Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL

Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL

Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Average Customer Rating:
2.846 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
13
21 of 39(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Review 1 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't bother with this

Date:April 29, 2016
" Seems to help the weeds grow at best.
Got a spray bottle with diluted ? in it.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Not Effective

Date:April 24, 2016
" Don't waste your money. I applied the spray very generously to my dandelions and a handful of them shriveled up and turned black but a week later I am looking and they are coming back to life. Save your money and do it the old fashioned way and just pull them out. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Alberni, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Don't waste your money

Date:April 13, 2016
" Dandelions continued to grow and flower after use. I'm almost positive that it enhanced their growth. Waste of money!!! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok for small jobs

Date:October 28, 2015
" Our driveway is terrible with weeds. This bottle didn't go very far. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works OK

Date:October 19, 2015
" I would not say the results are instant, as in "hours", as it says, but within a few days things were shrivelling up in my yard. I think fighting weeds is a full time job as the neighborhood needs to share in this mission! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

works and doesnt

Date:October 16, 2015
" this just tajkes the weeds away for them to pop up agian in a week "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
By ScottsCustomerCareOctober 20, 2015
We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the results your were expecting. Unfortunately, this product will only control actively growing weeds only, it does not prevent weeds from emerging.
If you would like to discuss our No Quibble Guarantee. Please contact us at your earliest convenience to see what we can do for you. You will find our contact information by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n. scotts
Review 7 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not too effective

Date:October 9, 2015
" This product is very little to completely not effective. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
By ScottsCustomerCareOctober 13, 2015
We're sorry for your disappointment, june96. To get the best results apply when weeds are actively growing (temperatures between 15 and 30 degrees) and when there is no rain or watering expected within at least 3 hours of the application. The less mature the weed the easier the weed is to kill. More mature weeds may require a second application. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. http://tinyurl.com/kadgt3y scotts
Review 8 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Works well enough

Date:October 8, 2015
" Works well enough. You may have to use several applications maybe even across years to completely rid your lawn of weeds. Use a weeding tool as well. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed Results

Date:July 29, 2015
" I've had mixed results with this product as multiple applications seem to be required. Has gotten rid of the biggest leaves however several bottles were needed and spraying throughout the season might help the following year. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

It Does Work

Date:July 26, 2015
" but you have to be patient and follow the directions! I went over my lawn with this product three times and it did get rid of the worst infestation of weeds we've ever had in our lawn. Yes it took more than one bottle but at the price I bought it at it was still a bargain. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does not work for thistles

Date:June 20, 2015
" Time consuming to apply, I followed instructions exactly, and totally doused the plants. Next day they were all black, I was optimistic. But within just a few more days of rain, all plants were back in full force. Very disappointed. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 30, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the product did not control the weeds as expected. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below and we would be more than happy to assist you further.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Response from Canadian Tire:By Canadian TireJune 29, 2015
We are sorry to hear of your experience with Scotts WeedBGon. We have reached out to Scotts and they have responded that these are certainly not the results we want our customers to experience.  They would like to obtain some additional information about your experience, and see what can be done to make it right.  At your earliest convenience please contact. them  by using one of the methods on the following link. https://tinyurl.com/kadgt3y
Review 12 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint Thomas, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Enormous expense

Date:June 8, 2015
" I have tried this for two seasons now and it does nothing, absolutely nothing. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 29, 2015
We are sorry the product didn't control the weeds as expected. For best results from any weed control, be sure to apply the product when daytime temperatures are consistently between 19 - 30 Celsius. If daytime highs are below 16 Celsius, control will be delayed. Complete coverage of the weeds is necessary for best results. Only the weeds sprayed will be controlled. Rain or watering within 1 hour after application will reduce control. Mature weeds, dormant weeds, or weeds hardened due to moisture stress tend to be more tolerant to weed controls.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You can visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 13 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works well on broad-leaf plants

