Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Logsplitters, Chippers & Shredders or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter

Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter

1¾ HP engine with 4-ton splitting capacityCylinder splits logs up to 20½" (51 cm) in lengthMobile base for easy positioning
Average Customer Rating:
4.734 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
108 of 113(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Review 1 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Useful

Date:November 4, 2014
"Received this as a birthday gift. Have used it to split, maple, birch (both yellow and white), and oak. All had been previously split 10-12 in diam chunks. It split anything I put on the tray. Had to keep a spacer handy as I was splitting 16-18 in pieces and some would need to have an additional push in order to finish the split. Have it mounted on the optional stand, definitely an asset as it brings it up to a comfortable working height. Working it alone is a bit of a pain as both hands are required to make it operate - one on the motor button and one for the hyd actuator. The wife and I did it as a team which was a definite improvement. All-in-all, sweet machine."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bonfield, o
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Save Your Money

Date:October 31, 2014
"Usually split six bush cord per year with a maul but had hurt my shoulder one year so purchased this on sale. It took the brunt of the work from my shoulder that season. However it is very slow to utilize, you have to bend over too greatly, it does not handle very tough pieces well or at all. Would be okay for a person with limitations for smaller amounts of wood. Otherwise lay out the additional cash and get a gas powered splitter."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Takes hours of use but not invincible!

Date:October 30, 2014
"This 4-ton splitter charged heroically through hours and hours of use, splitting even some very hard, and still a bit wet applewood.
The heavier logs would split, but the support rails on which the full log sits did sag quite a bit - so watch the weight, and/or downward pressure.
Still, the strong electric motor never skipped a beat. It is recommended to have a heavy-duty, quality extension to the site. I used one with a 15a circuit breaker right at the plug end since the motor would occasionally trip the breaker inside the house. Having a breaker right up on the extension head saved me many times from walking into the house to reset the breaker there.
The safety lawyers might argue, but it would be nice (and in some cases safer!) to have an optional foot switch to activate the ram. Too often unevenly cut or branched wood sections will pitch upwards and it's awkward when using it by yourself to maintain your left hand on the switch and your right trying to hold down the log."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good product

Date:October 24, 2014
"works perfect, only change would be the yellow air bleader is in a bad spot just needs to changed to a bolt instead of plastic wing nut"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome

Date:October 23, 2014
"This is a MUST for anybody who has a fire pit or fireplace.
I split a huge pile of seasoned birch with no problems.
Love it.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleased and Surpirsed!

Date:October 22, 2014
"I recently purchased this log splitter being very sceptical about how it would perform. I grew up only using gas powered wood splitters and didn't believe that this little electric wood splitter would stand up to the task. I was extremely surprised with the outcome! This burnt through 4 cord in my spare time for a joke. It handled everything I fed it, all hard wood (maple birch etc), and most around 12 to 20 inches in diameter. neighbours that passed by were also inpressed just by watching it work. I would highly reccomend and have highly reccomended this to anyone who splits their own wood."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes

Great for home use

Date:October 22, 2014
"I've been using this for 4 years now, and loan it to friends a few times a year for their use. It's easy and safe to use and works really well on the stuff you just can't do by hand - gnarly old laurel and arbutus, enormous alder and fir, and anything with nasty knots. Unfortunatelky all my wood is split at the moment so I cant try out the nifty new 4-way splitter head I just got - but I'm looking forward to it."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT SPLITTER

Date:October 22, 2014
"I have split some large birtch logs with no issues"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

works great

Date:October 20, 2014
"got this for fathers day from the kids and it has saved my back."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbell River, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

log splitter

Date:October 17, 2014
"Had ours for two years now and still works great. Perfect for home use."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Saskatchewan, AB, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works absolutely fantastic

Date:October 15, 2014
"I've had the 4 ton splitter now for 3 years and absolutely love it. I have split wood that has been much larger that what it states it will do and no problem whatsoever. Great purchase and saves a ton of hard backbreaking work."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Hawkesbury, NS, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good

Date:October 15, 2014
"This is my second of this wood splitter. I'm to blame for the failure of my 1st one, lazy and left it out side, but it was out for two years and ran great. So I bought this second one cause it is a great splitter and it surprises me eveytime I use it. But this time I bought the STAND and I like it but a little short. This is a great deal when on sale regular price is a little much. It is good for some that has fireplace or just likes camp fires in the back yard . I split about four cord straight and it's still like new but now it's in the shed cause I don't want to be in the shed haha."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great gift

Date:October 14, 2014
"I surprised my husband with this and he loves it. He took it to the cabin and it runs great. We will stay nice and toasty this winter!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oliver, BC

Handy handy handy

Date:October 10, 2014
"We have 11 acres and have quite a few large pine trees that have succummbed to pine beetle. This product is making a very easy job of it. Plus...it's quiet!!!!!!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Nice

Date:September 23, 2014
"I just bought this 4 ton splitter on sale, I split two bush cords of mixed hard & soft woods, Im Impressed!!!! , this compact unit does an extremely good job, i would recomend this splitter to anyone."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ripley, ON N0G, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

NOT SO MUCH

Date:September 19, 2014
"I purchased one of these machines a couple of years ago. I used it once, left it outside overnight, and it never worked again. Seems it can't get wet. Who knew? Wouldn't you think something made to use outdoors could actually BE outdoors? Other than that it worked fine for easy-to-split wood. Be sure to use it only in a dry place though, your livingroom for example."
-14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nelson, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Happy with this purchase

Date:June 17, 2014
"Got it this summer to help with huge logs I couldn't split with my axe. It exceeded my expectations both in performance, clarity of directions, and being easy to use. If I didn't like chopping wood, I'd use it a lot more often!"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Owen Sound, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great little splitter

Date:June 16, 2014
"Bought this 2 years ago, and have split up to 10 face cord, and only major concern has been the vent screw.
As stated in another review, bad location, and wrong material used for this component.
Been a great splitter and have split 6 cord this spring with another 3 to go.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:campbell river
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Helpfull

Date:May 27, 2014
"Bought this 1year ago. We have split over 15 cord of wood with great results. Would recommend this because now I can help with the wood splitting . This save us a whole lot of work."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Still running

Date:December 8, 2013
"I bought this splitter on sale 3 years ago and reviewed it after one year. I had given it 3 stars but now I have to give it 5. I have split over 12 cords of wood with it and it is still going. I am very much amazed at how long it has lasted considering the heavy use I have given it. I split about 4 cords of wood a year. Now I can't say it has split everything I have given it but it will surprise you what it will split and what it won't. I have dropped large stump blocks on it and not a problem and then a smaller mid trunk block stops it cold. Other than replacing a couple of stripped bolts it has ran flawlessly. I had to top the oil once after the first season but it has been good since. You still have to store it indoors when the temp drops to -10c or colder as the oil gets to thick and it won't split anything. When I bought it I had no idea it would last this long. I bought it just to keep me going until I could get a 20+ton gas splitter and now I am not sure I need one. Impressive"
Video
Click to view
The little splitter that could
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 6