Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Ice Melters or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail

Clear the sidewalk or driveway effectively and safelyFast acting, long lastingTrueBlue marker clearly marks where the ice melter has been applied and protects from over-applicationHigh visibility, non-staining marker dye provides for accurate spreading and reduces wasteWon't damage concrete, decorative paths or driveways; vegetation-safeEffective to -31° CelsiusUse 114 g per square meter or 1 cup (¼ lb.) per square yard
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
31 of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Review 1 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Works Great!

Date:May 31, 2013
"Not only is there enough to use all winter long, but it works great on sidewalks, driveways,other walk ways, etc."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

worth it

Date:May 30, 2013
"I used to use salt, until my whole bag turned into one great big lump of salt. The Alaskan Ice Melter clumps a bit but can easily break apart, so it doesn't go to waste from year to year. Plus it works great"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

EASY CONVERSATION STARTER

Date:May 29, 2013
"One of the best products I have bought this year well worth the price I paid."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:richmond bc

Works great!

Date:May 21, 2013
"Works great on the stairs and walk ways around the house. Pail big enough that I can usually make it though the wint er without buying more."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB

Great product!

Date:December 4, 2012
"Have been using the product for a few years now and works as intended. Spread it over the area that needs it and walk away. I could hear it working right away.
Used on my back alley on thick ice. Ice was due to my neighbour discharging their sump pump to the back alley and not detaching the hose for the winter.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

Effective, but good for only one year

Date:January 14, 2012
"I live in southwestern Ontario, so winters are not the coldest around. There's a lot of freezing rain or wet snow followed by a deep freeze. The result is your walkways become ice rinks. The Alaskan ice melter does a great job of getting rid of the ice rink and making it safe to walk down the driveway or sidewalk.
We've got planting bed along both sides of the driveway and we've never had problems growing plants in them. We usually have problems growing plants if we use regular road salt.
We're near a school, so I use Alaskan ice melter on the sidewalks. It's very effective for keeping the sidewalks safe for little feet. Also, we don't see dogs limping when they hit our section of the sidewalk, so the melter doesn't seem to hurt their feet.
The only problem is the short shelf life. I had a half container left over by spring. By next winter it had dried out and fused into a solid block. I still works, but I have to use an old chisel to break it up . (That's why I gave it only three stars for durability.)
I'd recommend getting a smaller size container if you have shorter, milder winters like we have around here."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Truro, NS

Worthwhile to keep at home for ice conditions

Date:January 30, 2011
"Had a snowfall followed by rain and deep freeze. Clearing my driveway and walk path before the rainfall resulted in an ice sheet all over the place. I spread that ice melter with a Scotts hand held spreader and it worked its way though the ice making it significantly less slippery on thick ice areas. So I stocked up on that stuff for those icy days and help in preventing slips and falls due to ice. My cat walked on that stuff and showed no ill reactions for getting in contact with it."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Damages stairs

Date:January 25, 2011
"Wish I never used this. I applied a very mild amount to the steps on my new house and it literally destroyed the plaster finish.
This is NOT a mild product by any means."
-13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ontario

NOT PET SAFE

Date:January 10, 2011
"The label claims pet safe IFyou follow the directions which I did but my Chihuahua broke out in hives overnight ! After reading the fineprint it states " May cause skin irritations".
Other then that it works great for melting ice and last long. Too bad it's too dangerous for animals or small children."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

ALASKAN ICE MELTER

Date:January 12, 2010
"I have bought a lot of different ice melters - THIS IS GREAT - granted we haven't had to use it much but we are only in JANUARY and we do live in CANADA so I know I will get to use it SOON and if it works as well in the future as in the last week I WILL RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville ON

Top notch product

Date:January 11, 2010
"Great for melting the ice on the walkway, the added grit in Alaskan Ice Melter makes for great traction and a safer walkway."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dieppe, NB

Great product!

Date:January 6, 2010
"Melts the ice and snow nicely on your walkways, steps, and driveways. Does a fantastic job. A must for the winter months."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moncton

Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail

Date:January 4, 2010
"Really melts the ice and won't harm concrete. A must have for any homeowner during the winter. You can also see where you've spread it."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boucherville, QC

Excellent Security Feeling

Date:January 2, 2010
"The Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail brought relief to my household so far. All the ice has melted nicely and efficiently not longer after I applied it. I was amazed to see that although the pellets were still visible, the ice was gone."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gets the Job Done

Date:January 2, 2010
"FAST, SAFE AND EASY TO USE ICE MELTING. Better than salt and causes no damage to concrete."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product

Date:January 2, 2010
"great to have on hand for those icey days. It doesn't stain my sidewalk or wood steps."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SAULT.STE.MARIE,ONTARIO

KICKS NORTHERN ONTARIO ICE TO THE CURB

Date:January 1, 2010
"THIS IS THE BEST PRODUCT FOR FAST, SAFE AND EASY TO USE ICE MELTING.GREAT ON PAINTED CONCRETE YEAR AFTER YEAR-NO DAMAGE OCCURS. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT,AND IT IS ALWAYS IN STOCK AT MY LOCAL STORE."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works great

Date:December 31, 2009
"bought this a couple of days ago and used it right away. It worked quickly to melt the ice and is safe for concrete and doesn't track into the house."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works well!

Date:September 25, 2008
"It is great to have this bucket on hand for the upcoming snow and ice season. The product doesn't hurt my wood deck or stone walkway.
Works magic on those unexpected storms
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Alaskan Ice Melter, 10 kg Pail
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
"This product does the job. The 10kg pail lasts a long time."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2