Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer

Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer

20 V of MAX lithium battery power and 2.0 amp hours provides longer run times and more power 12" (30 cm) cutting diameter means more trimming in less time Wheels can also be used as a “mowing-like” function for detailed trimming around landscape or hard to reach areas Quick release trigger lever is convenient for making easy height adjustments to the telescopic shaft for comfort and control Front auxiliary handle has 7 locking adjustments for maximum comfort while trimming, edging, or mowing Lightweight at only 6 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Review 1 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I like it

Date:July 31, 2013
"I have a 1/4 acre lot and it has done all my edged gardens and obstacles twice on the first battery charge. It handles grass and "fleshy" weeds no problem, however any "woody" weeds it will not cut. My ryobi gas trimmer handles them no problem for comparison.
The edger mode works great to maintain landscaping however you still need to create your edging with a proper powered edger or manual edging tool first. I love this feature of the trimmer and is why I bought it.
Pros: Does what it should. Line feed works perfectly. Battery has good life so far. Handles most growth types.
Cons: Head adjustment for the edging/trimming modes requires you to put your foot on the head and force the handle - this I believe will eventually break it. Unit is not balanced being front heavy and fatigues your arms surprisingly fast. A balanced gas trimmer is much easier to handle because the motor weight offsets the head weight."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada

I couldn't love tthis product more

Date:June 20, 2013
"After using a corded trimmer for a number of years I was going to buy a gas trimmer but wasn't looking forward to pre-mixing fuel and the noise level. While looking at what CTC had I noticed this item and started reading the reviews and became a believer. Bought it on father's day and have used it twice now and it exceeds my expectations. The battery holds a charge more than long enough to do our whole yard. We now have the sharpest looking lawn on the street with our straight edges and all. Leave the wheel on top and use it only for edging - not worth taking it off and mounting it on the bottom. I'll look at other Worx products in the future."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beachburg, ON K0J, Canada

Great light-weight cordless trimmer

Date:June 9, 2013
"I just bought this little cordless grass trimmer and over all I'm pleased with it. I'm used to the longevity that a gas trimmer provides, but it surprisingly did the job. Yes the battery takes three hours to charge, but isn't that expected? my cordless drill battery took 16 hrs to initially charge, so that won't affect my rating and isn't an issure with me.
I rated this 4/5 because there are three stationary positions that the wheels mount. I don't know why the engineers decided to use two locked positions for the wheels when trimming? They should've used a ball bearing castor system so it pivet's when cutting side-to-side and then forward and back. Its not that big of a deal. I took the wheels off the bottom, and then left them mounted on the side of the trimmer for the Edging position and that made a lot more sense. My yard has a few planters, picnic table, and gardens surrounded by edging stone, plus pathways and the battery did last...but barely. I did have to recharge after I was done. I really liked how it doesn't gradually loose power which I thought it would. It just stops, then only lasts a few sec's again to let you know its done.
For a single string, it was strong enough for thicker weeds. I'm 5'11, and the telescopic handle was very easy to adjust. To turn it into an edger is very easy. unlock, turn the pivit dials and then lock again(keep in mind, I left the wheels already mounted to that position# Good light weight cordless trimmer! Its nice not to have to store a straight gas tank plus two tanks at different oil ratio's#chain saw), I picked mine up on the father's day sale and I'd recommend this trimmer if you have an average sized yard."
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hartland, NB, Canada

Perfect trimmer

Date:June 4, 2013
"I've been using this for a month and it has performed flawlessly. Bought a spare battery thinking I might need it but a fully charged battery will do all the trimming I have and still have a charge left.
No issues at all. It's well made and is well worth the money.
"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You got what you paid for! Recommend ++

Date:May 27, 2013
"Very powerful and flexible. don't get cheap stuff. at least better price and get better performance. I am glad get something useful not something wast money."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:edmonton

great product but canadian tire messed up

Date:May 25, 2013
"works great (would give 5 stars for that, but i give 3 stars as a warning, because i bought this trimmer as a result of the description from canadian tire).the description doesn't fit the product. it isn;t charged in 30 minutes. it takes 3 hours(manual in package says same) and a wall mount also isn't included. so if you think you can recharge this battery in 30 minutes and it full it's a NO, because it tales 3 hours. ;-)"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

two years ago

Date:May 12, 2013
"works great nice and light but battery pack wont take a charge and new battery is $100 bummmer!"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC

Very Happy

Date:May 7, 2013
"Bought this trimmer one week before it went on sale.
(I was credited the difference on my debit card with no problems)
The trimmer was every bit as powerful as I had hoped. What a pleasure to not have to deal with cords or gas and oil. Finished my front and back yard without needing a recharge and if I did need one, a quick stop for a beer is long enough for a charge.
I would certainly recommend this trimmer. Very Happy
"
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC

Excellent!

Date:April 27, 2013
"This trimmer is GREAT! I have a 70 by 100 lot, quite a number of trees and bushes etc to go around, and I was able to do all my trimming, plus hit the high spots on the lawn plus the tall grass across the street....and then got a good start on the neighbors place. The trimmer kept full power for at least 40 minutes. When it was done, it just started shutting off a couple of seconds after start, so you knew it was time to quit :).
As for the trimming job it did, it was impressive. The unit is pretty light, and the power to weight ratio is great. It went through the lawn easily, and also thick tall grass, fibrous weeds, even some woody stems that were a half inch thick. There wasn't anything I tried that it could not do.
It's comfortable to use, the grab handle is easily adjusted. In fact, everything is easily adjusted on the fly. I put the wheels on partway through, in the trimming position...in some situations they are helpful, in others they are kind of in the way...so I may take them off. I changed the length a couple of times while I was trimming, it was really easy to do. Plenty of length. I'm 5'10" and I quickly discovered it was much too long for me at the max length.
Of all the trimmers I have ever used, this is by far the best for me. Lightweight, adjustable, plenty powerful enough for me. I know I'll use it WAY more than the big, heavy gas one that I am now selling...no fuel to mix, don't have to wear hearing protection. My yard is going to look SO much better because I'll actually USE THIS! :)
I highly recommend this trimmer, it's GREAT!"
+52points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alma, QC, Canada

Very good purchase

Date:September 4, 2012
"Bought it at 30% off and it is totally worth it. VERY light, Very nimble, very fast to charge the battery. Some people say that it is short; i'm 6ft. tall and it is long enough. I would recommend it to anyone who's looking for a cordless trimmer."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, BC Canada

Wow, Cordless

Date:August 29, 2012
"I would just love to have this in my shed. Cordless is the best - no cords to trip over, or extension cords to find!!! Looks light-weight."
-56points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort St John, BC, Canada

Finally, one that worx!!!

Date:August 29, 2012
"I had given up on grass trimmers - never could get one where the string actually worked for more than 5 minutes - this one is great! Friend had one, tried it, bought one the next day."
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Worx 20 V Lithium Ion Cordless Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stony Plain, AB

Awesome trimmer

Date:June 16, 2012
"Just bought one of these today. Had seen many favourable reviews. I've owned many gas and electric trimmers, but this is the most handy unit ever purchased. Works great as a trimmer and edger. Lightweight and powerful. The automatic string advance actually works!! (not so with many other products). For most residential lawns, this is the way to go. May need a spare battery for larger areas, but they charge in less than 1 hour."
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?