Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower

Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower

420 cc gas-powered Troy-Bilt OHV (overhead valve) winterized engine runs cleaner and quieter with less vibrationSteerable wheel drive: fingertip-controlled power steering on each handle improves manoeuvrability and allows you to steer effortlesslyElectric and manual start; two-stage operation with l
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Review 1 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Warman, SK S0K, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not worth the money

Date:October 17, 2014
"This snowblower is good when it works but it throws belts alot. Then you have to take it apart to replace the belt. If you have lots of time on your hands and a warm garage it isn't too bad. Definitely not worth the price you pay."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Saves a lot of time

Date:October 10, 2014
"I own a small landscaping business and purchased this machine prior to the 2010/11 winter season. It get's used to clear about 20 residential driveways ranging in size from 4 car to 20 car driveways. It does just what it is supposed to. Moves lot's of snow quickly. I installed an impeller kit last season that helped quite a bit on wet snow. Maintain this machine properly, as well as operate it properly, and it will give you years of valuable use."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Grand Valley, ON, Canada

Premium Price and lots of problems

Date:February 8, 2013
"4 years old bought new in 2008
Pull start rope broke year 1
Throttle control year 2 broke
Cluch control cable year 3
OHV year 4
Stay away costing me $$$$$$$$ each year"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Troy Bilt 45" snowblower

Date:February 27, 2011
"This has been the most frustrating piece of machinery I've ever owned. I've spent as much time fixing it as I have using it. The cableing is flimsy and wouldn't actuate the wheels and blower properly, The shear pins are feeble and fragile and constantly break. The auger blades bend easially, and had to be bent back, and now are cracking at their base. The motor is sputtering, and stalls randomly as far from the house as possible, I had to tow it back with my truck. The blower belt broke year 2 and the new one won't stay on and constantly derails. In first gear it goes forward then backs up, I no longer have top gear...Shifter linkage problems? Weak flimsy chassis, bolt holes stripped out, body parts don't line up well. It has proved to be very unreliable and frustrating. Not recommended."
+51points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clarkes Beach, NL

Go BIG or go home!

Date:February 15, 2011
"This is my first snowblower. Great machine, but a little under powered. My unit has a 13 HP Tecumseh Snow King engine and the power fades off when heavy snow is attempted. A 16 or 17 HP motor would get the job done easier. My driveway is sloped so in icy conditions it tended to run away a little. You got to have decent arm muscles to tame this beast."
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best

Date:June 2, 2010
"this snowblower can thrower anything the alberta winter can give it from 3 inches of snow to 5foot snow drifts."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT MACHINE!!

Date:January 20, 2010
"We needed a machine that would do the job in a short period of time, our gravelly driveway is 1/4 mile long and the parking area is huge! Our tractor was down for the winter and I purchased this thrower to get us through the winter; We were not disappointed in the least! It started on the second pull at -30 for me and, with the electric start the wife loved it! It's a large machine designed to do just what it does, move a large amount of snow in a short period of time. The controls work flawless, the lighting is very good on my machine and with the snow cab, it's no problem in light snow/cold conditions. I recommend synthetic oil here in AB for the cold temperatures. Very Powerfully, Wife can use it, Two passes gets us out to the road. Faster to use the Blower than start up the tractor!! You won't be disappointed! I don't spend money on what won't work here on the farm, Just on what will..THIS WORKS and does the job impressively."
+53points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:November 19, 2008
"This product has saved my back from a lot of aches."
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Large frame

Date:July 30, 2008
"Cuts a large path. Best on even level ground.
Ackward for a small person. Better be well built and willing to sweet. Over heavy and difficult
to turn even with the so called power steering.
Maybe to do with the weight and large frame the power steering burns out in 2-3 years. $800
just to repair the power steering. Lasts just long enough for the warranty to run out.
Better off with a 30-33" unit with 10.5 hp.
Means taking a couple of extra passes, but the lighter, smaller machines are easier to handle,last longer and require less repairs.
"
+54points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memramcook, NB.

Rock Slinger

Date:April 8, 2008
"This unit was built to move alot of any type of snow. Handling takes some getting used to, especially on an uneven gravel driveway. Weight distribution makes it hard to tilt up if needed, but really helps when digging into deep snow."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:The Pas, Manitoba

Middle of the Road

Date:March 25, 2008
"BIG snowblower that moves alot of snow. Traction could be better, I would love to see some tire chains available. Poor design if surface is not very level as snowblower starts to grab and jump even with slide shoes set to max clearance. Clutch handles are too wide and your hands will get sore if you use this blower for more than about 15 mins. Plastic discharge chute is flimsy and sometimes needs to be helped to turn. It does do what it's supposed to though and that's move alot of snow in a short period of time."
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Troy-Bilt 420 cc 45-in OHV Snowthrower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Correction on Auger size!

Date:October 10, 2007
"The actual size of the auger isn't 12" as listed but 16"! Much better..."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?