem for me is that a minor leak can't be tolerated with a finite cistern water supply. I would also suggest a black ZipTie for easy
problem identification on the white bottom.
"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Simpley does not work well

Date:March 24, 2012
" After perusing the other reviews, I will keep mine short since I would be echoing much of what the other reviewers have already said.
In summary, stops working after several months and, in addition, the button becomes almost impossible to press for mortal men.
Not recommended. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia

Disappointed

Date:May 14, 2010
" Unable to get the gasket to seat properly to prevent constant leakage into toilet bowl. Somewhat pointless to reduce flush volume but create a permanent leak. Very disappointed. Back it goes... "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alberta

works great for about 2 years

Date:March 20, 2013
" purchased three of these for the house about 2 1/2 years ago. Installed easily, and worked great. then the first one failed at the 2 year mark.. The second one failed a month later and the last one that is still installed just quit working. No response from their customer service, never buying another of there products and will go out of my way to discourage others from buying this. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

No Customer Support

Date:February 10, 2013
" My unit started sticking in the open position after about two years. I contacted MJSI (the manufacturer) about a warranty replacement as this unit comes with a 5 year warranty but haven't been able to get anyone to call me back. Filled their webform on their site several times, called and left VM, tweeted and messaged their Facebook with no answer. A quick look at their Facebook comments and you'll see that they don't care about satisfying customers. A shame really as the product has the potential to be a great addition to toilets everywhere. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West St Paul Manitoba

meh its ok

Date:March 27, 2010
" wont truly meet boxes claims, if your going to buy a dual flush, do it, dont nickel and dime with this "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Markhan, Ontario

Room for improvement

Date:March 5, 2010
" I tried the Rotate Cam in every possible position but the bottom domed rubber gasket just wouldn't seal properly. Luckly I found a piece from my old fill valve that fit in between the overflow tube and the converter housing tilting it and the leak stop. The protruding push button kind of gets in the way of the seat cover. Also I have to hold it when using the half flush button instead of just push it once. I would say this is more like a beta rather than a final version to me. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Money flushed down the toilet

Date:January 22, 2010
" I installed this system and have regretted it since. The first flush option only fills the bowl with more water without flushing. I adjusted the settings but to no avail. I must always use the second flush option, the "big flush". I am in the city and water pressure is not a problem.
It also does not fit with all toilet systems. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:September 4, 2010
" Installed in all three toilets in our house and had problems with every one. In theory, a great idea; in practice, not so much. The blue rubber "cone" that goes into flush throat (?) leaked in all three toilets. We were plagued with phantom flushes at all hours. Night time water running was always waking us up. Finally got two to work, but with a lot of fiddling and adjusting. Never could get the one in our ensuite to quit leaking. Would recommend getting a low-flush toilet instead, which we finally did for all three. Can now sleep through the night.
I'm all for reducing our water usage, but I also expect a product to work as promised. "
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NOT A GOOD PURCHASE

Date:August 31, 2010
" I purchased this dual flush system a few months ago. I installed it in my daughter's bathroom, thinking that it would be easy for her to operate. Instead, she is unable to push the button in far enough to operate the flush mechanism. My wife finds it very stiff and difficult to depress also. After numerous adjustments and flushes trying to set it up, it still will not flush properly on the "quick flush" option. I have removed this system and went back to the conventional one. Save your money and do not buy this product - it is a piece of junk!!! "
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Poor Quality

Date:February 14, 2012
" As many others on other sites have noted, it stopped functioning properly after about 5 months. Malfunctioned completely after about 7 months, would have overfilled the tank and flooded my bathroom had I not been there to shut off the water. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg

No Good for Low Flow Toilets

Date:February 9, 2012
" I tried installing these on 3 different toilets, and it wouldn't work on any of them. Each of the toilets was a 6L flush design. Using the full flush works fine, but the half-flush just doesn't provide enough water to change the water in the bowl, no matter how you adjust the stops.
The low flow toilets are designed to provide a complete water change using 6L. Anything less, and you'll have to flush twice.
On the other hand, if you have an older 13L flush toilet, I could see how this could save you quite a bit of water. But then, you'd be better off in the long run just getting a whole new toilet. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

don't waste your money

Date:November 4, 2011
" I purcased this product for 6 litre toilet which was a complete waste of time and money. I should have read the other reviews before purchase. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC

Just get a water conserving toilet!

