Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft

X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft

X-Hose™ is an expanding hose that is durable, compact and light weight, perfect for around the home and yardHose expands up to 3 times its length to give you a powerful high flow spray and wide diameterHose is strong, lightweight, and won't tangle or kinkOnce water is turned off, hose will automatically contractGrows to 50 feet
Average Customer Rating:
2.69 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
14
14 of 29(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Review 1 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakville, Ontario
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Incredibly Poor Product. Waste of Money

Date:April 15, 2014
"The only good things about all of these expanding hoses is that they are light and easy to store. In addition to the fact that they are based on a very thin, expandable tubing makes them incredibly vulnerable to bursting, no matter how strong they claim the outside webbing to be. Once burst, there is absolutely no possibility of repairing - like you can with a conventional hose. I have now gone through three different models, each one surviving only a few uses. Operationally, they also have many serious disadvantages. They snag in the garden easily, they get very dirty and are hard to clean off, and the pressure in the hose invariably changes causing the hose to expand and retract during use which is a real pain when being used fully extended. Also you have to walk back to the faucet to turn off then back to then to drain the hose for storage. There is no way you would leave these hose out as you would a regular hose so you have to go through the hook up and draining every time to use. Believe me, a terrible concept very, very poorly executed despite brass fitting and the like. Don't even think about it."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:BC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

TERRIBLE

Date:October 19, 2013
"I purchased this hose because it was so light weight and I have to be careful of my neck and back. For the first 3 months it was GREAT for watering the vegetables (I didn't use it with a sprinkler). It did exactly what I wanted it to and thought it would. Then it EXPLODED. The hose inside completely burst. Before this happened I was using it exactly as directed...Turned water on slowly at first then more to make it full. I never turned the tap all the way on for fear of too much water pressure. I kept it in the shade on a hanger so it didn't touch the ground or get sun. Turns out my Grandmother had the EXACT SAME THING happen to hers TWICE in one summer."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Perth, On
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

love these hoses

Date:October 17, 2013
"I have 5 of these hoses in varying lengths and have used them for a year now. Not one problem and they are used almost every day from early spring until freeze up.
These are great lightweight hoses. I do not use them for sprinklers left on for a few hours. I do handle them as directed...no shortcuts.
My girlfriend put me onto these hoses. She's had hers for 3 years now without a single issue. We both have areas where we need about 200 feet plus of hose and It's great not to have to lug heavy hoses that invariably kink.
We make sure the washers haven't shifted in open ends of hoses and clean any dirt and grass off. We also let the hose air dry before we close the containers we keep them in. We don't drive over them with cars or mowers, etc...
As neither of us has had a single problem, we both feel that as we use and care for these hoses as directed they will all be around for some time."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

These Hoses SPLIT

Date:September 27, 2013
"When we first got this hose it was great, so we bought 2 more and 2 for my mother. Out of all of these hoses, only one has not split and leaked from the middle. We do not leave the hoses on for prolonged watering and generally used them only to water flowerbeds and the lawn this summer. We loved the compact light hose, but I guess it was too good to be true."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

horrible product

Date:September 20, 2013
"This hose lasted 2 months for me. After about 2 months it developed a pin hole that became a massive fountain in 5 mins. I repaired it with a coupling. After 1 week of use, the hose had a catastrophic failure. While inside the nylon sheeting the rubber at another spot split in two. This time I'm just trashing it. So disappointing."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burlington, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good Idea Gone Bad

Date:August 24, 2013
"Bought this hose as it looked like a great idea. After using it twice the plastic connector split and cannot be fixed. Water everywhere. I'm sure that everyone who recommended it probably hasn't used it enough yet to see what will happen. Unfortunate that with a good idea like this they skimped on quality."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Junk

Date:August 16, 2013
"I bought the 50' hose for my Dad for Father's Day in June. It's end of August and the inside hose split. Nothing wrong with the webbing outside so it wasn't cut or anything. This is an expensive piece of junk. Don't waste money on it. It's a gimmick that I fell for."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible

Date:August 8, 2013
"After about 4 or so uses water stated spraying from the connector and just today the shut off valve blew off. Terrible product. My friend brought his and it was broken right out of the box."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Battleford, SK, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good idea, but poorly made

Date:August 3, 2013
"Bought two fifty foot hoses, expensive but so what, love the size.
Only used one hose and it did not last 3 weeks, started to spray out of the connector end at water tap.
Just dont know if i had a bad hose, but according to some reviews here not too many good ones.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Leduc, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Terrible under pressure...

