Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter

Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter

1¾ HP engine with 4-ton splitting capacityCylinder splits logs up to 20½" (51 cm) in lengthMobile base for easy positioning
Average Customer Rating:
4.804 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
94 of 97(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Review 1 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nelson, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Happy with this purchase

Date:June 17, 2014
"Got it this summer to help with huge logs I couldn't split with my axe. It exceeded my expectations both in performance, clarity of directions, and being easy to use. If I didn't like chopping wood, I'd use it a lot more often!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Owen Sound, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great little splitter

Date:June 16, 2014
"Bought this 2 years ago, and have split up to 10 face cord, and only major concern has been the vent screw.
As stated in another review, bad location, and wrong material used for this component.
Been a great splitter and have split 6 cord this spring with another 3 to go.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:campbell river
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Helpfull

Date:May 27, 2014
"Bought this 1year ago. We have split over 15 cord of wood with great results. Would recommend this because now I can help with the wood splitting . This save us a whole lot of work."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Still running

Date:December 8, 2013
"I bought this splitter on sale 3 years ago and reviewed it after one year. I had given it 3 stars but now I have to give it 5. I have split over 12 cords of wood with it and it is still going. I am very much amazed at how long it has lasted considering the heavy use I have given it. I split about 4 cords of wood a year. Now I can't say it has split everything I have given it but it will surprise you what it will split and what it won't. I have dropped large stump blocks on it and not a problem and then a smaller mid trunk block stops it cold. Other than replacing a couple of stripped bolts it has ran flawlessly. I had to top the oil once after the first season but it has been good since. You still have to store it indoors when the temp drops to -10c or colder as the oil gets to thick and it won't split anything. When I bought it I had no idea it would last this long. I bought it just to keep me going until I could get a 20+ton gas splitter and now I am not sure I need one. Impressive"
Video
Click to view
The little splitter that could
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

A great purchase

Date:November 1, 2013
"Bought one of these splitters a couple of months ago and was somewhat concerned about its power. Found that it split the largest birch and poplar that I had with no problem whatsoever. Also discovered it cut 12" X 21" pine no problem, although it couldn't split a few that were extremely twisted and knotty (couldn't even crack them with a splitting axe). My wife wasn't pleased with my purchase but before too long she was running the splitter while I loaded and stacked. The job was done in no time. Overall, extremely happy with this "on sale" purchase, especially the next day when I wasn't suffering the effects of swinging a splitting axe and sledgehammer.
Be sure to invest in the stand to make the job ergonomically easier. A previous reviewer reported putting on the stand while the splitter was sticking out the back of his truck. I set the splitter on a saw horse and it enabled me to easily bolt on the stand.
Now I am not dreading replenishing the wood pile."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pleasantly Surprised

Date:October 7, 2013
"I just finished splitting 15 large 16 inch diameter x 16 inch long pieces of birch hardwood with ease. The splitter doesn't even hesitate :)"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Dover, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Fantastic Log Splitter

Date:September 25, 2013
"This little log splitter is fantastic. I was a litte hesitant when looking at the smaller, electric version rather than the larger, gas powered version. I can tell you, after splitting some of the narliest peices of hard wood, some over 14" in dia. and 24" long, that I would never debate the electric 4 ton unit over a larger gas powered unit again. I did watch the youtube video prior to purchasing the 4 ton unit and must admit that not only did it help me make up my mind, the splitter performed exactly as the video demonstrated.You will not be disappointed with this splitter."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nanamo,BC
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent buy!!

Date:September 23, 2013
"This unit rocks!! Excellent buy on sale 50%
I just split 2 cord with it & it worked fine. It tells you if it is not going to go with a slight (groan). But if you are careful on where you position it, it handles 90% of what you throw at it.
Watch out for the bleed screw though. I broke mine in half almost right away. It is shaped like an "S"
When it is intact, it is directly in the path of the exiting wood. Mine is now broken about perfectly 50%, so I can now turn it so the long side is down & out of the way of the wood coming at it.
Somebody wasn't thinking when they designed this, but just be aware of it.
PROS: size, price (on sale) power is good, portable
CONS: Location of the bleed screw. Come on guys, you probably picked the worst possible location."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:September 19, 2013
"Did the job and more! The only complaint that I have is that you need two people to operate. I got around this by extending the lever with a 12 inch piece of 2x2 that I drilled a 3/4 inch hole that slide over the existing handle(you could also use a piece of pipe but I didn't have any). This allowed me to push the handle down with my forearm while using my hand to push the button. Worked like charm."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cobourg, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Proven wrong

Date:September 15, 2013
"I will admit I was very skeptical of getting this unit. I heat my house with wood, so didn't want to mess around. It splits it all. I started with 12" round apple wood (very hard), no problem. Took a couple extra passes, but done. For the cost of a few rents of a gas unit, it's mine. If you accept this isn't a gas unit and treat it as such, this is a solid machine for the price. DON'T TRY TO SPLIT IN ONE PASS, START OFF TO THE SIDE AND TAKE YOUR TIME."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

One of my best buy!

