Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower

Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower

Yardworks 357cc 2-Stage Snowthrower provides great value with upgraded features to move heavy, wet snowPowered by a 357cc OHV (over-head valve) PowerMore engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve30" (76 cm) clearing width and 21" (53 cm) intake heightNew and improved features include: heated hand grips,
Average Customer Rating:
4.099 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
3
57 of 71(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 95 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Review 1 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Nipissing, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

new machine

Date:February 7, 2014
"I had to buy a new blower last week as the model I had seized. The model was about 7 years old also a 30 inch from Canadian tire. Had no major complaints with it until it stopped. This new one seems to have more power and cuts through the snow very well. The shute adjusts a lot better than the old one. Bought it in Deep River and it was the floor model, they did a good job at putting it together, no loose bolts etc... They also put it aside for me as I had a two hour drive to get there. I would recommend this BLOWER to anyone with a good sized drive way to take care of."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Re -occuring problem

Date:January 23, 2014
"Bought the 30 inch Yardworks snowblower , January 2012 and it worked well , for the rest of the season,good power. Used it a couple of times the next winter season 2012. The drive unit quit after about six uses on powder snow. Replaced hex drive axle and 80 tooth gear under warranty, took about a month , no parts. Happened again after the same amount of use on lite snow, this time the axle broke in half. Waiting for warranty parts again. Been about a month, out of service . Motor has lots of power and throws snow a long distance, no problem ."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great for 6 years then seized-threw a rod

Date:January 18, 2014
"worked great 6 years handled deep snow no problem always started right up but threw a rod this year. I change oil every year and check it before starting. We had a cold morning -27 and it started with no problem . I did the driveway and put it away.later that night the driveway need done again Electric start just spinned. tried pull cord. it started ok. I let it run a bit then proceeded it stalled and banged it was seized . Checked oil-Lots of oil -Put a wrench on the crank after an hour had it free . Machine started up ok Changed oil to make sure all ok. Went to driveway Did not like the sound .Engine knock. I suspect the Rod was damaged went to turn it off but engine died and it was seized again. Research shows the Tecumseh engines on theses are known for throwing rods apparently. Up until this year I was impressed with it Up to now though I had no problems other than the chute breaking once. I would think it should last 10 years or so."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good value

Date:December 7, 2013
"Bought this today, filled it up and put it to work on a 400m prairie driveway that had been drifted over. -30s today, snow was typical prairie snow drift type-dry but packed( for those in the east it's like what you can make igloo blocks out of, not too heavy but solid). Blower had plenty of power, never bogged down too much and it would push through snow up to about the height of the impeller about 18"(I'm sure if it was fluffy snow it would handle much deeper) before it would either ride up or loose traction. Easy starting, and a huge fuel tank, ran it for nearly 4 hours, I didn't notice a gauge, but looking in the tank looks like there is lots left. By the way, it wouldn't take 4 hours to do the 400m if there was just a foot of snow but we had a section with a 7 foot drift that took us the majority of the time. Hand Warner's would be nice but for the amount you save on this unit buy a good set of mitts! Compared to the other snowthrower contenders like Home Depot and sears, this is about 2/3 the price for a model with the same specs on power, tires and electric start. I wouldn't go with any smaller tires as I don't think it would move to well when you get into thick stuff or uneven ground. Last but not least I was able to fit it int the back of my truck with a topper on, by easily folding down the handle and removing the chute-no tools required!"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brockville, ON, Canada

Great machine!!!

Date:May 15, 2013
"I replaced my 1970's blower with this machine and I truly love it. I clear snow off multiple rural driveways and this machine has plenty of power."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

OK snowblower

Date:May 6, 2013
"I've a similar sized Yardworks snowthrower about 8 years ago. My only problem with it is the rusting. I tried to limit the amount of rusting on the front by raising it off the ground (otherwise, I get rust marks on my garage floor#. However, twice, some water collected in some tray underneath the engine. Then froze and prevented the auger from spinning. So, now I raise up both the front and back end of my snowblower off the concrete floor.
It doesn't seem to have enough power to snowblow the snow off my lawn though #trying to clear my backyard to put in a rink#, but it doesn't have a problem clearing the snow off the driveway #I also get the wet slushy snow)."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Replacement Parts

