Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower

Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower

Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Average Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
3
72 of 87(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Review 1 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Niagara Falls, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Great Snow Thrower

Date:March 3, 2016
" Bought one after I seen the reviews. The good points. For a three car drive or moving the snow from the back to the front is what you need. Throws the snow a great distance. Electric start is great for me over 65. Plastic shoes great for Not marking up the driveway. Only takes 1 litre of oil for oil change, no waste buy a jug of oil and do not need anymore. BAD points. Has no gas shut off but you can buy the kit at ctc. Take off the orginal cut a hole in the plastic cover and install one. Reverse speed is sometimes a problem. But you can make the ajustments. On final note take apart as much as possible and use anti sieze everwhere you have moving parts. Put it back together and should be good for 20 years "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, ON L0M, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Top Quality-Must Have Snow Machine!

Date:February 14, 2016
" This machine is top quality and I couldn't have made a better choice. I personally don't need all the bells and whistles of electric chute etc... so this machine was the right choice for me. What has been most impressive for me is that I can actually pull start this engine in one pull where I haven't been able to with other brands I have owned in the past and was forced to use the electric start because of hard starting. Where I live we get plenty of snow and this machine very easily moves even the heaviest snow fall. Since the machine moves the snow so well it makes the task of clearing the snow so much more timely. Lastly the quality of the build materials used seem to be very good with heavy gauge steel and sturdy dashboard and controls. This machine is a must have in your garage. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Princeton BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

A decent machine....but

Date:January 4, 2016
" I bought this machine 357cc by Yardworks some 7 years ago and the old machine jammed so I ordered a new online and picked up in Merritt BC.
They loaded the machine on my pickup and I realised it was not the one advertised which has been upgraded but the older model, still new though.
While I was in CT I noticed that all the snowblowers have the same engine block and control system they are just re badged.....no biggie as this was the cheapest anyway.......for the size.
A few comments on the machine:
1. You MUST get tyre chains as I had them on the old machine and they will enhance the machine grip no end.
2. Best not to play around with the skid pads otherwise you may get some stones in the blades and the pins will shear fast.
3. It tends to eat the gas faster than you would imagine as its 357cc and running all the time while clearing.
4. I have the machine which does NOT have the LED light so I expect it give out very quickly as its not very good at all.
It would have been nice to have the heated handgrips but decent gloves will do.
Overall it is a decent machine and I would recommend it.
"
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Watford, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

We LOVE winter now!

Date:November 19, 2015
" This machine is the best thing that ever happened to us. The 30 inch wide mouth clears snow like a dream and reduces the number of passes needed on our 4-car driveway. Super easy to start in manual or auto start mode, and runs very well. We look forward to snow just so we can use it. We definitely recommend this snow thrower, it'll bring joy to your winter season! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best investment ever!

Date:November 18, 2015
" Bought this 357cc 30" last year near the end of the season on sale.Used it 9 times.It started and ran flawlessly on my 150' driveway.It went through everything without a problem.I agree the reverse gears are a bit slow but if that's the biggest complaint then I'm thrilled with it and can't wait to get out there this year.I use to shovel the end of the driveway by hand every time the plow would come by.
No more shoveling for me.No regrets.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Smart winter investment

Date:October 30, 2015
" The price was right and the product is good. I am very impressed with our Yardworks 357cc / 30-in PowerMore® OHV Snowthrower. It is easy to use and to store. Perfect for the walkway, the driveway, making paths in the back yard for the dogs and the kids love that we can make snow hills anywhere we choose. The product came with a 4 year repair warranty! - Great purchase for this single mom with 2 boys, 2 dogs! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

old man winter hasn't got a chance

Date:October 26, 2015
" this snowblower is easy to operate and does the job in jig time so you can back to the important things in your life like staying warm and being with family.It's power and fast start make cleaning driveways a breeze! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fenelon Falls, Kawartha Lakes, ON, Canadadd
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

pretty good

Date:October 18, 2015
" Have had this snowblower for 8 yrs and it has stood up to what ever is thrown at it "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BARRIE
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

THE SAME MACHINE AGAIN

Date:October 16, 2015
" I BOUGTH THE SAME SNOW BLOWER 10 YEARS AGO AND STILL WORKING LIKE NEW, AND JUST GOT THE NEW VERCION OF THIS MACHINE INCREDIBLE HELP FOR THOSE DAYS OF LOTS SNOW EASY THE HANDLE AND NOW BETTER I DO RECOMEND THIS MACHINE 200%. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Beast

Date:July 27, 2015
" Its a beast! Cuts through snow likes its butter!!! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Beast

Date:May 21, 2015
" Bought this machine on sale in November '14 to replace a 20 year old MTD. Starts first pull every time and throws the snow twice as far as my old machine. The hand warmers are great, don't know how I got by without them all these years.
I didn't use the reverse gears at all since they're pretty slow. I just end up pulling the machine around if I need to go in reverse. The 6th gear is great if you have to drive it across town, other than that, 3rd gear is the top speed I use.
Great value when compared to other higher end brands. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aurora, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent performance

