Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.

Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.

12½' telescopic extension ladder with 16' reachSturdy, lightweight construction (Grade 1)250 lbs duty ratingExtends from 30" to 12½' in 1' increments and can be used at any height in betweenEasy to use, carry and storeFeatures a "slow down" mechanism to ensure safety when retracting the ladderWeighs
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Review 1 for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Amherstburg, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Ladder

Date:June 23, 2014
"We bought this ladder on sale. Intended to use it for our fifth wheel trailer. Great product; light weight, easy to use, packs away in the under belly with no problem and it doesn't scratch the fiberglass. Even my wife can use it; was that easy to operate. LOL. I highly would recommend this ladder to anyone. John; Amherstburg, Ontario."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Ladder

Date:August 31, 2013
"A recent purchase on sale. I bought this for the camper trailer because it is so compact when collapsed and will be easy to stow and will be very handy for all sorts of jobs. I'm quite impressed with the quality and how sturdy it is when I use it. It seemed flimsy when I first extended it, but as soon as you put some weight on it, it's fine. I read in the reviews on here and other forums about a few problems with this ladder, but I'm here to tell you that they have been addressed. One reviewer stated that the rungs were smooth and slippery, but this model has ridges on the rungs so traction is not an issue. I also read where folks were complaining about the feet not being sturdy enough, but mine are obviously an improvement, because they appear to be quite robust and pivot to maintain ground contact. Overall I'm very happy with my purchase and I'm quite sure that with proper care, this ladder will give me many years of service for a great price."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Cant say anything good about this product

Date:December 4, 2011
"We bought this about 18 months ago and only used it abt 3 times when the bottom rung broke off and the next time we used it the next one broke off. Weight shouldnt be an issue user weight is 180 - 185 pounds. We email manufactured several times but they never answered.. This did not do the job we bought it for."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Catharines, ON

Fantastic until it failed at the wrong time

Date:October 8, 2010
"I've owned telesteps for almost two years as a professional painter. It's come in handy on several occasions. Today it failed to close and therefore lost it's height adjusment just when i needed it to be very flexible heightwise. I cannot find any answers on the web how to fix the problem, (probably caused by some debris and/or paint on the Telesteps sides). Has anyone any suggestions?"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Iroquois, ON

It fits in your trunk though!

Date:January 29, 2010
"I agree with the posted reviews. Great ladder for that little job or inside the house. Still may have to consider a regular type, as well. A bit pricey even on sale..."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yellowknife, NT

great if used right

Date:January 10, 2009
"Living in Northern Canada, winter can be harsh, and this product has plastic parts which failed in the cold when I tried to collapse it after a couple of hours use putting up Christmas lights at -25C. For the average user who uses a ladder in the other three seasons, around the house this is a great product. I've worked in the construction industry for 20 years, and find the telesteps handles my 250lb frame well, and yes it flexs a bit if you get it fully extended and climb past the midway point, but you get used to it. The lubricants used are not cold weather friendly and do collect dirt and dust, not to mention getting them on your hands. If you use this ladder at temperatures below -20C, it doesn't like to open and close without being warmed up, OK if you have a garage or large heated shed space you can get it into but a problem for someone who has to get it into the average house and maybe into a store room or basement. Disadvantages are out weighed by the conveniences, especially considering most places don't get below-20C often, and the average person doesn't use ladders during the depth of the winter cold. I'd recommend this ladder to any of my friends."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

tele ladder

Date:September 17, 2008
"I needed something that wouldnt take up space, would carry my weight, and was at least 12' tall. This ladder is near perfect, well made, well balanced and very sturdy. The ability to adjust it to different heights is also an amazing bonus. It can feel a bit uncomfortable at first due to its tendency to flex once your standing on it, but once you have been up and down it a few times its no different than any other ladder for its purpose."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Telesteps Telescoping Ladder, 12½-ft.
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Qualicum, B.C.

Handy for occasional use only, pricey.

Date:May 17, 2008
"If you really need a ladder that you can stow in a small space and you only plan to use it occasionally for short jobs, you will probably be happy with the Telesteps. It has a few significant shortcomings - one being the rungs are smooth aluminum and quite slippery. They should be rubber coated or the surface roughed up somehow. Also the ladder just doesn't feel as stable as a conventional aluminum ladder - you can feel it flexing as you climb up and down it so you won't want to do any major jobs from this ladder. The other annoyance is the silicon lubricant that keeps the telescoping tubes moving smoothly tends to attract dirt and debris if you are doing something like cleaning roof gutters, scraping off loose paint, etc. Consequently you have to thoroughly brush off the ladder prior to collapsing it when you are ready to put it away.
In a nutshell, to get the compact size you are putting up with some fairly major drawbacks. If your main priority is a compact ladder that is easy to transport and store, you'll appreciate this ladder. It's overpriced at regular retail so wait for a sale - I picked it up for $179.99 which is still too much in my opinion.
"
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?