Date:August 1, 2013
"This is the second hose I've gone through in a month so far, both of which ended horribly.
The first blew a hole in the siding the first time I put water through it, the second one recently went when I was sitting in a lawn chair and reached down to get it and had the connection blow off and cover everyone in water.
I think that they do not live up to their claims of being "strong and durable" and are a waste of money. Spend the same amount on a regular garden hose and just deal with the clutter or a hose that will actually last you."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Niagara Ontario

Doesn't last

Date:July 22, 2013
"I purchased 2 -50' lengths last yr, then another 50' hose this summer as I truly appreciated the lightwt, easy to use expanding concept for watering hanging baskets. HOWEVER, this yr all have failed. On one the plastic connector cracked and unrepairable; on 2 the inner rubber core separated from the connectors and the last one developed a split in the outer layer, water pouring out. I see on their official website, they now have an XHose Pro, with brass connectors, and reportedly tougher materials [black colour] and lifetime warranty if it 'fails'....
Due to lack of durability, do not recommend this particular model.
"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy this hose

Date:July 19, 2013
"I bought two of these hoses for both compact storage and because it was lightweight. The end of one of them "blew off" the first time it was used. So, I removed that hose, and the end of the second one blew off!! Hope I can get my money back!!!"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:guelph

worst purchase ever

Date:July 3, 2013
"The hose started spraying from a split in it after 5 minutes of use. I wouldn't recommend it for use with water."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Prince Albert, SK, Canada

quality problems

Date:June 22, 2013
"I bought three of these, they worked great for about two weeks then they fell apart. The plastic couplers crack and are not repairable. Don't be tempted stay away from this. No receipt...no refund."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge, AB, Canada

Don't waste th emoney

Date:June 8, 2013
"I got this hose less than a month ago and it has already failed. IT is more or a soaker hose now this the main seam in the hose failing. The end broke the first day I used it. Very cheap made. It is light and is great for saving space but you only get a month out of it. Not worth the price"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada

big boss xhose

Date:June 6, 2013
"I bought one yesterday for my condo patio and it works great as I'm on the top floor it's hard to Carry a reg hose up there to water every time this is great it shrinks up like it says , don't buy the flexible. hose it's breaks its the green one"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kapuskasing ON

Great Product

Date:June 4, 2013
"Very light weight, easy to handle, it does shrink back done. I have only recently purchased this product but I am going back for more. I cannot carry heavy hoses so this does the job perfectly for me. I don't know yet how long it will last but it does have a one year warranty."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Duncan, BC

X Hose

Date:June 4, 2013
"I bought 2 of these hoses (25' models) at Canadian tire on May 10, 2013. One has already failed as the plastic end piece has split. They do expand and contract as claimed and they seem to have reasonably good flow when in use. They certainly are light and convenient and if they had more durable end pieces they might be a good deal. However the ends are a cheap plastic and one has already split where it connects the blue polyester skin to the black plastic fitting. Once it splits the hose is useless and cannot be repaired like you can with a regular hose. I am also concerned that the hose material itself might not stand up to any abuse. It has a warning to keep it out of direct sunlight so unless you plan to drain it and store it after each use it is not a good choice. Great concept but poor materials mean this will not stand up. If they made ones with brass or metal end connectors that might be an improvement. Bottom line, if you are low on space and don't mind the extra clean up and storage of the hose it might be reasonable product, but if you want durability, stay away from this one. Also I would not leave them charged with water pressure, as I am sure they would fail much more quickly than a standard hose."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Amazing!!!

Date:June 1, 2013
"This hose is perfect! I love it so much I got a second one for the front. It works exactly like you see in the commercials - even better!! Great buy!"
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for X-Hose™ Expandable Garden Hose, 50-ft
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Qualicum Beach, BC, Canada

XHOSE for Everyone

Date:May 29, 2013
"So far this has been a really great hose. It's so light, I don't mind disconnecting and carrying it to another watering site. It doesn't kink and just shrinks itself away so I don't have to wind up a heavy hose after I'm finished watering. It will be easy to store in the winter just put it back in its little box. Can't believe I had to suffer for so long with that heavy duty hose. I haven't noticed any power loss. All my neighbours have come to try it, everyone has now gone out to get theirs. I highly recommend this product."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2