Date:February 2, 2013
"The snow blower has worked well up to now! Bought the machine in 2010! It did not get a lot of use in 2011 and medium use this year and all has been good until now! The transmission cable broke so it is stuck in high gear, so my issue is trying to find a replacement cable for the snow blower. Almost impossible to find a dealer who sell parts for Yardworks? Yardworks does not seem to have a web site so hard to track them down for parts. If you cannot buy replacement parts it is difficult to recommend a product that seemingly cannot be fixed?"
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Response from Canadian Tire:By Canadian TireFebruary 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The replacement part number for the drive cable is 746-04229. This can be special ordered by your local Canadian Tire store and is also widely available at over 1200 Authorized Service Dealers across Canada. Please contact YardWorks at 1-866-523-5218 or use the Dealer locator at http://www.mtdcanada.com/service-centre-search.asp for the closest outlet.
Review 8 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Moose Jaw, SK, Canada

taking back

Date:January 11, 2013
"bought today on sale for 989, own the 8 hp model of this brand for 10 yrs and it never let me down , got major storm last night and had waist deep snow so thought same make/on sale /more power/ bigger intake / move snow faster .. bought it got it home went over bolts ,gassed it up and went to drive out of garage and something in drive grinding /scraping does not move in lowest forward or reverse gear .. still makes some /to much noise in higher gears . Sadly disappointed in this one and will be returning it. .......................A Former Yardworks Fan"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well built solid machine

Date:December 29, 2012
"Bought the version of this unit back in 2008 when they had the Briggs&Stratton 305cc engine (14.5 ft-lbs gross torque). Needless to say it has seen more than a few snow storms since and has performed admirably .
Other than the questionable chute design, the machine has been rock solid and reliable. Starts on first pull every time even after 5 years, plows through plowed snow banks while barely dropping RPMs, throws fresh snow clear across the street if you're not careful with the chute angle. The only time the engine bogs down any is when plowing heavy wet slush. GOOD power.
The reverse gears are too slow. Most of the time I just leave it in 1st or 2nd forward gear and roll it backward by hand. Faster that way.
Now about that chute. All it really needed was a proper adjustment so that the teeth engage the spiral correctly. Admittedly it took some tinkering and swearing to get it right for my taste but I haven't touched it since the first year. Just change the oil once a year and fill it up with gas is all it needed in 5 years.
What more can I say? Overall a great buy. And my back thanks me every time I use it."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

What do you mean it's broken?

Date:November 17, 2012
"Just got this unit and was really excited to use it. Assembled the unit and fired it up. ran through about 1/4 tank of fuel. after the first use, I was impressed. Lighter, more powerful than my old unit. Then came time for the second round. Problem is, the unit would not run. I even used the electric starter to try to start the unit, still no luck. Put new gas in, still no luck! Going to customer service; We'll see how this pans out"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Belleville, ON, Canada

Fair Machine for the Price.

Date:September 4, 2012
"I have had this machine for a few years now. It has seen some abuse as I usually clear out 6 driveways after the city snowplow comes by. The machine does not like heavy slushy snow and has a hard time clearing the chute. The salty snow has created some rust on the machine. The frame is lightly built on this blower and it flexes a lot in the heavy snow. For fresh snow, this machine works pretty good. You must use the lower forward speeds when you take a full swath of fresh snow, otherwise the auger overloads. A better clearing auger/chute would be a plus on this machine. The engine has been reliable, the headlight is a nice touch for night time use. I would not pay full price for this blower, there are better built machines out there."
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Flin Flon, MB

Yardworks 357cc/30 in. Snowblower

Date:January 1, 2012
"This machine has electric start but I don't use it. It almost always starts on the first pull. Does a great job blowing deep snow. The down side is the adjustable chute is a major disappointment, it works great in a nice warm garage, take it outside and the chute jams. it will push the worm gear off to the side and chew up the chute before it will move the chute. You have to move the chute by hand in order to change the direction from one side to the other. Except for changing a bunch of parts my only option now is to modify the chute crank bracket so the worm gear will fit into the grooves tighter. Really disappointed and regret buying this machine."
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, Ontario

Best machine for the money

Date:December 22, 2011
"I originally bought a machine from Home Depot but it died after the first use. I took my money across the parking lot and bought this one. This machine works very well for a $1000 snowblower. I live in NW Ontario where winter is brutal... -40 and tons of snow! The machine starts easily everytime and takes care of all the snow I have. The tires don't grip that well so I recommend tire chains. The frame has a fair bit of flex to it when trying to move it. It has not been an issue yet but it may be trouble as the machine ages. The motor is very strong and only bogs down in real heavy wet snow. I slow the drive down and it powers through. Good machine, buy it!"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moncton,N.B.

Great snowblower

Date:February 19, 2011
"Excellent machine.Throws whatever snow mother nature has to offer.Love it.Only problem is someone thought it was great too,and we had it stolen from our yard last night.But I would purchase another one just like it.Loved it."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Happy Now!