Date:May 22, 2015
" I tried this product last year and liked it, so I started the spring with it this year. I purchased a property that had a lot of dandelions. I have been diligently working at reducing their coverage. This product seems to be working. Last summer it got rid of quite a few and allowed the grass to start growing in those patches. This spring I attacked them as the leaves started to sprout. Spraying the leaves at noon caused them to be black by evening. I have gone over my lawn on three consecutive days and sprayed any new sprouts that have come up. It is allowing my grass to fill in nicely and I have almost no dandelions on my lawn at all. Even a large clover patch died off within two days of coverage. This stuff really works.
I found that the spray bottles don't go very far if you have any amount of weeds, so I started using the concentrated mix and a larger sprayer. It is much easier and more efficient to walk my entire lawn with just one large sprayer container of product. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Concentrate

Date:May 12, 2015
" I have used the Weed B Gon concentrate for the last year and it has worked very well. Usually at this time of year i have 1000s of dandelions on the lawn, this year i have a few, while all the neighbours have 1000s still. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't be fooled, this stuff does NOT work

Date:June 12, 2014
" The weeds sip it like wine and come back and ask for more. Have tried it on dandelions, clovers, etc. Bought the big container, and diligently sprayed and picked the weeds to no effect. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
By ScottsCustomerCareNovember 3, 2014
We hate to hear that you have not had success with the Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon Weed Control. To get the best results from any weed control, be sure to apply the product when your daytime temperatures are consistently between 19 - 30 Celsius. Complete coverage of the weeds is necessary for best results. Rain or watering within 1 hour after application will reduce control. Mature weeds, dormant weeds, or weeds hardened due to moisture stress tend to be more tolerant to weed controls. Also keep in mind that this product does not control all weeds. If you are unsure of the weeds growing in your lawn have them identified before using any other weed control.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3nscotts
Response from Canadian Tire:By Canadian TireJune 17, 2014
"We are sorry to hear of your experience with Scotts WeedBGon. We have reached out to Scotts and they have responded that these are certainly not the results we want our customers to experience.  They would like to obtain some additional information about your experience, and see what can be done to make it right.  At your earliest convenience please contact. them  by using one of the methods on the following link. https://tinyurl.com/kadgt3y". They also reminded us that the label has lots of helpful information. Reading and following label directions will help to achieve best results. Shaking the product before using and spraying the weed thoroughly should be all you need to do to get results.
Review 16 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Aurora, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

doesn't work

Date:May 27, 2014
" We purchased a few of these bottles hoping to kill the weeds in our backyard. Don't bother wasting your money. It doesn't work. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
By ScottsCustomerCareNovember 3, 2014
We are sorry that the Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon Weed Control did not control the weeds as expected. To get the best results from any weed control, be sure to apply the product when your daytime temperatures are consistently between 19 - 30 Celsius. If daytime highs are below 16 Celsius control will be delayed. Susceptible weeds show effect within 1 to 2 days if the product is applied in sunny, warm weather to actively growing weeds less than 10 cm tall.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3nscotts
Review 17 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

worked on my dandelions

Date:May 27, 2014
" getting rid of dandelions is like playing whack-a-mole - you get rid of one and another one pops up. So I decided to give weed b gone a try and so far so good. My lawn is a sea of green rather than a sea of yellow! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Easy to use

Date:May 9, 2014
" I have been using this product for a few years now. Works well on most weeds. Some varieties require multiple application. Easy to use in the spray bottle. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

Don't waste your time.

Date:July 5, 2013
" Environmentally friendly weed control products are wonderful. The only problem is they simply don't work. There are plenty of real weed killers available in the US that work just fine on our Ontario lawns. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Scotts EcoSense Weed B Gon, 709-mL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Product does not work

Date:June 5, 2013
" I used three bottle of this product over 3 weeks. Every time the weeks would appear to die after a few days but in a couple more days were back to full strength. I even shook the bottle and applied liberally to the weed. Don't fool yourself, the leaves will die off, but the root survives a produces about set of leaves within a week--so it looks like it works initially but it does not work. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2