Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL

Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL

Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gone kills lawn weeds like dandelions and other broadleaf weeds without harming your lawnFormula is fast-acting, providing results within hoursSpray is ready to use, making weed control fast and easy709 mL
Average Customer Rating:
2.917 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
9
13 of 24(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Review 1 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't be fooled, this stuff does NOT work

Date:June 12, 2014
"The weeds sip it like wine and come back and ask for more. Have tried it on dandelions, clovers, etc. Bought the big container, and diligently sprayed and picked the weeds to no effect."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Response from Canadian Tire:By Canadian TireJune 17, 2014
"We are sorry to hear of your experience with Scotts WeedBGon. We have reached out to Scotts and they have responded that these are certainly not the results we want our customers to experience.  They would like to obtain some additional information about your experience, and see what can be done to make it right.  At your earliest convenience please contact. them  by using one of the methods on the following link. https://tinyurl.com/kadgt3y". They also reminded us that the label has lots of helpful information. Reading and following label directions will help to achieve best results. Shaking the product before using and spraying the weed thoroughly should be all you need to do to get results.
Review 2 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Aurora, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

doesn't work

Date:May 27, 2014
"We purchased a few of these bottles hoping to kill the weeds in our backyard. Don't bother wasting your money. It doesn't work."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

worked on my dandelions

Date:May 27, 2014
"getting rid of dandelions is like playing whack-a-mole - you get rid of one and another one pops up. So I decided to give weed b gone a try and so far so good. My lawn is a sea of green rather than a sea of yellow!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Easy to use

Date:May 9, 2014
"I have been using this product for a few years now. Works well on most weeds. Some varieties require multiple application. Easy to use in the spray bottle."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

Don't waste your time.

Date:July 5, 2013
"Environmentally friendly weed control products are wonderful. The only problem is they simply don't work. There are plenty of real weed killers available in the US that work just fine on our Ontario lawns."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Product does not work

Date:June 5, 2013
"I used three bottle of this product over 3 weeks. Every time the weeks would appear to die after a few days but in a couple more days were back to full strength. I even shook the bottle and applied liberally to the weed. Don't fool yourself, the leaves will die off, but the root survives a produces about set of leaves within a week--so it looks like it works initially but it does not work."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

might as well use water

Date:June 5, 2013
"I sprayed weeds faithfully every 2 days, completely saturating them, and then checked on them one week and one rainfall later.
3x as big as before, they don't even look vaguely ill. Might as well have sprayed them with plain water, or better yet saved my time and done something else in the garden.
Complete waste of time, money and energy"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Red Deer, AB, Canada

Waste of time and money

Date:May 31, 2013
"I used this on an 20 degree sunny day, following all the directions, spraying each dandelion six times, with no results. Save your money, do not buy this :("
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Very weak - a waste of money - very disappointed

Date:May 21, 2013
"If you have just a few weeds and you can take the time to totally drench them with this stuff at least 3 times over, you just might kill the weeds. If you have lots of weeds and you wet them all down with the wide spray, the weeds will not be damaged in the least. The other product works a lot better with just one wide spray application and that's why it's usually sold out."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada

weed killer

Date:May 13, 2013
"Applied a week a ago, all weeds have died. so far so good and at a very reasonable price."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not perfect but works

Date:May 9, 2013
"No, this product does not work as well as something like Killex but for me it works well enough and I don't have to worry about the chemicals. It does take a fair bit on each weed but I do find that it kills them and the lawn seems to benefit."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Poor product

Date:September 19, 2012
"It will kill some weeds, with four or five shots, so you go through a lot of the spray. Others will blacken but after a few weeks grow right back. It is a lot of money for a product that only sometimes does the job."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo

Worst Purchase Ever

Date:August 6, 2012
"Does not work. Tried on Dandelions ..did not touch them. Waste of money."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Useless

Date:April 24, 2012
"Bought this last year and it barely killed any of the weeds in my little garden."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Get a sprayer for large areas...

