Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump

Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump

Corrosion resistant Thermax® base with 1-1/4" dischargeNon corroding/ self lubricating galvanized steel shaftNon clogging open impellerFeatures thermal overload protectionIncludes automatic switch and 8' power cord1/3 HP motor pumps 0-2700 gph15.5 lbs. (7 kg)
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Review 1 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St.John's
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Pumped out our basement

Date:June 4, 2014
" Had to get this in a hurry when we had a flood from a lot of usual rain. Works pretty good. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

emergency pump

Date:May 11, 2013
" Got this in an emergency and seems to do the job. Cuts in when needed. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Died in 3 weeks!

Date:March 14, 2013
" Bought this beauty in January, preparing for the upcoming spring. Had it for 3 weeks, no problem, until the first rain storm. Unit was running for maybe 5-10 minutes straight, then overheated and burnt out. Basement was starting to fill up, had to run out and buy another pump. Needless to say went went a couple of levels up! Very thankfull it didn't happen at night. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs a check valve

Date:June 2, 2012
" I don't understand why this pump requires a check valve, yet it does not come with it. It pumps well, but it's ridiculous that required accessories are not provided. Now I have to go back to the store to get this. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alliston, ontario

Works for me!!!

Date:November 30, 2011
" Easy to install- quiet and pushes water fast. Not much more you can ask for 60 bucks!
I desiged water features for 5 years and dealt with pumps of all types- SUBMERSIBLES are not what you want they WILL leak- Take it to the bank! Get the motor out of the water. Water and electricity are a bad combo.
This worked for me.. the cast iron pump that was in there failed myserably- why?. Guess- LEAK.
Buy it you will not be sorry!
Cheers,
PS Make sure to use a check valve at the foot of the pump!
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK

Good Value

Date:June 18, 2011
" It seemed the best deal going out of all the pumps there, that I thoroughly looked at while at the store.
When I brought it home, the wife didn't like it.
So, I made her take it back and pick out the one she wants....
Send your wife!
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:West St Paul Manitoba

get what you pay for

Date:April 9, 2011
" it is a decent pump, quiet, etc. But if you want to move any kind of water in a hurry, buy the next one up, the impellar is lacking in pushing power "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterdown

Very good purchase

Date:March 27, 2011
" I purchased this item about three weeks ago and wanted to give it a good tryout before posting a review, I must say it has performed above expectations, it was easy to install, runs quietly and pumps out excess water in seconds, an excellent buy for the price. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good pump

Date:December 5, 2010
" Pump works well. It is quiet and moves a lot of water in a hurry. My pit is a 12-inch diameter (smallest this will fit) so I had to bend the lower guide clamp for the float rod to get the float closer to the pedestal so it would fit in my well. After that there is still plenty of room for the float to move unhindered. The pump does need a check valve and a discharge kit that are both sold separately and roughly 10 bucks each. "
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Unit for the Money

Date:July 2, 2009
" Not quite as solidly put together as the pump it replaced (Same unit but unstalled 10 years ago) but still a great unit for the price. (Same specs. bought elsewhere would be at least $20 more.)
The float clip was a little annoying to screw together so I used the plastic clip from the old unit. Other than that, super easy to install. No drama and runs quietly.
Good buy. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Essex, ON

Great Value

Date:February 2, 2009
" I've owned this for over 3 yrs now. It replaced a 3/4 hp sump and has done a good job, running many hours and even days with out stopping. It has the same flow rate as the Deluxe Mastercraft Column Sump Pump, at half the price. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Robinson

Best Price

Date:August 29, 2008
" I shopped around, and you can't find a 1/3 sump pump for less than this one at CT. worked like a charm right out of the box. "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 1/3 HP Column Sump Pump
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Battleford,Saskatchewan

Much Needed Purchase

Date:March 28, 2008
" Last year our old sump pump broke down .We ended up with two feet of water in our basement.This year were ready for it with our new 1/3 hp Mastercraft pump! I love that affordability and quality still co-exist at Canadian Tire. Good Job!! "
-33points
Was this review helpful to you?