Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower

Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower

TwinForce Lithium Dual Blade Cordless Mower features two 10" (25 cm) blades for greater mulching capabilities Has a 20" (51 cm) cutting deck Comes with two 40 Volt and 4 Amp hour batteries Operates on 1 battery at a time and smartly switches automatically after the first runs out Up to 90 minutes of run time using both batteries Up to 50% lighter and 20% quieter than gas mowers Mulch, rear bag discharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Review 1 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Lawnmower with Exceptions

Date:October 20, 2013
"After reading all of the positive reviews for this lawnmower, I went out and grabbed one. I am used to the traditional gas powered mowers, but decided to give this one a shot since you don't need to mess around with oil, gas, etc.
Overall, I am very happy with this purchase. I agree with a lot of posters about a lot of things:
- Power: Great. It takes me about 45-50 minutes to cut my lawn, and I still have juice left after.
- Charge: Really pleased with the short charging time on the batteries.
- Quiet: Much quieter than a regular gas mower. I can actually have a conversation with someone standing 20 feet away while this is running.
The two things I am a little bummed about are the quality of cutting and mulching.
I've noticed the odd blade of grass still standing after I cut over a spot, and I usually end up with about 5-10 blades that are untouched when I'm done. Not a big deal really, but obviously not ideal.
The mulching on this thing isn't that great. If your grass is long, I would recommend using the bagging function instead, or else the grass will build up underneath the mower and it will just stop running. You will have to keep lifting the mower up and over the pile, which is a big pain.
In my case, I was gone on vacation for 3 weeks and came home and the grass was a jungle. I cut it on the tallest setting, and planned to go over it again on the shortest setting. This thing couldn't handle that. The grass was too long and it just kept clogging and stopping. So I bagged it on the tallest setting, and planned to mulch on the shortest setting. Again, the mower couldn't handle that, so I had to bag everything.
Now that I now what this thing can and can't handle, I'm confident I won't have these same problems going forward."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

My new baby

Date:September 27, 2013
"Charging was quick and easy. Slid the batteries in. Flipped the handle up and locked it. Pressed the start button, pulled the safety bar up, and away I went. Had to adjust the wheel height higher, but that's all there is to it. Fairly light to push around. I live on a corner so more grass then normal, but lots of battery power for front and back. It even handled my neighbours grass that was several weeks high, no problem, just had to walk a bit slower. Though the mower speeds up itself when the going gets tough."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Excellent choice

Date:July 23, 2013
"Review text
I had a gas mower for the last 10 years and it was time for a new mower and I didn't want the hassle of filling gas or changing oil anymore. I had hesitation about the power a cordless mower would have but I no longer have any doubt. After a bit of research I chose this for its reviews and two batteries and two
Blades. I wasnt sure if i wanted self prop or push as i am woman in her 30s.... This push model was very light. this mower cut through 3 weeks of grass and lots of battery still left over. It's light and easy to manoever and very easy to remove clippings from bag. It took 5 mins to set up and I only required one battery for front and backyard for a detached lot. I am impressed and very happy with my purchase.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Lawnmower

Date:July 21, 2013
"I have been using a gas mower for some time and finally decided to purchase a cordless mower. What an amazing product.
Used for the first time today. Easy to start and operate, significantly quieter than the gas mower obviously and cut through 3 weeks of lawn growth while I was out of town. The bag is easy to unload and the lawn mower itself is very light and easy to move around tight spots.
I'd recommend this product to anyone and it's well worth the price I got it for on sale at $499"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC

So far, so good

Date:July 7, 2013
"I bought this mower to replace my older Black & Decker rechargeable mower. I have a larger lot and very thick grass so it is a challenge for electric recharageables. I bought the Greenworks mower and was impressed right away.
* Good power - each battery's power lasts a good 30+ minutes and provides consistent power almost through that whole time. The mower kicks in to a higher speed for denser grass, but is unable to after about 20 minutes. Rather than having both batteries on board at the same time, I prefer to run one battery until it is starting to lose some of its power and then switch it out for the fresh one. That saves a few minutes of reduced battery power before the machine automatically switches over to the second battery (saves some slower walking/cutting).
* Quick charging - batteries take about 2 hours to recharge.
* Quiet - this is even quieter than my last rechargeable mower. I can actually hear the grass blades being cut (can hear the snapping sound over the sound of the mower)!
* Quality cut - there do not seem to be any "dead spots" in the cut where some grass is left standing.
* Lightweight - the Greenworks machine is surprisingly light and easy to handle.
* Good mulching - does a good job mulching cut grass blades, although I've noticed that I get better battery life when I use the grass catcher instead.
Concerns - I wonder about the batteries: will they continue to produce power consistently year after year, will their charge lessen over time, can I replace them in a few years if needed? I think that the battery compartments will need to be cleaned out after awhile, and I'm not sure how easy that will be to do. The foam around the handle has already started to wear off (it hits the fence) and probably won't last more than a year or two.
So far, I would recommend this mower to others. It's been excellent so far."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Good power, light weight, fun to use

