Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Cordless Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower

24V, 20 Ah cordless lawn mower with removable battery. 20" (51 cm) cutting deck. 3-in-1 functions: side discharge, mulch and rear bag. 7-position height adjustment
Average Customer Rating:
2.353 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
15
12 of 34(35%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Val Caron, Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada

Not impressed...

Date:July 24, 2013
"We bought this, like another reviewer, as a 'greener alternative to our previous gas mower. This would be our third summer with the mower and about mid-way through year two we started to see that the machine wasn't operating nearly as well as year one and a week ago the battery absolutlely died half-way through mowing the grass!
As suggested, I brough the battery in for the winter, kept it up off the floor and made sure to charge it and in the summer would always recharge after use so, if when I purchased it I was made aware of the fact that in 2-3 years I'd be buying another $150 battery, I would have changed my search back to a gas powered model!!??
Very unimpressed and will not purchase another Yardworks lawnmower through Canadian Tire because of it
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge, AB, Canada

Mediocre

Date:May 26, 2013
"I bought this in 2011 trying to be more environmentally friendly. Like most people, I mow about once per week on sundays when I am off work. The 3 problems I have with this machine is that it is under powered; the mower does not have enough power to continuously mulch the lawn without dying every 30 seconds. You could instead bag the clippings but after about 2-3 passes in my back yard, the bag is full. Thirdly, after each mowing the battery has to be recharged FULLY. If you take it off the charger early, the battery will only last about 15 minutes. Now if your thinking that I have an exceptionally large lot and thats why I have these complaints, it would only take me about 30 mins to mow front and back if the mower did not keep dying or if I did not have to always keep emptying the bag. Oh also, this mower used to cost $100 more, another reason why I am upset that I wasted my money."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great purchase

Date:May 22, 2013
"I got this machine 3 yrs ago and it's still working fine. Had an issue with the first battery (would not charge), called 1-800 and got the new one the same week. Batteries running these mowers MUST be charged during winter months. You can not just leave it and forget it for 5-6 months and expect to last 10 yrs. Also, make sure your battery "dies" completely before charging and you will not have issues with it."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada

Old Tech

Date:May 20, 2013
"$199 on sales, to good to be true... would not charge after 18 hours.
Returned for a Green works corded model, same price on sale.
Would of liked the untethered mowing but the corded worked right out of the box... to good... yes...
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, B.C.

Good work on undulating lawns.

Date:August 24, 2012
"I bought this mower to replace a old gas model. Overall, I am happy with the three years of service so far. Overall weight with battery is acceptable, might even be less than old gas model. Plastic covers were a worry at first but have held up to wear and several washings. It takes about 45 minutes to mow my odd shaped lawns and I have not had the battery quit on me. Catch bag holds about one bushel. Five height setting is nice. My model has a display bar for the power level which is kind of useless on a sunny day. Cup holder is a nice thought but, again, useless on anything but smooth, level lawns. Yellow safety handle to keep depressed when power is on is a good idea but can seem to need a lot of strength to hold in (and power on) at times. Overall, satisfied with purchase and would recommend for typical west coast lot size."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

Avoid - Go corded, lithium or gas

Date:May 7, 2012
"Don't expect to get more than four seasons from the original battery on these mowers. Lead acid batteries generally only have a 4 year lifespan, and because this part comes with a "dumb" charger, you can't leave it plugged in during the off-season. I even put a timer on mine to charge half hour a day and I only got 2.5 seasons out of the first battery. I replaced the battery and this one is also going down hill. Once this happens the blades slow due to loss of power, and you get grass caught up in the blade housing that never makes it into the bag. Poor product and not eco-friendly due to lead-acid battery and battery's disposal procedure."
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Yardworks is Canadian Tire's brand

Date:April 8, 2012
"Yardworks is Canadian Tire's own brand and hence it is their own product."
-25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good luck getting parts

Date:April 7, 2012
"My mower is four years old. While the battery is fading, it may last a little longer (with slower mowing times and more frequent charges). However, the lower handle broke at the base and I was hoping to replace it. Thing is, after hours of searching for their contact information (they don't appear to have a website), I eventually found a number and the folks at Yarksworks tell me the part is not available (they don't make it anymore). They told me that the mower would need to go to their "service group "Sunshine" to be repaired (shipped at my expense). All I want is the part. I can replace it myself in three minutes! When I was transferred to Sunshine there was no answer. I have decided to avoid further frustration and will now purchase a Toro. At least Toro is proud enough to list contact information with the product!"
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Would not recommend

Date:June 18, 2011
"I nearly got 5 years out of my machine. That being said, the power reduced more and more each year to the point that I had to go over the lawn twice to get a good cut.
I don't consider 5 years for a 400$ mower a good deal. I've seen gas mowers last 10 + years so that is what I am going to buy next and I know I will never be worrying about power.
I have done my bit for the environment, now back to gas and some power!"
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Stay Away from this Product

Date:May 15, 2011
"I agree with many others the life span is dismal. My three year old mower looks like new, but all last year I had to cut the lawn in both directions everytime to make the lawn look respectable. This year I can count the RPM the blade rotates just by watching it.
I haveused electric mowers all my life; 45 years of cutting grass and for the first time I am thinking of buying a gas mower one that does not have Yardworks written on it."
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, Qc