Date:April 14, 2015
" When I retired last year I cancelled my snow removal service thinking I could shovel it myself. HAH! After the first heavy wet snowfall in mid December I purchased this snowthrower (my first) and it performed perfectly all last winter. The associate at the Aurora store was extremely helpful. The blower was delivered the next day.
It has a solid axle so it does take a bit of brute force to maneuver it. The 6 forward speeds are unnecessary, I never used anything beyond second gear. Like another reviewer said the reverse gears are a bit slow and I usually back it up manually.
In hindsight the 26" model would probably have met my needs clearing a double driveway about 3 car lengths long. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mt Uniacke, NS
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor chute/deflector design

Date:March 4, 2015
" Wet, heavy snow does not get thrown very far. The maximum discharge angle will not clear the 1.1m (42") snow banks at the side of my driveway closest to it. It wont throw the snow far enough to clear the bank on the opposite side of my driveway.
It does chew through the snow, and windrows left by the road plow at the end of my driveway very well. Too bad it won't throw the snow over my banks like my old 10hp/28" blower can. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

357cc of pure Monster!

Date:January 27, 2015
" Bought this snowblower after a recent snowstorm. After looking at several models and sizes, and speaking with different people, I decided to give this model a try. Figured with a 4 year warranty, couldn't go wrong for the sale price. Took it home, filled it with gas, first pull of starter cord (and yes, I know it has an electric starter) she roared to life. This is not a quiet beast, as probably could be assumed by the size of the motor. This is a powerful machine, was throwing snow 30 feet or better and could not bog down the motor even when I tried. Snow banks, snow chunks, even ice - it chewed and threw it with ease. The only thing I'd like to see is a more aggressive auger. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bainsville,ontaro
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

My first ever snowblower

Date:January 7, 2015
" After researching other blowers,I found out there are only 4 major brands out there,and one of them being MTD,which make Yardworks. So I decided to get the 357cc ( 13hp) model.I have only used it twice,and in both occasions the snow was wet and very heavy.Easy to start,electric or manual.
I'm glad I went with this model,it is a work horse and I was amazed on how far it threw that heavy snow using the whole 30" auger.My buddy has a 10hp,and it took him longer for the same size driveway,and he was only eating half the auger at a time.I like the auger engager that locks when it is in gear,so I can adjust the chute with your other hand ,which turns fast and easy.The only downfall I have is the reverse is very slow,that's why I gave it 4 stars.As for the grip warmer...c'mon wear glovesVery happy so far,and it was on sale.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Timmins, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

For the first time

Date:November 29, 2014
" Bought this snow blower november 29 14 assembled in little time , checked oil level all good fill with gas started with one pull , cleared snow off my deck with ease , thanks great snow blower , bout will post new review at the end of march ...Jack "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Nipissing, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

new machine

Date:February 7, 2014
" I had to buy a new blower last week as the model I had seized. The model was about 7 years old also a 30 inch from Canadian tire. Had no major complaints with it until it stopped. This new one seems to have more power and cuts through the snow very well. The shute adjusts a lot better than the old one. Bought it in Deep River and it was the floor model, they did a good job at putting it together, no loose bolts etc... They also put it aside for me as I had a two hour drive to get there. I would recommend this BLOWER to anyone with a good sized drive way to take care of. "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Re -occuring problem

Date:January 23, 2014
" Bought the 30 inch Yardworks snowblower , January 2012 and it worked well , for the rest of the season,good power. Used it a couple of times the next winter season 2012. The drive unit quit after about six uses on powder snow. Replaced hex drive axle and 80 tooth gear under warranty, took about a month , no parts. Happened again after the same amount of use on lite snow, this time the axle broke in half. Waiting for warranty parts again. Been about a month, out of service . Motor has lots of power and throws snow a long distance, no problem . "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great for 6 years then seized-threw a rod

Date:January 18, 2014
" worked great 6 years handled deep snow no problem always started right up but threw a rod this year. I change oil every year and check it before starting. We had a cold morning -27 and it started with no problem . I did the driveway and put it away.later that night the driveway need done again Electric start just spinned. tried pull cord. it started ok. I let it run a bit then proceeded it stalled and banged it was seized . Checked oil-Lots of oil -Put a wrench on the crank after an hour had it free . Machine started up ok Changed oil to make sure all ok. Went to driveway Did not like the sound .Engine knock. I suspect the Rod was damaged went to turn it off but engine died and it was seized again. Research shows the Tecumseh engines on theses are known for throwing rods apparently. Up until this year I was impressed with it Up to now though I had no problems other than the chute breaking once. I would think it should last 10 years or so. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks 30-in 357cc 2-Stage Snowblower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brockville, ON, Canada

Great machine!!!

Date:May 15, 2013
" I replaced my 1970's blower with this machine and I truly love it. I clear snow off multiple rural driveways and this machine has plenty of power. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5