Date:June 26, 2013
"Had 2 gas mowers and fed up with maintenance. This unit is light weight, easy to use, yet enough power to cut average size lawn. It can work on 1 battery, while the other is charging. Charging is fast and easy and cannot go wrong checking the lights. 3 hours per battery and it is full. Does not feel like 40 lbs. Feather light comparing to gas units. Mulching needs to go really slow but clippings are really, really short. Impressive.
I agree the blades could be a bit more sharper out of the box. Grass catcher is excellent. With large opening and light weight, emptying is not a chore anymore.
Plastic deck is excellent. No more build up and rusting. Handles folding is excellent, half fold or full fold. 1 single lever for height adjustment.
Love this unit. Not a machine and more like a toy you can play with. Starting is fun. Since it is light weight, self propel is not needed.
Only thing which is nice to have - I wish the deck can cut 22 inch, but 20 inch is fine.
"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome machine

Date:June 12, 2013
"This is the best mower I have ever owned. I own a John Deere ride-on too that doesn't do the job that this mower can handle. When you bag with the ride-on and you cut too short when the grass is long the chute gets plugged and you have to stop and clear the chute. The Twin Force 40v chews through the thick stuff like nothing. In fact the machine increases the revs when it goes under load. It is so light and easy to use I am actually watching my grass grow with eager anticipation that I get to cut it again!!"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Love it!

Date:June 10, 2013
"This mower is lightweight, quiet and does a great job. I love it!!"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Prince George, BC, Canada

Rotation of blades is backwards!

Date:June 9, 2013
"Bought this unit yesterday, charged it, and cut today. Charger is fast, but should have had two bays so that you could charge both batteries at the same time (who is going to remember to run out to the garage a few hours later and charge the second battery?).
Awesome cutting power! Used only one battery to cut the whole lawn. 37 minutes run time to dead (not going to get the 90 minutes advertised out of two batteries!). Full power is available until about the last two minutes. No difference in sound when running free or doing a heavy cut. Impressive! A huge improvement over the 20 " Yardworks 24 volt lead acid cordless I have been using for the last 7 years (15 - 20 minutes so-so power, then another 10 steadily down hill, 30 minutes max).
But the blades turn the wrong direction! As with all mowers, wheels push the grass forward knocking the grass down. But the right blade turns clockwise so next time around it does not stand the grass back up and shear it off as it does with most mowers (counter-clockwise). Consequently, when the grass from the wheel track stands back up it is longer than the rest of the lawn. Also, it does a poor job of cutting long dandelion stems (just knocks most of them over). It would probably help a little if the blades were sharper (surprisingly dull out of the box!)
Very light weight mower, easy to push. I like the plastic deck; nothing to rust. Only time will tell how well it will stand up!
"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Slave Lake, AB, Canada

Next Gen Mower

Date:June 7, 2013
"If you are hesitating about buying a battery powered mower don't.
I loved my 3.7 hp Briggs & Stratton mower, but after 2011 trying my parents Black & Decker battery powered mower I knew I would be converting to electric.
The GW TwinForce is the future of mowing & the next generation of battery powered mowing
Pros:
-It's quiet. Sounds like an angry beehive. You could mow at night and your neighbors won't be mad.
-It's light. My seven year old daughter can use it.
-Wet grass/6" grass. When the motor senses a load it automatically ramps up the RPM
-Two batteries. This unit runs with two batteries in it but I have yet to see power pulled from the secondary battery after mowing for 40 minutes.
-Easy start
Cons
-Price might turn you off
-Some complain the bag is small (I like that it is a light load to carry)
-New batteries are expensive and will you be able to get replacement batteries in five/ten years????
Final thought
If this mower said John Deere, Husqvarna, Stihl...it would be much more expensive and most people would want it now. GreenWorks makes a great machine, they just need to inject some testosterone into their brand.
"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Weymouth, NS

Great product

Date:May 29, 2013
"This is really great product and does a great job."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

Love this thing!

Date:May 29, 2013
"Quietest lawn mower ever! wish it could cut better, but easy to use! Maybe We need more time with it! only had it for a week."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

great product

Date:May 29, 2013
"Its a great product. Assembling was easy and it works really great. I am loving this far more more than the gas one i previously owned. highly recommend everyone for the purchase."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada

Makes lawn cutting fun!

