Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower

Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower

Yardworks 357cc 2-Stage Snowthrower provides great value with upgraded features to move heavy, wet snowPowered by a 357cc OHV (over-head valve) PowerMore engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve30" (76 cm) clearing width and 21" (53 cm) intake heightNew and improved features include: heated hand grips,
Average Customer Rating:
4.117 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
3
62 of 77(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
61 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Review 1 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Beast

Date:May 21, 2015
" Bought this machine on sale in November '14 to replace a 20 year old MTD. Starts first pull every time and throws the snow twice as far as my old machine. The hand warmers are great, don't know how I got by without them all these years.
I didn't use the reverse gears at all since they're pretty slow. I just end up pulling the machine around if I need to go in reverse. The 6th gear is great if you have to drive it across town, other than that, 3rd gear is the top speed I use.
Great value when compared to other higher end brands. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aurora, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent performance

Date:April 14, 2015
" When I retired last year I cancelled my snow removal service thinking I could shovel it myself. HAH! After the first heavy wet snowfall in mid December I purchased this snowthrower (my first) and it performed perfectly all last winter. The associate at the Aurora store was extremely helpful. The blower was delivered the next day.
It has a solid axle so it does take a bit of brute force to maneuver it. The 6 forward speeds are unnecessary, I never used anything beyond second gear. Like another reviewer said the reverse gears are a bit slow and I usually back it up manually.
In hindsight the 26" model would probably have met my needs clearing a double driveway about 3 car lengths long. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mt Uniacke, NS
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor chute/deflector design

Date:March 4, 2015
" Wet, heavy snow does not get thrown very far. The maximum discharge angle will not clear the 1.1m (42") snow banks at the side of my driveway closest to it. It wont throw the snow far enough to clear the bank on the opposite side of my driveway.
It does chew through the snow, and windrows left by the road plow at the end of my driveway very well. Too bad it won't throw the snow over my banks like my old 10hp/28" blower can. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

357cc of pure Monster!

Date:January 27, 2015
" Bought this snowblower after a recent snowstorm. After looking at several models and sizes, and speaking with different people, I decided to give this model a try. Figured with a 4 year warranty, couldn't go wrong for the sale price. Took it home, filled it with gas, first pull of starter cord (and yes, I know it has an electric starter) she roared to life. This is not a quiet beast, as probably could be assumed by the size of the motor. This is a powerful machine, was throwing snow 30 feet or better and could not bog down the motor even when I tried. Snow banks, snow chunks, even ice - it chewed and threw it with ease. The only thing I'd like to see is a more aggressive auger. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

sturdy

Date:January 9, 2015
" My six year old machine (purchased when they had Briggs engines) has sucked up a large rock and slightly bent an auger blade but was no worse for the wear. Recently it sucked up a branch, that jammed in between two of the augers and the frame and another piece jammed in the impeller. The engine chugged a bit then it proceed to burn up the auger belt releasing a large smelly plume of smoke from the burned up belt before I figured out what was happening and released the drive. I consulted the manual, found clear belt changing directions and parts lists. Consulted CT's web site and found both spare auger and drive belts in stock. Decided to change them both while I had the machine open. The auger belt wasn't totally shredded and probably would have continued to work in a pinch if I had simply cleared the jammed wood bits and carried on, but it was definitely damaged. The old drive belt was in good condition just slightly stretched. I replaced both belts, pounded out the jammed wood (and I mean *pounded*), and the machine is back in working condition. With new belts it feels like it runs stronger. It's a simple sturdy machine that can take a beating and is easy to maintain. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bainsville,ontaro
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

My first ever snowblower

Date:January 7, 2015
" After researching other blowers,I found out there are only 4 major brands out there,and one of them being MTD,which make Yardworks. So I decided to get the 357cc ( 13hp) model.I have only used it twice,and in both occasions the snow was wet and very heavy.Easy to start,electric or manual.
I'm glad I went with this model,it is a work horse and I was amazed on how far it threw that heavy snow using the whole 30" auger.My buddy has a 10hp,and it took him longer for the same size driveway,and he was only eating half the auger at a time.I like the auger engager that locks when it is in gear,so I can adjust the chute with your other hand ,which turns fast and easy.The only downfall I have is the reverse is very slow,that's why I gave it 4 stars.As for the grip warmer...c'mon wear glovesVery happy so far,and it was on sale.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Timmins, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

