Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC

Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC

Troy-Bilt gas-powered grass trimmer features a 4-cycle, 29 cc engine and 17" cutting pathElectric start capable with starter unit or drill adapter (60-2049) sold separatelySpring Assist starting technology dramatically reduces starting effort.Features curved shaft0.095" cutting lineBump 'n' feed lin
Average Customer Rating:
2.842 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
10 of 19(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Review 1 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Lemon!

Date:August 15, 2014
"Purchased this trimmer July/13 and have used it 10-12 times in my small backyard. The spool recently melted and fell off?! When I took it to a Troy Built/MTD warranty service outlet they sent pictures to Troy Built/MTD and they came back and said it wouldn't be covered under warranty that we must have let grass wrap up on the shaft from cutting super long grass! It's not possible with the tiny yard we have. After reading the ratings online in Canada and the U.S this product is obviously a lemon and they won't own up to it! Avoid all together!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Service Issues

Date:August 6, 2014
"Very fuel efficient and quiet but also very heavy and goes through line quickly. Trimmer head has had to be replaced under warranty after only a year, used only 8 X on our small yard. Very disappointing so far.
We'll see how it works after being fixed. Bought an $11 strap for it rather than trying to carry it.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Read the manual

Date:June 20, 2014
"I laugh at all the bad reviews on this product, if you would just read the manual and do as it says it will start just fine. This is a great product and no more mixing gas and oil."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Nice unit

Date:May 30, 2014
"I have had this trimmer and all of the add-on attatchments for two summers now.
Have had no problems and still working well.
The 4 cycle motor is quite powerfull, no need to use at full speed/power for most jobs (saves gas!), and is quiet compaired to 2 cycle trimmers.
The "starting procedure" is a bit wonky, but follow it and starting is no problem.
Make sure you push the "primer bulb" at least 10x if it has not been started resently.
Set choke to 3, give a pull or two.
Set choke to 2, (I) hold the throttle trigger about 1/2 way and give a pull and should start. Then let it warm up a good minute or two before setting choke to 1 and using.
Once warm it will restart easy with choke on 1 and a little squeeze of trigger.
Changing attatchments is very easy, and all have held up quite well.
It is a tad on the heavy side, but does help build arm strength lol."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:waterloo

Terrible!

Date:July 23, 2013
"Impossible to start even when priming as per their instructions. The spindle is terrible, have to take it apart each time you want more line. O and get this, a gasket just blew and there is white smoke all over the place. Don't buy this buy of junk! Never again will I trust troybilt."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada

If I knew it was a MTD product I!!!!!

Date:June 15, 2013
"Purchased this trimmer and it worked well once! Second time, it ran for a bit and died....have not been able to get it going again!!! Forget warranty or service...this is an MTD product....you might just as well bring it to the dump!!! Had a lawn mower and have dealt with MTD before...guess where the lawn mower is???....that's right....THE DUMP!!!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC, Canada

Very poor warranty service

Date:June 9, 2013
"Bought on 29/05/13 Canadian tire store #174
Used once line jam, try to replace line but cutting head is missing the head knob. Phone 1-800- customer support (MTD) after a very long wait was told by support that this was an impossible siuation that the trimmer would not work. Sed an Email with pictures of problem. Answer follow procedure in manual to change line witch is impossible cutting head as no Knob (see pictures).
Send second Email with pictures and procedure from manuals. This Email remain unanswered
Would never buy again a Troy-Bilt product or MTD.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good product

Date:May 20, 2013
"Easy starting, great on fuel, tons of power,quiet and you wont smell like fuel fumes after using it. Super happy I purchased this product. If it made sense i would own two!!! Love the option that you could turn this into a tiller or edger if you want to purchase the attachments. The option of purchasing the electric start is pretty neat too. If this wasn't so easy to start I would consider it. Overall very pleased with this purchase!!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rimbey, AB T0C, Canada

great trimmer for small or big jobs

Date:May 14, 2013
"Bought this trimmer 3 years ago and it hasen't let me down at the least.
A little heavy but has power to spare.
happy about the purchase.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Product

Date:September 23, 2012
"I would advise against buying this overpriced product. I was originally drawn to it because of its 4 cycle engine, and the ability to run straight gas. This trimmer is very heavy, and it goes through string at an alarming rate. I found myself changing string after every use. Do yourself a favour and purchase a Homelite trimmer. Only cost $60 and runs like a dream. Don't waste your time on this product."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Guelph Ont

