Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower

Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower

173 cc PowerMore OHV engine 21" (53 cm) deep-domed steel cutting deck with tree guard edges 3-in-1 functions: mulch, rear bag and side discharge 6-position dual lever height adjustment 7" (18 cm) front 8" (20 cm) rear wheels Standard bail control Recoil start wtih auto choke - no priming, just pull and start
Average Customer Rating:
3.474 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
11 of 19(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

dissapointment

Date:September 24, 2013
"starts only when cold. After 5-10 mins of operation if shut off, cannot start again - have to wait for engine to cool off. You get what you pay for."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dryden, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great value, big power

Date:September 1, 2013
"First off, there are a few review comments about it not starting right away. I haven't experienced more than 2 pulls to start it, but I think I understand what's happening. When it shuts down, it seems like it floods the combustion chamber. On start up, it regularly gives a puff of smoke like there is extra fuel, maybe even oil in the chamber. Something I'll be keeping an eye on for sure.
Unboxing and setting it up was dead simple - following the directions provided both in the manual, AND on tags attached to the mower itself. No tools are required. Carriage bolts and heads you can turn by hand do all the work. Add oil, add gas, and away you go.
The mower itself is quite heavy compared to very basic mowers like my old Yard Machines piece of misery. For a smaller person, it may be hard to push if you have hills/inclines to deal with. But for 3-in-1 mowers, I find this pretty normal. There is more involved than a simple side discharge mower. The rear bag is easy to attach and remove, as is the side discharge chute. I find the design of the side discharge quite nice - as it is a wide opening that really shoots clippings out, even in unusually heavy grass that would plug my old mower in three seconds flat.
The motor itself is very powerful. It just idles along no matter what you throw at it. A section of my back yard was unmowed for a few weeks (due to death of old mower) and even in thick sections of 5-7 inch grass, it just plowed through without even a hiccup. Flat out amazed me. My old mower (when working) would almost die and take 3-4 passes on the same type of grass. It's a beast of an engine. And the pull to start it is remarkably light for a larger engine.
I love the very simple, easy to use height adjusters on this mower. Very easy to raise/lower, and clearly marked which direction does what. Just remember that it's the opposite between front and back. It's great only having to adjust in two spots. I remember some mowers where you had to adjust all four wheels independently. So much easier! Done in seconds, with a very solid snap into each detent.
I think the only thing I would have liked is the deck wash system of the Troy Bilt unit I debated. But for a couple hundred bucks less ... I can clean the deck old school.
If I had to pick out ONE thing about this mower than I'm not crazy about, it's the location of the start cord and the gas filler spout. The cord runs very close to it, and JUST above it. Exactly in the way of my gas can. Incredibly minor, but there's my one gripe.
I expect many more years of great service from this mower."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Disappointed

Date:August 11, 2013
"It works good when it starts.
It drives me crazy that it takes a lot of pulls to get it going.
"
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada

only starts when cold

Date:July 17, 2013
"The mower works great until you shut it off to empty the bag. It is very difficult to get it going again. Do not buy this machine. The auto choke and prime system seems to be the issue."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Worst lawnmower ever

Date:July 12, 2013
"I can run it for 15 minutes then have to let it cool down for 20 minutes. It also blows out a large puff of smoke when I first start it. I have to take it into a repair shop and hopefully it won't take the rest of the summer to get fixed. This is a major disappointment as I had my old Yardworks mower for 11 years."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Prescott, Ontario

Worst purchase ever

Date:July 1, 2013
"I bought this mower a couple of days ago and it is the biggest waste of money. If you use the side discharge, as soon as the insert that keeps the side door open touches anything it falls off. I mowed over an area which had already been passed over by a rider just for the purpose of mulching it a bit more and it stalled and would not restart. I let it sit until the next day and it started up. I just tried it again and instead of raking what the rider had cut I decided to try the rear bagger. The bag was close to full and the lawn mower stalled again and will not start again. I will be returning it to the store."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Bay, Ontario

Hard to start second time on

Date:June 26, 2013
"Bought two for adult children. Sure, starts first time but after you stop, very very hard to get going again. In fact, have to take BOTH in to local service centre (not even Canadian Tire). These were purchased several weeks ago... maybe we just got "two lemons." Very very disappointed.
Don't have time etc. to load up and drive to a repair shop.
One star, as if you can't start it you can't use it!
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada

