Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks Roof Rake

Yardworks Roof Rake

Designed to efficiently remove snow from all types of roofs, as well as cottages, greenhouses and canvas shelters, without damaging surfacesWill not damage surfacesApproximate total length 16' 3-3/8" (5 m)
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks Roof Rake
Review 1 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Life Safer

Date:May 8, 2014
" Love it! Completely saved my life by not having to crawl onto the roof to remove the heavy snowfall we had this year! Money well spent. Protects roof from ice damning "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Meaford, Ontario

Poor quality and poor value for money

Date:February 24, 2013
" I purchased this product about a year ago at the Canadian Tire Store in Owen Sound. It has seen use on about 8 to 10 occasions on a 1,200 sq ft roof.
The plastic rake portion started to split at the outrigger bolt holes after the second use and is now unusable as it has split all the way across.
The metal poles were too large at the male ends to fit into the female ends so I had to file and sand the diameters down so that they would fit. This took more than an hour.
I was an idiot for not taking this product back and demanding a refund but the store is a 20 km drive each way.
Save yourself the frustration and avoid this poor quality product! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD TOOL

Date:December 31, 2012
" After having read the reviews I went out today and bought one, no regrets at all, I have a very big house and within two hours my garage and at least half of the roof was completed. I tried with the full extension it works good but I noticed the extension rods are a bit bending but nothing to worry about. As for the individual that wrote that it was not good for a two story house, of course you need a ladder........ "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC, Canada

Don't bother. Broke on 1st use

Date:December 26, 2012
" I read the reviews and decided to give this a try. At the store, all the boxes were in terrible shape, but after inspecting and ensuring all the content was present, I purchased it. It's odd that on the picture provided, the brace seems to be made of aluminum or other metal whereas the product I purchased, the brace is made of flimsy plastic. Even the brackets for the extension are made of plastic. Nonetheless, I assembled it and gave it a try as I do need to remove the snow from my roof. Well, on the 1st try, the extension pole got loose. After tightening it as best as I could, them it's the actual bracket that pulled apart from the pole.
I tighterned everything back toghether and was able to use it although not for long. The pole starte to come apart again and I notice that the plastic nut cracked.
This is no longer built to withstand hard snow.
As with another review, I fail to see the use on a 2 story home without resorting on the use of a ladder.
I will be returning this tomorrow. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:central Canada

Good Quality with one concern

Date:April 30, 2011
" I've had this rake for 5 years and it's still going strong .Only problem has been with one of the spring - loaded connectors inside one of the the handle sections constantly falling out .
Easily fixed by replacing the clip with a bolt / butterfly nut .
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sydney, NS

Yardworks Roof Rake

Date:February 15, 2011
" As a result of reading the reviews I purchased this and used it six times in past eight days...heavy snow and crust on roof...it certainly did the job and then some...just make sure you tighten the bolts holding the side arms in place after every use...highly recommend this product and purchased it on sale...was impressed with the reach it has...excellent choice "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK

it works

Date:January 30, 2011
" After the ridiculous amount of snow we've gotten this winter I had no choice but to buy a roof rake as I literally had a 5 ft high drift on my roof!
Just by standing on the lawn I was able to scrape away about half the snow up there. I suppose I could have gotten the rest had I used a ladder but the rake itself gets kind of heavy when it's fully extended and trying to balance on a ladder probably wouldn't have been the safest idea. Nevertheless . . . took about an hour and all the snow I could reach is now scraped down to the shingles. Ice dams won't be a concern now and the mailman doesn't have to be afraid to deliver my mail. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than swan diving off the roof!!

Date:December 24, 2010
" Should have bought this a while ago,use to go up on the roof and do it with a shovel.The house I own is a single story and the rake reaches the top,so that is pretty kool.It says yardwork on the box but im assuming by the instructions its made by garant.Easy to put together,should last awhile.Have slid off the roof while shoveling,this is a lot safer...lol!! "
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sask

saved lot of hassle , easy to use

Date:January 1, 2010
" our house is prone to ice dams on one side. the attic hatch is insulated, the attic is insulated - but our 1 & 3/4 house is so old, there is not much of a gap between the sloping ceiling and the roof. the proper solution is to change the shape of our roof or lower the ceiling - all disruptive and costly endeavours.
in the meantime, this roof rake does a super job. i get rid of the majority of the snow on the ice damming side of the house. it means that all of the snow will not melt and trickle down the point where it will form ice dams, and cause any further melt to back up under the shingles and into our house.
i'm 6'0; i can reach the lower parts of the roof from the ground with the roof rake. for some higher problem spots, i need to get on a ladder. the rake is light enough that i have no trouble lifting it up to use it on greater heights.
the rake is light; easy to handle; easy to put together, and it appears to be durable.
it's a keeper "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool for removing snow

Date:February 3, 2009
" I used this on my bungalow and it worked great. Got 85% of the snow from the roof. If I would have had another section of tubing I could have got all of it. You realy don't need to get it all off anyway. "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC

good for temporary garages too

Date:December 11, 2008
" I've been using this great Roof Rake to remove the snow from our Temporary Garage and let me tell you, it has made our life a lot easier. We also used it to remove snow from the back gardening shed, and it worked like a jewel for that project too. I love this shovel! It's light weight makes for light work. Great idea, Canadian Tire! "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie Ontario

Just what I needed

Date:November 30, 2008
" I'm 71 and to old to climb up a ladder onto my roof safely , this shovel is great for reaching the places on my roof that are just fine with me .What I miss Nature will take care of .. "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:London Ontaro

It is what it is

Date:November 22, 2008
" Today I purchased one of these shovels and it did exactly what I wanted it to do. I do not understand how you can knock this product. It is what it is and works very well. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlantic Canada

Safer than standing on the roof

Date:April 1, 2008
" I cannot understand the bad review of this product. I bought my snow rake at Canadian Tire on sale at 50% off. I have used it for 2 or 3 winters now. My neighbors also come over to borrow it. I might only need it a couple of times every winter but I am happy to have it at those times. I have a bungalow, and have no problem clearing my roof (a 2 storey home may be a different matter though). I am a small woman! I take frequent breaks as my arms tire, but this is the way to go. Stay on the ground and be SAFE! "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa,ON

Ineffective on Most Roofs

Date:March 17, 2008
" This product's very existence confounds me. It failed to reach more than 25% of my total roof area, and I only got to that % because I stood on a ladder when I was using it! I live in a fairly standard bungalow home; the tool fared even worse on a 2-story.
Sorry kids, the only way to get snow off most roofs is to have a human get up there 'n shovel it off. You'll actually get all the snow off too, and it's safer than using the above contraption whilst on a snow-bound ladder!
In summary, this product is total garbage. Avoid unless you're using it for your 7-foot fishing shack and/or back shed. "
-58points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal

Excellent buy

Date:December 17, 2007
" It was made in Canada,well worth the price 39.99,very strong but light to use "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?