Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC

Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC

Gas-powered grass trimmer/brush cutter features 4-cycle, 29 cc engine and 18" cutting pathElectric start capable with starter unit or drill adapter (60-2223) sold separatelySpring Assist starting technology dramatically reduces starting effort.Straight shaftIncludes trimmer spool with 0.105" dual li
Average Customer Rating:
2.7 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
5 of 10(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Review 1 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pontiac, QC J0X, Canada

Excellent Brush Cutter

Date:July 5, 2013
"I've had this brush cutter since 2005 and I'm very satisfied with it. It never let me down and it always starts on the third pull. Being a 4 stroke was one of my criteria and not having to mix is awesome. I purchased it primarily for clearing trails at the cottage but I later got also the tiller and edger attachment for it. The tiller attachment has been especially useful around the house. For those looking for a cheap light trimmer, this is not for you! This is heavier than most trimmer and although it can trim very nicely, it is really made for brush cutting. And you DO NEED to use the strap! Anyone doing brush cutting knows that. Another tip for those who are interested in brush cutting: The 4 point blade that comes with it is only good for thick grass and light scrub. Don't try to cut small trees with this blade, it's not made for that. If you want to do some serious brush cutting and be able to cut some small trees up to a 3-4" diameter base, do yourself a favor and go get yourself a Stilh Chisel Tooth Circular Saw Blade. It has the same hole diameter and will fit perfectly on the Troy Bilt. This blade will cut through small trees like butter and the Troy Bilt does an excellent job with it!"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chester, NS, Canada

Product not bad, but customer service stinks

Date:June 6, 2013
"I had one of these machines for seven years without any issues. Sure the line spool jams, but they all do no matter what brand you buy. It's 4 stroke, so no mixing. Usually starts first time and has need little attention.
However it was getting a bit tired so I decided to change it over for the same model. When I got it home I found a problem with the bump head. Usually with these companies they include some literature that asks you to contact them before taking the product back. I usually ignore this and take it back anyway. This time however I decided to give them a try thinking I would perhaps give them the details and they would send me out a replacement head. So I e mailed them asking if they wanted me to deal with them or Canadian Tire. What I got back was nothing short of rude. 'I am not Canadian Tire, so how do I know what Canadian Tire will say or do?' Okay Troy Bilt, this mark the end of a seven year relationship. The product will be returned.
"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada

Works Great!

Date:May 19, 2013
"I bought this gas trimmer last summer because it was the only 4 cycle gas trimmer I could find and I hate mixing gas. . It worked well throughout the summer. I stored it, last winter, with gas and stabilizer in it and it started after only three pulls in the spring. I find the engine very powerful and I don't find it too heavy in comparison to other makes. I have brought many other brands in the past including Stihl and Echo and I am happy with this grass trimmer. This trimmer is heavy duty cuts like nothing and is not a toy for the novice or inexperienced. Very happy with this purchase. I would recommend this trimmer."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Already in the shop

Date:July 13, 2012
"Doesnt run right.
barely 10 hours of light use and not working properly.
i made the mistake of buying 2 of these, Ran poorly from the get go.
Now i have to take it to some repair shop somewhere.
you get what you pay for.
Next time i will go to a real industrial equipment store.
Tried email supprt from troybilt-- they just parrot the manual.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sooke, BC

Motor Broke!

Date:May 28, 2012
"Not the best product unfortunately, The unit is hard to start (without the drill attachment) and the motor broke only after 3 uses. Sent off to A&C Equipment for warranty replacement, I have been waiting 3 months to get it back! In the meantime, my grass is getting out of control!!! Should have bought an Echo ;("
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canada

Way too heavy

Date:May 20, 2012
"Way too heavy to use for anymore than 5 minutes without a 10 minute break. Not only that but it was missing parts such as the nut for holding the brush blade on and some kind of a tool for removing the spindle."
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VANCOUVER,bc

Bad Experience for me

Date:July 6, 2011
"My review is negative. I had a bad experience. I do not recommend it. The cord or line feeder kept jamming. I had to return it twice. Finally the manager gave me a full refund."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Motors good!

Date:July 2, 2011
"I bought the trimmer as a weed eater and bought the brush cutter attachment as an add on. The motor starts well, is good on gas and isn't too bad for vibration. But it is heavy so be prepared to use a strap with it. The brush cutter was pretty well useless though. It won't cut anything that the weed eater head won't chew through in the same time. I took the blade off to see if I could sharpen it and noticed that there's a washer on the shaft that is exactly the size of the hole in a circular saw blade... hmmmmm.... now it cuts brush like nowbody's business. If you do that you'll love this thing... but be CAREFUL!"
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle

Date:January 2, 2011
"Well first of all I don't miss having to mix gas an oil together, it's very nice. Operating it I've noticed is way quieter than any two cycle I've operated, not to mention starting it is way easier. I've used the bush blade on up to about 1" saplings but you have to slowly feed the blade thru, work great on the bramble bushes I had to take out. I do wish the other accessories were easier to get a hold of like the pruning blade. I'm very happy I made this purchase an I hope it will in the new year stand my tests an work I would like to put it thru as a gardener/landscaper."
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Brush Cutter, 29 CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works for me

Date:July 15, 2010
"Besides being a pretty spiffy brushcutter, this thing is a straight shaft trimmer. Straight shafts are usually easier on the back for anyone over 6' tall which is the main reason I picked this up. Straight shaft units also tend to have heavier guts.
It comes with a basic brush cutter head looking like a monster ninja throwing star and a bump feed trimmer head. You can swap between them by changing out the nut on the bottom. Includes a tool to lock the spindle while changing the head, but doesn't include a wrench.
I've resharpened the cutter head a few times so you do get good value from it. It has no trouble with most brush, including monster weeds which eat string trimmers.
The included bump feed trimmer head is the same useless piece of junk that every other string trimmer uses, which is why I'm not giving this five stars. I use a generic fixed line head and couldn't be happier.
It starts easy (three pulls after spending the winter in the basement) and being a 4 cycle engine it uses regular gasoline instead of an oil/gas mixture. I didn't have any 2 cycle engines around when I bought this and not having to deal with another gas can made it worth the extra money,"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Grass Gator Trimmer Head
 
 
 
 
 
+50points
Was this review helpful to you?