Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft

X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft

X-Hose™ is an expanding hose that is durable, compact and light weight, perfect for around the home and yardHose expands up to 3 times its length to give you a powerful high flow spray and wide diameterHose is strong, lightweight, and won't tangle or kinkOnce water is turned off, hose will automatic
Average Customer Rating:
2.296 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
27
16 of 44(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Review 1 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Welland, ON, Canada
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not worth the money

Date:August 12, 2014
"Junk, owned one for about four weeks and like many other comments it burst for no apparent reason. Canada Tire gave me a full refund."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Niagara Falls, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No

Useless

Date:August 11, 2014
"Blew apart on second use. From all other reports it is not worth replacing."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

junk

Date:August 5, 2014
"I have had four of these hoses this season, one for the back garden and one for the front garden, and have replaced both because they blew apart. Now the two replacement ones have burst so I am taking them back to Canadian Tire and going back to a traditional hose."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spruce Grove, AB
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Complete waste

Date:July 29, 2014
"I'm on my 4th 25' hose (keep exchanging at local Canadian Tire). The last one burst IMMEDIATELY after connecting to faucet and turned water on very low pressure. It wasn't used at all. I'm going to ask if I can exchange for a real hose tonight or some sort of credit (4 hoses in 5 weeks is idiotic). I haven't seen any commercials on TV for this, either. Leave it in the store and let them send back to manufacturer."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't buy this hose

Date:July 20, 2014
"I bought this hose thinking it would be a great product. After, using it for a month I noticed that the hose seal is broken in the middle of the hose. Look for different options!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Junk, Dont get it

Date:July 16, 2014
"Was looking for a light hose to do watering of plants around the yard and thought to give this a try. at first it was pretty useful but after one month, it burst."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No

Junk

Date:July 16, 2014
"Bought one year ago,Hose blow apart,I would not spend another cent on this type of hose,also have had others makes and they did the same thing,would recommend you do your home work before wasting your money,Cheers"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:winnipeg
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

worst hose ever

Date:July 10, 2014
"bought this hose in may of this year already broken we are two retired people only using the hose so it was NOT abused!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Waste of Money - Bursts

Date:July 6, 2014
"Bought two of these in two years and both burst. Great concept but this brand is a complete waste of money.
I never left hose on, always turned off, only used with garden nozzle.
I would like my money back but did not keep my receipt.
I do not recommend this product."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

x hose garbage

Date:June 30, 2014
"Used the hose three times and it blew up. Would not suggest anyone purchase it."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Burst

Date:June 28, 2014
"worked as advertised until it burst after a couple of uses..."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very disappointing

Date:June 21, 2014
"I bought the x-hose for the patio of my home in Richmond Hill, Ont. I used no more than 6 times and the inside tube broke. This is definitely not worth the money, the quality of the product is very poor. I want my money back !!!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Product

Date:June 8, 2014
"Bought 2 x-hoses (one for the home and one for the cottage) and they both burst within a week of use.....garbage! Want my money back!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Still works great

Date:May 25, 2014
"I bought this last summer and used it for watering my garden and lawn and hooking up to the sprinkler for my kids. I left it connecting to the spigot all year and forgot to take it in for the winter. I was very happy and somewhat surprised that it still worked perfectly today."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Convenient

Date:May 16, 2014
"Bought this hose mid July 2013. Used it several times a week to water pots on patio and nearby flower garden until October.
Left it out all winter here in Victoria BC & have used it again 6 or 7 times so far this spring without a problem.
We've been gentle with the plastic connectors and careful not to pull too hard when using the hose.
Our son also has a 50 ft XHose for the past 10 months without issues.
Very light to use and easy to store. Love the convenience. But it is much more fragile than a standard good quality hose and requires gentle handling.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakville, Ontario
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Incredibly Poor Product. Waste of Money

Date:April 15, 2014
"The only good things about all of these expanding hoses is that they are light and easy to store. In addition to the fact that they are based on a very thin, expandable tubing makes them incredibly vulnerable to bursting, no matter how strong they claim the outside webbing to be. Once burst, there is absolutely no possibility of repairing - like you can with a conventional hose. I have now gone through three different models, each one surviving only a few uses. Operationally, they also have many serious disadvantages. They snag in the garden easily, they get very dirty and are hard to clean off, and the pressure in the hose invariably changes causing the hose to expand and retract during use which is a real pain when being used fully extended. Also you have to walk back to the faucet to turn off then back to then to drain the hose for storage. There is no way you would leave these hose out as you would a regular hose so you have to go through the hook up and draining every time to use. Believe me, a terrible concept very, very poorly executed despite brass fitting and the like. Don't even think about it."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:BC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

TERRIBLE

Date:October 19, 2013
"I purchased this hose because it was so light weight and I have to be careful of my neck and back. For the first 3 months it was GREAT for watering the vegetables (I didn't use it with a sprinkler). It did exactly what I wanted it to and thought it would. Then it EXPLODED. The hose inside completely burst. Before this happened I was using it exactly as directed...Turned water on slowly at first then more to make it full. I never turned the tap all the way on for fear of too much water pressure. I kept it in the shade on a hanger so it didn't touch the ground or get sun. Turns out my Grandmother had the EXACT SAME THING happen to hers TWICE in one summer."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Perth, On
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

love these hoses

Date:October 17, 2013
"I have 5 of these hoses in varying lengths and have used them for a year now. Not one problem and they are used almost every day from early spring until freeze up.
These are great lightweight hoses. I do not use them for sprinklers left on for a few hours. I do handle them as directed...no shortcuts.
My girlfriend put me onto these hoses. She's had hers for 3 years now without a single issue. We both have areas where we need about 200 feet plus of hose and It's great not to have to lug heavy hoses that invariably kink.
We make sure the washers haven't shifted in open ends of hoses and clean any dirt and grass off. We also let the hose air dry before we close the containers we keep them in. We don't drive over them with cars or mowers, etc...
As neither of us has had a single problem, we both feel that as we use and care for these hoses as directed they will all be around for some time."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

These Hoses SPLIT

Date:September 27, 2013
"When we first got this hose it was great, so we bought 2 more and 2 for my mother. Out of all of these hoses, only one has not split and leaked from the middle. We do not leave the hoses on for prolonged watering and generally used them only to water flowerbeds and the lawn this summer. We loved the compact light hose, but I guess it was too good to be true."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

horrible product

Date:September 20, 2013
"This hose lasted 2 months for me. After about 2 months it developed a pin hole that became a massive fountain in 5 mins. I repaired it with a coupling. After 1 week of use, the hose had a catastrophic failure. While inside the nylon sheeting the rubber at another spot split in two. This time I'm just trashing it. So disappointing."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3