Date:September 13, 2013
"Best bang for your buck.$$$, simple easy to use and works great, take it out of the box, loosen the vent, plug it, and your ready to rock. Works so good, I even think that I'll buy one for my wife."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does what it says, and MORE!

Date:September 13, 2013
"I bought this at CT for half price during a sale. The rated capacity is 10" diameter logs. However, the well written instructions indicated that capacity varies on the nature of the wood.
I was pleased that I could split a 14" diameter fir log that was cut 5 months ago and allowed to dry during the summer. The 14" log was split first one half and then turning it over 180 degrees for the other half. Except for a couple of knots, the split went well."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, Yukon
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great

Date:August 22, 2013
"Splits everything I have put into it without problems."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arcola, SK , Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

We still just laugh...

Date:August 14, 2013
"The amount of physical labour this splitter will save you is staggering. We still just laugh while operating it, and it's been a couple years. My sons and I sometimes pick up the axe and chop, just for the fun of it. I can't believe I went this long without one. Awesome machine!!!
This log splitter will split wood well beyond what anyone says it should. It hardly even grunts on the bigger stuff, and trust me we've challenged it. Trouble free, tough, low maintenance. It does take 2 hands to operate and that's a pain, but not close to the pain of losing a finger or hand. But it would be nice to be able to steady the wood. It is fairly slow, but that's not necessarily a bad thing either.... safety safety. I read some stuff that it doesn't do well with hardwoods... I've put through Birch with no issues."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orangeville On North of Toronto

Great log splitter for a novice

Date:July 2, 2013
"I am a wife so I appreciated the notes that wives use it. I agree the advice about positioning the yellow air release carefully is very important. I do not really understand machines so I read the manual. It has very poor instructions. Do not let this stop you. It is much easier than you think. I raised the machine on 4 skids and that was great. With your left hand you lift the yellow lever on the left - keep holding it and push the green button with your right hand. Let go when the log is split - or after 4 seconds if it is jamming. Stand to the left out of the way of the logs that roll off when done. To remove a jam try a wiggle or put a small wood at the bottom in the log bed and run it again. Reposition the log by turning it. Toss it aside if it wont work. I have been successfully splitting all the big and gnarley pieces I have been setting aside for years. I will not have to buy wood this year because I can make use of what I had. I like that the machine is slow and not intimidating. After 150 hours I will pay someone to do that hydraulic fluid change. It is a great purchase. and great previous comments. Wait for a sale or get a rain check."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Smithers

Awesome log splitter

Date:June 2, 2013
"We bought this 4-Ton Log Splitter 3 years ago; before, we split everything by hand (10 loads+). I have to say that it works wonderfully, is super-safe, and splits the biggest rounds we have. Highly recommendable, and we, at that time, even bought it on sale. What a deal!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great spliter

Date:May 13, 2013
"This is a good wood splitter, it's generally not used for hardwoods, but for the wood we regularly chop it does the job."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nepean, Ottawa, ON, Canada

Good tool at great price.

Date:May 4, 2013
"I bought this log splitter (on sale) three years ago and have used it to split 4+ face cords of wood a year every fall for our fireplace insert. It was money well spent. I'd have to say that this machine has paid for itself. Aside from two minor complaints, I'm very impressed with its durability and power. First, it really needs to be placed on a bench or stand to avoid having to work bent over. A neighbor bought me a Yardworks stand for it for Christmas (I've split wood for him, too!) that I will be putting together this summer. Second, if the hydraulic ram only travelled 2" closer to the fixed wedge, this splitter could handle almost any size log on the first pass. Most logs pose no problem for this machine. The attached pictures show the 14" diameter ash trunk that I split with no problem. Would recommend this product to anyone. Since it is electric, you can even use it indoors in a pinch."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arnprior, ON, Canada

great little item

Date:March 16, 2013
"bought this machine last week it is very strong for the size. was ready to go out of the box. and is a nice size for traveling in the back of a pickup."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

Hard wood may be a problem

Date:March 14, 2013
"I bought this unit yesterday and returned it.
I Have an ash tree that died four years ago, so it's a hard dry wood. I opened the air valve four turns, plug it in a shot heavy power cord and tested it on a 10" wide piece of log.
It would not split at all. I moved the log around and tried five different spots and gave up. Tried a 4" thick side piece of a log and that's when I said it's going back. On the box it said it does the hardest wood. Not mine.
There was some hesitation in them taking it back and it took quite some time, as they had to get someone to come and check it out first. In all it was a wast of time and hope I can save someone else the time. If you have hard dry wood like I have, good luck. I do like its small portable size and light weight.
"
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5