Date:May 25, 2013
"I was looking for a lighter weight lawnmower that was easier to push than my Gas LawnBoy, but with enough battery power to cut a large yard, and this it it! It's half the weight of my LawnBoy and cuts just as well, and no gas or oil to bother with! It's so quiet, I could cut the lawn on Sundays and not worry about bothering my neighbors.
On the first charge, it lasted long enough to cut last weekend and today - front and back! Impressive! The batteries charge really fast too, one at a time.
I wanted a wide cutting path and wondered if the twin blades might leave a small uncut path, but no worries there!
The twin blades seem to mulch better, not leaving clumps of cut grass behind, like the gas LawnBoy.
If this mower cuts through heavy leaves in the fall, I'm selling the LawnBoy!
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Good Mower, but Battery can be an issue

Date:May 25, 2013
"This is the 2nd time I'm using since I bought it a week ago. It chewed through 3/4' length dense grass without a problem. For a yard size of 60x40, it was only able to go half way with two fully charged batteries. I had to take a 6 hour break before I could resume the next half of the lawn. Still going to give 4/5 for what's out there in the market vs what this offers. Each replacement battery costs $149.99 just to remind you."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the convenience, pick me!

Date:May 24, 2013
"Long battery life and cut thru thick tough grass. I can cut grass far away from the house."
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada

Awesome

Date:May 15, 2013
"After 30 years of my corded mower, I retired it and purchased this mower last Saturday., it's fantastic. Our 2000 sq ft lawn took the charge from one battery, it's very quiet and with lots of power. It worked straight out of the box - batteries already were charged too.. Took all of 5 minutes from box to lawn cutting. Awesome!! .""
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very satisfied so far

Date:May 12, 2013
"I did my research checked every other machine gas, cord and cordless and after talking to a few reps and my research went with dual blades green works. And after my first usage i must say at the end i was very happy with my choice.
Its not loud.
1 battery was enough for 2200 sqft yard witv slopes. (Corner house)
Blades performed well and it was the first time this season even though grass was fairly long.
Mower can operate with 1 battery and off season as per manual you only need to charge roughly every 2 months! Really no other mAintenance.
Unit already comes fully assembled.
- cant wait to mow the lawn again!
Quite happy and so far would recommend if wallet permits.)
"
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great so far

Date:May 6, 2013
"Recently purchased this mower, it's fantastic. Our 2500 sq ft lawn takes 1/2 the charge from one battery, it's quiet and powerful. Goodbye gas."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Greenworks TwinForce 40V 20-in Lithium Cordless Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cumberland, BC, Canada