Date:July 3, 2011
"I had a fairly large area of ground ivy (aka 'creeping charlie') that I wanted to tackle, roughly 10' x 6'. If you want to be successful in killing it, you need to be thorough. Before starting, check the weather to make sure you aren't expecting rain.
First off, if you have more than a few feet of clover to kill, get a herbicide sprayer. Small 1 gallon models are available, which is all you need. You'll want one with a wand, and not one where the spray head is attached to the container. Since you can get them for $20, it's not an expensive purchase. Also get a bottle of "Bug-B-Gone" insecticidal soap.
Before you do anything, thoroughly water the area to be treated. Dry leaves don't do as well to absorb liquids, so get the area wet - and then allow it to dry up a bit so there is no pooled water on the leaves.
Now load up your sprayer with insecticidal soap and spray down the ivy. Again wait for it to soak into the leaves and/or disperse before continuing. Things should be moist, but not wet when you continue. Usually the time it takes to empty and rinse your sprayer and load up the Weed-B-Gone is enough.
Lastly, load up your Weed-B-Gone, and make sure to dump the entire contents into the sprayer so you can shake it up. (or shake it up in the bottle) When applying make sure to soak the area thoroughly, and don't be stingy. If money is an issue, dig it out by hand. Otherwise if you spend the money, do it right.
After doing this on my 60sq ft section of ground ivy, a week later about 3/4 had died off. There are still some patches, so I will be doing a second application. I had a pretty thick patch, so this is not totally unexpected.
Be advised if you do have a 'large' section of ground ivy, when it dies back the grass won't look too pretty. However if you buy a container of that seed and feed combination fertilizer and grass seed you can overseed to help the area recover. (if you overseed, make sure to water daily 10 minutes until the new grass takes hold)
Overall this product is good, but the bottle sprayers are not ideal to deliver the product onto the weeds. It's not the manufacturer's fault, since they want to provide a cheap option. However, I found that coverage was much more even and complete with a proper hericide sprayer using a wand. Not to mention after you pump it up you aren't squeezing a trigger a hundred times.
I'm quite happy with the performance of this product when used with a herbicide sprayer and when a sufficient application of product is used."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Etobicoke, ON

It Does kill

Date:June 4, 2011
"As per other posts: yes, it does seem to need 3-5 squirts per dandellion. Bought this size and tried to economize with only a couple squirts per weed; they shrivelled, but did not blacken. Bought the larger container with the pull out handle for my neighbour's yard, applied 4-5 squirts per weed during a nice sunny week: black circles of death in the lawn 3 days later. On fifth day raked up the dead weeds.... problem..
The commercials state it 'will not affect your lawn'. There are 30 6" circles of death in my neighbours lawn; bare spots down to the soil. I reseeded those spots. Who knows how many months before grass would return, if it would at all. Maybe I'm impatient, but it seemed to kill the grass as well."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It works

Date:May 18, 2011
"I bought the small bottle to test it out. Like many of the reviewers said, it must be applied liberally. One squirt per dandelion will not do it. Try 4 squirts. If it doesn't rain shortly after you apply it, then you will see your dandelions looking ill the next day, blackening the next..."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON

You need to use A Lot to kill weeds

Date:May 13, 2011
"I have a very small front lawn. There were maybe 30 dandelions on my front lawn. I used an entire bottle of Weed B Gon and saw only a few of them totally destroyed. My lawn looks almost the same as it did 3 days ago. I think you would need to purchase a lot of this product to really get your lawn looking good. I included an area where it was sprayed, You can see that some were killed, but a lot remain. I was very disappointed in this product."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great with the right technique

Date:June 18, 2010
"So far i have been very happy with this product. I have found the key to success with using it on clover. I noticed when i sprayed it on clover that the product beaded up and ran off without covering the clover leaves, due to the leaves having a waxy surface. So now before i spray the clover, i moisten the leaves with a fine spray of insecticidal soap, which breaks the surface tension on the clover leaves, this allows the product to cover the leaves effectively. This also works for other weeds with waxy leaves. I wasted a lot of product spraying the same clover patch over and over until i came up with that trick. The insecticidal soap does not hurt the grass either."
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709mL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Date:June 11, 2010
"2 keys to this product being effective; 1) SHAKE WELL before using 2) use LIBERALLY. This product amazes me with how quick it works when I follow steps 1 & 2. Not nearly as effective if you don't shake & are cheap."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2