Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner

Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner

Two-pulley system provides added leverage to make pruning easierRemovable 14" saw blade headTelescopic design allows the user to reach high branches with a reach of up to 10’ (3m)Fibreglass handle and foam grip reduces fatigue and provides added comfort for prolonged use
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
7 of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Review 1 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Canada

great

Date:October 10, 2014
"We have a large tree out front that gets out of control. This product was great for pruning."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sooke, BC V9Z, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

very good deal

Date:June 3, 2014
"Very happy with this product.The nuts and bolts which hold the gear driven cutting blade on lock with nylon lock-nuts and are only hand tight whenpurchased ( in my case anyway) and need to be wrenched tighter before use. I doubt mine will fall off as I tightened them before use.
Cuts easily but I wont tackle branches that overload it. there is the sawblade for the thick stuff.
Thanks C.T.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

dissatisfied

Date:August 27, 2013
"I bought this a year ago..used it a few times. Blade fell off. I do not abuse my things, but this product literally fell apart. I went CT store to buy a new blade for it. They don't have replacement parts. In my error, I lost my receipt so that is why I was trying to fix it instead of exchanging it. I hate the disposable life we consumers lead, but there is no option but to throw it in landfill & buy a new one. I like to buy stuff for longevity & CT's Yardworks 4 yr warranty guarantee was the sales pitch I was given & that was #1 reason I bought it. NO PROBLEM exchanging! Not realistic. Products turnover & change...the one I have is obsolete. Funny discovery: at the CT store, many of the packages of these cutters was missing (probably stolen) blades. Very disappointed considering most of my outdoor purchases are yard works...no more...disposable razors basically"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Short lived locking mechanism

Date:July 9, 2011
"The cutter works as it should. No problems using the ratcheting cutter. After sitting in the garage for a couple of years not being used, I took it out again and the handle locking mechanism took all my strength to turn and would not lock. I had only used it 2 or 3 times previously. Now I have to use a clamp to keep it extended."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Top heavy

Date:September 9, 2008
"I like the fact that the pole is extendable, however, when extended to full height it becomes top heavy and a little hard to manage.
Even though the branch diameter is the same as other products (1 1/2"), I found it difficult to cut through branches of that thickness.
I had a different model before (not sure of the manufacturer), but the blade bent and so it is no longer effective, but when it was working it worked much better."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ormstown Quebec

Blisters

Date:August 29, 2008
"I bought this tree pruner to prune my maple trees. I had a old one that I bought many years ago from wallmart that cut clean in one pull until it gave out on me. So I bought this one and because of the rachet system you cannot cut right thru the branch in one shot and after a hour your fingers are blistered from pulling on the cord. The rachet system works good on bigger branches but is a pain on small ones."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo

returned to store immediately

Date:August 29, 2008
"I found that small branches would not be cut. The rope would reach the end before the blade would completely close. After many frustrating minutes, i returned the product and bought the fiskars pole trimmer."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Trenton

Go with another

Date:August 20, 2008
"I just bought this the other day and after using it for less than an hour the ratchet mechanism broke.
All of the branches that I clipped fit into the bottom of the cutter so it wasn't from trying to cut to large of a diameter the pins used to hold the mechanism together flare only slightly on the opposite side making it easy for them to pop out. A bolt would have been a better choice.
The one good thing was the saw blade it made quick work of the larger branches that I needed to remove."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver BC

Works great

Date:March 30, 2008
"It can handle very large diameter branches, and the extendable pole made it possible to reach branches very high up. The saw allowed me to remove large tree limbs without having to bring out the ladder (make a bottom cut first before the top cut otherwise the limb gets held up by teaing a strip from the tree)."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Extension Pruners

Date:October 3, 2007
"These pruners were great for cutting small tree branches that were growing over the roof of our house and for trimming our Chinese Elm treee!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Handy but Disappointing

Date:August 10, 2007
"Found the tool to be useful in reaching those hard to get to branches obviously. The ratcheting jaw system worked flawlessly most of the time and really does require minimal effort to engage.
Where I was disappointed however is with the locking handle mechanism. In simple terms, being all plastic, it didn't stand up to the stress of use lasting about the equivalent of about 5 hours of use before the clasp snapped off.
In fairness, I purchased mine in 2006 so perhaps & hopefully an improved design and/or superior construction material are used here in 07.
Good Luck.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Yardworks Green Extendable Tree Pruner
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1