For the first time

Date:November 29, 2014
" Bought this snow blower november 29 14 assembled in little time , checked oil level all good fill with gas started with one pull , cleared snow off my deck with ease , thanks great snow blower , bout will post new review at the end of march ...Jack "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Nipissing, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

new machine

Date:February 7, 2014
" I had to buy a new blower last week as the model I had seized. The model was about 7 years old also a 30 inch from Canadian tire. Had no major complaints with it until it stopped. This new one seems to have more power and cuts through the snow very well. The shute adjusts a lot better than the old one. Bought it in Deep River and it was the floor model, they did a good job at putting it together, no loose bolts etc... They also put it aside for me as I had a two hour drive to get there. I would recommend this BLOWER to anyone with a good sized drive way to take care of. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Re -occuring problem

Date:January 23, 2014
" Bought the 30 inch Yardworks snowblower , January 2012 and it worked well , for the rest of the season,good power. Used it a couple of times the next winter season 2012. The drive unit quit after about six uses on powder snow. Replaced hex drive axle and 80 tooth gear under warranty, took about a month , no parts. Happened again after the same amount of use on lite snow, this time the axle broke in half. Waiting for warranty parts again. Been about a month, out of service . Motor has lots of power and throws snow a long distance, no problem . "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great for 6 years then seized-threw a rod

Date:January 18, 2014
" worked great 6 years handled deep snow no problem always started right up but threw a rod this year. I change oil every year and check it before starting. We had a cold morning -27 and it started with no problem . I did the driveway and put it away.later that night the driveway need done again Electric start just spinned. tried pull cord. it started ok. I let it run a bit then proceeded it stalled and banged it was seized . Checked oil-Lots of oil -Put a wrench on the crank after an hour had it free . Machine started up ok Changed oil to make sure all ok. Went to driveway Did not like the sound .Engine knock. I suspect the Rod was damaged went to turn it off but engine died and it was seized again. Research shows the Tecumseh engines on theses are known for throwing rods apparently. Up until this year I was impressed with it Up to now though I had no problems other than the chute breaking once. I would think it should last 10 years or so. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brockville, ON, Canada

Great machine!!!

Date:May 15, 2013
" I replaced my 1970's blower with this machine and I truly love it. I clear snow off multiple rural driveways and this machine has plenty of power. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

OK snowblower

Date:May 6, 2013
" I've a similar sized Yardworks snowthrower about 8 years ago. My only problem with it is the rusting. I tried to limit the amount of rusting on the front by raising it off the ground (otherwise, I get rust marks on my garage floor#. However, twice, some water collected in some tray underneath the engine. Then froze and prevented the auger from spinning. So, now I raise up both the front and back end of my snowblower off the concrete floor.
It doesn't seem to have enough power to snowblow the snow off my lawn though #trying to clear my backyard to put in a rink#, but it doesn't have a problem clearing the snow off the driveway #I also get the wet slushy snow). "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Replacement Parts

Date:February 2, 2013
" The snow blower has worked well up to now! Bought the machine in 2010! It did not get a lot of use in 2011 and medium use this year and all has been good until now! The transmission cable broke so it is stuck in high gear, so my issue is trying to find a replacement cable for the snow blower. Almost impossible to find a dealer who sell parts for Yardworks? Yardworks does not seem to have a web site so hard to track them down for parts. If you cannot buy replacement parts it is difficult to recommend a product that seemingly cannot be fixed? "
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Response from Canadian Tire:By Canadian TireFebruary 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The replacement part number for the drive cable is 746-04229. This can be special ordered by your local Canadian Tire store and is also widely available at over 1200 Authorized Service Dealers across Canada. Please contact YardWorks at 1-866-523-5218 or use the Dealer locator at http://www.mtdcanada.com/service-centre-search.asp for the closest outlet.
Review 14 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Moose Jaw, SK, Canada

taking back

Date:January 11, 2013
" bought today on sale for 989, own the 8 hp model of this brand for 10 yrs and it never let me down , got major storm last night and had waist deep snow so thought same make/on sale /more power/ bigger intake / move snow faster .. bought it got it home went over bolts ,gassed it up and went to drive out of garage and something in drive grinding /scraping does not move in lowest forward or reverse gear .. still makes some /to much noise in higher gears . Sadly disappointed in this one and will be returning it. .......................A Former Yardworks Fan "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well built solid machine