Date:February 4, 2011
"I laughed reading another review regarding the belt. I bought my snoblower in September when it was onsale. Started it up a few times, but mainly stored waiting for the big storm. One day when running the engine for a bit, I put it in gear to drive it back in my shed...nothing. Put it back on my truck, drove it to the store and waited forever to hear back. Finally after contacting Canadian Tires main customer service department, listed online, I received a call the next day advising my snow blower was repaired and could be picked up the following Monday. What they didn't tell me, was that they were going to charge me to repair the belt (new belt I might add that hadn't even seen snow yet). Luckily for them, they chose not to charge me for the belt and I have been using the machine ever since without any problems. It is a work horse, I have been clearing about 6-7 driveways every storm and love it! Finally I'm satisfied for now...that is until I start having more belt problems which may be an issue from I've read."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Three snowstorms broke twice. BUYER BEWARE

Date:January 19, 2011
"I bought this on sale for 1000$ in November. I thought that it was a good and dependible machine after reading the reviews. I knew that that some of the other folks said that the snow shoot was flimsy but I was willing to live with that problem.
TI couldn't wait for the first snowstorm to try it our. When it came in late November, I was impresed when it started for the first time on the second pull. Tested the auger worked like a charm. I was ready to kick some snowstorms butt!!! Unfortunately, when I put the machine in "first gear" nothing happened!!! I then tried every gear and the machine wouldn't budge!!! So I was left stranded and shoveling my 250 foot driveway. Luckely the snow was light and I had time on my hands... I was very very very frustrated that the new snowblower I bought was already leaving me shoveling!!!
I loaded it up in my minivan and drove it to the shop where CT told me to go which was 25 minutes from where I live. I really felt like telling them where to go if you know what I mean!!! 3 days later I get a call saying that it was fixed.
Apparently the factory installed a washer in the wrong plance which allowed the drive belt to slip off the pully. I picked up the blower and my mangled belt and headed home. I unloaded it and started it up on the first pull and I was finally able to clean the newly fallen snow in my yard the day before.
I was able to use it another time without falter. Then 2 weeks ago we got another snowstorm and again the machine wouldn't move... Again the belt was all mangled...
I hope I'm wrong and that all this is just a freak coincidence but so far this machine has LEMON written all over it...
BUYER BEWARE!!!
Positive:
starts quite easely
plenty of power
Negative:
UNRELIABLE
pour mechanical craftmanship
"
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dryden On

Expected more for $1,150

Date:January 9, 2011
"Will update review if the warranty service comes through, owned for 2 months, and auger gear broke inside gearbox I did not hit anything solid as there are no broken shear pins the augers just quit. Noticed flat spot on auger shaft worm gear which probably lead to the splitting of the gear. Of course this happened on a Saturday and MTD is closed till monday. I am fully capable of doing the repairs myself, I just need the parts so hopefully MTD comes through."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Is what it is

Date:December 6, 2010
"I've had this a couple of seasons now. Remember that if you're looking for a painless way to remove snow then hire someone as you're still using some muscle power to steer this. That said, this thing is powerfull enough to clear those snow plow mounds that are left in front of the driveway like no shovel can and a few neighbours driveways also. This thing is good enough for the wet stuff, now it's not going to throw the very wet stuff 30 feet but it will get the job done whereas less powered snowblowers only work with the powder snow. Oh, and make sure you clear your driveway BEFORE that first snow fall or like me, you'll be replacing the shear pins within minutes of my first use. That was fun. Oh ya, have some on stand by, it will happen to you eventually. I didn't give it 5 stars simply because it didn't have the power steering feature that some others do, yes for more money but when you consider the technology behind this kind of "power steering" these things there's really no excuse for all of them to not have power steering."
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dunville, Ontario

Hard to start manually

Date:November 21, 2010
"I like the snowblower when it is running. The Electric Start gear failed and now it must be repaired. It would only start using the electric start. Until I have it repaired, I must use the manual pull start. It will not start. Particuliary when it is cold outside."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Red Deer, Alberta

Excellent product

Date:January 26, 2010
"I have used this snowthrower now for 2 years and it has got more then a workout. It is very reliable and starts every time and can cut through a 4 foot drift of snow. I have started it up in the early morning and gone all day to friends and relatives doing driveways and sidewalks and even clearing back yards. It is big and heavy, but works great. The reverse gears are slow and I have only ever used R2 as R1 is at a snails pace, but the forward gears are great."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4