Great Mower

Date:June 14, 2013
"purched this product 2 years ago and very happy. Powerfull motor, does not slow down on heavy grass at all. and starts incredibly easy. 1st pull out of the box, and pretty much 1st or 2nd pull evrytime. It is a bit heavy to push around but the exercise is good! great deal!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great lawnmoer

Date:June 5, 2013
"Used it for 3 years still running great till this date."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More power than my cordless

Date:June 3, 2013
"I've only had this mower for a week but I happy with it so for now I'll give it a 4. I've used a cordless for the past 5 years. My grass is thick and my cord less used to bog down. There is no loss of power with this mower when cutting my grass."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

Starts quickly

Date:May 30, 2013
"I have had this mower for 4 summers now and it still starts quickly. I purchased the larger capacity mower figuring it would have to power to go through tall grass if needed. I have had it bog down when trying to mow some tall grass.
Although the wheels are big it takes a bit of effort to push the mower through the lawn. I read the reviews that the self powered mower was not that good so I purchased this one. I have tried this mower on 4 different lawns and it is still an effort to push it. In hindsight I would have spent a bit more and gotten the self powered one.
I went with gas instead of electric because the lawns I was using it on was large and it took about an hour to mow the entire thing.
I have since moved and the smaller lawn means an electric mower can be used. The electric mower is much lighter and easier to manhandle around.
To sum up very reliable and does the job nicely but I found it hard to push through the grass."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Tiny Bag that shoots grass clippings at operator!

Date:May 28, 2013
"This lawn mower is very difficult for our 15 year old son to start-up, the bag is tiny and it shoots small grass clippings at the operator."
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chilliwack, BC, Canada

Our 2nd Yardworks lawn mower

Date:May 28, 2013
"This thing starts on the first pull, and the bag is simple to remove and empty if you use it. It's our 2nd Yardworks lawn mower, as I hit a stump on the first one that lasted 8 years!"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

yardworks lawn mower

Date:May 24, 2013
"Bought this mower and think its great. The bag comes off easy and is easy to empty. Lots of power and the motor is not as loud as my old one. It seems to be quite fuel efficient and the wheels are large enough that small ruts in the lawn dont bog you down. Good price i searched around."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON, Canada

great machine

Date:May 22, 2013
"This will be our 6th summer with it, has always started on first pull, have never done anything to it except this year, changed the blade
great machine will probably get another year or two before I grow bored of it and sell it
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo

Yardworks Gas Lawn Mower

Date:May 21, 2013
"I had a Yardworks Mower which I purchased at Canadian Tire. I used it for four years before I sold my place. It was great. It never broke down and started easily every time. I am about to purchase a new home and will definitely be shopping at Canadian Tire for my outdoor and many of my indoor needs."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

Great mower

Date:May 16, 2013
"Bought this mower a few years ago when it had the push/pull choke on it. I've changed the oil once. I haven't changed the spark plug or cleaned/changed the air filter. I am planning to either change the blade or get it sharpened as it still cuts ok but I notice the tops of the grass blades are starting to get a bit ragged looking. I have never drained the gas nor ran the mower until it was empty before putting it away for the winter (quebec winters at that#. I don't remember previous mowing seasons but I started it up last week with ONE pull. Again, after sitting since Oct. with gas still in it#I use regular 87 octane). I agree that it can be a pain when trying to pull it backward due to the flap but I try to avoid doing that. My only real complaint is that my wife and daughter aren't strong enough to pull the cord to start it so even though they want to help with the lawn, they can't unless I start it for them. I also bought a yardworks weedwhacker last year that works great. I'm thinking most of my outdoor maintenance equipment is going to be Yardworks stuff. It works just as well, if not better, than the more recognizeable brands. For a more reasonable price."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Lawn mower Amazing Price

Date:May 11, 2013
"As far as gas lawn mowers go this one is great started first pull and came with everything I need minus Gas :) Mulches grass and runs quiet and clean!"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks 173cc / 21-in 3-in-1 Gas Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Caledon, ON, Canada

Works great

Date:May 8, 2013
"I agree with previous reviews that fresh higher grade gas is needed. I learned my lesson and always store for the winter with no gas in the tank. I have had this mower for 6 years and have no complaints, works great."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?