Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer

Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer

3.5A motor18" (45.7 cm) cutting width9/16" branch thickness cutting capacityRust-resistant bladesLightweight design
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Must be my bad luck

Date:July 1, 2014
"Purchased this model June 2013 and it died in August - was replaced thanks Canadian Tire but it just died again (June 2014) My old and heavy Black & Decker still works but it's a strain on my aging back. Will see if I can return it for a store credit"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

light weight, cuts great

Date:May 23, 2014
"Just bought this on sale and love it. Had a big overgrown bush and trimmed it up in no time, only need one pass and cuts clean. Light weight."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Impressed

Date:August 19, 2013
"I bought this hedge trimmer on the strength of 9 reviews averaging a review rank of 4.5 out of 5. I trimmed 200 ft of hedge straight out of the box, and was very impressed with how easily this trimmer cut through thick branches, and how efficient it was (cut almost everything in a single pass). I would buy this again, and I have already recommended it to a number of my friends and co-workers.
You won't be disappointed with this purchase"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Hedge Trimmer makes life easier

Date:May 12, 2013
"I love working with this hedge trimmer, it is easy to use, lightweight, has safety features on it.
I have not trimmed my hedges so fast in a long time.
I would recommend this trimmer to anyone wanting to trim their hedges quickly and effectively.
The price was great also.
"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chatham, Chatham-Kent, ON, Canada

good value

Date:May 11, 2013
"We purchased this trimmer a few years ago and love it. It is dependable ,and at this sale price especially,is great value for your money"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cochrane, AB

Chews through my shrubberies

Date:August 27, 2012
"I purchased this unit on sale and am very pleased with its performance. The deflector is very efficient in keeping the branches and twigs away from your hands. The 3.5A is ample to cut through both pine tree limbs and the usual assortment of yard shrubberies. The safety trigger is a litte fussy, however all in all this is a very well designed product and I recommend to anyone for household use."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleased with the purchase

Date:March 25, 2009
"I'm pleased with this trimmer. Have had no problems with it. It does get heavy on the arms as the blade is long. Would recommend."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rimbey, Alberta

Good Purchase

Date:July 17, 2008
"We bought this product and really liked it until we broke two teeth on a hedge branch, then our problems began. Try and get a new blade!! It won't happen because Canadian Tire does not carry blades and when I phoned the Yardworks Head Office they informed me that they do not sell the blades as it would be unsafe for the customer to put them on! They will sell a sharpening kit which is totally useless when teeth are missing. So what we have to do is throw our perfectly good Yardworks Hedge trimmer in the garbage because we can't purchase a replacement blade for it! Doesn't make sense to me! Ask about replacement parts before purchasing these products otherwise you will have a garage full of useless hedge trimmers ect."
+53points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON

What an awesome hedge trimmer

Date:July 11, 2008
"I love gardening and to make it easier for me I bought this Yardworks trimmer for my husband to help me. He couldn't believe how quickly he got the job done, how well and fast it cuts, the ease of handling the trimmer, he was also surprised by the thickness of the hedge branches that this trimmer cut through like they were twigs.
Overall: cost, performance, handling and speed of this trimmer it is an excellent choice to purchase.
"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton AB

The wife is Happy

Date:June 5, 2008
"My wife trims the Hedge around the Graden, and no complaints, this is good. I lubricate using a 50:50 mix of 10 weight motor oil and solvent bought at canadian tire. Watch your power cord cuts through them easily!"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON

Yardworks 3.5A/18" Electric Hedge Trimmer

Date:June 3, 2008
"This trimmer I bought recently replaced the hand held shear I had been using for a number of years. It is simple to use and easy to handle. It helped me to cut the bushes extremely fast and neat and tidy compared to the shear. I recommend strongly to buy this power garden tool that makes life much easier."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 3.5A / 18-in. Electric Hedge Trimmer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON

Good buy

Date:June 3, 2008
"Bought this product when my old hedge trimmer died in the middle of trimming. Works very well, much better than the old one. I was able to finish trimming quickly. My hedge looks great!"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?