Date:March 28, 2011
" I purchased four pieces from this manufacturer, two dual flush units and two water saving fill valves. Over the course of two years, both dual flush converters and one fill valve have stuck enough times that I have reverted the toilets back to standard mechanism.
I am mechanically inclined and found these units not to be rocket science to install, but quite finicky to set up.
When the dual flush units began to stick open, allowing the water to flow continuously, the company recommended raising the setting up a notch or two from the bottom. This wasn't a fix.
When one of the fill units began to stick, it resulted in a tank that would not refill after flushing.
Our city has a rebate program in effect that encourages switching to water-saving toilets. If I had done that I would have an extra $50 towards the new toilets, and my water bills would have been lower without those valves sticking open, sending all of that water into the sewer.
Canadian Tire sells some great toilets!.
"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:London, On

Save money by not buying this!

Date:October 17, 2012
" I bought two of them, wow, reduce the water bill.
well we already had low flow tolits.
Got it installed, the low flush didn't work on one, had to try and modify the product to make it work, still not reliable, works every other time. :( or i could hold the low flush and it would work.
The other one worked on both bottons.
So good so far.
Well how many times did I come into the bathroom and the bowl is filling, nobody has been home for hours.... how much water does that save when the flap fails to close? jiggling the button, or opening the tank and reaching in and clicking up on the flap causes it to come down, but do I have to always listen for running water now? Wow what a waste. The other keeps having it's problems too. Hard to press, running water, overfilling...
It seems like a great idea, but you'll save more money just not buying this. If I was going to do it again I would buy the more complicated one from Fluidmaster, at least they are a trusted brand that already builds good durable flush valves, flappers etc "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, Mb

Not Very Good

Date:December 1, 2010
" If you have small children...FORGET IT...button is very stiff...10 years and under will have a hard time flushing the toilet.
Worked good for about 2 months...since then it sticks...leaving the water constantly filling the toilet, unless I hear the water running and re-press the button again...That eats up any savings.
Poor product...but what can you expect for $30 bucks...thought I'd try it!
Stay away!! "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not for all toilets

Date:January 20, 2011
" Purchased this product on sale after my wife saw it on City Line where they raved about it. Does not work on tolets with a flapper valve opening larger than 2 to 2.5 inches. Out toilet is an American Standard with a large flush opening. The blue rubber part that goes into the flapper valve opeing will not fit. Does not tell you this on the outside of the packaging or on the instructions. Had to go to their website to find out and it took some searching to find it. A great idea tha probably works on some toilets but a waste of time for me. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

does not work well

Date:July 15, 2011
" It is easy to install but does not work well after using it for over four months.
Initially it works so well that I install another one in another bathroom.
However, it does not work well with ballcock style fill value - after flushing, the water level sometimes keep rising, causing water to go to the overflow tube.
Sometimes after flushing, the water would just slowly drain out of the tank and into the bowl.As a result, water would slowly leak out and toilet would be constantly filling itself.
The button is stiff, one of my friends find it too hard to push.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for HydroRight Dual-Flush System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wastes more water than it saves

Date:January 19, 2013
" I could only get this to install on 1 of 3 toilets (seal would not center from riser).
It intermittently leaks no matter how much I'd adjust it. To echo some of the other comments: we've often come home to hear the tank filling, I'd love to know how much water has been wasted?
Save your money and purchase a dual flush toilet, what a poorly designed concept!
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3