Date:December 29, 2012
" Bought the version of this unit back in 2008 when they had the Briggs&Stratton 305cc engine (14.5 ft-lbs gross torque). Needless to say it has seen more than a few snow storms since and has performed admirably .
Other than the questionable chute design, the machine has been rock solid and reliable. Starts on first pull every time even after 5 years, plows through plowed snow banks while barely dropping RPMs, throws fresh snow clear across the street if you're not careful with the chute angle. The only time the engine bogs down any is when plowing heavy wet slush. GOOD power.
The reverse gears are too slow. Most of the time I just leave it in 1st or 2nd forward gear and roll it backward by hand. Faster that way.
Now about that chute. All it really needed was a proper adjustment so that the teeth engage the spiral correctly. Admittedly it took some tinkering and swearing to get it right for my taste but I haven't touched it since the first year. Just change the oil once a year and fill it up with gas is all it needed in 5 years.
What more can I say? Overall a great buy. And my back thanks me every time I use it. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

What do you mean it's broken?

Date:November 17, 2012
" Just got this unit and was really excited to use it. Assembled the unit and fired it up. ran through about 1/4 tank of fuel. after the first use, I was impressed. Lighter, more powerful than my old unit. Then came time for the second round. Problem is, the unit would not run. I even used the electric starter to try to start the unit, still no luck. Put new gas in, still no luck! Going to customer service; We'll see how this pans out "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Belleville, ON, Canada

Fair Machine for the Price.

Date:September 4, 2012
" I have had this machine for a few years now. It has seen some abuse as I usually clear out 6 driveways after the city snowplow comes by. The machine does not like heavy slushy snow and has a hard time clearing the chute. The salty snow has created some rust on the machine. The frame is lightly built on this blower and it flexes a lot in the heavy snow. For fresh snow, this machine works pretty good. You must use the lower forward speeds when you take a full swath of fresh snow, otherwise the auger overloads. A better clearing auger/chute would be a plus on this machine. The engine has been reliable, the headlight is a nice touch for night time use. I would not pay full price for this blower, there are better built machines out there. "
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Flin Flon, MB

Yardworks 357cc/30 in. Snowblower

Date:January 1, 2012
" This machine has electric start but I don't use it. It almost always starts on the first pull. Does a great job blowing deep snow. The down side is the adjustable chute is a major disappointment, it works great in a nice warm garage, take it outside and the chute jams. it will push the worm gear off to the side and chew up the chute before it will move the chute. You have to move the chute by hand in order to change the direction from one side to the other. Except for changing a bunch of parts my only option now is to modify the chute crank bracket so the worm gear will fit into the grooves tighter. Really disappointed and regret buying this machine. "
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, Ontario

Best machine for the money

Date:December 22, 2011
" I originally bought a machine from Home Depot but it died after the first use. I took my money across the parking lot and bought this one. This machine works very well for a $1000 snowblower. I live in NW Ontario where winter is brutal... -40 and tons of snow! The machine starts easily everytime and takes care of all the snow I have. The tires don't grip that well so I recommend tire chains. The frame has a fair bit of flex to it when trying to move it. It has not been an issue yet but it may be trouble as the machine ages. The motor is very strong and only bogs down in real heavy wet snow. I slow the drive down and it powers through. Good machine, buy it! "
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moncton,N.B.

Great snowblower

Date:February 19, 2011
" Excellent machine.Throws whatever snow mother nature has to offer.Love it.Only problem is someone thought it was great too,and we had it stolen from our yard last night.But I would purchase another one just like it.Loved it. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4