Worst purchase ever

Date:May 14, 2011
"Bought this mower in the spring of 2009 on sale for 199.99. Thought this was a great deal and I was happy to help the environment with a cordless mower. Turned out that the first summer we used it (2009) we noticed that it wouldn't cut well over longer patch of grass but we just went over it a couple times and it was fine. As the summer continued, we thought that the power wasn't lasting as long as earlier...
Next summer, we needed to charge it 2 days to get enough power to do half our lawn (we own a small semi-detached and our lawn is so tiny!!). Very frustrating.
This summer, the stupid thing won't even turn fast...I think my old turn table would turn faster.
My opinion?: a total piece of junk. Would have been better with the 100$ cord electrical mower I was about to purchase before I saw this one on sale...Always read reviews before purchasing something as important as a lawnmower."
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON

3 years and runs/cuts perfect.

Date:May 10, 2011
"I bought this mower 3years back, and have had no problems what so ever. I am still on the same battery, which I maintain charge once per month throughout the winter months. Furthermore, I cut a total of 6 yards complete for the entire season (Apr-end of Oct.)
Of those,4 are smaller older homes at 35' frontages and 2 are much larger corner lots. All consist of front;back and blvds. One charge completes the first 4 yards, and one charge does the other 2 larger yards.
Maybe mine was built on a Tues or Wed.,and not pre/post weekend. No matter what the reason, I would not hesitate to purchase this product again.I hope this will help guide future customers in their choice of mowers.
Leonar."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best mower ever.

Date:May 10, 2011
"Bought this mower last year for a friend, he loves it. I dont know what people are talking about, but my friend tells me he is in love with this mower. I also tried it out and it is amazing, will be purchasing one soon at the best store in the world. Not only good for mowers but for everything else Canadian tire has been the store for decades and decades to come, so come on everybody stand for our store all canadian........The Best."
-21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:surrey, bc

Piece of junk

Date:September 22, 2010
"This is the biggest piece of junk have ever owned. I had no hopes of it being as powerful as my old gas mower, but I honestly think my sons bubble mower would do a better job. This thing has no power, and even when grass is only slighty long, you have to mow so slowly that you might as well use scissors. Even if someone offers to give you this mower, don't take it. It will cost you more headaches than you want, and then you will be stuck with a mower to throw away."
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Lawn Mower

Date:July 13, 2010
"Avoid this one. Mine is now 3 years old, it won't make 4.
I bought battery #3 this year. It takes 3 to cut 1/4 acre! One did it first year.
The chassis has cracked and need serious welding and reinforcing. It is not rusted, just flimsy.
The power relay burnt out. I had to re-wire it.
The safety control broke and had to be disabled.
This mower is cheaply built. I also have a 10 year old Black and Decker Battery powered that while on it's second battery is still working. Stick with the brand name."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy this!

Date:June 27, 2010
"Iv'e Had this lawnmower for 3 years and the battery is garbage already! Does not take a charge anymore. I should have read the reviews before I bought this peice of junk. I called a repair shop and they said it was typical of the yardworks batteries to die. He said the best are the black and decker. But they are more money. But if you buy a lawnmower and have to throw it out and buy another is it really more?"
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Stay Away!!!

Date:June 20, 2010
"After charging my battery to full and then using on my lawn, which was a little "extra" grown, I was manuvering the mower slowly over the grass, the unit could not handle the "extra" amount and just stopped working. I then attempted to remove the battery by pullin up on the handle, and it would not lift out, I then attempted to take apart the battery handle to "unlock" the battery and remove the battery, no luck. I actually had to break apart the battery unit, casing and all, thus damaging the battery "seat" on the mower. Once I was able to remove the rest of the battery casing, I was able to see why I was unable to remove it in the first place: the mwer had shorted out when cutting the "extra" growth grass, and had fused and melted plasting at the battery contact point of the battery and the mower. the melting of the contact points, plastic, and all of the effort to remove the battery has rendered my mower totally unusable. Very poor power, poor battery design. money down the drain."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kanata, ON

Well worth it!

Date:June 15, 2010
"I've had mine for 3 years: an excellent mower for a city/suburban lot. I use it on the 3.5" mulch setting and it easily cuts my lot two times (35'x140'x56') on a full-charge. I just had the blade sharpened this year, and it works like new!
It's easy to use, easy to work with and is a great solution if you don't want the inconvenience of a gas, corded mower or old-fashioned push mower.
If you ever need to take the battery out it's as simple as lifting it out of the holster with the attached handles, and the mower is easy to clean, is sturdy enough to handle any bumps or dings, and at the same time isn't too heavy.
I strongly recommend you purchase this mower if you're looking for an affordable, easy to use, and great working green option!"
-10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver BC

STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE

Date:June 14, 2010
"Don't waste your money on this product it is very heavy and unwieldy and the "squeese switch" to start it is uncomfortable and hard to keep in the "on" position so you need to stop and restart frequently.
I can't speak to the quality of other yardworks products but if they are anything like this one, stay away from them.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks 24V / 20-in 3-in-1 Cordless Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Doesn't last

Date:June 6, 2010
"I'm on my third year and it wouldn't start so I bought a new battery but it still won't work. Waste of money"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2