Worst Purchase Ever

Date:May 31, 2012
"Bought this a month ago , spent more time fixing line as it kept breaking inside of spool. Called 1-800 number and was told that they would send me a new head . After 3 weeks and no head and 2 more calls I gave up . Took it back to store and got my money back. I will never buy any troy-bilt product again. Got home after returning it and the new head was delivered. No good to me now.
Poor product and poor service
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

terrible purchase hope i get my money back

Date:May 24, 2012
"its verry hard to start and line gets tangled in spool, you will spend more time trying to start this thing and taking appart head fixing the line than actually trimming. hope i can get a refund just got it this morning."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Campbellford, Ontario

Worst trimmer I have ever owned

Date:April 20, 2012
"I bought this so I would not have to mix oil anymore. It is extremely difficult to start, at least 20 pulls. Once running if I give it full throttle it stalls.
It will only operate at 1/2 throttle which cuts next to nothing. I am trying to find somewhere to get it looked at under warranty.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

Not bad purchase but has a few flaws

Date:January 6, 2012
"First of the initial starting of the machine almost seemed like it was ceased but a really hard yank did the trick. Secondly most of the fuel lines for some reason were cracked up and needed replacing. Thirdly the stop switch does not work anymore so now I have to choke it to stop it until I find the time to see what is the problem and solve it. Fourthly the bumper head is so inferior that depending on the terrain you have it will need replacing 2-3 times a year depending on how often you use it. Its really hard to determine the oil level in the machine as to where it should be. The bumper feed does not work that great.
Now for the positive sides.... No more gas and oil mixture, burns really clean, easy to spool, restarts really easy once in use, light on fuel consumption, powerful engine.
I rated 3 stars for because of all the flaws but its still a really great machine when compared to others and I have use quite a few before."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Slave Lake, AB

Reliable start

Date:September 8, 2011
"I have owned a previous model to this until i lost it in a house fire. Good machine. Had no issues starting, if it doesn't start Prime again, and re-prime untill it starts. I did find it heavy, and the shoulder strap was cumbersome, not sure if they changed the design so if someone could comment on that.... I will buy another one, maiinly because of the clean burn, no oil-fuel mixture. I gave it a 4 for the weight and harness."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON

Good but heavy

Date:May 6, 2011
"I just purchased this yesterday on sale and received the $50 gift card. Great deal!
The product was easy to assemble and works fantastic. Starting it was a little bit of a chore but much easier than some cheap 2 cycle trimmers. I did find this unit heavy but I can still handle it with one hand, so it's not much of a complaint, but I did deduct a star because of its weight.
The only other complaint is that the oil that comes with it leaked out all over the box and instructions, which was very annoying.
Overall, it does its job and does it well."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern Ontario

Great, but tough to start!

Date:April 28, 2011
"I've bought this because I needed something to replace a lackluster battery powered trimmer. Build quality is good, weight is decent (but eh it's a 4 stroke), it's quiet, powerful enough for all your job around the house and it's clean burning.
It's nice to not have to mix your gas (it burns very little). The main and only problem is that it's finicky to start, which it always will, but not without a lack of effort.
4 stars only because it's tough to start, 5 star product otherwise.
I recommend it, but you may want to consider that drill adapter if you're not physically able."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Trimmer

Date:May 27, 2010
"I just purchased this trimmer.It starts great, runs great and is well balanced. What more can you ask for??? Buy one ..you will like it.."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Troy-Bilt 4-Cycle Curved Grass Trimmer, 29 CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON

Good all around trimmer, but a bit heavy

Date:May 16, 2010
"I bought this unit as a backup for my commercial equipment. I put on a couple hours a week. I upgraded the trim line to a thicker, heavier style to reduce wear and time to refill the spool. I'll get a month out of a half spool with cutting 4-5 lawns, including a quick edging around driveway sidewalk.
I bought it mainly to cut out carrying around mixed fuel. I do have two downsides, one is that it takes a half a minute to start as there's a three stage starting process. It's easy to do at least. The other is that it's heavy. I'm used to it now and it's well balanced to use with one hand while you use the other hand to say move tree branches out of the way. Vibrations are minimal if you wear gloves and I did buy it on sale for just under $200 making it a relative bargain. I can cut 4-5 lawns with edging on one tank of fuel, so it's very efficient. The edging feature is definitely a plus over a straight shaft trimmer."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?