Twin Blades Performed Exceptionally Well

Date:March 24, 2013
"We recently purchased a house which had been on the market for quite a while, and now with spring it was time to finally mow the yard which hadn’t been done for quite a long time. Our yard is about average size (about 5,000 sqft). At the time of purchase, most of the yard was 4” to 5” of grass, and side areas along the house and fence ranged from about 8” to well over a foot high.
We were originally looking at getting the 19” GreenWorks (#60-1783-6) instead of the 16” model (#60-1782-8) mainly because the 2nd included battery on the 19” model made the price difference between the two worthwhile.
We chose the GreenWorks [which I believe is released as the Canadian Tire distribution brand – and looks the same as the known brand name Ryobi] cordless mower because the yard is just too big to be fiddling and worrying about running over extension cords. As well, I’m not a handy person, so maintenance of a gas model is beyond me.
Having loved the lithium battery performance from our drill, I knew this was the route I wanted to go over the normal rechargeable batteries. However, I was less than impressed with the usual range of 24V to 36V systems available – GreenWorks was the brand we decided to go with because we knew the 40V would be a much smarter investment for performance.
Ready to buy, we were thrown a loop when the newest 40V twin blade GreenWorks model (#60-1786-0) was released the same day. Twin blades??? I didn’t know anything about mowers (apart from an old electric corded one from our previous residence), so I called around to a number of friend who built houses, did renovations, and worked regularly on yards – they had the same reaction: “There are twin blade electric mowers?”
I had wanted to find out with dual blades are worth the price difference or not, but couldn’t find anyone who had used them – so I was going to be the guinea pig on this one.
It made sense that two shorter 10” blades would have a much easier time with overgrowth compared to the longer 19” blades – there would/should be less strain or slowdown cutting, so hopefully that would also mean less power drain to get through the heavy stuff.
I also liked that the grass catcher seemed to be made better than the two older models. The rear wheel also looked much bigger [the parts manual says they’re 10” rear wheels] than the 8” rear wheels on the previous models.
My main concern was that both batteries were meant to be in place on the new twin-blade version – so I figured it meant 1 battery running each blade. Still, I figured GreenWorks took what worked well on the previous models, and upgraded some smart design and performance functions… so I went with my gut and bout the new 20” 40V twin blade “Twin Force” model the first day it arrived.
THE GOOD
1) Since moving to our new house, I’ve been picking up various yard machines and tools – it seems like everything takes some careful reading of the manuals just to put together the most basic parts and attachments [reminder: I’m next to useless with anything mechanical, so I always dread the “first assemble” part of purchases… The Good: there was absolutely nothing to assemble!
The box was way smaller (and lighter) than I had expected, so I figured there would at least be a lot of handle, wheel, and attachment assembly needed. I was wrong – the whole mower folders so compact that it was just a matter of taking it out of the box, and unfolding the arms.
2) The batteries – nice and lightweight, recharge very quickly, and seem to last quite a while. I had thought one battery would be powering each blade separately, but after about 45 minutes of mowing everything, only one showed it was still half full (according to the LED lights on the battery), while the other one still registered as completely full.
The “Features” say there are two batteries used at the same time “for continuous run time”, so maybe they don’t independently power each blade separately [I’ll let someone else more adept and experienced to check that out].
Maybe next time I’ll see whether a single battery can be used – strictly out of curiosity to see if both are needed running in series, or whether the mower simply switches if one runs out of power.
3) The mower pushes very easily, and is quite light. I’ve read that some gas powered mowers are self-propelled to make it easier, but that electrics and cordless usually skip the feature since they’re less heavy for pushing.
I did try pushing it along with just one hand, and I guess that’s when I realized it really didn’t take much energy to keep the mower moving along.
4) Grass Catcher – the handle makes it very fast and easy to attach and empty. I decided to bag the first cut rather than mulch (mainly because the grass was rather high), so I haven’t tried the mulching feature – that will be done on the next cut.
5) Noise Level – I was really astounded at how quiet the mower was. You could easily hold a conversation with someone walking alongside without really even having to raise your voice. It was also nice that the mower shuts off when you let go of the bar, and immediately starts again at the push of the button on the handle.
6) Cutting – I expected to find a gap down the center of each pass, but the mower did an excellent clean job on the first pass. The mower was also extremely to adjust for different cutting heights [I set it slightly higher when I was about to cut the really tall stuff].
I was dreading when I reached the severely overgrown area [as previously mentioned, there were long runs almost a foot high]. I knew I should expect a lot of slowing down as the mower would need to struggle through some overly heavy cutting [I was sure it would bog down and want to throw up] – but then came the biggest (and best) surprise…
When I hit the really tall overgrowth, this little mower didn’t even hiccup – it took it right down and bagged it readily. Granted it did mean emptying the grass catcher a few times, but seriously there was a heck of a lot to cut.
Rather than bogging down, a burst of power automatically fed to the blades whenever heavier cutting was needed (there was no hint of bogging down at any point). I was amazed that I didn’t even need to slow down to a crawl. That’s when it confirmed that the shorter twin blades had a huge cutting advantage in longer grass, and had a lot less struggle powering through. Definite thumbs up there!
THE BAD
1) Not a major issue since the batteries recharge so quickly, but the machine only comes with a charger to handle one battery at a time – so it’s a bit of an oversight considering both batteries are meant to be in the machine at the same time.
However, that being said, the short recharge time makes it just a minor annoyance rather than a pain in the butt waiting. As well (from above), it may be that only one battery needs to be recharged at a time since the 2nd didn’t show any signs of drain by the time I finished.
2) Adjusting the handle – they unfold/refold easily and quickly, but I haven’t found any way to adjust the angle or height. They’re pretty much perfect for the average person, but unfortunately I’m just over 6’5”, so I find the pushing angle a little low for my personal preference.
I would like to be able to adjust the angle height for a little more comfort, but then again the mower pushes along so easily that I can get used to it as set.
3) Just one more thing that can go wrong... well, okay it's too early to tell how the blades stand up to time, but my main concern was that having two blades just meant one more thing that could go wrong or that I would screw up... However, from first usage, I can see it definitely having and advantage -- and may even last longer because the mower doesn't seem to strain as much as many others when cutting tall growth.
OVERALL
Well, the mower was a bit pricey (we bought it on sale for $499) and it’s too early to say how long it will last – but from first use (and considering some of the areas I needed to cut, I didn’t know what to expect) I was quite impressed with how well it ran and worked.
It was also great afterwards when putting the mower away (it really does fold up nice and compact).
From first impression (regarding twin blades), with fast grass growth, I can definitely see the added value in using two shorter cutting blades rather than the single standard longer blades. The machine far exceeded my expectations, and mowed right through without any problems.
Now – only time will tell to see how durable this little critter will last (and at least it’s got a decent 4 year warranty on the mower and 2 years on the batteries) , but I’m pleasantly pleased with the purchase so far."
+248points
Was this review helpful to you?