Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter

Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter

Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
5 stars
110
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
123 of 128(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 87 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Review 1 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NB
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Back saver

Date:October 30, 2015
" Swinging an axe is hard on the back and arms. Having an this unit makes winter wood prep a breeze. It is safe, effective and problem free after three years. Very pleased with this purchase. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Digby, NS, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Yardworks 4-Ton Log Splitter

Date:October 28, 2015
" This is a gr8 log splitter. For being electric it works fantastic. Gr8 purchase. would recommend "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St John's, NL, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Back and Time saver!

Date:October 17, 2015
" I have chopped many pieces of wood over the years but dure to back and shoulder trouble, I am no longer able to. I have used others before but this one wins the cake! For its size, if you watch the chunks and know what to look for, proper placement will make your splitting easy enough so you can pretty much split anything!! I purposly tried all different types of hardness and dry and green as well, this split them all with ease! I would love to be a product tester for these or similar items as this could also due with a few improovements that would make it even better again! I your are like most who do not read the manual, the only thing you really need to know is OPEN THE VENT SCREW DURING USE and close again when transporting, cange hydraulic fluid every 150 hrs and your good to go. (Keep the area around the ram seal clean and periodically grease the ram. One other poibt, keep the area infront of the motor/cooler clear of debris for years of trouble free use) "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Catharines, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Fantastic log splitter

Date:October 16, 2015
" I purchased this splitter to split some mill end lumber I had at the trailer. I then got a large amount of logs from another camper and this machine split it all with ease. some of the logs were 12 to 14 inched in diameter
this is great machine, safe and easy to use as my daughter helps me to split as well.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frankford ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great little splitter

Date:October 14, 2015
" Just got this splitter and went thru 2 bush cords no problem. Out of two cords maybe 3-4 pieces were too tough mostly due to knots. ISurpised what a little 4 ton splitter will handle. Had to build a table to sit it on tho, kills your back otherwise. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kippens, NL, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does a great job!

Date:October 12, 2015
" We purchased this splitter on sale and are very impressed with it. It's easy to operate and does exactly what it's supposed to. I would recommend buying the stand to go with it. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Port Hawkesbury, NS, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

More of a Question than a review

Date:September 21, 2015
" Look at the picture below...... I purchased this splitter last year and it worked great until this happened yesterday. I do not have the receipt or proof of purchase.... I'm wondering what could make this happen? "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vernon, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I would recommend this product

Date:July 29, 2015
" My husband had a double lung transplant one year ago and can not split wood with an axe until his chest heals properly. This machine works really well with the press of a button. Love it.
Recommend the stand made for the splitter.
"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Scie, NL A0K, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

4 ton Log splitter

Date:July 26, 2015
" Best ever ! Very fast splitting the log ! Works excellent for spliiting logs wood or making splits for the fire out doors !! "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Splitter for the Money

Date:July 24, 2015
" Bought this on sale and went right after a hugh pile of logs!!! It performed very very well and now have a lot of firewood that would not have happened without it. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a pleasant surprise!

Date:July 23, 2015
" This splitter cuts wood like butter! I love this product! I purchased it on sale and it was well worth it! "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Durable Log Splitter

Date:July 22, 2015
" This electric log splitter does the job, it splits wood with little effort and it's not too noisy. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Outstanding Value

Date:July 19, 2015
" What an outstanding spitter for the price. I was expecting a slow and not very powerful spitter. I was pleasently surprised. You only have to put the wheels on and you are ready to go. This product had no problem splitting, maple, birch, spruce, elm, popular. Easy to move around and you must use to hands to make it work. This makes it very safe for all types of users. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wildwood, AB T0E, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does a very good job!

Date:June 9, 2015
" We heat our home with wood and need at the minimum seven cords for the heating season. For years I would always use a splitting maul but as I get older and creakier the idea of an electric log splitter started to become more appealing. Besides my wife can longer use a maul and one of our favourite pastimes was putting up our wood supply together. This is an excellent splitter that completely fulfils all the needs I have. At first it seemed to be a bit slow in the process but as I used it more and more I realized that the speed was just right for us. I could cut and toss the pieces over to my wife and she could pick them up and split tossing into another pile… we made short work of the logs! Some of the really badly twisted or knotted pine I simply could not split by hand ( I still like to do a little hand splitting) where easily split. including some rather odd shapes using the added second splitting head. This unit proved to be just what I needed. I suppose the only thing i could say to have is some sort of stand or table to work on. I used a stack of pallets for a wider base on our uneven ground. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Happy And Surprised Impressed Still Happy

Date:December 29, 2014
" bought this on sale. never owned one before. I burn wood too heat my home and its the ONLY way too heat my home NO electric heat NO gas or oil just the fire place.
I go throw 22 or 25 cords too heat my home. The splitter Works faultlessly.
with slippers or socks my foot can push down the green power button. I worry about wood getting sucked up by the motor its under the unite so fare no problems and there is a stand that you can get if you like too bend over and split wood with out having too move the splitter away from your split piles. I often add 2 pieces of wood one behind the other like a train too speed things up as soon as one cracks I add a new piece as soon as there is room. great buy if your getting older like me @*_*@
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Useful

Date:November 4, 2014
" Received this as a birthday gift. Have used it to split, maple, birch (both yellow and white), and oak. All had been previously split 10-12 in diam chunks. It split anything I put on the tray. Had to keep a spacer handy as I was splitting 16-18 in pieces and some would need to have an additional push in order to finish the split. Have it mounted on the optional stand, definitely an asset as it brings it up to a comfortable working height. Working it alone is a bit of a pain as both hands are required to make it operate - one on the motor button and one for the hyd actuator. The wife and I did it as a team which was a definite improvement. All-in-all, sweet machine. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bonfield, o
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Save Your Money

Date:October 31, 2014
" Usually split six bush cord per year with a maul but had hurt my shoulder one year so purchased this on sale. It took the brunt of the work from my shoulder that season. However it is very slow to utilize, you have to bend over too greatly, it does not handle very tough pieces well or at all. Would be okay for a person with limitations for smaller amounts of wood. Otherwise lay out the additional cash and get a gas powered splitter. "
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Takes hours of use but not invincible!

Date:October 30, 2014
" This 4-ton splitter charged heroically through hours and hours of use, splitting even some very hard, and still a bit wet applewood.
The heavier logs would split, but the support rails on which the full log sits did sag quite a bit - so watch the weight, and/or downward pressure.
Still, the strong electric motor never skipped a beat. It is recommended to have a heavy-duty, quality extension to the site. I used one with a 15a circuit breaker right at the plug end since the motor would occasionally trip the breaker inside the house. Having a breaker right up on the extension head saved me many times from walking into the house to reset the breaker there.
The safety lawyers might argue, but it would be nice (and in some cases safer!) to have an optional foot switch to activate the ram. Too often unevenly cut or branched wood sections will pitch upwards and it's awkward when using it by yourself to maintain your left hand on the switch and your right trying to hold down the log. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good product

Date:October 24, 2014
" works perfect, only change would be the yellow air bleader is in a bad spot just needs to changed to a bolt instead of plastic wing nut "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome

Date:October 23, 2014
" This is a MUST for anybody who has a fire pit or fireplace.
I split a huge pile of seasoned birch with no problems.
Love it.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7