Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter

Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter

Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter allows you to power through backyard clean-upFeatures a powerful 1¾ HP engine with 4-ton splitting capacity to break down logs for firewood and kindlingCylinder splits logs up to 20½" (51 cm) in lengthFeatures a mobile base for easy positioning and transportingIdeal for
Average Customer Rating:
4.752 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
116 of 121(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Review 1 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vernon, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I would recommend this product

Date:July 29, 2015
" My husband had a double lung transplant one year ago and can not split wood with an axe until his chest heals properly. This machine works really well with the press of a button. Love it.
Recommend the stand made for the splitter.
"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Scie, NL A0K, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

4 ton Log splitter

Date:July 26, 2015
" Best ever ! Very fast splitting the log ! Works excellent for spliiting logs wood or making splits for the fire out doors !! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Splitter for the Money

Date:July 24, 2015
" Bought this on sale and went right after a hugh pile of logs!!! It performed very very well and now have a lot of firewood that would not have happened without it. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a pleasant surprise!

Date:July 23, 2015
" This splitter cuts wood like butter! I love this product! I purchased it on sale and it was well worth it! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Durable Log Splitter

Date:July 22, 2015
" This electric log splitter does the job, it splits wood with little effort and it's not too noisy. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Outstanding Value

Date:July 19, 2015
" What an outstanding spitter for the price. I was expecting a slow and not very powerful spitter. I was pleasently surprised. You only have to put the wheels on and you are ready to go. This product had no problem splitting, maple, birch, spruce, elm, popular. Easy to move around and you must use to hands to make it work. This makes it very safe for all types of users. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wildwood, AB T0E, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does a very good job!

Date:June 9, 2015
" We heat our home with wood and need at the minimum seven cords for the heating season. For years I would always use a splitting maul but as I get older and creakier the idea of an electric log splitter started to become more appealing. Besides my wife can longer use a maul and one of our favourite pastimes was putting up our wood supply together. This is an excellent splitter that completely fulfils all the needs I have. At first it seemed to be a bit slow in the process but as I used it more and more I realized that the speed was just right for us. I could cut and toss the pieces over to my wife and she could pick them up and split tossing into another pile… we made short work of the logs! Some of the really badly twisted or knotted pine I simply could not split by hand ( I still like to do a little hand splitting) where easily split. including some rather odd shapes using the added second splitting head. This unit proved to be just what I needed. I suppose the only thing i could say to have is some sort of stand or table to work on. I used a stack of pallets for a wider base on our uneven ground. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Happy And Surprised Impressed Still Happy

Date:December 29, 2014
" bought this on sale. never owned one before. I burn wood too heat my home and its the ONLY way too heat my home NO electric heat NO gas or oil just the fire place.
I go throw 22 or 25 cords too heat my home. The splitter Works faultlessly.
with slippers or socks my foot can push down the green power button. I worry about wood getting sucked up by the motor its under the unite so fare no problems and there is a stand that you can get if you like too bend over and split wood with out having too move the splitter away from your split piles. I often add 2 pieces of wood one behind the other like a train too speed things up as soon as one cracks I add a new piece as soon as there is room. great buy if your getting older like me @*_*@
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Useful

Date:November 4, 2014
" Received this as a birthday gift. Have used it to split, maple, birch (both yellow and white), and oak. All had been previously split 10-12 in diam chunks. It split anything I put on the tray. Had to keep a spacer handy as I was splitting 16-18 in pieces and some would need to have an additional push in order to finish the split. Have it mounted on the optional stand, definitely an asset as it brings it up to a comfortable working height. Working it alone is a bit of a pain as both hands are required to make it operate - one on the motor button and one for the hyd actuator. The wife and I did it as a team which was a definite improvement. All-in-all, sweet machine. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bonfield, o
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Save Your Money

Date:October 31, 2014
" Usually split six bush cord per year with a maul but had hurt my shoulder one year so purchased this on sale. It took the brunt of the work from my shoulder that season. However it is very slow to utilize, you have to bend over too greatly, it does not handle very tough pieces well or at all. Would be okay for a person with limitations for smaller amounts of wood. Otherwise lay out the additional cash and get a gas powered splitter. "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Takes hours of use but not invincible!

Date:October 30, 2014
" This 4-ton splitter charged heroically through hours and hours of use, splitting even some very hard, and still a bit wet applewood.
The heavier logs would split, but the support rails on which the full log sits did sag quite a bit - so watch the weight, and/or downward pressure.
Still, the strong electric motor never skipped a beat. It is recommended to have a heavy-duty, quality extension to the site. I used one with a 15a circuit breaker right at the plug end since the motor would occasionally trip the breaker inside the house. Having a breaker right up on the extension head saved me many times from walking into the house to reset the breaker there.
The safety lawyers might argue, but it would be nice (and in some cases safer!) to have an optional foot switch to activate the ram. Too often unevenly cut or branched wood sections will pitch upwards and it's awkward when using it by yourself to maintain your left hand on the switch and your right trying to hold down the log. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good product

Date:October 24, 2014
" works perfect, only change would be the yellow air bleader is in a bad spot just needs to changed to a bolt instead of plastic wing nut "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome

Date:October 23, 2014
" This is a MUST for anybody who has a fire pit or fireplace.
I split a huge pile of seasoned birch with no problems.
Love it.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleased and Surpirsed!

Date:October 22, 2014
" I recently purchased this log splitter being very sceptical about how it would perform. I grew up only using gas powered wood splitters and didn't believe that this little electric wood splitter would stand up to the task. I was extremely surprised with the outcome! This burnt through 4 cord in my spare time for a joke. It handled everything I fed it, all hard wood (maple birch etc), and most around 12 to 20 inches in diameter. neighbours that passed by were also inpressed just by watching it work. I would highly reccomend and have highly reccomended this to anyone who splits their own wood. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes

Great for home use

Date:October 22, 2014
" I've been using this for 4 years now, and loan it to friends a few times a year for their use. It's easy and safe to use and works really well on the stuff you just can't do by hand - gnarly old laurel and arbutus, enormous alder and fir, and anything with nasty knots. Unfortunatelky all my wood is split at the moment so I cant try out the nifty new 4-way splitter head I just got - but I'm looking forward to it. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT SPLITTER

Date:October 22, 2014
" I have split some large birtch logs with no issues "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

works great

Date:October 20, 2014
" got this for fathers day from the kids and it has saved my back. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbell River, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

log splitter

Date:October 17, 2014
" Had ours for two years now and still works great. Perfect for home use. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Saskatchewan, AB, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works absolutely fantastic

Date:October 15, 2014
" I've had the 4 ton splitter now for 3 years and absolutely love it. I have split wood that has been much larger that what it states it will do and no problem whatsoever. Great purchase and saves a ton of hard backbreaking work. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Hawkesbury, NS, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good

Date:October 15, 2014
" This is my second of this wood splitter. I'm to blame for the failure of my 1st one, lazy and left it out side, but it was out for two years and ran great. So I bought this second one cause it is a great splitter and it surprises me eveytime I use it. But this time I bought the STAND and I like it but a little short. This is a great deal when on sale regular price is a little much. It is good for some that has fireplace or just likes camp fires in the back yard . I split about four cord straight and it's still like new but now it's in the shed cause I don't want to be in the shed haha. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 6