Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks Roof Rake

Yardworks Roof Rake

The Yardworks Roof Rake is lightweight and durable and will help to remove any unwanted snow from the roof without damaging any surface Featuring 3 snap-in extensions that give it a reach of up to 16' (5 m)Designed to efficiently remove snow from all types of roofs, as well as cottages, greenhouses
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
23 of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks Roof Rake
Review 1 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Quyon, QC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Perfect tool

Date:January 7, 2016
" Light weight, handle is aluminum, scraper is very good plastic. Optimal width of the scraper so that it doesn't scoop too much snow. Easy to assemble/disassemble and put away. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:October 20, 2015
" our house is prone to ice dams, so i purchased two of them "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:October 15, 2015
" We have two of these rake, their awesome, does the job! "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good

Date:October 10, 2015
" I like this, the only product ive seen of its kind. Works wonders! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Very Good Snow Rake

Date:October 5, 2015
" This snow rake is very good for removing unwanted snow from your roof with little effort. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kleefeld, MB R0A, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Yardworks Roof Rake

Date:October 5, 2015
" The Yardworks Roof Rake is extremly well made, and comes in handy for raking the roof! "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works well

Date:October 5, 2015
" This is pretty pricey for a snow shovel but I must admit it works well. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good buy

Date:October 4, 2015
" works well, this has come in handy on more than one occasion "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works but you need storage space for it!

Date:March 17, 2015
" This snow remover is both good and bad.
The good: It does work to remove snow from your roof.
The bad. Once assembled, which you need to do yourself, it's VERY long. There's no way to fold it up. This means that unless you have a garage or other large space to store it, you really have to dismantle it every time you finish using it. As someone without a garage, this was a real pain. Also, I'm an average sized female and I found it quite awkward to use - lifting it overhead to scrape off heavy snow can be tough!
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

A good rake

Date:February 26, 2015
" This is the fourth snow rake I have owned. After the last two duds (threaded connections are not a good idea), I returned to this snap-on pole style. It works very well. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Life Safer

Date:May 8, 2014
" Love it! Completely saved my life by not having to crawl onto the roof to remove the heavy snowfall we had this year! Money well spent. Protects roof from ice damning "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Meaford, Ontario

Poor quality and poor value for money

Date:February 24, 2013
" I purchased this product about a year ago at the Canadian Tire Store in Owen Sound. It has seen use on about 8 to 10 occasions on a 1,200 sq ft roof.
The plastic rake portion started to split at the outrigger bolt holes after the second use and is now unusable as it has split all the way across.
The metal poles were too large at the male ends to fit into the female ends so I had to file and sand the diameters down so that they would fit. This took more than an hour.
I was an idiot for not taking this product back and demanding a refund but the store is a 20 km drive each way.
Save yourself the frustration and avoid this poor quality product! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD TOOL

Date:December 31, 2012
" After having read the reviews I went out today and bought one, no regrets at all, I have a very big house and within two hours my garage and at least half of the roof was completed. I tried with the full extension it works good but I noticed the extension rods are a bit bending but nothing to worry about. As for the individual that wrote that it was not good for a two story house, of course you need a ladder........ "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC, Canada

Don't bother. Broke on 1st use

Date:December 26, 2012
" I read the reviews and decided to give this a try. At the store, all the boxes were in terrible shape, but after inspecting and ensuring all the content was present, I purchased it. It's odd that on the picture provided, the brace seems to be made of aluminum or other metal whereas the product I purchased, the brace is made of flimsy plastic. Even the brackets for the extension are made of plastic. Nonetheless, I assembled it and gave it a try as I do need to remove the snow from my roof. Well, on the 1st try, the extension pole got loose. After tightening it as best as I could, them it's the actual bracket that pulled apart from the pole.
I tighterned everything back toghether and was able to use it although not for long. The pole starte to come apart again and I notice that the plastic nut cracked.
This is no longer built to withstand hard snow.
As with another review, I fail to see the use on a 2 story home without resorting on the use of a ladder.
I will be returning this tomorrow. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:central Canada

Good Quality with one concern

Date:April 30, 2011
" I've had this rake for 5 years and it's still going strong .Only problem has been with one of the spring - loaded connectors inside one of the the handle sections constantly falling out .
Easily fixed by replacing the clip with a bolt / butterfly nut .
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sydney, NS

Yardworks Roof Rake

Date:February 15, 2011
" As a result of reading the reviews I purchased this and used it six times in past eight days...heavy snow and crust on roof...it certainly did the job and then some...just make sure you tighten the bolts holding the side arms in place after every use...highly recommend this product and purchased it on sale...was impressed with the reach it has...excellent choice "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK

it works

Date:January 30, 2011
" After the ridiculous amount of snow we've gotten this winter I had no choice but to buy a roof rake as I literally had a 5 ft high drift on my roof!
Just by standing on the lawn I was able to scrape away about half the snow up there. I suppose I could have gotten the rest had I used a ladder but the rake itself gets kind of heavy when it's fully extended and trying to balance on a ladder probably wouldn't have been the safest idea. Nevertheless . . . took about an hour and all the snow I could reach is now scraped down to the shingles. Ice dams won't be a concern now and the mailman doesn't have to be afraid to deliver my mail. "
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than swan diving off the roof!!

Date:December 24, 2010
" Should have bought this a while ago,use to go up on the roof and do it with a shovel.The house I own is a single story and the rake reaches the top,so that is pretty kool.It says yardwork on the box but im assuming by the instructions its made by garant.Easy to put together,should last awhile.Have slid off the roof while shoveling,this is a lot safer...lol!! "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sask

saved lot of hassle , easy to use

Date:January 1, 2010
" our house is prone to ice dams on one side. the attic hatch is insulated, the attic is insulated - but our 1 & 3/4 house is so old, there is not much of a gap between the sloping ceiling and the roof. the proper solution is to change the shape of our roof or lower the ceiling - all disruptive and costly endeavours.
in the meantime, this roof rake does a super job. i get rid of the majority of the snow on the ice damming side of the house. it means that all of the snow will not melt and trickle down the point where it will form ice dams, and cause any further melt to back up under the shingles and into our house.
i'm 6'0; i can reach the lower parts of the roof from the ground with the roof rake. for some higher problem spots, i need to get on a ladder. the rake is light enough that i have no trouble lifting it up to use it on greater heights.
the rake is light; easy to handle; easy to put together, and it appears to be durable.
it's a keeper "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks Roof Rake
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool for removing snow

Date:February 3, 2009
" I used this on my bungalow and it worked great. Got 85% of the snow from the roof. If I would have had another section of tubing I could have got all of it. You realy don't need to get it all off anyway. "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2