Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Sockets or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set

Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set

40 ¼"-drive accessories: 20 regular sockets, 16 deep sockets, one ratchet, one spinner handle, one extension bar, one bit holder59 3/8"-drive accessories: 20 regular sockets, 16 deep sockets, 17 bit sockets, two spark plug sockets, two extension bars, one U-joint, one ratchet13 ½"-drive accessories:
Average Customer Rating:
4.726 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
59 of 62(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Review 1 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Socket Set!

Date:August 10, 2014
"I bought this set 6 years ago and use it every single day.
Everything still work well until this day except the 1/4 ratchet. I took it to CT for exchange and got a new one right away. Very satisfied!
If you want it to work when you need it, lubricate your tool every now and then. It will last forever."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Paradise, NL, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best Value for the Money

Date:May 20, 2014
"I purchased this just after Christmas on sale. Very happy with my purchase"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Yes if bought on sale

Date:May 20, 2014
"It's on the expensive side, but it's a good set... if bought on sale, worth it"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Set

Date:May 18, 2014
"We love this set... has come in handy many times for renovations, camping, putting kids bikes and other items together and minor car repairs."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Affordable set that'll last long time

Date:June 1, 2013
"This was a good sturdy set which I used for a week now. Highly recommend. I bought mine for $99 though on sale."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Great deal

Date:May 15, 2013
"I've always bought my husband Mastercraft tools. They are durable, and if any of the tools happen to break or defect in any way, we've always gotten them replaced by Canadian Tire! Always a great deal on the socket and tool sets. You can't go wrong for the price!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:corner brook

Great purchase

Date:May 15, 2013
"This was what I bought someone for Christmas when it was on sale and they loved it. He uses it all the time."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Set

Date:January 29, 2012
"This was my first socket set that I bought about 2 years ago. I was setting up some steel cabinets and benches in my basement workshop and required a ratchet and 3/8" socket. I was going for a single ratchet and one socket size when I realized this set would come in handy for future uses. I didn't realize how useful it would be to have this set. I've used this set for spark plug changes in lawn mower and snowblower, for assembling and disassembling of equipment and general uses around the home. Every piece works great. The only complaint I have is the smallest ratchet does not fit exactly in the case. The shape of the plastic mold is a little smaller than the ratchet itself. Otherwise, everything is great."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Amazing

Date:September 3, 2011
"Just got this set today on sale for $50.. It's an absolutely amazing set to work on cars or around the house. This set is so complete and good that I'm going to get another one just to leave on the trunk.
It would have been nice to have the four most common Impact sockets for Lug Nuts, but I guess that's asking too much.
It comes with TWO Spark plug sockets, with that rubber inside to pull the socket easily.
It also comes with plenty of extender bars... Even the screwdriver handle can be used as an extender (it has the socket connector at the top)
Wait for it to go on sale and grab one! My best buy this year."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:surrey bc

strong and durable

Date:February 23, 2011
"i just exchanged my goodyear set for this mastercraft one and i'm really happy with it. this set has alot of sockets both deep and shallow. the other one was good too but offered less sockets and wrenches, although i doubt i'll ever end up use all of em. the only bad thing is that some of the items become loose, fall out from their place and have to be put back. the wrenches are not finished in polished chrome it could've used that nice chrome to the touch finish instead of a brushed look, oh well. other than that the case is durable but heavy and has everything at ur fingertips that u could possibly need for repairs. best part is that it is backed by canadian tire for lifetime warranty if anything breaks, jus go back to canadian tire and exchange it unlike some cheap sets that only carry warranty for one year. this set is worth every dollar that i payed for it and is highly recommended for the on sale price of $79.99 get this it was $199.99. a total of $ 119.98 that i saved, brings best value for the consumer. what u waitin for RUSH to canadian tire today and pick one up at this price what's not to love about it?"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Ratchet is of poor quality

Date:December 21, 2010
"Bought this set while on sale and was a great buy. However after using the 1/2 and 3/8 ratchets for a summer the forward/reverse lever became really loose and would switch direction on its own or lock the ratchet (Very frustrating when working in tight spaces). The ratchets are also short and hard to get a decent pull with them, if they were 1-1.5" longer would make a huge difference.
The wrenches themselves were of poor quality as well, a couple were out of spec and poorly finished.
Other then that, the sockets seems to be of good quality and have not had any issues with them. There are a couple sockets that I wish were included in the kit but overall its decently equipped."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Get what you pay for

Date:October 6, 2010
"This set was a good deal for 1/2 price on sale - but you may want other wrenches on hand as well.
I found the 9/16" open end combo wrench was about 1/2" or less. On closer measurement, the other metric and imperial combo wrenches were close to spec, but the machining was not polished and is slightly uneven.
I hope only one visit to Canadian Tire will be needed to replace the 9/16", and no off-spec sockets reveal themselves when really needed."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Date:September 20, 2010
"I bought this set when it came on sale, what a great buy. I have to make use of this set about once a month and I haven't been disappointed yet. I highly recommend this product."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

rachet is poor quality

Date:June 20, 2010
"When on sale, this set will get you a nice set of sockets to use. The case is nice and the socket set is fairly extensive. HOWEVER< I broke the 3/8" drive on the first use and the other drives are equally poor. I bought a mastercraft set 15 years ago that had a great rachet and I will use it instead of the ones that came with this. Still work perfectly Buy this set on sale for the sockets and get yourself a decent rachet. The ones that come with this set are terrible!!! I suspect CT will see a large number of returns on this set for rachet problems...."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Torono

Christmas gift

Date:January 21, 2010
"Got this for Christmas and its a solid set! Would definatly recommend."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palgrave, ON

Amazing Deal

Date:January 21, 2010
"There isn't a better deal out there for price and product. Everything works great and is durable the only thing that anyone can say bad about it is the small sockets fall out of their spot and roll around inside of the case."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chilliwack,BC

great set

Date:January 20, 2010
"i've had this set for about 5 years and have had no trouble with any of the tools."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Quality but...

Date:January 18, 2010
"The tools themselves were great, but 2 months after purchasing, one of the hinges broke."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moncton

Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set

Date:January 17, 2010
"This socket set has everything you'll need to work on most any project on your car, bike, snowmobile etc. Very good quality, a perfect case that holds tools and they stay in. A very good buy for the price. Should last a lifetime."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 184-piece Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Ever

Date:January 16, 2010
"This little unit is a great tool. Everything is at your fingertips."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3